DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/01/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for moving the fiber dispenser, the heater, and the thermoset polymer material dispenser” in claim 5, line 4-5, wherein the written description provides the following corresponding structure in [0020] “The means for moving the printing head comprises a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schirtzinger et al. (US20160114532), and further in view of Chapiro et al. (US20190299522).
Regarding claim 5, Schirtzinger teaches a system (machine 20; Figure 2) for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite ([0038] machine 20 may be a three-dimensional printing machine that may be adapted to allow the incorporation of the fiber layers 16 into the developing component 10), the system comprising:
a fiber dispenser (nozzle head 39; Figure 2), a heater (pressure source 47 in Figure 2; [0041] pressure source 47 may be a heated air press that may deliver a pressurized jet of heated air to the fiber layers 16), and a thermoset polymer material dispenser (nozzle head 29 in Figure 2; [0037] The matrix layer 14 may consist of one or more polymer materials, such as various types of thermoplastics, thermosetting polymers);
means for moving the fiber dispenser, the heater, and the thermoset polymer material dispenser along a path having a direction ([0043] truck 55 may be on a track 57 and may drive the horizontal movement of the matrix feed 25 and the fiber feed 35 in the x-direction and the y-direction for the deposition of each of the matrix layers 14 and each of the fiber layers 16);
wherein:
the fiber dispenser is configured to dispose a first layer of fiber material along the path ([0043] truck 55 may be on a track 57 and may drive the horizontal movement of the matrix feed 25 and the fiber feed 35 in the x-direction and the y-direction for the deposition of each of the matrix layers 14 and each of the fiber layers 16);
the heater is configured to heat the first layer of fiber material after the first layer of fiber material has been disposed along the path ([0041] pressure source 47 may be configured to apply sufficient pressure to a fiber layer 16 to press the fiber layer 16 into a matrix layer 14 on which it has been deposited after the matrix layer 14 has been appropriately softened by the first energy source 45. In this way, each of the fiber layers 16 may be at least partially embedded into the matrix layers 14 of the developing component (see further details below). The pressure source 47 may be a heated air press that may deliver a pressurized jet of heated air to the fiber layers 16 to press them into the softened matrix layers) and configured to generate a moving thermal gradient in the first layer of fiber material trailing the heater relative to the path direction (pressure source 47, which also acts as a heater, will have a thermal gradient between a portion where heat is applied and where heat is not applied outside the heater. Pressure source 47 connected to truck 55 is also driven on track 57 that allows for horizontal movement of the pressure source in the x-direction and y-direction as noted in [0043]. Therefore, pressure source 47 is capable of generating a moving thermal gradient); and
the thermoset polymer material feeder is spaced a trailing distance from the heater (see nozzle head 29 trailing pressure source 47 as truck 55 moves to the left) and configured to dispense a thermoset polymer on the heated first layer of fiber material (see block 120 in Figure 3) .
However, Schirtzinger teaches the means for moving the printing head is a gantry that has three degrees of freedom in translation ([0043] the truck 55 may be on a track 57 and may drive the horizontal movement of the matrix feed 25 and the fiber feed 35 in the x-direction and the y-direction for the deposition of each of the matrix layers 14 and each of the fiber layers 16. The truck 55 may also guide the movement of the matrix feed 25 and the fiber feed 35 vertically along the z-axis as the developing component is built. More specifically, once a matrix layer 14 and/or a fiber layer 16 is deposited in the x-direction and the y-direction, the truck 55 may be incremented upward along the z-axis), and fails to teach the means is a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite, Chapiro teaches the means is a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation ([0090] The container 12 can also or alternatively be connected to a robotic arm 84 such as is shown in FIG. 8 and [0116] In operation, this robotic arm 84 is another embodiment of the machine described in FIG. 7. Since the number of axes on a robotic arm 84 can be greater than 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the gantry of Schirtzinger with the robot arm of Chapiro to achieve the predicable result of forming a three-dimensional composite component. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the gantry of Schirtzinger to be substituted with the robot arm of Chapiro, since both Schirtzinger and Chapiro teach the formation of composite components using gantry systems (see Figure 4 and Figure 7 of Chapiro), and Chapiro lists robotic arms as one alternative to gantry systems that is capable of forming a three-dimensional composite component ([0090] The container 12 can also or alternatively be connected to a robotic arm 84 such as is shown in FIG. 8.).
Regarding claim 9, Schirtzinger modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. Further, Schirtzinger teaches wherein the first layer of fiber material comprises one or more continuous carbon fibers, a carbon-containing material, or one or more non-carbon fibers coated with a carbon-containing material ([0037] The continuous fibers may be extended, woven, or non-woven fibers in random or fixed orientations and may consist of, for example, extruded metallic wires, rayon cords, fabric fibers, glass fibers, carbon fibers, aramid fibers, basalt fibers, cellulose fibers, and/or any other continuous fiber characterized by a strength that exceeds the strength of the material(s) forming the matrix layers 14).
