DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification (page 2, last paragraph) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawings of “a press with a platen (claim 1)”, “a multi-opening press (claim 3)”, “multiple platens and configured to press multiple mats (claim 4)”, and “a continuous press (claim 5)”, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 5, line 13, “stand” should be “strand”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, line 1, there is no antecedent basis for the limitation, “the mat layer” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scherfke et al. (hereinafter “Scherfke”) (DE-3911661 A1) (This rejection is based on the English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Scherfke discloses a method for removing material build-up on a press platen (see abstract of the English translation), comprising:
forming a manufactured wood strand or chip mat with an upper surface on a forming line (see “wood particle” and “chip board” in the abstract and claim 1);
depositing a thermosetting resin on some or all of the upper surface (see “novolak-based resin” on page 3, paragraph 2. Novolak is a type of synthetic thermoplastic phenol-formaldehyde resin);
inserting the mat into a press with a platen with material build-up on a first surface of the platen (see “fed to the press..” on page 4, second paragraph) and the press has a platen (see the title);
pressing the mat under heat and pressure (see the pressure and temperature on page 4, second paragraph) such that the first surface of the platen comes into contact with the thermosetting resin on the upper surface of the mat, whereby at least a portion of the material build-up on the first surface adheres to the thermosetting resin on the upper surface of the mat (see page 4, second paragraph and the abstract); and
after pressing, removing the mat with the portion of the material build-up adhering to the thermosetting resin on the upper surface from the mat (it is inherent that the mat must be removed from the press in order to start the next pressing cycle, also see claim 1, and the abstract which discloses buildup is removed from heating plates).
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the press is a multi-opening press.
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 3, wherein the multi-opening press comprises multiple platens (see “platens” in the title) and is configured to press multiple mats simultaneously (see “a method for removing anat (sic) heating plates and inserts of hot presses” on page 1, last line).
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1, wherein the press is a continuous press (It is noted that the claim does not recite a specific structure of a continuous press. Scherfke discloses “hot presses” (see last paragraph of page 2), and thus it can be interpreted as a continuous press dues multiple presses, one press after another).
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1, wherein the thermosetting resin is a powder (see “powder form” on page 3, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein the thermosetting resin comprises phenol formaldehyde (PF), melamine formaldehyde (MF), or urea formaldehyde (UF), or combinations thereof (see “example 3” paragraph on page 4).
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 1, wherein the mat comprises multiple chip layers (see claim 1, which discloses, “the outer layer of a pressed material”, and thus the mat has more than one chip layers).
Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 9, wherein the thermosetting resin is deposited on the upper surface as a separate layer from the underlying mat strand and/or chip layer or layers (see claim 1, which discloses a resin is applied on the outer layer of a pressed material”)
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein the step of depositing comprises the step of dropping thermosetting resin on the upper surface as the mat passes under a thermosetting resin spreader (see “spreading rollers” in Example 1 section on page 4).
Claims 1, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoene et al. (hereinafter “Schoene”) (DD-219219 A1). This rejection is based on the English translation of DD-219219 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Schoene discloses a method for removing material build-up on a press platen (see abstract of the English translation), comprising:
forming a manufactured wood strand or chip mat with an upper surface on a forming line (see “production of chipboard and other plate-like wood materials” in the abstract, line 2);
depositing a thermosetting resin on some or all of the upper surface (see “novolak” on page 3, lines 29-23. Novolak is a type of synthetic thermoplastic phenol-formaldehyde resin );
inserting the mat into a press with a platen with material build-up on a first surface of the platen (see “fed to the press..” on page 3, lines 23-24, and the press has a platen (see “hot plates” in the abstract);
pressing the mat under heat and pressure (see the pressure and temperature on page 3, lines 24-25) such that the first surface of the platen comes into contact with the thermosetting resin on the upper surface of the mat, whereby at least a portion of the material build-up on the first surface adheres to the thermosetting resin on the upper surface of the mat (see abstract); and
after pressing, removing the mat with the portion of the material build-up adhering to the thermosetting resin on the upper surface from the mat (it is inherent that the mat must be removed from the press in order to start the next pressing cycle).
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1, wherein the thermosetting resin is a powder (see “powder form” on page 3, line 12).
Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein the thermosetting resin comprises phenol formaldehyde (PF) (see page 3, line 7).
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein the step of depositing comprises the step of dropping thermosetting resin on the upper surface as the mat passes under a thermosetting resin spreader (see “top lay spreading machine” on page 3, line 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherfke in view of Gartz (DE 102019112632 B3).
Scherfke discloses wood particles are used to make chip board (i.e. mat) (see abstract). It is well known that the chip mat/board is an oriented strand board mat.
In the event that the Applicant disagreed that the chip mat/board is an oriented strand board mat. Gartz can be applied to disclose that wood chips are pressed into a board or board strand, in particular a wood-based board (see page 2, second paragraph of the English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the chip mat/board made from wood particles of Scherfke, is also called an oriented strand board mat, as taught by Gartz.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherfke in view of Kalwa (US 10,399,245).
Scherfke discloses the build up material adhered to surfaces of platens (see abstract and example 1). Scherfke does not expressly disclose the build-up material comprises boric acid or a boric acid-based material.
Kalwa discloses a wood board panel in a form of a chipboard include a complex of boric acid for flame retardant (col. 6, lines 30-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the wood chip board of Scherfke is included a complex of boric acid, as taught by Kalwa, for flame retardant, and the boric acid would adhere to surfaces of the platens during a pressing process.
Conclusion
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725