DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16175698i, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The prior filed application fails to provide support for a kit to further comprise a sleeve (claim 11), a subcutaneous access vessel (claims 12-15), a skin marking device (claim 16), and a spacer (claim 17). The examiner notes that claims 11-17 are examined with a filing date of 1/31/2024.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on July 6, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-3 and 16-18 have been amended and claim 5 has been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-18 are presently pending in this application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed April 7, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 6 that Rowe does not teach or disclose the claimed single opening spanned by a plurality of boundary lines. The examiner respectfully disagrees as discussed in the previous rejection and in the Advisory Action. Rowe discloses that the template can comprise a plurality of holes (paragraph 64). These plurality of holes form a single opening which is spanned by “boundary lines” in the form of the material of the template to separate the single opening into a plurality of zones (i.e. the individual holes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe (US 20180185059) in view of Borchard (US 20040078000).
Regarding claim 1, Rowe discloses:
at least one dialysis needle for accessing a subcutaneous vascular access vessel in a body of a patient (needle 312 in fig. 3C);
a dispenser (tubing 314 in fig. 3C dispenses blood through tubing 314 and to needle 312); and
a template (cannulation site selection apparatus 200 in fig. 3C) having an inner surface and an outer surface (the surface shown in fig. 3C is the “outer surface” and the surface opposite to the surface shown is the “inner surface”), the template defining a single opening (paragraph 64 discloses holes/notches in the edge of the template with this collection of holes/notches forming a “single opening”), the template including a plurality of boundary lines spanning the single opening to define a plurality of zones for a series of cannulations (paragraph 64 discloses that the holes/notches are formed in the template so that the material of the template spans the opening formed by the collection of notches/holes to separate the single opening into a plurality of zones with each zone being an individual notch/hole); and
a plurality of visible markings on the outer surface of the template (cannulation site selection markings 210 in fig. 3C),
wherein the template is adapted to be disposed adjacent the subcutaneous vascular access vessel such that the plurality of visible markings align with cannulation sites along the vascular access vessel for selecting a site for cannulation with the needle into the vascular access vessel (fig. 3C shows the markings aligning with cannulation sites 308).
However, Rowe does not teach or disclose the elements above are a kit.
Borchard teaches a kit (fig. 10; paragraph 24 discloses “a kit”) comprising a needle (needles 310 and 312 in fig. 10), a dispenser (extension set 320 in fig. 10), and a template (template 260 in fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rowe so that the elements set forth in claim 1 above are part of a kit, as taught by Borchard, so that a user conveniently has all of the necessary components in a sterile packing container (paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 2, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses each of the plurality of zones configured for receiving a plurality of simultaneous cannulations accessing the vascular access vessel (paragraph 65).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses the plurality of visible markings on the outer surface of the template identifying each of the plurality of zones for use as cannulation sites along the vascular access vessel (fig. 3C; paragraphs 40 and 64).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses the plurality of visible markings are configured for selecting a first zone as a cannulation site for cannulation into a vascular access vessel such that the cannulation site in the first zone is spaced from and not adjacent to a second zone (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 6, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses the plurality of visible markings are on a first side and a second side of a longitudinal axis of the template (fig. 6 shows an equivalent template 600 in which markings are on a first and second side of a longitudinal axis of the template; see below, the dotted line is the “longitudinal axis”).
Regarding claim 7, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses the template is translucent (paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 8, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses a key on the template (first marking 204 in fig. 3C), the key configured to facilitate alignment of the template for rotation of the plurality of visible markings (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 18, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses the template defines holes along an edge of the template (paragraph 64 discloses “holes/notches along an edge of the flexible member”, the examiner notes that a subset of these are interpreted to form “the single opening” of claim 1 and another subset is interpreted to be the “holes”), the holes spaced at set distances from one another (it is understood that the notches would be spaced at set distances), and wherein the template is adapted to be disposed adjacent a subcutaneous vascular access vessel such that the holes align with the cannulation sites along the vascular access vessel for selecting a site for cannulation with a needle into the vascular access vessel (paragraph 64).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of Borchard, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Van Kaauwen (US 20040153031).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rowe teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claims 1 and 8, as discussed above. Rowe further discloses that the templates disclosed are discussed in the context of cannulating an arm (paragraph 70); however, Rowe further discloses that the template may be used in other cannulation sites (paragraph 70). However, modified Rowe does not teach or disclose the key includes a reproduction of an image of a forearm and a wrist of a patient.
