DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0164699) in view of Bai (US PG Pub. No. 2026/0012970) and further in view of Yuan (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0224192), hereinafter referred to as Yuan’192.
As per claim 1:
Yuan teaches a wireless device (see Figure 3, paragraph [0048], UE 350) comprising:
one or more processors (see Figure 3, controller/processor 359);
and memory (see Figure 3, memory 360) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see paragraph [0051], controller/processor 259 can be associated with memory 359 that stores program codes and data), cause the wireless device to:
receive a first radio resource control (RRC) message (see paragraph [0088], UE receives RRC message from base station a control message) indicating:
one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see paragraph [0088], said control message enables the UE to determine the association between one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) and one or more corresponding uplink power control (ULPC) configurations);
and a plurality of power control settings (as explained earlier in paragraph [0088], said control message enables the UE to determine the association between one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) and one or more corresponding uplink power control (ULPC) configurations) of a cell (see paragraph [0068], disclose relation between UL-TCI and UL power control parameter set included in a PCI (such as serving cell)), wherein:
the plurality of power control settings comprise a first power control setting (see paragraph [0057], UE 402 may determine the ULPC configuration associated with the TCI state based on the control message 406 and may determine a transmit power for the PUSCH based on the ULPC configuration. Paragraph [0062] also disclose, in some examples, the transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled with an UL power control parameter set. Said UL power control power set may include, for example, any of four parameters, such as (1) a power control set, (2) a path loss reference signal, (3) a P0 value and a path loss compensation factor and (4) a close loop index. Note: Examiner is reading any of power control set, path loss reference signal, P0 value and path loss reference signal compensation factor and close loop index as said first power control setting);
and the first power control setting is used, for an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) of the cell (see paragraph [0062], the transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled by any of the four parameters. Paragraph [0061] disclose UE may determine PUSCH transmission power in the PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier frequency f of a serving cell c using parameters such as said closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value);
transmit, via the uplink BWP, a first uplink signal using a first transmission power determined based on the first power control setting (paragraph [0061], the UE may transmit PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c by using parameters such as closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value).
Juan does not teach in response to the plurality of power control settings not being associated with any of the one or more TCI states.
Bai teaches in response to the plurality of power control settings not being associated with any of the one or more TCI state (see paragraph [0152], UE 115-e may identify a TCI configuration without power control parameters. For example, the TCI configuration may include power control configuration that may not be associated with a TCI state identifier. If, for example, there is no configured association between the power control parameters and a TCI state, for each channel or reference signal, UE 115-e may apply the common control configuration (e.g., with defined set of power control parameters) per channel or reference signal to each uplink TCI state, joint TCI state or a combination, please see paragraph [0153]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of common control configuration to each TCI state according to a rule (as disclosed in Bai) into Juan as a way of reducing processing, reduced power and a more efficient utilization of communication resources (please see paragraph [0167] of Bai).
The combination of Yuan and Bai do not clearly teach receive a second RRC message indicating a second power control setting, of the plurality of power control settings, for a TCI state;
and transmit, via the uplink BWP, a second uplink signal using a second transmission power determined based on the second power control setting associated with the TCI state.
Yuan’192 teaches receive a second RRC message indicating a second power control setting, of the plurality of power control settings (see paragraph [0090], the UE 402 may receive, via RRC message, an indication of the plurality of second components of the at least one power control parameter as part of uplink channel configurations of the plurality of uplink channels), for a TCI state (see paragraph [0005], the second components may correspond to the first TCI state or at least one other TCI state);
and transmit, via the uplink BWP (paragraph [0072] disclose each uplink channel such as PUSCH and PUCCH is associated with PC settings or parameters of P0, alpha, closed-loop index per channel/signal/PWL of the activated UL or joint TCI states), a second uplink signal using a second transmission power determined based on the second power control setting associated with the TCI state (see paragraph [0091], UE 402 may apply, to one of the plurality of uplink channels, an uplink transmission power setting associated with either the first component of the at least one power control parameter or the plurality of second components of the at least one power control parameter).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of second components of the at least one power control parameter to the one of the plurality of uplink channels (as disclosed in Yuan’192) into both Yuan and Bai as a way of providing a dedicated power control parameter to one of the multiple channels applicable to the TCI state (please see paragraph [0075] of Yuan’192).
As per claim 2:
Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the one or more TCI states are one or more uplink TCI states or one or more joint TCI states (Yuan, see paragraph [0060], base station may active up to eight of the UL-TCI states using the UE-specific PUSCH MAC-CE 600).
