DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stephens et al. (US 2016/0079862, of record and hereinafter “Stephens”).
Claim 1: Stephens discloses a power conversion device (Fig.2A) in which a DC input voltage (Vin) is applied between a positive-side input terminal (top terminal of Inverter 203) and a negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of Inverter 203) and a DC output voltage (Vout) is output from between a positive-side output terminal (at Vout) and a negative-side output terminal (V_LV) connected to a load (see [0017]), the power conversion device comprising:
a first switch element (220) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a first intermediate terminal (A);
a second switch element (222) connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a third switch element (224) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a second intermediate terminal (B);
a fourth switch element (226) connected between the second intermediate terminal (B) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a resonance circuit (206) including an inductor (230) and a capacitor (234);
a transformer (208) in which a primary-side coil (240) is connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the second intermediate terminal (B) such that the inductor, the capacitor, and the primary-side coil are connected in series (see Fig.2A);
a rectifier circuit (210) configured to rectify a voltage output from a secondary-side coil (242) of the transformer (208);
a smoothing circuit (212) configured to smooth a voltage output from the rectifier circuit (see Fig.2A, where capacitor 212 is configured as a low-pass filter and smooths 286 to Vout 285) and output the smoothed voltage between the positive-side output terminal and the negative-side output terminal (see Fig.2A); and
a controller (216) configured to complementarily switch the first switch element and the second switch element with an operation frequency and complementarily switch the third switch element and the fourth switch element with the operation frequency (at frequency F; see [0035]), the controller being configured to:
control the operation frequency to set an output current supplied to the load or output power supplied to the load to a preset target value (in Mode 1, corresponding to 306; see [0039]);
simultaneously switch the first switch element and the fourth switch element in a first mode (during mode 306; see Fig.2B and [0034]);
switch the fourth switch element with a phase of the fourth switch element delayed by a predetermined first phase with respect to the first switch element in a second mode (in phase shifted mode 308; see Fig.2B and [0040]); and
switch the first mode and the second mode according to at least one of the output voltage (see [0040] and [0038], where when both the output voltage is not in an acceptable operational range and the operational frequency is above the maximum), the output current (see [0040], where output current may also be used to determine the phase shift mode of operation), a dead time current flowing to the inductor in a dead time from when the fourth switch element becomes nonconductive until when the third switch element is conducted, the input voltage (see [0040], where input voltage is also monitored and used to determine operating mode), and a circuit temperature, which is a temperature of the transformer (the examiner notes that due to the “at least one of” language, only one of the above is required by the claim; since Stephens discloses providing a phase-shift mode based on output voltage, input voltage, and output current, the scope of the claim is met despite not disclosing the dead time current and circuit temperature limitations).
Claim 13: Stephens discloses a power conversion device (Fig.2A) in which a DC input voltage (Vin) is applied between a positive-side input terminal (top terminal of Inverter 203) and a negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of Inverter 203) and a DC output voltage (Vout) is output from between a positive-side output terminal (at Vout) and a negative-side output terminal (V_LV) connected to a load (see [0017]), the power conversion device comprising:
a first switch element (220) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a first intermediate terminal (A);
a second switch element (222) connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a third switch element (224) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a second intermediate terminal (B);
a fourth switch element (226) connected between the second intermediate terminal (B) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a resonance circuit (206) including an inductor (230) and a capacitor (234);
a transformer (208) in which a primary-side coil (240) is connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the second intermediate terminal (B) such that the inductor, the capacitor, and the primary-side coil are connected in series (see Fig.2A);
a rectifier circuit (210) configured to rectify a voltage output from a secondary-side coil (242) of the transformer (208);
a smoothing circuit (212) configured to smooth a voltage output from the rectifier circuit (see Fig.2A, where capacitor 212 is configured as a low-pass filter and smooths 286 to Vout 285) and output the smoothed voltage between the positive-side output terminal and the negative-side output terminal (see Fig.2A); and
a controller (216) configured to complementarily switch the first switch element and the second switch element with an operation frequency and complementarily switch the third switch element and the fourth switch element with the operation frequency (at frequency F; see [0035]), the controller being configured to:
control the operation frequency and a phase of the fourth switch element with respect to the first switch element (steps 306 and 308) to set an output current supplied to the load or output power supplied to the load to a preset target value (see [0040], where a constant current may be provided); and
when the output voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold output voltage (“not within the acceptable operational range”; see [0040]), when the output current is smaller than a predetermined first threshold output current, when a dead time current flowing to the inductor in a dead time from when the fourth switch element becomes nonconductive until when the third switch element is conducted is larger than a predetermined first threshold excitation current, when the input voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold input voltage, or when a circuit temperature that is a temperature of the transformer is larger than a predetermined first threshold temperature, after delaying the phase of switching of the fourth switch element with respect to the first switch element by a predetermined first phase, control the operation frequency and the phase (Stephens discloses monitoring output voltage, output current, and input voltage to adjust phase shift and frequency operations, where the frequency adjustment and phase shift adjustment modes may be switched to in the control loop shown in Fig.3; see [0040]; the examiner further notes that due to the alternative “or” language, the dead time current and circuit temperature limitations are not required by the claim).
