DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is response to communication filed on 02/10/2026.
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are pending in this action.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawing from consideration being drawn to a non-elected invention.
This Action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4,8-9,12-13,15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2012/0300916 A1 to WOICKE in view of U.S Pub. No. 2022/0122119 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, WOICKE teaches a computing system (paragraph [0030]; a method, an apparatus and/or a system of provisioning and correlating a dynamic phone number to identify a unique caller), comprising:
a processor (paragraph [0071]; processor 1402); and
a non-transitory storage medium communicatively coupled to the processor (paragraph [0071], memory 1404), the non-transitory storage medium comprises logic configured to provision contact information (Paragraph [0030];provisioning and correlating a dynamic phone number to identify a unique caller), in real time as a substitute for a phone number present on a digitized marketing material (paragraph [0052]; This proxy may retrieve the content from the advertiser's website and may transform the output by inserting and/or replacing specific phone numbers on the page with call tracking numbers based on keyword or search engine triggers. This may be done via cached copies of an advertiser's website or in some cases, in real-time),
wherein the contact information corresponds to a dynamically provisioned phone number for conversion attribution or channel attribution and is based on attributes parameter or a combination of the attributes and the parameters included within a provisioning request received from the client computing device (paragraph [0044]; a method for tracking separate advertising or sales campaigns on a website or mobile interface may be to provision a dynamic telephone number, such as Called ID 202, to each one. When a unique telephone number is associated with an online ad campaign (such as Offer 200), it may ensure that when User 106 clicks Offer 200, the unique number may be displayed to the user for example, User 106 on the website. If the user then opts to call that number rather than complete the web form, that user may still be tracked as a conversion within that campaign).
WOICKE does not explicitly disclose Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) content displayed as part of a webpage by a client computing.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) content displayed as part of a webpage by a client computing (paragraphs [0048], [0059]- [0060]; when a web page 306 is requested directly from the server 310, the JavaScript executes and call the SP system 100. The request analysis sub-process 222 may analyze the request as described above. The HTML of the web page 306 is modified to replace the phone number 308 with phone number 302 on the client side).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) content displayed as part of a webpage by a client computing as taught by Li in order to present attribution-based contact information to a user (paragraph [0048]; Li).
Regarding claim 2, WOICKE teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the attributes, parameters, or the combination of the attributes and the parameters comprises one or more criterion of a marketing campaign or business usage including a location identifier (paragraph [0045]; provisioning the dynamic DNIS to a user 106 equipped with a user's phone 108 and determining a geo-location of the user based on the user's IP address 208 (see FIGS. 6A and 6B)), a web page identifier, a page uniform resource locator (URL), time of day, a call source identifier, or a subscription identifier (paragraphs [0051]; the DNIS Provisioning Server 102 may allow advertisers to track the specific search engine, web page).
Regarding claim 4, WOICKE teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes interaction tracking logic is configured to locally monitor for an interaction event associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number (paragraph [0051]; the DNIS Provisioning Server 102 may allow advertisers to track the specific search engine, web page or keyword that generated an inbound phone call using tracking numbers) substituted for the phone number (paragraph [0051]; DNIS may seamlessly replace select contact phone numbers on a web page with call tracking numbers), the monitored interaction event includes an action that is deemed as a view by a consumer in which the action includes a single-click event or a double-click event (paragraph [0036]; upon clicking or opting into the offer, the user may be navigated to a landing page for example, Landing Page 116 where the system may database the user's internet protocol (IP) address for example, User's IP Address 208, the identification of the offer, the user's own identification for example, Unique ID 204, account identification or any other identification associated with the website or user, see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, WOICKE does not teach the computing system of claim 4, wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes global replacement logic configured to substitute the dynamically provisioned phone number for the phone number within an HTML advertising document associated with the digitized marketing material in response to the monitored interaction event.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes global replacement logic configured to substitute the dynamically provisioned phone number for the phone number within an HTML advertising document associated with the digitized marketing material in response to the monitored interaction event (paragraphs [0045] and [0059]-[0060]; when a web page 306 is requested directly from the server 310, the JavaScript executes and call the SP system 100. The request analysis sub-process 222 may analyze the request as described above. The HTML of the web page 306 is modified to replace the phone number 308 with phone number 302 on the client side. The modified web page 302 is delivered and displayed 326 to the end user 120).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes global replacement logic configured to substitute the dynamically provisioned phone number for the phone number within an HTML advertising document associated with the digitized marketing material in response to the monitored interaction event as taught by Li in order to modify advertiser-provided information in response to the advertising campaign to which a potential responds and includes the associated contact indicium in the modified advertiser information (Paragraph [0016];Li).
