DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2025/0105955 A1), hereinafter “Ma”, in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0083986 A1), hereinafter “Zhang”, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0015097 A1), hereinafter “Huang”.
Re. Claim 1, Ma teaches:
A user equipment (UE), (Fig. 4 115-c UE & ¶0150 FIG. 6 shows a block diagram 600 of a device 605 that supports TBS calculation for OCC and sub-PRB allocation for PUSCH in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The device 605 may be an example of aspects of a UE 115 as described herein.)
comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions for a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission; (¶0150 FIG. 6 shows a block diagram 600 of a device 605 that supports TBS calculation for OCC and sub-PRB allocation for PUSCH in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The device 605 may be an example of aspects of a UE 115 as described herein. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. The device 605, or one or more components of the device 605 (e.g., the receiver 610, the transmitter 615, and the communications manager 620), may include at least one processor, which may be coupled with at least one memory, to, individually or collectively, support or enable the described techniques. & ¶0154 In some examples, at least one processor and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor may be configured to perform one or more of the functions described herein (e.g., by one or more processors, individually or collectively, executing instructions stored in the at least one memory).)
and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions (¶0154 In some examples, at least one processor and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor may be configured to perform one or more of the functions described herein (e.g., by one or more processors, individually or collectively, executing instructions stored in the at least one memory).)
to cause the UE to: determine that an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC) is applied to the PUSCH transmission based on an indication received from a base station (BS); (¶0137 At 405, the UE 115-c may receive, from the network entity 105-b, an indication of an OCC configuration associated with uplink shared channel transmissions for the UE 115-c, where the OCC configuration is associated with a spreading factor.)
determine a number of resource blocks (RBs) allocated to the PUSCH transmission; (¶0030 A method for wireless communications by a UE is described. The method may include receiving scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission, where the scheduling information indicates a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) & ¶0037 In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the one or more fields include an FDRA field and the FDRA field indicates a set of PRBs for the uplink shared channel transmission and one or more subcarriers within each of the set of PRBs. & ¶0072 the transport block (TB) size (TBS) for an uplink shared channel transmission (e.g., a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) may be based on the quantity of resource elements (REs) allocated for the uplink shared channel transmission and the quantity of information bits. ¶0074 In some aspects, the UE may account for the spreading factor when determining the quantity of REs for the PUSCH, [i.e. resource elements (REs) equivalent to determining number of resource blocks (RBs)] which then accounts for the spreading factor when determining the quantity of information bits as the quantity of information bits is determined based on the quantity of REs. & ¶0114 In some examples of the wireless communications system 100, the TBS for an uplink transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) may be based on the quantity of REs allocated for the uplink transmission and the quantity of information bits.)
Yet, Ma does not explicitly teach: determine a spreading factor of the OCC; determine a number of a first set of modulation symbols before applying the OCC to each Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the PUSCH as a function of the number of allocated RBs and the spreading factor of the OCC, and determine a second set of modulation symbols after applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol by performing a Kronecker product of the first set of modulation symbols and a sequence of the OCC.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang teaches such limitations:
determine a spreading factor of the OCC; (¶0067 the embodiments of the present disclosure may scale to spread any suitable number of information symbols 310 (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 5, or more) using an OCC 320 of any suitable length (e.g., 2, 3, or more) & ¶0090 The BS may assign the UE B with an OCC 710b represented by {1, −1} [i.e. spreading factor is represented by the length of the OCC, therefore 2 in this example, but could be indicated as 3 or more determined from the base station (BS) assigning the UE with the spreading sequence. Applicant’s specification at ¶0182 is evidence for this equivalence])
