DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed, 22 April 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 31 January 2024 in which claims 1, 10, 18, 29 have been amended and claims 31-35 have been added. Claims 1-35 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li et al (hereinafter “Li”, 2021/0282003).
As per Claim 1, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) delegation service, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE delegation service to:
obtain a service establishment request message that requests for the UE delegation service to manage a list of services provided by a device in a wireless network, to manage service preference information for the device, or both, for coordination with a network entity, one or more other network provided services, or any combination of the network entity and the one or more other network provided services (at least paragraph 181-183, 186, Fig. 13; UDM/UDR/NRF receiving from UE service capabilities in service request message and storing in a table; UE advertising service capability);
obtain, from the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, a service preference enquiry that requests the list of services provided by the device, the service preference information for the device, or both managed by the UE delegation service (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications; other UEs requesting and subscribing to service notifications of AS or UEs); and
output, to the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, the list of services provided by the device, the service preference information for the device, or both (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications).
As per Claim 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to:
obtain an update to the list of services provided by the device, an update to the service preference information for the device, or both; and
output, to the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, the updated list of services provided by the device, the updated service preference information, or both (at least paragraph 187-188, 199; allows the UE to update or delete this information by directly contacting the NRF; NRF notifies).
As per Claim 3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to:
obtain a subscription request indicating for the UE delegation service to output, to the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, one or more changes in the list of services provided by the device or the service preference information for the device (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications; other UEs requesting and subscribing to service notifications of AS or UEs).
As per Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 1, the service preference information for the device comprising service preference information for one or more features supported by the device, for one or more feature groups supported by the device, for one or more functionalities supported by the device, for one or more codebook indexes used at the network entity, for one or more antenna patterns used at the network entity, for one or more beams configured for the device or used at the network entity, for one or more operating modes used at the network entity, for one or more geographical areas, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 71; network function NF; Table 2: eg. service capability details/ service area/location).
As per Claim 5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to:
obtain, from a service consumer, a second service preference enquiry requesting the list of services provided by the device; and
output, to the service consumer, the list of services provided by the device and one or more of an identity of the device, service identifier information, and service profile information for the list of services provided by the device (at least paragraph 188; In addition, the NRF may notify other UEs that asked to be notified; Table 2: UE ID, ID of service capability and type of capabilities and details).
As per Claim 6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the service establishment request message comprises a request to register the device with the UE delegation service and an indication of one or more of an identifier of the device, service configuration preference information, prioritization information for the list of services provided by the device, measurement gap preferences, radio access technology (RAT) preferences, network type preferences, service instance applicability information that indicates one or more conditions for configuration of a service instance, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 183-186; table 2; UE initial registration request including service capabilities and including UE ID).
As per Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UE delegation service is implemented at a discovery and selection service, at the network entity, at a subscription service, or at the one or more other network provided services (at least paragraph 144, 183, 175-180; NRF supports service discovery function).
As per Claim 8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the service preference enquiry comprises one or more of an identifier of the device, one or more service identifiers of one or more services, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 184-188, table 2; other NFs or UEs that register and subscribe for notification to type of service capability; AMF network entity using UE ID to determine if UE can advertise services).
As per Claim 9. The apparatus of claim 1, the device comprising an operations and management entity, a service management and orchestration entity, or a UE (at least paragraph 183; UE).
As per Claim 10, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a device in a wireless network, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the device to:
transmit a service establishment request message that requests for a user equipment (UE) delegation service to manage a list of services provided by the device, to manage service preference information for the device, or both, for coordinating with a network entity, one or more other network provided services, or any combination of the network entity and the one or more other network provided services (at least paragraph 181-183, 186, Fig. 13; UDM/UDR/NRF receiving from UE service capabilities in service request message and storing in a table; UE advertising service capability);
receive, from the network entity, a service profile configuration that configures the device to provide a first service of the list of services provided by the device or a first network service based at least in part on the list of services provided by the device or the service preference information (at least paragraph 180-186, 146-147, 73 and table 2; service capability table with service ID, types and details and services allowed to be advertised; UE capability profile with service capabilities; eg. core network configures location); and
communicate service data in accordance with the service profile configuration (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications).
As per Claim 11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the device to: transmit, to the UE delegation service, an update to the list of services provided by the device, an update to the service preference information for the device, or both based at least in part on a change in the list of services provided by the device, a change in the service preference information for the device, a change in geographical location of the device, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 187-188, 199; allows the UE to update or delete this information by directly contacting the NRF; NRF notifies).
As per Claim 12. The apparatus of claim 10, the service preference information for the device comprising service preference information for one or more features supported by the device, for one or more feature groups supported by the device, for one or more functionalities supported by the device, for one or more codebook indexes used at the network entity, for one or more antenna patterns used at the network entity, for one or more beams configured for the device or used at the network entity, for one or more operating modes used at the network entity, for one or more geographical areas, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 71; network function NF; Table 2: eg. service capability details/ service area/location).