Regarding claim 9, WOICKE teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes de-provisioning logic configured to release or remove the dynamic provisioned phone number from active usage by a consumer with access to the computing system (paragraph [0058]; the user record may be matched in DNIS Provisioning Server 102 and updated as well, using DNIS as a record identifier. The dynamic DNIS may then release for re-use).
Regarding claim 12, WOICKE teaches a non-transitory storage medium (paragraph [0071]; Memory 1404) including logic that are executable by a processor (paragraph [0071]; processor 1402), the non-transitory storage medium comprising logic configured to provision contact information (paragraph [0030]; provisioning and correlating a dynamic phone number to identify a unique caller), in real time as a substitute for a phone number present on a digitized marketing material (paragraph [0052]; this proxy may retrieve the content from the advertiser's website and may transform the output by inserting and/or replacing specific phone numbers on the page with call tracking numbers based on keyword or search engine triggers. According to one embodiment, the dynamic number may also double as a proxy to an existing static number. This may be done via cached copies of an advertiser's website or in some cases, in real-time), the contact information based on attributes, parameters or a combination of the attributes and the parameters included within a provisioning request received by a computing system (paragraph [0036]; a unique identification for example, Unique ID 204 of FIG. 2 or multiple unique identifications may be correlated to a User 106 by means of dialing a phone number through a web interface or through a mobile interface for example, the User's Phone 108, wherein the contact information corresponds to a dynamically provisioned phone number for conversion attribution or channel attribution (paragraph [0044]; a method for tracking separate advertising or sales campaigns on a website or mobile interface may be to provision a dynamic telephone number such as Called ID 202 to each one. When a unique telephone number is associated with an online ad campaign such as Offer 200, it may ensure that when User 106 clicks Offer 200, the unique number may be displayed to the user for example, User 106 on the website. If the user then opts to call that number rather than complete the web form, that user may still be tracked as a conversion within that campaign).
WOICKE does not explicitly disclose Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) content displayed as part of a webpage by a client computing.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) content displayed as part of a webpage by a client computing (paragraphs [0048], [0059]- [0060]; when a web page 306 is requested directly from the server 310, the JavaScript executes and call the SP system 100. The request analysis sub-process 222 may analyze the request as described above. The HTML of the web page 306 is modified to replace the phone number 308 with phone number 302 on the client side).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) content displayed as part of a webpage by a client computing as taught by Li in order to present attribution-based contact information to a user (paragraph [0048]; Li).
Regarding claim 13, WOICKE teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 12, wherein the attributes, parameters, or the combination of the attributes and the parameters comprises one or more criterion of a marketing campaign or business usage including a location identifier (paragraph [0045]; provisioning the dynamic DNIS to a user 106 equipped with a user's phone 108 and determining a geo-location of the user based on the user's IP address 208 (see FIGS. 6A and 6B)), a web page identifier, a page uniform resource locator (URL), time of day, a call source identifier, or a subscription identifier (paragraph [0051]; the DNIS Provisioning Server 102 may allow advertisers to track the specific search engine, web page).
Regarding claim 15, WOICKE teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 12, wherein the logic further comprises interaction tracking logic is configured to locally monitor for an interaction event associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number (paragraph [0051]; the DNIS Provisioning Server 102 may allow advertisers to track the specific search engine, web page or keyword that generated an inbound phone call using tracking numbers), substituted for the phone number (paragraph [0051]; DNIS may seamlessly replace select contact phone numbers on a web page with call tracking numbers), the monitored interaction event includes an action that is deemed as a view by a consumer at least a hovering event in which a cursor controlled by the consumer is positioned above a display region associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number or the digitized marketing material (paragraph [0036]; upon clicking or opting into the offer, the user may be navigated to a landing page for example, Landing Page 116) where the system may database the user's internet protocol (IP) address for example, User's IP Address 208, the identification of the offer, the user's own identification for example, Unique ID 204, account identification or any other identification associated with the website or user).
