Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“an accommodating cavity open at both ends” of Claim 1
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 10/13/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Chinese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Zhang (CN 217010439 U)
Independent Claim 1, Zhang discloses an electronic device (Figs. [1-5]), characterized by comprising:
a housing having an accommodating cavity open at both ends (63, Figs. [3, 4] shows the cavity being open at both ends, and capped by a non-integral member, ¶’s [26, 35]) and provided with a partition (30, 62), which separates the accommodating cavity to form a first accommodating groove and a second accommodating groove;
a wireless charging module, which is arranged in the first accommodating groove (10);
a lighting module, which is arranged in the second accommodating groove (70, 642);
a heat dissipation hole is opened along the outer circumference of the housing (633, ¶[29]), and connected with the first accommodating groove and/or the second accommodating groove ([70, 642], where comparisons of Fig. 5 with Figs. [3, 4] shows the connection).
Dependent Claim 2, Zhang discloses a characterized in that the electronic device further includes a mask assembly, which includes a first mask (21 shown esp. in Figs. [3-5] to be located directly on coil 10) and a second mask (632 & 642/64, esp. 642, ¶[32] described as a light-diffusing structure, i.e. mask, in that it covers all or part of the piece, 632 further meets that definition of mask);
the first mask is installed at the opening of the first accommodating groove; the second mask is installed at the opening of the second accommodating groove (see Figs. [3-5]).
Dependent Claim 3, Zhang discloses characterized in that the second mask is made of transparent material and is integrally molded (642/64 is described as a partially-transparent/light-diffusing structure, i.e. transparent material, and both are each shown to be a single piece, i.e. interpreted to be integrally molded).
Dependent Claim 4, Zhang discloses characterized in that there are a plurality of heat dissipation holes, which are spaced apart along the outer circumferential direction of the housing (see Figs. [1-5, esp. 1-4] showing the holes of 633).
Dependent Claim 9, Zhang discloses electronic component, characterized by comprising an outdoor mobile power supply and the electronic device according to claim 1 (the system is not described as stationary and thus would be capable of being mobile, and is not described as indoor only, so it is capable of being used;
furthermore, it is described as a power supply for mobile phones [known to be used outside], ¶’s [08, 26, 31], thus, as a mobile phone/smart phone is known as a mobile power supply, the device being charged along with the electronic device charger as well).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 217010439 U) in view of Schreiner et al (USPGPN 20150340892; hereinafter Schre)
Dependent Claim 5, Zhang is silent to characterized in that the electronic device further includes a base, and the housing is movably disposed on the base.
Schre teaches electronic device ([20, 22, 21] in Figs. [1-11]) further includes a base (16), the housing is movably disposed on the base (¶’s [32, 40, 45, 53, 57, esp. 32], where Figs. [4-6, 11] show the base moved by the hinge in a vertical orientation, Figs. [1-3, 10] show the base moved by the hinge horizontal orientation). Zhang, Schreiner, and the present application are analogous in that they involve the provision of power from a mobile power source [22, 20, 21 in Schre] to a device to be charged [12 in Schre]. Schre has an internal battery power source in the base [18, 42] which does not move with the hinge (¶[40], Figs. [10, 11] have an external power cord as well ¶’s [56-62]). The fact that Schre has a wired power provision and [Zhang & the present application] have wireless power provision does not mean the base used for the power supply is not analogous. The problem being solved is supporting a power source for charging, not, the particular kind of power provision of charging. Schre teaches by having this movement operation, it serves to improve the ease of moving the device around the room (abstract, ¶[50]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Schre to provide improved convenience.
Dependent Claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Schre teaches characterized in that the electronic device further comprises a connecting piece, which is hinged to the base and the housing respectively (Schre: hinge 44, ¶’s [09, 11, 32, 40, 45, 53, 57, esp. 32, 40, 45]).
Dependent Claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Schre teaches characterized in that a first connection part is provided at an end of the base away from the housing (while silent in Zhang, Schre Figs. [10, 11] have an external-power-cord[202]/first-connection-part as well ¶’s [56-62], which provides improved ability to recharge the internal battery of Schre [and so it is not limited to only one charge, i.e. improving longevity]).
Dependent Claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Schre teaches characterized in that the first connection part is provided with a first conductive part, which is electrically connected to the wireless charging module and the lighting module respectively (122 is the analogous portion in Schre which would best meet Zhang’s structure, and as 122 is electrically deriving power from the battery 116/18 and the power cord 204/202, the modification of Zhang to incorporate the base of Schre would mean the lighting module and wireless charging module in Zhang would be connected to the source of external power [otherwise, Zhang, which again is silent to the explicit source of its external power]).
Dependent Claim 10, Zhang is silent to the electronic device is provided on the outdoor mobile power supply, and a second connection part is provided on one end of the outdoor mobile power supply close to the electronic device, and the second connection part is provided with a second conductive part, which is electrically connected to the electronic device.
Schre teaches the electronic device ([20, 22, 21] in Figs. [1-11]) is provided on the outdoor mobile power supply (16), and a second connection part (18) is provided on one end of the outdoor mobile power supply close to the electronic device, and the second connection part is provided with a second conductive part (68, ¶’s [43]), which is electrically connected to the electronic device (¶’s [32, 40, 45, 53, 57, esp. 32], where Figs. [4-6, 11] show the base moved by the hinge in a vertical orientation, Figs. [1-3, 10] show the base moved by the hinge horizontal orientation). Zhang, Schreiner, and the present application are analogous in that they involve the provision of power from a mobile power source [22, 20, 21 in Schre] to a device to be charged [12 in Schre]. Schre has an internal battery power source in the base [18, 42] which does not move with the hinge (¶[40], Figs. [10, 11] have an external power cord as well ¶’s [56-62]). The fact that Schre has a wired power provision and [Zhang & the present application] have wireless power provision does not mean the base used for the power supply is not analogous. The problem being solved is supporting a power source for charging, not, the particular kind of power provision of charging. Schre teaches by having this movement operation, it serves to improve the ease of moving the device around the room (abstract, ¶[50]). Schre also teaches the outdoor mobile power supply having wheels provides improved mobility (¶’s [06, 36, 50, 56])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Schre to provide improved convenience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references were determined to have analogous structure to the features of claim 1 (including reference[s] cited above):
CN-208312067-U OR WO-2019051629-A1 OR CN-110707829-A OR CN-210744830-U OR CN-216976738-U OR CN-217010439-U
US-20230191141-A1 OR US-20240146109-A1 OR US-20240292960-A1
The following references by same inventive entity and/or assignee/applicant were close to being considered for double patenting rejections:
US-20250125555-A1 OR US-20250125473-A1 OR US-20260121451-A1 OR US-20260171845-A1 OR US-20250125474-A1
The following references relate to the movable base/outdoor mobile power supply claimed: CN-208316415-U
US-20100290215-A1 OR US-20120026724-A1 OR US-20120181979-A1 OR US-20150340892-A1 OR US-20160084431-A1 OR US-20220069399-A1 OR US-20220278405-A1 OR US-20230100066-A1 OR US-20250226497-A1
US-8061864-B2 OR US-8262244-B2 OR US-9755446-B2 OR US-10072790-B2 OR US-11552365-B2 OR US-11870086-B2 OR US-12288889-B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859