DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: figures 8 and 10 fail to include an item label for a layer between items 22 and 21. The layer appears to be a thin film (item—23, figure 6), but it could also be interpretated as a second anode active material layer (item—24, figure 7). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding, et al. (US 2023/0344010 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Badding, et al. teach a battery comprising: a cathode layer (item 104 – figure 1); an anode layer (item 112 – figure 1); a solid electrolyte layer between the cathode layer and the anode layer (item 108 – figure 1); a first organic electrolyte layer between the cathode and solid electrolyte layer (item 106 – figure 1); a second organic electrolyte between the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (item 110 – figure 1); a third organic electrolyte layer in the solid electrolyte layer (paragraph 0046; examiner notes that the solid electrolyte may include an interpenetrating network of polymer); and an interlayer with a liquid electrolyte having a viscosity of overlapping range as claimed in claim 1 (figure 2D, paragraph 0007, 0044, 0138). Additionally with respect to the viscosity (which examiner notes is a property of the liquid polymer), applicant in their own specification identifies several species which may be used (see paragraph 0070). Because Badding, et al. teach those same materials (see Badding, et al., paragraph 0043) as that which applicant calls out in their specification may be used in the interlayer, examiner notes that it would be expected the viscosity would be equivalent if not the same. Furthermore, the cathode layer includes a current collector and a cathode active material on at least one surface of the current collector (item 102 – figure 1; paragraph 0041). The anode layer also comprises an anode current collector and a first anode active material layer on one surface of the anode current collector (item 116 – figure 1; paragraph 0041, 0047; examiner notes that active materials may be included in the anode layer).
Badding, et al. do not specifically teach that the cathode active material layer on the surface of the current collector comprises a Li2S-containing composite. Examiner notes that Badding, et al. teach that a cathode may comprise one of lithium-based cathode materials or conversion cathode materials (paragraph 0051), and thus, the examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the Li2S-containing composite on the surface of the current collector.
With respect to claim 2, examiner notes that the organic electrolyte layers are part of or are the interlayer as claimed (see paragraph 0041).
With respect to claims 3– 4, Badding, et al. teach that the polymer electrolyte may be an ionic liquid (paragraph 0043). Examiner notes that claim 4 further specifies the type of heat-polymerizable functional group only and not the ionic liquid and as such, it remains rejected.
With respect to claim 5, Badding, et al. teach the same class of polymer liquids as applicant and thus, the viscosity is expected.
With respect to claims 7– 8, Badding, et al. teach an inorganic solid electrolyte (paragraph 0045 – 0046) wherein the inorganic solid electrolyte is sulfide-based and argyrodite-type (paragraph 0046; Badding, et al. teach Li6PS5Cl). While the reference may not teach the specific density, examiner contends that Badding, et al. teach the equivalent species and thus, the density would be expected.
With respect to claim 9, Badding, et al. teach the Li2S may be a composite of chalgonecides, fluorides and/or chlorides which renders the species in claim 9 as obvious (paragraph 0051).
With respect to claim 16, Badding, et al. may not teach the properties of the charge capacity; however, examiner contends that this property is obvious over the teachings in Badding, et al. as Badding, et al. teach the same structure, function and composition of the battery as claimed in claim 1.
Figure 1 from Badding, et al.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding, et al. (US 2023/0344010 A1) in view of Nakagawa, et al. (US 2003/0064282 A1).
Badding, et al. teach the features as recited and further teach that the solid electrolyte is adjacent to the cathode and anode layer(s) respectively (see figure 1). In addition, the solid electrolyte may include the first and/or second organic electrolyte(s) (see paragraph 0044).
Badding, et al. however do not teach the concentration gradient(s) as recited. Nakagawa, et al. teach a battery with a distinction in concentration gradient during discharge and charge (paragraph 0028). This flow of lithium ion will govern the concentration gradient and thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the solid electrolyte to have a concentration gradient as recited depending on the flow of lithium ion per the teachings in Nakagawa, et al.
Claim(s) 10–12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding, et al. (US 2023/0344010 A1) in view of Kim, et al. (US 2023/0055212 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Badding, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but do not teach cathode active material layer comprising a Li2S- containing composition that meets the claims dimensions.
Kim, et al. teaches the cathode active material comprises lithium salt such as LiCl, LiI, LiBF4, LiSbF6, LiAsF6, LiClO4, LiAlO2, or LiAlCl4 (paragraph 0100). Badding, et al. teach combinations of materials of which the cathode and the associated layers may be and as such, it would be obvious to include the lithium salt per Kim as reasonable since both references teach the manufacture of solid batteries.
With respect to claim 11, Kim, et al. teaches the cathode active material comprises a carbonaceous material wherein carbon nanofibers included (paragraph 0096, 0206)
With respect to claim 12, Kim, et al. further teaches the cathode active material comprises a Li2S-composite (paragraph 0088); a lithium salt (paragraph 0100); a carbonaceous material (paragraph 0096, 0206); and a sulfide-based solid electrolyte containing Li2S-composite (paragraph 0098,0104). With respect to the concentration of the components by weight, Kim, et al. teach an adjustable concentration range for the Li2S-composite (0105), the lithium salt (0100), and the carbonaceous material (0122) in the cathode active layer. For example, three separate embodiments have concentrations that overlap the claim dimensions including a lithium salt range from 0.1 molar (M) to about 5 M (paragraph 0100), a sulfide-based solid electrolyte mixing molar ratio of Li2S and P2S5 (Li2S:P2S5) in a range of about 50:50 to about 90:10 (paragraph 0105), and a cathode active material layer can consist of about 1% carbonaceous material (paragraph 0206). Therefore, it would be obvious to include the claimed ranges in a single embodiment per Kim establishing relevant concentration ranges.