Regarding claim 20, WOICKE teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 12, wherein the logic further comprises de-provisioning logic configured to release or remove the dynamic provisioned phone number from active usage by a consumer with access to the computing system (paragraph [0058]; The user record may be matched in DNIS Provisioning Server 102 and updated as well, using DNIS as a record identifier. The dynamic DNIS may then released for re-use).
Claim 19 is a non-transitory storage medium claim correspond to system claim 8. Therefore, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected based on system claim 8.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2012/0300916 A1 to WOICKE in view of U.S Pub. No. 2022/0122119 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) in further view of U.S Pub. No. 2020/0120054 A1 to GRABOVITCH et al. (hereinafter “GRABOVITCH”).
Regarding claim 3, WOICKE does not disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes detection logic configured to scan a Document Object Model (DOM) representing the HTML content under analysis for content associated with the phone number and performing a regular expression (regex) comparison to determine whether nodes of the DOM includes values corresponding in structure to a phone number.
In the same field of endeavor, GRABOVITCH discloses wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes detection logic configured to scan a Document Object Model (DOM) (paragraphs [0011] and [0080]; Step 404 results in the identification of the DOM for each message) representing the digitized marketing material (paragraph [0083] and claim 20; logic executed by the processor for identifying, via the computing device, a message addressed to a user, said message comprising digital content associated with a third party entity; logic executed by the processor for analyzing, via the computing device, said identified message, and based on said analysis, identifying the Document Object Model (DOM) of the message; logic executed by the processor for partitioning, via the computing device, said DOM, said partitioning comprising analyzing links associated with the digital content within the DOM, and based on said analysis, determining a set of sub-trees within said DOM) representing the HTML content under analysis for content associated with the phone number and performing a regular expression (regex) comparison to determine whether nodes of the DOM includes values corresponding in structure to a phone number (paragraphs [0089]-[0090] and claim 20; logic executed by the processor for executing, via the computing device, regular expression (regex) software on said candidate set of sub-trees, and based on said regex execution, identifying field information within the message that comprise entity content specific to said sender type).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes detection logic configured to scan a Document Object Model (DOM) representing the HTML content under analysis for content associated with the phone number and performing a regular expression (regex) comparison to determine whether nodes of the DOM includes values corresponding in structure to a phone number as taught by GRABOVITCH in order to provide an improved message partitioning and extraction framework that can be applied online, in real-time, at scale, without any pre-processing or pre-;earning or training (Paragraph [0006]; GRABOVITCH).
Claim 14 is a non-transitory storage medium claim correspond to system claim 3. Therefore, claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected based on system claim 3.
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2012/0300916 A1 to WOICKE in view of in view of U.S Pub. No. 2022/0122119 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) in further view of U.S Pub. No. 2018/0359360 A1 to Yi et al. (hereinafter “Yi”).
Regarding claim 5, WOICKE does not teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes interaction tracking logic configured to locally monitor for an interaction event associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number substituted for the phone number, the monitored interaction event includes an action that is deemed as a view by a consumer, wherein the action includes a hovering event in which a cursor controlled by the consumer is positioned above a display region associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number or the digitized marketing material.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes interaction tracking logic configured to locally monitor for an interaction event associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number substituted for the phone number, the monitored interaction event includes an action that is deemed as a view by a consumer, wherein the action includes a hovering event in which a cursor controlled by the consumer is positioned above a display region associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number or the digitized marketing material (paragraphs [0004] and [0019]; the data processing system can use the identified virtual phone number to perform the look and determine a content item impression identifier identifying an impression of a content item that resulted in a provision of the virtual phone number to the content item. The method can include the data processing system storing, in a data structure corresponding to the content item impression identifier, data provided via the voice call entry).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes interaction tracking logic configured to locally monitor for an interaction event associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number substituted for the phone number, the monitored interaction event includes an action that is deemed as a view by a consumer, wherein the action includes a hovering event in which a cursor controlled by the consumer is positioned above a display region associated with the dynamically provisioned phone number or the digitized marketing material as taught by Yi in order to match that received voice call data to the data processing system’s internal log entries using one or more data processing techniques that resolve that inaccurate or otherwise corrupt data (Paragraph [0003];Yi).