As per claim 3:
Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first power control setting is identified by a power control setting index that is equal to a first value (Yuan, see paragraph [0062], said UL power control power set may include, for example, any of four parameters, such as (1) a power control set, (2) a path loss reference signal, (3) a P0 value and a path loss compensation factor and (4) a close loop index).
As per claim 4:
Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of power control settings comprise:
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) power control setting (Yuan, see paragraph [0061], the UE may transmit PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c by using parameters such as closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value).
Yuan does not teach a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) power control setting;
and a sounding reference signal (SRS) power control setting.
Bai teaches a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) power control setting (see paragraph [0144], UE -115-e may transmit signaling to base station 105-e according to a calculated uplink transmit power (e.g., formular for power control for a PUCCH, SRS, or a combination thereof). In some examples, uplink power may be a function of a pathloss estimation and power control parameters);
and a sounding reference signal (SRS) power control setting (see paragraph [0144], UE -115-e may transmit signaling to base station 105-e according to a calculated uplink transmit power (e.g., formular for power control for a PUCCH, SRS, or a combination thereof). In some examples, uplink power may be a function of a pathloss estimation and power control parameters).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of common control configuration to each TCI state according to a rule (as disclosed in Bai) into Juan as a way of reducing processing, reduced power and a more efficient utilization of communication resources (please see paragraph [0167] of Bai).
As per claim 8:
Yuan teaches a base station (see Figure 3, paragraph [0048], base station 310) comprising:
one or more processors (see Figure 3, controller/processor 375);
and memory (see Figure 3, memory 376) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see paragraph [0055], controller/processor 375 associated with memory 376), cause the base station to:
transmit, to a wireless device, a first radio resource control (RRC) message (see paragraph [0088], UE receives RRC message from base station a control message) indicating:
one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see paragraph [0088], said control message enables the UE to determine the association between one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) and one or more corresponding uplink power control (ULPC) configurations);
and a plurality of power control settings (as explained earlier in paragraph [0088], said control message enables the UE to determine the association between one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) and one or more corresponding uplink power control (ULPC) configurations) of a cell (see paragraph [0068], disclose relation between UL-TCI and UL power control parameter set included in a PCI (such as serving cell)), wherein:
the plurality of power control settings comprise a first power control setting (see paragraph [0057], UE 402 may determine the ULPC configuration associated with the TCI state based on the control message 406 and may determine a transmit power for the PUSCH based on the ULPC configuration. Paragraph [0062] also disclose, in some examples, the transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled with an UL power control parameter set. Said UL power control power set may include, for example, any of four parameters, such as (1) a power control set, (2) a path loss reference signal, (3) a P0 value and a path loss compensation factor and (4) a close loop index. Note: Examiner is reading any of power control set, path loss reference signal, P0 value and path loss reference signal compensation factor and close loop index as said first power control setting);
and the first power control setting is used, for an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) of the cell (see paragraph [0062], the transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled by any of the four parameters. Paragraph [0061] disclose UE may determine PUSCH transmission power in the PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier frequency f of a serving cell c using parameters such as said closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value),
receive, from the wireless device via the uplink BWP, a first uplink signal using a first transmission power determined by the wireless device based on the first power control setting (paragraph [0061], the UE may transmit PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c by using parameters such as closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value. Paragraph [0057], disclose the UE 402 may then perform UL transmission 410 to the base station 404 according to the transmit power on the PUSCH).
Yuan does not teach in response to the plurality of power control settings not being associated with any of the one or more TCI states.
Bai teaches in response to the plurality of power control settings not being associated with any of the one or more TCI states (see paragraph [0152], UE 115-e may identify a TCI configuration without power control parameters. For example, the TCI configuration may include power control configuration that may not be associated with a TCI state identifier. If, for example, there is no configured association between the power control parameters and a TCI state, for each channel or reference signal, UE 115-e may apply the common control configuration (e.g., with defined set of power control parameters) per channel or reference signal to each uplink TCI state, joint TCI state or a combination, please see paragraph [0153]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of common control configuration to each TCI state according to a rule (as disclosed in Bai) into Juan as a way of reducing processing, reduced power and a more efficient utilization of communication resources (please see paragraph [0167] of Bai).
The combination of Yuan and Bai do not clearly teach transmit, to the wireless device, a second RRC message indicating a second power control setting, of the plurality of power control settings, for a TCI state;
and receive, from the wireless device via the uplink BWP, a second uplink signal using a second transmission power determined by the wireless device based on the second power control setting associated with the TCI state.