Claim 14: Claim 13: Stephens discloses a power conversion device (Fig.2A) in which a DC input voltage (Vin) is applied between a positive-side input terminal (top terminal of Inverter 203) and a negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of Inverter 203) and a DC output voltage (Vout) is output from between a positive-side output terminal (at Vout) and a negative-side output terminal (V_LV) connected to a load (see [0017]), the power conversion device comprising:
a first switch element (220) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a first intermediate terminal (A);
a second switch element (222) connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a third switch element (224) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a second intermediate terminal (B);
a fourth switch element (226) connected between the second intermediate terminal (B) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a resonance circuit (206) including an inductor (230) and a capacitor (234);
a transformer (208) in which a primary-side coil (240) is connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the second intermediate terminal (B) such that the inductor, the capacitor, and the primary-side coil are connected in series (see Fig.2A);
a rectifier circuit (210) configured to rectify a voltage output from a secondary-side coil (242) of the transformer (208);
a smoothing circuit (212) configured to smooth a voltage output from the rectifier circuit (see Fig.2A, where capacitor 212 is configured as a low-pass filter and smooths 286 to Vout 285) and output the smoothed voltage between the positive-side output terminal and the negative-side output terminal (see Fig.2A); and
a controller (216) configured to complementarily switch the first switch element and the second switch element with an operation frequency and complementarily switch the third switch element and the fourth switch element with the operation frequency (at frequency F; see [0035]), the controller being configured to:
control a phase of the fourth switch element with respect to the first switch element to set an output current supplied to the load or output power supplied to the load to a preset target value (during phase control mode in mode 308; see Figs.2B and [0040]); and
when the output voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold output voltage, when the output current is smaller than a predetermined first threshold output current, when a dead time current flowing to the inductor in a dead time from when the fourth switch element becomes nonconductive until when the third switch element is conducted is larger than a predetermined first threshold excitation current, when the input voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold input voltage, or when a circuit temperature that is a temperature of the transformer is larger than a predetermined first threshold temperature, after delaying the phase of switching of the fourth switch element with respect to the first switch element by a predetermined first phase, control the phase (while the converter is operating in mode 308; see [0040], where Stephens discloses monitoring output voltage, output current, and input voltage to adjust phase shift and frequency operations, where the frequency adjustment and phase shift adjustment modes may be switched to in the control loop shown in Fig.3; the examiner further notes that due to the alternative “or” language, the dead time current and circuit temperature limitations are not required by the claim).
Claim 15: Stephens discloses a control method (of Fig.2A) in a power conversion device (Fig.2) in which a DC input voltage (Vin) is applied between a positive-side input terminal (top terminal of Inverter 203) and a negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of Inverter 203) and a DC output voltage (Vout) is output from between a positive-side output terminal (at Vout) and a negative-side output terminal (V_LV) connected to a load (see [0017]), the power conversion device comprising:
a first switch element (220) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a first intermediate terminal (A);
a second switch element (222) connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a third switch element (224) connected between the positive-side input terminal (top terminal of 203) and a second intermediate terminal (B);
a fourth switch element (226) connected between the second intermediate terminal (B) and the negative-side input terminal (bottom terminal of 203);
a resonance circuit (206) including an inductor (230) and a capacitor (234);
a transformer (208) in which a primary-side coil (240) is connected between the first intermediate terminal (A) and the second intermediate terminal (B) such that the inductor, the capacitor, and the primary-side coil are connected in series (see Fig.2A);
a rectifier circuit (210) configured to rectify a voltage output from a secondary-side coil (242) of the transformer (208);
a smoothing circuit (212) configured to smooth a voltage output from the rectifier circuit (see Fig.2A, where capacitor 212 is configured as a low-pass filter and smooths 286 to Vout 285) and output the smoothed voltage between the positive-side output terminal and the negative-side output terminal (see Fig.2A); and
a controller (216) configured to complementarily switch the first switch element and the second switch element with an operation frequency and complementarily switch the third switch element and the fourth switch element with the operation frequency (at frequency F; see [0035]), the control method, by the controller, comprising:
controlling the operation frequency to set an output current supplied to the load or output power supplied to the load to a preset target value (in the frequency control mode; see step 306 and [0039]);
simultaneously switching the first switch element and the fourth switch element in a first mode (in mode 306; see Fig.2B and [0036]);
switching the fourth switch element with a phase of the fourth switch element delayed by a predetermined first phase with respect to the first switch element in a second mode (during phase shift mode 308; see Fig.2B and [0040]); and
switching the first mode and the second mode according to at least one of the output voltage (see [0040] and [0038], where when both the output voltage is not in an acceptable operational range and the operational frequency is above the maximum), the output current (see [0040], where output current may also be used to determine the phase shift mode of operation), a dead time current flowing to the inductor in a dead time from when the fourth switch element becomes nonconductive until when the third switch element is conducted, the input voltage (see [0040], where input voltage is also monitored and used to determine operating mode), and a circuit temperature, which is a temperature of the transformer (the examiner notes that due to the “at least one of” language, only one of the above is required by the claim; since Stephens discloses providing a phase-shift mode based on output voltage, input voltage, and output current, the scope of the claim is met despite not disclosing the dead time current and circuit temperature limitations).