Regarding claim 6, WOICKE does not teach the computing system of claim 5, wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes impression tracking logic to locally monitor for impression events corresponding to events that represent operations by a software application directed to publicize the dynamically provisioned phone number, the impression event represents a number of times that the dynamically provisioned phone number is displayed over a prescribed period of time along with a number of views of or a number of calls involving the dynamically provisioned phone number by a consumer.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes impression tracking logic to locally monitor for impression events corresponding to events that represent operations by a software application directed to publicize the dynamically provisioned phone number, the impression event represents a number of times that the dynamically provisioned phone number is displayed over a prescribed period of time along with a number of views of or a number of calls involving the dynamically provisioned phone number by a consumer (paragraphs [0053] and [0111]; the data processing system 120 may remove the link between the tracking data and the virtual phone number based on a condition. The condition may include, e.g.: receiving a request for the virtual phone number but not receiving a call to that number within a duration of providing the number (e.g., 2 hours, 4 hours, 48 hours, 72 hours, a week, etc.); or receiving a certain number of calls to the number (e.g., 2 calls, 3 calls, 5 calls, etc.)).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of wherein the logic deployed within the non-transitory storage medium further includes impression tracking logic to locally monitor for impression events corresponding to events that represent operations by a software application directed to publicize the dynamically provisioned phone number, the impression event represents a number of times that the dynamically provisioned phone number is displayed over a prescribed period of time along with a number of views of or a number of calls involving the dynamically provisioned phone number by a consumer as taught by Yi in order to match that received voice call data to the data processing system’s internal log entries using one or more data processing techniques that resolve that inaccurate or otherwise corrupt data (Paragraph [0003];Yi).
Claims 16-17 are a non-transitory storage medium claims correspond to system claims 5-6. Therefore, claims 16-17 have been analyzed and rejected based on system Claims 5-6.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2012/0300916 A1 to WOICKE in view of U.S Pub. No. 2022/0122119 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) in further view of U.S Pub. No. 2023/0162237 A1 to Pape et al. (hereinafter “Pape”).
Regarding claim 7, WOICKE does not teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes channel attribution tracking logic configured to locally monitor and inspect Urchin Tracking Module (UTM) parameters to ascertain a source and intent associated with the digitized marketing material.
In the same field of endeavor, Pape discloses wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes channel attribution tracking logic configured to locally monitor and inspect Urchin Tracking Module (UTM) parameters to ascertain a source and intent associated with the digitized marketing material (paragraph [0052]; a mechanism referred to as UTM, which is known to stand for Urchin Tracking Module may provide valuable information to digital marketing campaigns. A UTM, which may be passed as a set of parameterized fields in a URL, may include among other things an identifier for a corresponding digital marketing campaign. In example embodiments, an identifier for a digital marketing campaign may be represented in a UTM as a value of a “utm_campaign” field. When the “utm_campaign” field, herein referred to as the campaign name may be unique for a given digital campaign tracking framework, all activity associated with URLs containing a corresponding UTM may be tracked and attributed to the corresponding digital marketing campaign).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify WOICKE’s teaching with a feature of wherein the logic deployed within the non- transitory storage medium further includes channel attribution tracking logic configured to locally monitor and inspect Urchin Tracking Module (UTM) parameters to ascertain a source and intent associated with the digitized marketing material as taught by Pape in order to facilitate the generation of a content sequence of select content items and automating the implementation of campaigns that are part of the content sequence in an efficient manner that eliminates the need for manual insight (Paragraph [0012];Pape).
Claim 18 is a non-transitory storage medium claim correspond to system claim 7. Therefore, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected based on system claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent No. 10,685,373 B22 to Lieberman et al. discloses A system for tracking telephone calls made in response to advertising campaigns in electronic or other media is provided. The system permits an advertiser to associate specific and distinct telephone numbers with associated advertising campaigns. The system further modifies advertiser-provided information in response to the advertising campaign to which a potential customer responds, and includes the associated telephone number in the modified advertiser information. The system processes telephone calls made to the selected telephone numbers, and provides reports to advertisers of call data associated with the respective advertising campaigns (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694