determine a number of a first set of modulation symbols before applying the OCC to each Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the PUSCH as a function of the number of allocated RBs and the spreading factor of the OCC, (Fig. 7 shown below & ¶0092 the UE B generates information symbols 704 shown as b0, b1, b2, b3, b4, and b5 (e.g., the information symbols 310) [i.e. first set of modulation symbols before applying the OCC at block 710b in Fig. 7]. & ¶0122-¶0123 At step 1310, the method 1300 includes identifying, by a first wireless communication device, a first block-spreading code from a set of block-spreading codes associated with user multiplexing. The set of block-spreading codes may be similar to the OCCs 710a and 710b [i.e. first block-spreading code is same as the spreading factor of the OCC] or the OCCs 1210 and 1220. the method 1300 includes communicating, by the first wireless communication device with a second wireless communication device using a frequency interlace (e.g., the frequency interlace 208) in a frequency spectrum (e.g., the frequency spectrum 202), a first communication signal (e.g., the output signals 944a and 944b and the time symbols 1112a, 1112b, 1232a, 1234a, 1232b, and 1234b) including a first block of information symbols (e.g., the information symbols 310, 902, 904, 1202, 1204) spread across a set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g., the RBs 210) within the frequency interlace based on the first block-spreading code. In some instances, the first block of information symbols are modulation symbols carrying UCI. [i.e. the first block of information symbols (first set of modulation symbols) is determined as a function of the set of resource blocks RBs (number of RBs) and the first block-spreading code (spreading factor of the OCC)])
and determine a second set of modulation symbols after applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol (Fig. 7 shown below & ¶0090 The BS may assign the UE B with an OCC 710b represented by {1, −1}. & ¶0092 the UE B generates information symbols 704 shown as b0, b1, b2, b3, b4, and b5 (e.g., the information symbols 310). The UE B applies an OCC 710b to block-spread the information symbols 704 to form a sequence of block-spread symbols 712b. The block-spread symbols 712b, denoted as S.sub.1, can be expressed as shown below: S.sub.1=b.sub.0,b.sub.1,b.sub.2,b.sub.3,b.sub.4,b.sub.5,−b.sub.0,−b.sub.1,−b.sub.2,−b.sub.3,−b.sub.4,−b.sub.5 [i.e. the block-spread symbols are a result of the first set of modulation symbols {b0, b1, b2, b3, b4, b5} and the OCC spreading sequence {1,-1} being applied, as shown in Fig. 7 below].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of determining a second set of modulation symbols by applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol by calculating the product of the first set of modulation symbols and a sequence of the OCC, because it would improve user multiplexing by assigning different UEs with different block-spreading codes that are orthogonal to each other in order to perform Discrete Fourier Transforms (DFT) precoded frequency interlacing operations that spread the block of information across the entire DFT precoded frequency interlace. (see Zhang ¶0037)
Although Zhang teaches determining a first set of modulation symbols before applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol and a second set of modulation symbols after applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol, the combined references do not explicitly teach: determine a second set of modulation symbols after applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol by performing a Kronecker product of the first set of modulation symbols and a sequence of the OCC.
However, in the analogous art, Huang teaches such a limitation:
and determine a second set of modulation symbols after applying the OCC to each OFDM symbol by performing a Kronecker product of the first set of modulation symbols and a sequence of the OCC. (Fig. 7 & ¶0089 FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a mathematical operation 700 that supports orthogonal sequence generation for multi-bit payloads, in accordance with the present disclosure. The mathematical operation 700 may be an example of a Kronecker product of a row or a column (e.g., a vector) of the orthogonal matrix 400 and an OCC base sequence 410. [i.e. a vector of the orthogonal matrix is depicted in Fig. 7 as a sequence of OFDM symbols, which examiner is considering equivalent to a first set of modulation symbols, and is used in the performance of a Kronecker product with an OCC base sequence (sequence of the OCC) to determine orthogonal sequence 705 (a second set of modulation symbols)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Zhang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Huang’s teaching of performing a Kronecker product of a first set of modulation symbols and a sequence of the OCC, because it would allow the use of a mathematical operation for supporting orthogonal sequence generation for multi-bit payloads. (see Huang ¶0089)
Re. Claim 2, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 1.