Van Kaauwen teaches a template (1 in fig. 1a) having a key (17, 18 in fig. 1a) which includes a reproduction of an image of the entire human body, including an image of a forearm and wrist (fig. 1a). Van Kaauwen further teaches that this key assists the user in positioning the template (paragraph 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key of modified Rowe to include the reproduction of an image of the entire human body with the appropriate body location designated, as taught by Van Kaauwen, since Van Kaauwen teaches that this modification would assist the user in orienting the template (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 10, in the modified kit of Rowe, Van Kaauwen discloses the key further includes a reproduction of an image of a torso of a patient (fig. 1a).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of Borchard, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Katz (US 4642096).
Regarding claim 11, modified Rowe teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose a sleeve defining a pocket for receiving the template.
Katz teaches a position location device (fig. 2) comprising a template (12) and a sleeve (sleeve formed by clamping unit 26/28 and straps 30; figs. 3 and 4). Katz further teaches that the sleeve defines a pocket for receiving a template (clamps 26 and 28 form a pocket for receiving the template; 4:24-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of modified Rowe to include the sleeve defining a pocket for receiving the template, as taught by Katz. This modification would ensure that the template is securely fastened to the patient in a releasable manner to prevent any unintended movements (2:60-66).
Claims 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of Borchard and in view of Katz, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Young (US 20100191191).
Regarding claim 12, modified Rowe teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1 and 11, as discussed above. Rowe further teaches that the components of claim 1 are intended to be used with a subcutaneous vascular access vessel (paragraph 38 discloses an AV graft or fistula). However, modified Rowe does not explicitly teach or disclose that the subcutaneous vascular access vessel is part of a kit.
Young is directed towards a kit (paragraph 200 discloses “kits”) which can include a subcutaneous vascular access vessel configured to be subcutaneously implanted in the body of the patient (paragraph 200 discloses “one or more synthetic grafts”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of modified Rowe to include the subcutaneous vascular access vessel, as taught by Young, to ensure a user has all of the components necessary for cannulation.
Regarding claim 13, in the modified kit of Rowe, Katz discloses the sleeve is configured to accommodate the body of the subject adjacent the subcutaneous graft such that the markings align with the cannulation sites along the vascular access vessel for selecting a site for cannulation with a needle into the graft (fig. 2 shows body part 2 being accommodated in the sleeve indicating that the sleeve is fully capable of being positioned adjacent a subcutaneous graft so that the markings align at the cannulation sites).
Regarding claim 14, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses the vascular access vessel is an arteriovenous dialysis access graft subcutaneously implanted in a body of a patient (paragraph 38 discloses the vascular access can be an AV graft).
Claims 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe in view of Borchard, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buckman (US 20030051362).
Regarding claim 16, modified Rowe teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. Rowe further discloses the template is adapted to be disposed adjacent the subcutaneous vascular access vessel such that the single opening aligns with a cannulation site along the vascular access vessel for selecting the site for cannulation into the vascular access vessel by marking through the single opening with the skin marking device (paragraph 65 discloses the template can have “holes” which align with cannulation sites; fig. 3C shows the template is adapted to be disposed adjacent a subcutaneous access vessel so that the holes are aligned with cannulation sites; the examiner notes that a user would be able to mark the site through the holes with a skin marking device, such as a pen or marker).
However, modified Rowe does not teach or disclose the skin marking device.
Buckman is directed towards a kit (fig. 10) which includes a skin marking device (surgical marking pen 38 in fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of modified Rowe to further comprise the skin marking device of Buckman for the purpose of marking the incision site (paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified kit of Rowe, Rowe discloses a spacer defining a hole to be aligned with the last cannulation site for marking the arm beyond the periphery of the spacer (paragraph 15 discloses notches/holes in the template with one of these notches/holes being a “spacer” which is capable of being aligned with the last cannulation site and the remainder of the holes reading on the opening).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783