Claim(s) 13–15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding, et al. (US 2023/0344010 A1) and further in view of Lee, et al. (US 2022/0069338 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Badding, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but do not teach an anode active material composition.
Lee, et al. teaches an anode active layer comprises an anode active material and a binder, and wherein the anode active material is in a form of particles, and an average particle diameter of the particles of the anode active material is 4 µm or less (paragraph 0089–0090, 0097). Badding, et al. teach combinations of materials and thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the anode active material composition per Lee, et al. as reasonable since both teach the manufacture of solid batteries.
With respect to claim 14, Lee, et al. teaches an anode active material layer comprises a carbonaceous anode active material and a metal and/or metalloid anode active material, wherein the carbonaceous anode active material comprises amorphous carbon, and wherein the metal or metalloid anode active material comprises silver (paragraph 0093-0094, 0127).
With respect to claim 15, Lee, et al. teaches anode active material layer comprising a mixture of first particles of amorphous carbon and second particles of a metal or a metalloid, wherein an amount of the second particles about 8 wt. % to about 60 wt. % with respect to a total weight of the mixture (paragraph 0096).
With respect to claim 17, Lee, et al. teaches an anode active layer comprises a carbonaceous anode active material such as amorphous carbon (carbon black) wherein the primary particle diameter of the carbonaceous anode active material may be 10 to 900 nm (paragraph 0091-0093, 0111) and a metal and/or metalloid anode active material in the art capable of forming an alloy or compound with lithium may be utilized such as a silver particle having an average particle diameter of about 60 nm (paragraph 0094, 0127, 0139). Lee, et al. further teaches multiple anode active material layers (item—22a and 22b, figure 4, paragraph 0106, 0110) between the anode current collector (item—21, figure 4, paragraph 0106, 0110) and the solid electrolyte(item—23, figure 4, paragraph 0106, 0110). The second anode active material layer may be a metal layer including lithium or a lithium alloy (paragraph 0103).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding, et al. (US 2023/0344010 A1) in view of Lee, et al. (US 2017/0294678 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Badding, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but do not teach a cathode/anode current collector comprises a base film and a metal layer on at least one side of the base film that would meet the claimed dimensions.
Lee, et al. teaches a cathode current collector (item – 42, figure 5) may be coated with an oxidation resistant metal or alloy in order to prevent the current collector from being oxidized (paragraph 0172). The cathode current collector may further be coated by a cathode slurry including but not limited to polyethylene, polypropylene, polytetrafluoroethylene (paragraph 0171,0147). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to coat the cathode current collector of Badding, et al. with the metal film for the purpose of preventing the current collector from being oxidized since both teach the manufacture of solid batteries.
Claim(s) 19 –20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badding, et al. (US 2023/0344010 A1) and further in view of Lee, et al. (US 2022/0359909 A1).
Regarding claims 19-20, Badding, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but do not teach a flame-retardant inactive member on cathode/anode layer.
Lee, et al. teaches a flame-retardant inactive member (item — 40, figure 1 and 2, paragraph 0036) on a side surface of the cathode layer (item — 10, figure 1 and 2, paragraph 0036) and a conductive flame-retardant inactive member (item — 110a and 110b, figure 6, paragraph 0134) on another surface of the anode current collector (item — 21a and 21b, figure 6, paragraph 0056, 0127). The flame-retardant member is added per Lee, et al. to prevent cracking of the solid electrolyte layer during manufacture and/or during charge/discharge of the battery (paragraph 0037). Badding, et al. teach combinations of materials and thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the flame-retardant per Lee, et al. as reasonable since both teach the manufacture of solid batteries.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim, et al. (US 2021/0111425 A1) teaches a composition of a secondary battery comprising a solid-state electrolyte with a design that have an excellent charge and discharge efficiency to solve the poor interface contact between an electrolyte and an electrode (paragraph 006, 0072). Specifically, Kim, et al. teaches a negative active material comprises a carbon-based material, a metal oxide, or a combination thereof may be used, and a lithium metal and/or a lithium metal alloy may be included which meet claim 17 dimensions (paragraph 0053).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhamu, et al. (US 2017/0194663 A1) teaches a composition of a secondary battery comprising a solid-state electrolyte with a rechargeable design to preventing potential Li metal dendrite-induced internal short circuit and thermal runaway problems in various Li metal and Li-ion batteries. (abstract, paragraph 0024). Specifically, Zhamu, et al. teaches a cathode active material comprising of a sulfur-based lithium ion-conducting polymer matrix (solid electrolyte) with metal carbide and metal nitride fillers), a Li2S-composite, a fibrous carbonaceous material, and lithium salt which meet claims 9-11 dimensions (paragraph 0032, 0054–0055, 0065, 0072).
/K.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783