Ma further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions (¶0031 An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a memory, a transceiver, and at least one processor of a user equipment, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver. & ¶0033 A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to receive scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission)
to cause the UE to: receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the BS for scheduling the PUSCH transmission; (¶0030 A method for wireless communications by a UE is described. The method may include receiving scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission, where the scheduling information indicates a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) & ¶0132 In such examples where a UE 115 is provided a sub-PRB frequency resource allocation, the UE 115 may adjust the calculation of the quantity of REs for the corresponding uplink transmissions 340. For example, the quantity of REs for an uplink transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) per slot, N′.sub.RE, may be given as N′.sub.RE & the scheduling information 330-a may include an FDRA for the uplink transmission 340-a that indicates sub-PRB allocation, and the N.sub.sc the UE 115-a uses to calculate the N′.sub.RE is based on the quantity of sub-carriers indicated in the FDRA of the scheduling information 330-a. & ¶0134 the scheduling information 330-a and/or the scheduling information 330-b may be a DCI. [i.e. scheduling information containing quantity of REs for PUSCH transmission is a DCI])
and determine the number of RBs allocated to the PUSCH transmission using a Frequency Domain Resource Assignment (FDRA) field of the DCI. (¶0030 A method for wireless communications by a UE is described. The method may include receiving scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission, where the scheduling information indicates a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) & ¶0132 In such examples where a UE 115 is provided a sub-PRB frequency resource allocation, the UE 115 may adjust the calculation of the quantity of REs for the corresponding uplink transmissions 340. For example, the quantity of REs for an uplink transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) per slot, N′.sub.RE, may be given as N′.sub.RE & the scheduling information 330-a may include an FDRA for the uplink transmission 340-a that indicates sub-PRB allocation, and the N.sub.sc the UE 115-a uses to calculate the N′.sub.RE is based on the quantity of sub-carriers indicated in the FDRA of the scheduling information 330-a. & ¶0134 the scheduling information 330-a and/or the scheduling information 330-b may be a DCI. [i.e. number of REs (number of RBs) allocated to the PUSCH is indicated using FDRA field of scheduling information (DCI)])
Re. Claim 3, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 1.
Ma further teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions (¶0031 An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a memory, a transceiver, and at least one processor of a user equipment, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver. & ¶0033 A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to receive scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission)
to cause the UE to: determine the number of the first set of modulation symbols as a number of subcarriers per RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs and divided by the spreading factor of the OCC. (¶0129 a UE 115 indicated to apply OCC to an uplink transmission may change the calculation of the quantity of REs for the uplink transmission, N.sub.RE, [i.e. determining the number of the first set of modulation symbols, here represented as N.sub.RE] based on the indication to apply OCC to the uplink transmission in order to account for the OCC spreading. For example, the UE 115 may calculate N.sub.RE as N.sub.RE=[N.Math.min(156, N′.sub.RE).Math.n.sub.PRB÷SF] when the uplink transmission is a TBoMS or N.sub.RE=[min(156, N′.sub.RE).Math.n.sub.PRB÷SF] for a single slot uplink transmission, where SF is the spreading factor (e.g., length of the OCC) for the uplink transmission, n.sub.PRB is the number of allocated PRBs for the UE, and N is the number of slots spanning the time period for TBoMS. & ¶0132 the scheduling information 330-a may include an FDRA for the uplink transmission 340-a that indicates sub-PRB allocation, and the N.sub.sc the UE 115-a uses to calculate the N′.sub.RE is based on the quantity of sub-carriers indicated in the FDRA of the scheduling information 330-a. [i.e. N.sub.RE=[N.Math.min(156, N′.sub.RE).Math.n.sub.PRB÷SF] is used for determining N.sub.RE (number of first set of modulation symbols) as a function of N′.sub.RE (number of subcarriers per RB) multiplied by Math.n.sub.PRB (number of allocated RBs) and divided by SF (spreading factor of the OCC)])
Re. Claim 4, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 1.
Ma further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions (¶0031 An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a memory, a transceiver, and at least one processor of a user equipment, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver. & ¶0033 A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to receive scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission)
Zhang further teaches:
to cause the UE to: apply a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to the second set of modulation symbols. (¶0092 The UE B performs DFT spreading to the block-spread symbols 712b [i.e. second set of modulation symbols] by applying a DFT 720.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of applying a discrete fourier transform to the second set of modulation symbols, because it would improve user multiplexing with DFT precoded interlaces by spreading the block of information across the entire DFT precoded frequency interlace. (see Zhang ¶0037)
