DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inlet port passageways” (in plural, claim 1) and the “outlet port passageways” (in plural, claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Ln. 6-7 recites “the inlet and outlet” which should read “an inlet and an outlet” as it is a first introduction
Claim 1, Ln. 8 recites “the mixing of inlet air and outlet air” which should read “a mixing of the inlet air and the outlet air”
Claim 6, Ln. 2 recites “the engagement” which should read “an engagement” as it is a first introduction
Claim 22, Ln. 1 recites “a filtering facepiece respirator” which should read “the filtering facepiece respirator” following after claim 3
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “inlet port passageways” and “outlet port passageways”. Each limitation is written in plural form (i.e. “passageways”). The written description and illustrations of the instant application only identify inlet port passageway 78 and outlet port passageway 80 in singular (e.g. Figs. 8-10). There is no discussion or illustration of how multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways would be implemented into the diffuser. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus be left in doubt as to whether applicant was suitably in possession of the claimed invention at the time of the effective filing of the invention. There is thus lack of sufficient written description support for the full subject matter of claim 1.
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is recited as “A filtering facepiece respirator” but then fails to positively recite any filter structure and/or material. The claim is thus indefinite as it is unclear whether the word “filtering” is merely meant to be suggestive or is to be understood as structurally limiting on the claim. It appears the claim may be unfairly broad by attempting to claim a function without reciting a structure sufficient to perform the claimed function (see MPEP 2173.05(g)). The metes and bounds of the claim are thus unclear. Because the word “filtering” has been placed in the beginning of the claim it appears applicant is intending to require the facepiece respirator to perform a filtering function. The claim should thus be amended to positively recite a structure of the facepiece respirator which will perform filtering. Note for example the filter membrane recited in claims 16 and 18. For the purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as requiring some filter structure and/or material.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the inlet passageway” in Ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears the limitation may be referring to the same structure as the inlet port passageways of claim 1. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the inlet port passageways”. The same change should additionally be made to Ln. 3 of the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “an inlet port which provides an inlet passageway” in Ln. 2 which deems the claim indefinite. It appears the limitation may be referring to the same structure as the inlet port and the inlet port passageways of claim 1. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the inlet port which provides the inlet port passageways”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the outlet passageway” in Ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears the limitation may be referring to the same structure as the outlet port passageways of claim 1. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the outlet port passageways”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “an outlet port” in Ln. 4 which deems the claim indefinite. It appears the limitation may be referring to the same structure as the outlet port of claim 1. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the outlet port”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0260920).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a filtering facepiece respirator (Fig. 1; ¶0026) comprising: a mask body (Fig. 2 #14) having an anterior side, a posterior side, a middle portion, a first side portion, a second side portion, a top side portion, a bottom side portion and outer edge portions; a port (Fig. 2 #53; ¶0037) positioned on the mask body; a diffuser (Fig. 2 #16; ¶0027) positioned over the port on the mask body, wherein the diffuser comprises an inlet port (Fig. 2 front of #34; ¶0027), inlet port passageways (Fig. 2 between #40 passing through #34; ¶0027), an outlet port (Fig. 2 front of #36; ¶0027) and outlet port passageways (Fig. 2 between #42 passing through #36; ¶0027) allowing for an inlet and an outlet of air, and wherein the inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways are separate and closed from each other preventing a mixing of the inlet air and the outlet air (Fig. 2 #34 and #36 provide two fully separate flow paths). The cited “portions” of the mask body can be somewhat arbitrarily defined within the locational adjective parameters recited.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the diffuser comprises a base portion (Figs. 1-2 #16) and a top portion (Fig. 1 #24) which are engaged to each other (¶0027). It is noted that other possible base and top portions are readable from Choi, such as a front half of central portion 16 as the “top portion” and a rear half of central portion 16 as the “bottom portion” (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses, when applying the alternate reading from claim 2 above, the base portion of the diffuser comprises a first conduit (Fig. 2 #39 is a conduit shape) which extends upward from the base portion (Fig. 2 #39 extends upward relative to the rear half of #16) and a second conduit (Fig. 2 #44 is a conduit shape) positioned within the first conduit which extends upward from the base portion (Fig. 2 #44 extends upward relative to the rear half of #16).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses a method of using the filtering facepiece respirator of claim 1 (see above) comprising: providing the filtering facepiece respirator (Fig. 1); and applying the filtering facepiece respirator over a face of a patient (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magidson et al. (U.S. Pub. 2023/0241424) in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0260920).
Regarding claim 1, Magidson discloses a filtering facepiece respirator (Fig. 1; ¶0041) comprising: a mask body (Fig. 9 #102) having an anterior side, a posterior side, a middle portion, a first side portion, a second side portion, a top side portion, a bottom side portion and outer edge portions; a port (Fig. 9 #106; ¶0041) positioned on the mask body; a diffuser (Fig. 9 #108; ¶0041) positioned over the port on the mask body, wherein the diffuser comprises an inlet port (Fig. 9 #112; ¶0043), inlet port passageway (Fig. 9 through #112), an outlet port (Fig. 9 #114; ¶0043) and outlet port passageways (Fig. 9 #136; ¶0043) allowing for an inlet and an outlet of air, and wherein the inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways are separate and closed from each other preventing a mixing of the inlet air and the outlet air (Fig. 9 #112 and #114 provide two fully separate flow paths). The cited “portions” of the mask body can be somewhat arbitrarily defined within the locational adjective parameters recited.