Yuan’192 teaches transmit, to the wireless device, a second RRC message indicating a second power control setting, of the plurality of power control settings (see paragraph [0090], the UE 402 may receive, via RRC message, an indication of the plurality of second components of the at least one power control parameter as part of uplink channel configurations of the plurality of uplink channels), for a TCI state (see paragraph [0005], the second components may correspond to the first TCI state or at least one other TCI state);
and receive, from the wireless device via the uplink BWP (paragraph [0072] disclose each uplink channel such as PUSCH and PUCCH is associated with PC settings or parameters of P0, alpha, closed-loop index per channel/signal/PWL of the activated UL or joint TCI states), a second uplink signal using a second transmission power determined by the wireless device based on the second power control setting associated with the TCI state (see paragraph [0091], UE 402 may apply, to one of the plurality of uplink channels, an uplink transmission power setting associated with either the first component of the at least one power control parameter or the plurality of second components of the at least one power control parameter).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of second components of the at least one power control parameter to the one of the plurality of uplink channels (as disclosed in Yuan’192) into both Yuan and Bai as a way of providing a dedicated power control parameter to one of the multiple channels applicable to the TCI state (please see paragraph [0075] of Yuan’192).
Claim 9 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
As per claim 15:
Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device (see Figure 3, paragraph [0048], UE 350. See paragraph [0051], controller/processor 259 can be associated with memory 359 that stores program codes and data), cause the wireless device to:
receive a first radio resource control (RRC) message (see paragraph [0088], UE receives RRC message from base station a control message) indicating:
one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see paragraph [0088], said control message enables the UE to determine the association between one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) and one or more corresponding uplink power control (ULPC) configurations);
and a plurality of power control settings (as explained earlier in paragraph [0088], said control message enables the UE to determine the association between one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) and one or more corresponding uplink power control (ULPC) configurations) of a cell (see paragraph [0068], disclose relation between UL-TCI and UL power control parameter set included in a PCI (such as serving cell)), wherein:
the plurality of power control settings comprise a first power control setting (see paragraph [0057], UE 402 may determine the ULPC configuration associated with the TCI state based on the control message 406 and may determine a transmit power for the PUSCH based on the ULPC configuration. Paragraph [0062] also disclose, in some examples, the transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled with an UL power control parameter set. Said UL power control power set may include, for example, any of four parameters, such as (1) a power control set, (2) a path loss reference signal, (3) a P0 value and a path loss compensation factor and (4) a close loop index. Note: Examiner is reading any of power control set, path loss reference signal, P0 value and path loss reference signal compensation factor and close loop index as said first power control setting);
and the first power control setting is used, for an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) of the cell (see paragraph [0062], the transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled by any of the four parameters. Paragraph [0061] disclose UE may determine PUSCH transmission power in the PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier frequency f of a serving cell c using parameters such as said closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value);
transmit, via the uplink BWP, a first uplink signal using a first transmission power determined based on the first power control setting (paragraph [0061], the UE may transmit PUSCH on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c by using parameters such as closed loop index, pathloss compensation factor and target SINR determined by P0 value).
Juan does not teach in response to the plurality of power control settings not being associated with any of the one or more TCI states.
Bai teaches in response to the plurality of power control settings not being associated with any of the one or more TCI state (see paragraph [0152], UE 115-e may identify a TCI configuration without power control parameters. For example, the TCI configuration may include power control configuration that may not be associated with a TCI state identifier. If, for example, there is no configured association between the power control parameters and a TCI state, for each channel or reference signal, UE 115-e may apply the common control configuration (e.g., with defined set of power control parameters) per channel or reference signal to each uplink TCI state, joint TCI state or a combination, please see paragraph [0153]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of common control configuration to each TCI state according to a rule (as disclosed in Bai) into Juan as a way of reducing processing, reduced power and a more efficient utilization of communication resources (please see paragraph [0167] of Bai).
The combination of Yuan and Bai do not clearly teach receive a second RRC message indicating a second power control setting, of the plurality of power control settings, for a TCI state;
and transmit, via the uplink BWP, a second uplink signal using a second transmission power determined based on the second power control setting associated with the TCI state.