Re. Claim 5, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 4.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein applying the DFT to the second set of modulation symbols generates a comb structure. (Fig. 7-722b & ¶0092 Based on the FFT property as described in greater detail below, the DFT output 722b, denoted as DFT(S.sub.1), is located on odd tones (e.g., the subcarriers 212) as shown by the pattern-filled boxes. & ¶0095 the DFT output 722a includes non-zero values in odd tones only. As can be further observed from Equations (4) and (5), the pre-DFT-OCC user multiplexing is equivalent to comb-based (e.g., FDM) user multiplexing. [i.e. DFT output 722b (second set of modulation symbols) is a comb-based output located in odd subcarriers (a generated comb structure)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of generating a comb structure by applying the DFT to the second set of modulation symbols, because it would improve user multiplexing with DFT precoded interlaces by spreading the block of information across the entire DFT precoded frequency interlace. (see Zhang ¶0037)
Re. Claim 6, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 5.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein a number of elements of the comb structure is a function of the number of allocated RBs. (¶0091-¶0092 The UE A maps the DFT output 722a to an assigned RB (e.g., RB 210). [i.e. number of allocated RBs] The UE B performs DFT spreading to the block-spread symbols 712b by applying a DFT 720. Based on the FFT property as described in greater detail below, the DFT output 722b, denoted as DFT(S.sub.1), is located on odd tones (e.g., the subcarriers 212) as shown by the pattern-filled boxes. The UE B maps the DFT output 722b to the same RB that is assigned to the UE A. & ¶0095 the DFT output 722a includes non-zero values in odd tones only. As can be further observed from Equations (4) and (5), the pre-DFT-OCC user multiplexing is equivalent to comb-based (e.g., FDM) user multiplexing. [i.e. the comb-based DFT output 722b (elements of the comb structure) is a function of the same RB that is assigned to the UE A therefore is a function of the number of allocated RBs])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of the number of elements of the comb structure being a function of the number of allocated RBs, because it would improve user multiplexing with DFT precoded interlaces by spreading the block of information across the entire set of resource blocks within the frequency interlace. (see Zhang ¶0009 & ¶0037)
Re. Claim 8, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 5.
Zhang further teaches:
The UE of claim 5, wherein, depending on the OCC sequence, odd elements of the comb structure comprise negligible values comparing to even elements of the comb structure. (¶0090 A BS may assign the UE A and the UE B with different OCCs. The BS may assign the UE A with an OCC 710a represented by {1, 1}. The BS may assign the UE B with an OCC 710b represented by {1, −1}. [i.e. output depends on specific OCC sequence used] & The UE A generates information symbols 702 shown as a0, a1, a2, a3, a4, and a5 (e.g., the information symbols 310). The UE A applies an OCC 710a to block-spread the information symbols 702 in a time domain to form a sequence of block-spread symbols 712a. The block-spread symbols 712a, denoted as S.sub.0. The UE A performs DFT spreading to the block-spread symbols 712a by applying a DFT 720 (e.g., the DFT 340). Based on the FFT property described in greater detail below, the DFT output 722a, denoted as DFT(S.sub.0), is located on even tones (e.g., the subcarriers 212) as shown by the pattern-filled boxes. [i.e. output is only on even tones (elements), and odd tones are negligible] & ¶0110 the subcarrier demapper 1040 extracts the useful subcarriers corresponding to non-zero values of the DFT output (e.g., the DFT output 722a, 722b, 922a, and 922b) at the transmitter for data recovery processing and may discard or ignore other subcarriers corresponding to zero values (e.g., that does not carry useful information) of the DFT output at the transmitter [i.e. odd tones (elements) not carrying information are negligible and discarded])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of odd elements of the comb structure comprise negligible values comparing to even elements of the comb structure, because it would allow the device to discard or ignore subcarriers corresponding to zero values such as when it is not carrying any useful information. (see Zhang ¶0110)
Re. Claim 9, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 5.
Zhang further teaches:
the UE of claim 5, wherein, depending on the OCC sequence, even elements of the comb structure comprise negligible values comparing to odd elements of the comb structure. (¶0090-¶0093 A BS may assign the UE A and the UE B with different OCCs. The BS may assign the UE A with an OCC 710a represented by {1, 1}. The BS may assign the UE B with an OCC 710b represented by {1, −1}. The UE A generates information symbols 702 shown as a0, a1, a2, a3, a4, and a5 (e.g., the information symbols 310). The UE A applies an OCC 710a to block-spread the information symbols 702 in a time domain to form a sequence of block-spread symbols 712a. The block-spread symbols 712a, denoted as S.sub.0. The UE B performs DFT spreading to the block-spread symbols 712b by applying a DFT 720. Based on the FFT property as described in greater detail below, the DFT output 722b, denoted as DFT(S.sub.1), is located on odd tones (e.g., the subcarriers 212) as shown by the pattern-filled boxes. [i.e. output is only on odd tones (elements), and even tones are negligible] & ¶0110 the subcarrier demapper 1040 extracts the useful subcarriers corresponding to non-zero values of the DFT output (e.g., the DFT output 722a, 722b, 922a, and 922b) at the transmitter for data recovery processing and may discard or ignore other subcarriers corresponding to zero values (e.g., that does not carry useful information) of the DFT output at the transmitter [i.e. even tones (elements) not carrying information are negligible and discarded])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of even elements of the comb structure comprise negligible values comparing to odd elements of the comb structure, because it would allow the device to discard or ignore subcarriers corresponding to zero values such as when it is not carrying any useful information. (see Zhang ¶0110)
Re. Claim 10, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 1.