Regarding claim 12, Schirtzinger modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. As noted in the rejection of claim 5 above, Schirtzinger modified with Chapiro teaches wherein the means for moving the printing head comprises a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation.
Regarding claim 13, Schirtzinger modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. Further, Schirtzinger teaches wherein the fiber dispenser, a heater, and a thermoset polymer material dispenser are integrated into a unitary printing head ([0043] As shown in FIG. 2, the matrix feed 25 and the fiber feed 35 may be carried and supported by the same truck 55 to help ensure that the deposited fiber layers 16 are aligned with the deposited matrix layers 14. In addition, the truck 55 may also carry the first energy source 45, the second energy source 50, and the pressure source 47).
Claim(s) 5, 9, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wadsworth (US20190389148), and further in view of Chapiro et al. (US20190299522).
Regarding claim 5, Wadsworth teaches a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite (automated fiber placement (AFP) and in-situ fiber impregnation system 10; Figure 1), the system comprising:
a fiber dispenser (tow spreader 14; Figure 1), a heater (surface heater 22 and intermediate heater 26; Figure 1), and a thermoset polymer material dispenser (resin dispenser 20; Figure 1);
means for moving the fiber dispenser, the heater, and the thermoset polymer material dispenser along a path having a direction ([0042] In one embodiment, the above components are mounted on or attached to a mechanical head 52 configured to move them in unison in the direction of travel to maintain their relative spacing);
wherein:
the fiber dispenser is configured to dispose a first layer of fiber material along the path ([0036] The surface heater 22 warms the tool 102 and/or the previously laid fiber layer);
the heater is configured to heat the first layer of fiber material after the first layer of fiber material has been disposed along the path ([0036] The surface heater 22 warms the tool 102 and/or the previously laid fiber layer) and configured to generate a moving thermal gradient in the first layer of fiber material trailing the heater relative to the path direction (surface heater 22 will have a thermal gradient between a portion where heat is applied and where heat is not applied outside the heater. Surface heater 22 is connected to mechanical head 52 that is configured to move in the direction of travel as noted in [0042]. Therefore, surface heater 22 is capable of generating a moving thermal gradient); and
the thermoset polymer material feeder is spaced a trailing distance from the heater (see resin dispenser 20 trailing surface hater 22 in Figure 1) and configured to dispense a thermoset polymer on the heated first layer of fiber material ([0045]).
However, Wadsworth teaches the means for moving the printing head is a mechanical head ([0042] In one embodiment, the above components are mounted on or attached to a mechanical head 52 configured to move them in unison in the direction of travel to maintain their relative spacing), and fails to teach the mechanical head is a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite, Chapiro teaches the means is a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation ([0090] The container 12 can also or alternatively be connected to a robotic arm 84 such as is shown in FIG. 8 and [0116] In operation, this robotic arm 84 is another embodiment of the machine described in FIG. 7. Since the number of axes on a robotic arm 84 can be greater than 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the mechanical head of Wadsworth with the robot arm of Chapiro to achieve the predicable result of forming a three-dimensional composite component. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the mechanical head of Wadsworth to be substituted with the robot arm of Chapiro, since both Wadsworth and Chapiro teach the formation of composite components using mechanical heads, and Chapiro lists robotic arms as one type of mechanical head that is capable of forming a three-dimensional composite component ([0090] The container 12 can also or alternatively be connected to a robotic arm 84 such as is shown in FIG. 8.).
Regarding claim 9, Wadsworth modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. Further, Wadsworth teaches wherein the first layer of fiber material comprises continuous carbon fibers or a carbon-containing material ([0056] the tow 100 may be carbon tow such as Hexcel AS4C-6K Carbon Fiber Tow 4 lb creel).
Regarding claim 10, Wadsworth modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. Further, Wadsworth teaches wherein the first layer of fiber material comprises a plurality of fibers ([0031] The feeder 12 pulls a tow 100 of fiber from a fiber reel or other fiber supply through the tow spreader 14 toward a forming tool 102) that define one or more spaces between neighboring fibers (see annotated Figure 2 below).
Regarding claim 12, Wadsworth modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. As noted in the rejection of claim 5 above, Wadsworth modified with Chapiro teaches wherein the means for moving the printing head comprises a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation.