As per Claim 13. The apparatus of claim 10, the service profile configuration comprising a service identifier, service prioritization information, a periodicity associated with reporting information related to one or more services, an indication of one or more triggers for reporting the information related to one or more services, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 180-186, 146-147, and table 2; service capability table with service ID, types and details).
As per Claim 14. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the device to: receive, from the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, an indication of service preference information for one or more other devices of the wireless network (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications; other UEs requesting and subscribing to service notifications of AS or UEs).
As per Claim 15. The apparatus of claim 10, the service establishment request message comprising a request to register the device with the UE delegation service and comprising an indication of one or more of an identifier of the device, service configuration preference information, prioritization information for the list of services provided by the device, measurement gap preferences, radio access technology (RAT) preferences, network type preferences, service instance applicability information that indicates one or more conditions for configuring a service instance, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 183-186; table 2; UE initial registration request including service capabilities and including UE ID).
As per Claim 16. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the device to: transmit, to the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, an acknowledgement message in response to the service profile configuration (at least paragraph 185-187; eg. NRF sends response back with URI).
As per Claim 17. The apparatus of claim 10, the device comprising an operations and management entity, a service management and orchestration entity, or a UE (at least paragraph 183; UE).
As per Claim 18, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the network entity to:
output, to a user equipment (UE) delegation service, a service preference enquiry that requests a list of services provided by a device in a wireless network, service preference information for the device, or both managed by the UE delegation service (at least paragraph 183, 188, 196, 204; other NFs and UEs that asked to subscribe and be notified about new services);
obtain the list of services provided by the device, the service preference information for the device, or both; and output, to the device, a service profile configuration that indicates a first service of the list of services provided by the device or a first network service based at least in part on the list of services provided by the device or the service preference information (at least paragraph 169, 188, 204, 280; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications; NRF may send out the notification, including the subscription ID and the ID of the entity (e.g., SCS/AS or UE) that provides the new service capability, along with some or all of the information listed in Table 2 for that service capability; Once a UE obtains network connectivity, UE hosted IoT applications will typically perform service discovery in order to find IoT Servers (i.e. SCS/AS's) and IoT Applications (e.g. hosted on other UEs) that provide their desired services).
As per Claim 19. The apparatus of claim 18, the service preference enquiry comprising one or more of an identifier of the device, one or more service identifiers of one or more services, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 188, 196, 204; eg. service provided by UE ID, or service capability subscribed to, etc).
As per Claim 20. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to: output a subscription request that indicates for a user equipment (UE) delegation service to output, to the network entity, one or more changes in the list of services provided by the device or the service preference information for the device (at least paragraph 187-188; update to service capability information being subscribed to).
As per Claim 21. The apparatus of claim 18, the service preference information for the device comprising service preference information for one or more features supported by the device, for one or more feature groups supported by the device, for one or more functionalities supported by the device, for one or more codebook indexes used at the network entity, for one or more antenna patterns used at the network entity, for one or more beams configured for the device or used at the network entity, for one or more operating modes used at the network entity, for one or more geographical areas, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 71; network function NF; Table 2: eg. service capability details/ service area/location).
As per Claim 22. The apparatus of claim 18, the service profile configuration comprising a service identifier, service prioritization information, a periodicity associated with reporting information related to one or more services, an indication of one or more triggers to report the information related to one or more services, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 180-186, 146-147, and table 2; service capability table with service ID, types and details).
As per Claim 23. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to: obtain, from a second network entity, an identifier of the device and a selection service identifier that identifies the network entity as being a selection service for the device; select one or more services for the device based at least in part on the identifier of the device and the selection service identifier; and output, to the second network entity, an indication of one or more service identifiers of the one or more services, one or more supported functions of the one or more services, routing information associated with the one or more services, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 188, 244-269 for network entity selection of UE service capability; In addition, the NRF may notify other UEs that asked to be notified; Table 2: UE ID, ID of service capability and type of capabilities and details).
As per Claim 24. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to: output, to a discovery and selection service, an identifier of the device and a selection service identifier that identifies the discovery and selection service as being a selection service for the device; and obtain, from the discovery and selection service, an indication of one or more service identifiers of one or more services selected for the device, one or more supported functions of the one or more services, routing information associated with the one or more services, or any combination thereof (at least paragraph 144, 183, 175-180; NRF supports service discovery function; table 2 with service ID information and other network entity selecting service discovered).
As per Claim 25. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to: output, to the device, an indication of service preference information for one or more additional devices in the wireless network (at least paragraph 188, 244-269 for network entity selection of UE service capability; In addition, the NRF may notify other UEs that asked to be notified; Table 2: UE ID, ID of service capability and type of capabilities and details; UE, others and the providing UE receiving table 2 information).
As per Claim 26. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to: obtain, from the device, an acknowledgement message in response to the service profile configuration (at least paragraph 185-187; eg. NRF sends response back with URI).
As per Claim 27. The apparatus of claim 18, the network entity comprising a discovery and selection service, a radio access network entity, an access and mobility service, a topology management service, a subscription service, or one or more other network provided services (at least paragraph 183, 188; Fig. 1, 12; any NF asked to be notified).