Magidson fails to explicitly disclose the inlet port passageway includes multiple inlet port passageways.
Choi teaches a filtering facepiece respirator (Fig. 1; ¶0026) including a diffuser (Fig. 2 #16; ¶0027) comprising an inlet port (Fig. 2 front of #34; ¶0027) and inlet port passageways (Fig. 2 between #40 passing through #34; ¶0027). Choi teaches multiple inlet port passageways as providing the benefit of using a series of spokes to support a valve flap or diaphragm (¶0027).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Magidson the inlet port passageway includes multiple inlet port passageways in order to provide the benefit of using a series of spokes to support a valve flap or diaphragm (which Magidson teaches at Fig. 9 #116; ¶0043) in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 2, Magidson teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches the diffuser comprises a base portion (Fig. 9 #108) and a top portion (Fig. 9 #124) which are engaged to each other. It is noted that other possible base and top portions are readable from Magidson.
Regarding claim 3, Magidson teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches the base portion of the diffuser comprises a first conduit (Fig. 9 exterior surface of #114 is a conduit shape) which extends upward from the base portion (Fig. 9 #114 extends upward from a main surface of #108) and a second conduit (Fig. 9 central hub within #114 is a conduit shape) positioned within the first conduit which extends upward from the base portion (Fig. 9 #114 extends upward from a main surface of #108).
Regarding claim 20, Magidson teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches a method of using the filtering facepiece respirator of claim 1 (see above) comprising: providing the filtering facepiece respirator (Fig. 1); and applying the filtering facepiece respirator over a face of a patient (¶0041).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-19 and 21-22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, neither Choi nor Magidson teaches or suggests the top portion of the diffuser comprises a head portion and a bottom portion, a receiving conduit which extends upward towards the head portion of the top portion of the diffuser and a receiving flange integrated within the receiving conduit which extends downward from the head portion of the top portion of the diffuser. Particular note is made of how the receiving flange is recited as integrated within the receiving conduit and extending downward from the head portion.
Note is made that the allowability of the claim is in part based upon the claim language identified in claim 1 as lacking sufficient written description support (i.e. multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways) as well as the interpretation applied to claim 1 in response to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of that claim (i.e. requiring some filter structure and/or material). Applicant is cautioned that amendments to claim 1 which broaden that claim may lead to a necessity for new prior art rejections.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 14, neither Choi nor Magidson teaches or suggests the top portion and the base portion of the diffuser are rotatable with respect to each other and wherein the base portion of the diffuser is rotatable within the mask body. In each of Choi and Magidson the cited diffuser fits into a non-circular opening with the mask body and thus would not be rotatable therein.
Note is made that the allowability of the claim is in part based upon the claim language identified in claim 1 as lacking sufficient written description support (i.e. multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways) as well as the interpretation applied to claim 1 in response to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of that claim (i.e. requiring some filter structure and/or material). Applicant is cautioned that amendments to claim 1 which broaden that claim may lead to a necessity for new prior art rejections.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 15, neither Choi nor Magidson teaches or suggests the base portion of the diffuser is positioned under the port on the posterior side of the mask body and wherein the first conduit of the base portion of the diffuser extends upward from the posterior side of the mask body through the port to the anterior side of the mask body. In each of Choi and Magidson there is not a sufficiently readable first conduit, in accordance with both the instant claim and claim 3, which would extend upward from the posterior side of the mask body through the port to the anterior side of the mask body.
Note is made that the allowability of the claim is in part based upon the claim language identified in claim 1 as lacking sufficient written description support (i.e. multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways) as well as the interpretation applied to claim 1 in response to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of that claim (i.e. requiring some filter structure and/or material). Applicant is cautioned that amendments to claim 1 which broaden that claim may lead to a necessity for new prior art rejections.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 19, neither Choi nor Magidson teaches or suggests the mask body comprises strap hooks. In each of Choi and Magidson strap connections are provided on the structure cited as the diffuser and not on a structure readable as the mask body (Choi – Figs. 1-2; Magidson – Figs. 1 & 9).
Note is made that the allowability of the claim is in part based upon the claim language identified in claim 1 as lacking sufficient written description support (i.e. multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways) as well as the interpretation applied to claim 1 in response to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of that claim (i.e. requiring some filter structure and/or material). Applicant is cautioned that amendments to claim 1 which broaden that claim may lead to a necessity for new prior art rejections.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 21, neither Choi nor Magidson teaches or suggests a method of assembling the filtering facepiece respirator as claimed. The claim is found allowable for the same general reasons discussed above in regard to claim 15.
Note is made that the allowability of the claim is in part based upon the claim language identified in claim 1 as lacking sufficient written description support (i.e. multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways) as well as the interpretation applied to claim 1 in response to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of that claim (i.e. requiring some filter structure and/or material). Applicant is cautioned that amendments to claim 1 which broaden that claim may lead to a necessity for new prior art rejections.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 22, neither Choi nor Magidson teaches or suggests a method of making the filtering facepiece respirator as claimed. The claim is found allowable for the same general reasons discussed above in regard to claim 15.
Note is made that the allowability of the claim is in part based upon the claim language identified in claim 1 as lacking sufficient written description support (i.e. multiple inlet port passageways and outlet port passageways) as well as the interpretation applied to claim 1 in response to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of that claim (i.e. requiring some filter structure and/or material). Applicant is cautioned that amendments to claim 1 which broaden that claim may lead to a necessity for new prior art rejections.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references.
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785