Regarding claim 14, Wadsworth modified with Chapiro teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. Further, Wadsworth teaches wherein the fiber dispenser comprises a spool for storing fiber prior to dispensing the first layer of fiber material along the path ([0031] The feeder 12 pulls a tow 100 of fiber from a fiber reel or other fiber supply through the tow spreader 14 toward a forming tool 102), and a guide (compaction roller 24; Figure 1) disposed ahead of the heater along the path direction (see compaction roller 24 ahead of intermediate heater 26 in Figure 1) for guiding the dispensed first layer of fiber material onto the path ([0037] The compaction roller 24 moves over the tow 100 along the forming tool 102).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. (“3D Printing of Carbon Fiber Composite: The Future of Composite Industry?” Matter 2, 1356–1365, June 3, 2020), and further in view of Wadsworth (US20190389148) and Stockett et al. (US20200130296).
Regarding claim 5, Yeong teaches a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite (“In this issue of Matter, Shi and colleagues developed a localized in-plane
thermal assisted (LITA) 3D printing technique to fabricate continuous fiber reinforced thermoset composite parts”- pg. 1361), the system comprising:
a fiber dispenser (“When printing a new layer, the thermoset resin will infiltrate not only the new fiber layer but also the bottom layer to crosslink and form bond with the bottom layer”- pg. 1362; a fiber layer is formed and therefore a fiber dispenser to form the fiber layer is required), a heater (“the authors used a heater to heat up the fibers”- pg. 1361), and a thermoset polymer material dispenser (“The LITA printhead, equipped with resin dispenser and heater”- pg. 1362);
means for moving the heater, and the thermoset polymer material dispenser along a path having a direction (“The LITA printhead, equipped with resin dispenser and heater, is attached to, and controlled by, a programmed robotic arm to facilitate conformal printing on
2D and 3D substrates or into free space”- pg. 1362);
wherein:
the fiber dispenser is configured to dispose a first layer of fiber material along the path When printing a new layer, the thermoset resin will infiltrate not only the new fiber layer but also the bottom layer to crosslink and form bond with the bottom layer”- pg. 1362; a fiber layer is formed and therefore a fiber dispenser to form the fiber layer is required);
the heater is configured to heat the first layer of fiber material after the first layer of fiber material has been disposed along the path and configured to generate a moving thermal gradient in the first layer of fiber material (“the authors used a heater to heat up the fibers, a gradient temperature distribution is established along the fiber”- pg. 1361; the heater is moved using a robotic arm and therefore is capable of generating a moving thermal gradient); and
the thermoset polymer material feeder is configured to dispense a thermoset polymer on the heated first layer of fiber material (“The heating of carbon fibers not only promotes
wetting of the uncured thermoset resin and impregnation of the carbon fibers, but also allows fast and energy-efficient curing of the thermoset resin”- pg. 1362).
However, Yeong fails to explicitly teach the means moves the fiber dispenser, that the moving thermal gradient in the first layer of fiber material trails the heater, and that the thermoset polymer material feeder is spaced a trailing distance from the heater relative to the path direction.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite, Wadsworth teaches a means for moving a fiber dispenser ([0042] In one embodiment, the above components are mounted on or attached to a mechanical head 52 configured to move them in unison in the direction of travel to maintain their relative spacing). Further, Wadsworth teaches a moving thermal gradient in the first layer of fiber material trails a heater (surface heater 22 will have a thermal gradient between a portion where heat is applied and where heat is not applied outside the heater. Surface heater 22 is connected to mechanical head 52 that is configured to move in the direction of travel as noted in [0042]. Therefore, surface heater 22 is capable of generating a moving thermal gradient), and that a thermoset polymer material feeder is spaced a trailing distance from the heater relative to a path direction (see resin dispenser 20 trailing surface hater 22 in Figure 1). Trailing the moving thermal gradient behind the heater allows for the fiber layer to be heated near the resin deposition point such that heat is not lost from the rein to the fiber layer and surface wetting characteristics of the resin are improved ([0045] The surface heater 22 warms the forming tool 102 and/or the previously laid fiber layer near the resin deposition point so that heat is not lost from the resin 104 to the forming tool 102 and/or the previously laid fiber layer. This improves surface wetting characteristics of the resin 104).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the fiber dispenser of Yeong moved by the means of Yeong, as Wadsworth teaches, for the benefit of moving the different system components in unison in the direction of travel to maintain their relative spacing.
Further, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the moving thermal gradient in the first layer of fiber material of Yeong trail the heater, and for the thermoset polymer material feeder of Yeong to be spaced a trailing distance from the heater relative to the path direction, a taught by Wadsworth, for the benefit of improving surface wetting characteristics of the resin.