As per Claim 28. The apparatus of claim 18, the device comprising an operations and management entity, a service management and orchestration entity, or a user equipment (UE) (at least paragraph 183; UE).
As per Claim 29, Li discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) delegation service, comprising:
obtaining a service establishment request message requesting for the UE delegation service to manage a list of services provided by a device in a wireless network, to manage service preference information for the device, or both, for coordinating with a network entity, one or more other network provided services, or any combination of the network entity and the one or more other network provided services (at least paragraph 181-183, 186, Fig. 13; UDM/UDR/NRF receiving from UE service capabilities in service request message and storing in a table; UE advertising service capability);
obtaining, from the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, a service preference enquiry requesting the list of services provided by the device, the service preference information for the device, or both (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications; other UEs requesting and subscribing to service notifications of AS or UEs); and
outputting, to the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, the list of services provided by the device, the service preference information for the device, or both (at least paragraph 188, 204; NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications).
As per Claim 30. The method of claim 29, further comprising: obtaining an update to the list of services provided by the device, an update to the service preference information for the device, or both; and outputting, to the network entity or the one or more other network provided services, the updated list of services provided by the device, the updated service preference information, or both (at least paragraph 187-188, 199; allows the UE to update or delete this information by directly contacting the NRF; NRF notifies).
Claims 31-35 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 10, 1, 29, 18 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Li to not disclose amendment to claim 18 of “output, to a user equipment (UE) delegation service, a service preference enquiry that requests a list of services provided by a device in a wireless network, service preference information for the device, or both managed by the UE delegation service.” Applicant argues that Li teaches only a new or newly added service is taught by Li not a list of services.
First, the claim has alternative language with disjunctive language for the list of services provided by a device in a wireless network, service preference information for the device, or both. Adding ‘or both’ further cements that one or the other is output. Applicant argues the list of services is not taught by Li. However, Li does disclose the list of services as Li teaches some devices subscribing when a new device is added that provides the single service the other device is interested in and subscribed to. Li teaches before that though that the UE device advertises ‘service capabilities it supports’ in par. 183. Thus, the UE, say a new UE that attaches to the network provides in a message the services and capabilities (list of services) that the UE supports to a device in the network, then other devices or UEs may get notified if a service they are subscribed to is available provided by that UE for the device to then use that service (at least paragraph 183, 188, 196, 204; other NFs and UEs that asked to subscribe and be notified about new services).
Applicant also argues Li not teach the ‘service preference enquiry’. However, claim 19 makes clear what the enquiry of claim 18 comprises “service preference enquiry comprising one or more of an identifier of the device, one or more service identifiers of one or more services, or any combination thereof”. Thus the enquiry is eg. an identifier or the device. Table 2 and at least paragraph 188, 196, 204 discloses UE ID and ID of service capability.
Applicant argues Li does not describe the NRF is a “delegation service” that manages the services. Par. 73 offers guidance on such delegation service composition including facilitating registration of service preferences and capabilities and could be co-located in RAN nodes or separate. Li teaches such delegation service as Li teaches in par. 188 the new service capability is registered at the NRF and the NRF sends a notification to any NF that asked to be notified when this type of service capability is registered and par. 186 “the NRF stores the information locally or in the UDM/UDR. The information may be stored in any suitable data structure, such as a table, or non-relational database. The UE ID (e.g., 5G-GUTI, SUPI) may be used to link the information with the UE providing the service capability.” And as indicated earlier, par. 183 “the UE may send information concerning the service capabilities it supports to the AMF”. Thus the UE gives the list of service capabilities it supports to the AMF, the AMF verifies the UE is verified, if so, the NRF registers it and notifies subscribers. Li clearly teaches the UE delegation service claimed.
Lastly, Applicant argues Li not disclose “transmitting, to the device, service profile configuration…” The quoted portion does not appear to be in claim 18 being argued. Applicant argues that Li’s NRF notifying other NFs of new services is not the same as outputting any configuration to the device. First, again dependent claim 22 clarifies such “configuration” to comprise “a service identifier” or other options. Thus, does Li teach an entity that outputs to the UE device the service identifier of the service the UE device provides? Li teaches in (at least paragraph 169, 188, 204, 280) that the NRF notifies other NF’s about new services that have subscribed for notifications and the NRF may send out the notification, including the subscription ID and the ID of the entity (e.g., SCS/AS or UE) that provides the new service capability, along with some or all of the information listed in Table 2 for that service capability. Thus the NF or other UE is given the service ID and UE ID that the NF or UE uses to contact the UE providing the service and obtain the service desired. Once a UE obtains network connectivity, UE hosted IoT applications will typically perform service discovery in order to find IoT Servers (i.e. SCS/AS's) and IoT Applications (e.g. hosted on other UEs) that provide their desired services.
Applicant has not fully responded to and argued new independent claims 31-35. However, in the interest of expediting prosecution, claims 31-35 are assumed to be argued as with claims 1-30 and responded to as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is indicated in PTO form 892.
/GREGORY TODD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443