Ma further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions (¶0031 An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a memory, a transceiver, and at least one processor of a user equipment, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver. & ¶0033 A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to receive scheduling information for an uplink shared channel transmission)
to cause the UE to: determine the spreading factor of the OCC as a length of the OCC. (¶0129 a UE 115 indicated to apply OCC to an uplink transmission may change the calculation of the quantity of REs for the uplink transmission, N.sub.RE, based on the indication to apply OCC to the uplink transmission in order to account for the OCC spreading. For example, the UE 115 may calculate N.sub.RE as N.sub.RE=[N.Math.min(156, N′.sub.RE).Math.n.sub.PRB÷SF] when the uplink transmission is a TBoMS or N.sub.RE=[min(156, N′.sub.RE).Math.n.sub.PRB÷SF] for a single slot uplink transmission, where SF is the spreading factor (e.g., length of the OCC) for the uplink transmission,)
Re. Claim 11, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 1.
Zhang further teaches:
wherein a number of the second set of modulation symbols is a function of the number of allocated RBs. (¶0090 The scheme 700 multiplexes a UE A and a UE B on the same resource (e.g., the same RB 210). The scheme 700 applies OCC block-spreading across the entire set of RBs 210. [i.e. OCC block-spreading output (number of the second set of modulation symbols) is a function of the entire set of RBs (number of allocated RBs)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Zhang’s teaching of a number of the second set of modulation symbols being a function of the number of allocated RBs, because it would improve user multiplexing with DFT precoded interlaces by spreading the block of information across the entire DFT precoded frequency interlace. (see Zhang ¶0037)
Claim 15 is directed to a method claim that recites similar limitations to device claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 15 is similar to the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma combined with Zhang, Huang, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0267718 A1), hereinafter “Park”.
Re. Claim 7, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 5.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a number of elements of the comb structure is a number of subcarriers per RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs.
However, in the analogous art, Park teaches such a limitation:
wherein a number of elements of the comb structure is a number of subcarriers per RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs. (Fig. 17 & ¶0264-¶0265 FIGS. 17(a) to 17(c) are diagrams illustrating a method of allocating a sequence in the form of a comb resource according to an embodiment. For example, referring to FIG. 17(a), when a number of subcarriers of one RB is 12, a length-12 sequence may be allocated to two RBs in the form of an odd (or even) comb resource. Referring to FIG. 17(b), when the number of subcarriers of one RB is 12, a length-24 sequence may be allocated to two RBs in the form of an odd (or even) comb resource. [i.e. a length-24 sequence in the form of odd or even comb resources (a comb structure) is a number of subcarriers of one RB (12 per RB) multiplied by two allocated RBs])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma, Zhang, and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Park’s teaching of a number of elements of a comb structure is a number of subcarriers of one RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs, because it would allow for a plurality of transmission structures in terms of sequence length and resource block mapping in the comb structure. (see Park ¶0280)
Re. Claim 12, Ma combined with Zhang and Huang teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a number of the second set of modulation symbols is a number of subcarriers per RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs.
However, in the analogous art, Park teaches such a limitation:
wherein a number of the second set of modulation symbols is a number of subcarriers per RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs. (Fig. 16 & ¶0262 referring to FIG. 16 (a), when the number of subcarriers of one RB is 12, a length-12 sequence may be allocated to one RB. In addition, referring to FIG. 16 (b), when the number of subcarriers of one RB is 12, a length-24 sequence may be allocated to two RBs. [i.e. a length-24 sequence (number of a set of modulation symbols) is equal to number of subcarriers of one RB (per RB) multiplied by number of allocated RBs (in Fig. 16b it is 2)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma, Zhang, and Huang’s invention of frequency domain orthogonal cover code based uplink shared channel multiplexing to include Park’s teaching of a number of modulation symbols is a number of subcarriers of one RB multiplied by the number of allocated RBs, because it would allow for a plurality of transmission structures in terms of sequence length and resource block mapping. (see Park ¶0280)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/G/A/M/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417