Yuan’192 teaches receive a second RRC message indicating a second power control setting, of the plurality of power control settings (see paragraph [0090], the UE 402 may receive, via RRC message, an indication of the plurality of second components of the at least one power control parameter as part of uplink channel configurations of the plurality of uplink channels), for a TCI state (see paragraph [0005], the second components may correspond to the first TCI state or at least one other TCI state);
and transmit, via the uplink BWP (paragraph [0072] disclose each uplink channel such as PUSCH and PUCCH is associated with PC settings or parameters of P0, alpha, closed-loop index per channel/signal/PWL of the activated UL or joint TCI states), a second uplink signal using a second transmission power determined based on the second power control setting associated with the TCI state (see paragraph [0091], UE 402 may apply, to one of the plurality of uplink channels, an uplink transmission power setting associated with either the first component of the at least one power control parameter or the plurality of second components of the at least one power control parameter).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of second components of the at least one power control parameter to the one of the plurality of uplink channels (as disclosed in Yuan’192) into both Yuan and Bai as a way of providing a dedicated power control parameter to one of the multiple channels applicable to the TCI state (please see paragraph [0075] of Yuan’192).
Claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
3. Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 and Yao (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0014784).
As per claim 5:
Yuan and in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 teaches the wireless device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein:
the first power control setting indicates:
a first target received power;
a first pathloss compensation factor;
and a first closed-loop index;
and the first transmission power is determined based on the first target received power, the first pathloss compensation factor, and the first closed-loop index.
Yao teaches wherein:
the first power control setting (see paragraph [0062], disclose each parameter in the power calculation formula is either configured or calculated for each of different cells) indicates:
a first target received power (see paragraph [0063], target receiving power, PO_PUSCH);
a first pathloss compensation factor (see paragraph [0063], pathloss (PL) amount and a pathloss factor α);
and a first closed-loop index (see paragraph [0063], local closed-loop power control adjustment amount, f(i));
and the first transmission power is determined based on the first target received power, the first pathloss compensation factor, and the first closed-loop index (see paragraph [0061] the calculation formula for the transmitting power of the PUSCH for LTE is given as:
PPUSCH,c(i)=min{PCMAX,c(i), 10 log10(MPUSCH,c(i)) + PO_PUSCH,c(j)+ αc(j) . PLc + ∆TF,c(i) + fc(i)}, where αc(j) and PLc are the pathloss factor and pathloss amount respectively and fc(i) is the closed loop power adjustment amount, please see paragraph [0063]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the respective parameters for calculating the uplink transmission power (as disclosed in Yao) into Yuan, Bai and Yuan’192 as a way of controlling the power on the uplink (please see paragraph [0060] of Yao).
As per claim 6:
Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 teaches the wireless device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein:
the second power control setting indicates:
a second target received power;
a second pathloss compensation factor;
and a second closed-loop index;
and the second transmission power is determined based on the second target received power, the second pathloss compensation factor, and the second closed-loop index.
Yuan teaches wherein:
the second power control setting indicates (see paragraph [0278], the UE obtains the SRS open-loop power control parameters, the SRS pathloss measurement parameters, the SRS closed-loop power control parameters and the number of RBs occupied by the SRS):
a second target received power (see paragraphs [0278]-[0279], PCMAX,c(i));
a second pathloss compensation factor (see paragraphs [0278]-[0279], PLSRS,C(k) and αSRS,C(j));
and a second closed-loop index (see paragraphs [0278]-[0279], hc(i,l));
and the second transmission power is determined based on the second target received power, the second pathloss compensation factor, and the second closed-loop index (see paragraph [0278] disclose a formula for calculating the SRS transmission. That is:
PSRS,c(i) = {PCMAX,c(i), 10 log10(MSRS,c(i)) + P0_SRS,c(j) + αSRS,c(j) * PLSRS,c(k) + hc(i, l)}).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the respective parameters for calculating the uplink transmission power (as disclosed in Yao) into Yuan, Bai and Yuan’192 as a way of controlling the power on the uplink (please see paragraph [0060] of Yao).
Claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
4. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 and Jiang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0369247).
As per claim 7:
Yuan in view of Bai and further in view of Yuan’192 teaches the wireless device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein:
the second power control setting is identified by a second power control setting index;
and the second RRC message indicates the second power control setting index.
Jiang teaches wherein:
the second power control setting is identified by a second power control setting index (see paragraph [0069], second candidate group of power control parameters may be configured with {a PUCCH pathloss reference RS Id=1, p0 Id=1, closed loop index=1});
and the second RRC message indicates the second power control setting index (For each PUCCH resource or resource group, a RRC signaling or MAC CE may be used to indicate one of three cases such as PUCCH resource power control may be based on {a PUCCH pathloss reference RS Id=0, p0 Id=0, closed loop index=0}, please see paragraphs [0069]-[0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the RRC signaling of the respective PUCCH resource or resource group (as disclosed in Jiang) into Yuan, Bai and Yuan’192 as a way of linking the PUCCH resource with a candidate group of power control parameters for single beam transmission (please see paragraphs [0071]-[0072] of Jiang).
Claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Conclusion
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474