Claim 2: Stephens discloses wherein, in the first mode, the controller is configured to switch the first mode to the second mode when the output voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold output voltage (when it is outside an acceptable operating range, thus including larger than a predetermined first threshold output voltage, i.e. the highest voltage within the range; see [0040]), when the output current is smaller than a predetermined first threshold output current, when the dead time current in the dead time from when the fourth switch element becomes nonconductive until when the third switch element is conducted is larger than a predetermined first threshold excitation current, when the input voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold input voltage, or when the circuit temperature is larger than a predetermined first threshold temperature (due to the alternative “or” language, only one of the above options is required to meet the scope of the claim).
Claim 3: Stephens discloses wherein, in the second mode, the controller is configured to switch the second mode to the first mode when the output voltage is equal to or smaller than a predetermined second threshold output voltage (e.g. when falling out of acceptable range, but while the operating frequency is less than a maximum, since the method of claim 3 is repeated after modes 306, 308) , when the output current is equal to or larger than a predetermined second threshold output current, when the dead time current in the dead time from when the fourth switch element becomes nonconductive until when the third switch element is conducted is equal to or smaller than a predetermined second threshold excitation current, when the input voltage is equal to or smaller than a predetermined second threshold input voltage, or when the circuit temperature is equal to or smaller than a predetermined second threshold temperature (due to the alternative “or” language, only one of the above options is required to meet the scope of the claim).
Claim 6: Stephens discloses wherein, in the second mode, the controller is configured to set magnitude of the first phase according to the output voltage, the output current, the input voltage, the dead time current, or the circuit temperature (according to output voltage; see [0040]).
Claim 9: Stephens discloses wherein, when switching the first mode (frequency control) to the second mode (phase control), the controller is configured to increase a phase of switching of the fourth switch element with respect to the first switch element from 0 (from that in frequency switching mode; see [0035]) to the first phase (during phase control mode, where a particular phase is set to provide a desired Vout) according to lapse of time (the time it takes for the correct phase to be determined in phase control mode; see [0040]).
Claim 10: Stephens discloses wherein, when switching the second mode to the first mode, the controller is configured to reduce a phase of switching of the fourth switch element with respect to the first switch element from the first phase to 0 according to lapse of time (Stephens is capable of this functionality, as the phase control reduces the phase difference to zero for Vout control, followed by a switching to frequency control; see Fig.3 and [0040], where the control loop is repeated).
Claim 11: Stephens discloses wherein the second threshold output voltage is smaller than the first threshold output voltage (e.g. the second threshold voltage being the lower end of the “acceptable range”; see discussion above), the second threshold output current is larger than the first threshold output current, the second threshold excitation current is smaller than the first threshold excitation current, the second threshold input voltage is smaller than the first threshold input voltage, and the second threshold temperature is lower than the first threshold temperature (due to the use of alternative “or” language in claims 2 and 3, the other limitations are not required by the claim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-8, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not clearly disclose within the context of the claims “wherein the controller is configured to switch the first mode to the second mode when the output voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold output voltage and the output current is smaller than a predetermined first threshold output current” (claim 4), “wherein the controller is configured to switch the first mode to the second mode when the output voltage is larger than a predetermined first threshold output voltage, the output current is smaller than a predetermined first threshold output current, and the dead time current is larger than a predetermined first threshold excitation current” (claim 5), “wherein, when switching the second mode to the first mode, the controller is configured to simultaneously switch the first switch element and the fourth switch element after reducing the target value by a predetermined amount, and return the target value to a set value after simultaneously starting switching the first switch element and the fourth switch element” (claim 7), or “a recovery characteristic of a body diode of each of the third switch element and the fourth switch element is higher than that of each of the first switch element and the second switch element” (claim 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art also discloses phase shift control of a full-bridge based converter: Itogawa et al. (US 2022/0393606), Yang et al. (US 2022/0103080), Zhang et al. (US 2021/0067045) and Higaki et al. (US 2019/0288606).
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849