While Yeong teaches the means for moving the printing head comprises a robot arm that can 3D print vertical structures in free space (“The LITA printhead, equipped with resin dispenser and heater, is attached to, and controlled by, a programmed robotic arm to facilitate conformal printing on 2D and 3D substrates or into free space… and 3D printing of vertical structures in free space”- see pg. 1362), Yeong fails to teach the robot arm has three degrees of freedom in translation.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite, Stockett teaches a means for moving a printing head comprises a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation ([0014] supports 14 are robotic arms (identical or different arms) capable of moving heads 16A and 16B in multiple directions during fabrication of structure 12… Although supports 14 are shown as being capable of 6-axis movements, it is contemplated that supports 14 may be capable of moving heads 16A and 16B in a different manner (e.g., along or around a greater or lesser number of axes)). The printing head of Stockett may be moved according to a desired geometry of a composite structure ([0008] The method may further include selectively moving the printhead based a known location of the first tool center point or a known location of the second tool center point and desired geometry of the composite structure).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the robot arm of Yeong modified with Wadsworth have three degrees of freedom in translation, as taught by Stockett, to achieve the predictable result of forming 3D print vertical structures in free space. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the robot arm of Yeong modified with Wadsworth to have three degrees of freedom in translation, since both Yeong and Stockett are directed to using robotic arms to form three-dimensional composites structures, and Stockett teaches that the axis movements allow for the formation of the three-dimensional structure (Stockett teaches [0014] supports 14 are shown as being capable of 6-axis movements and [0015] One or both of heads 16A and 16B may be capable of reaching all required portions of structure 12 during fabrication via motion of support(s) 14).
Regarding claim 6, Yeong modified with Wadsworth teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. Further, Yeong teaches wherein the thermoset polymer material comprises a material having properties conducive to wicking of the thermoset polymer material in the path direction along the moving thermal gradient (“To achieve in situ impregnation, the authors used a heater to heat up the fibers, a gradient temperature distribution is established along the fiber, which dynamically changes the advance angle of uncured thermoset resin and forces the resin to wick in the direction of the high temperature”- pg. 1361).
Regarding claim 7, Yeong modified with Wadsworth teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 6. Further, Yeong teaches wherein the thermosetting polymer has a decreasing viscosity from low temperature to high temperature within the temperature gradient (“The reason for the absorption coefficient Ks decreases after 60°C is primarily due to the viscosity m of the polymer significantly decreases due to the formation of thermoset polymer crosslinking at the critical temperature point above 60°C”- pg. 1361).
Regarding claim 8, Yeong modified with Wadsworth teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 7. However, Yeong fails to teach wherein the thermoset polymer material comprises an epoxy resin.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite, Wadsworth wherein the thermoset polymer material comprises an epoxy resin ([0056] The above-described invention allows lowest cost materials to be used. For example, the tow 100 may be carbon tow such as Hexcel AS4C-6K Carbon Fiber Tow 4 lb creel or any other suitable low cost fiber material. The resin 104 may be Barton brand solvents such as Epon 828/curing agent W or any other suitable low cost resin).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the thermoset polymer material of Yeong modified with Wadsworth comprise an epoxy resin, as taught by Wadsworth, to achieve the predictable result of forming a fiber reinforced composite. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the thermoset polymer of Yeong modified with Wadsworth to comprise an epoxy resin, since both the system of Yeong and Wadsworth are directed to building composites using in-situ fiber impregnation (see Abstract of Wadsworth: “An automated fiber placement (AFP) and in-situ fiber impregnation system” and Yeong teaches “To achieve in situ impregnation, the authors used a heater to heat up the fibers,”- on pg. 1361).
Regarding claim 12, Yeong modified with Wadsworth and Stockett teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. As noted in the rejection of claim 5 above, Yeong modified with Wadsworth and Stockett teaches wherein the means for moving the printing head comprises a robot arm having three degrees of freedom in translation.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wadsworth (US20190389148) and Chapiro et al. (US20190299522), and further in view of Wakeman et al. (US20130149491).
Regarding claim 11, Wadsworth teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5. While Wadsworth teaches the heater may be a laser heater, an infrared heater, convection component, or a radiant heat source ([0009]), Wadsworth fails to teach the heater is disposed in contact with a surface of the first layer of fiber material.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a system for additive manufacturing of a fiber reinforced composite, Wakeman teaches a heater that is disposed in contact with a surface of the first layer of fiber material ([0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the heater of Wadsworth with the heater of Wakeman such that the heater is disposed in contact with a surface of the first layer of fiber material, as taught by Wakeman, to achieve the predictable result of heating the first layer of fiber material. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the heater of Wadsworth to be disposed in contact with a surface of the first layer of fiber material, since both Wadsworth and Wakeman teach the heating of fiber layers using convection (see [0009] of Wadsworth and [0069] of Wakeman), and Wakeman lists contact heaters as one alternative to convection heaters (see [0069] of Wakeman) that is capable of heating a first layer of fiber material.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743