DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/20225; 06/27/2025; 02/16/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dong et al. (US 2016/0119434; Cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Dong discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) delegation service and a method, the apparatus comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0105]; e.g., non-removable memory 44 or removable memory 46); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE delegation service to (paragraph [0105]):
obtain a service management message that authorizes the UE delegation service to negotiate a service configuration on behalf of a first device in a wireless network (paragraphs [0004], [0032]; e.g., receiving a negotiation request from a first entity at a negotiation service entity in a network of connected entities, admitting the first entity to the negotiation service entity, and determining a negotiation target entity for the request); and
communicate, with one or more service modules, on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message (paragraphs [0004]; e.g., A negotiation result may be sent to the first entity from the negotiation service) and (paragraph [0058]; e.g., If negotiation requester 320 is to be permitted to use negotiation service 310, negotiation response 325 indicating admission to the negotiation service may be transmitted to negotiation requester 320).
Regarding claim 2, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain, from the first device in the wireless network, the service management message, wherein the service management message updates the UE delegation service with a status of the first device and one or more dynamic preferences of the first device (paragraph [0075]; e.g., Each of the sensor nodes may reject the negotiation notification because its battery level is low, etc., or it may not respond because it is in a sleep mode).
Regarding claim 3, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: output, to the first device in the wireless network, the service management message, wherein the service management message updates or affects a status of the first device and one or more dynamic preferences of the first device based at least in part on communication with the one or more service modules (paragraphs [0067], [0083]; e.g., An indication of acceptance of a generalized negotiation strategy and/or target party may be included in the request, or may be assumed if the request fails to include a negotiation goal).
Regarding claim 4, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: output, or obtain, a service configuration request that requests an establishment of a service associated with the first device (paragraphs [0056], [0088]; e.g., Negotiation service 310 may check negotiation requester 320 against access rights configured on it that may allow only a certain individual or groups of authorized entities, applications, or services to be admitted to use the negotiation service); and
communicate, with at least one service module of the one or more service modules, one or more service configuration messages to negotiate, with the at least one service module, the service configuration of the service for the first device based at least in part on the service configuration request, the service management message, or both (paragraphs [0047], [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: communicate one or more messages to negotiate one or more parameters of the service configuration (paragraphs [0081], [0084]; e.g., If a subscriber is using negotiation results from a subscription, any change to the subscribed negotiation conditions or parameters may trigger the subscriber to automatically adapt adjust to the new conditions or parameters); and
obtain, from a second device in the wireless network, the service configuration based at least in part on the one or more messages, wherein the second device is a network entity of a radio access network (paragraphs [0088]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 6, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: determine, at the UE delegation service, one or more parameters of the service configuration for the first device; and communicate, with the one or more service modules, one or more messages that include the one or more parameters of the service configuration for the first device (paragraphs [0031], [0039]-[0040]; e.g., negotiating a price and other service delivery related quality of service (QoS) parameters and determine the service that is going to deliver the service to the requesters).
Regarding claim 7, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain, from at least one service module of the one or more service modules, a service configuration request; and communicate one or more messages to negotiate one or more parameters of the service configuration on the behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the service configuration request, or both (paragraphs [0031], [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to:
obtain, from the first device, a service request message that requests establishment of one or more services associated with the first device (paragraphs [0058]-[0059]);
output, to the one or more service modules, one or more service configuration request messages based at least in part on the one or more service configuration request messages from the first device (paragraphs [0058]-[0059]; e.g., Negotiation service 310 may also provide another admission request 333 to cognition capability 311 for a determination of whether to admit negotiation requester 320 to the negotiation service and may receive admission response 334);
obtain, from the one or more service modules, one or more service configuration response messages (paragraphs [0054], [0057], [0059]; e.g., cognition capability 311 may provide admission response 324 to negotiation service 310); and
communicate one or more messages to negotiate one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the one or more service configuration response messages, or both (paragraphs [0047], [0053], [0064]; see the negotiation service may, at block 515, establish the subscription and notification conditions).
Regarding claim 11, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein, to obtain the service request message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain a list of the one or more services with which the first device requests to establish a service (paragraphs [0056], [0074]; e.g., negotiation service 310 as a list of allowed entities, applications, or services (a “white list”), a list of blocked entities, applications, or services (a “black list”), or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 12, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein, to obtain the one or more service configuration response messages, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain a first service configuration response message of the one or more service configuration response messages from a first service module of the one or more service modules that indicates a service profile of the first service module, capability information of the first service module, one or more configuration preferences for the first service module, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0054], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 13, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain, from the one or more service modules, one or more service configuration feasibility request messages; and output, to the one or more service modules, one or more service configuration feasibility response messages, wherein the one or more service configuration feasibility response messages indicate whether the service configuration between a respective service module of the one or more service modules and the first device is feasible (paragraphs [0054], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain, from the first device, a service request message that requests establishment of one or more services associated with the first device; output, to the one or more service modules, a service configuration request message; and communicate one or more messages to negotiate one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service request message (paragraphs [0054], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE delegation service to: output, to the first device, a device management message that indicates one or more machine learning models (paragraph [0037]; e.g., negotiation service 110 may include a cognition capability or artificial intelligence that builds and maintains knowledge of actions to take based on analyzing content, situational contexts, and policy information).
Regarding claim 18, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the first device is one of a plurality of devices in the wireless network, and the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE delegation service to: receive a plurality of service management messages that authorize the UE delegation service to negotiate the service configuration on behalf of the plurality of devices (paragraphs [0056], [0058]; e.g., Negotiation service 310 may check negotiation requester 320 against access rights configured on it that may allow only a certain individual or groups of authorized entities, applications, or services to be admitted to use the negotiation service).
Claim 20 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications comprising code means for generating steps of claim 19. Therefore, the same rationale applied to claim 19 applies. In addition, Dong inherently discloses a computer program product, i.e., given that Dong discloses a process (paragraph [0120]), the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a computer program product, e.g., a RAM, to function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Wang et al. (US 2017/0272894).
Regarding claim 8, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 7, fails to specifically disclose
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: output, to a second device in the wireless network, a configuration preference request message; obtain, from the second device, an indication of one or more configuration preferences for the service configuration based at least in part on the configuration preference request message; and communicate the one or more messages to negotiate the one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the service configuration request, the one or more configuration preferences from the second device, or any combination thereof.
However, Wang discloses output, to a second device in the wireless network, a configuration preference request message (Fig. 9 step 1A; paragraphs [0147], [0155]; e.g., the Negotiatee sends “Subscription for Negotiation Requests” to the Negotiation Broker );
obtain, from the second device, an indication of one or more configuration preferences for the service configuration based at least in part on the configuration preference request message (Fig. 9 step 3A; paragraphs [0151], [0155]; e.g., The Negotiation Broker sends a “Response” to the Negotiatee); and
communicate the one or more messages to negotiate the one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the service configuration request, the one or more configuration preferences from the second device, or any combination thereof (Fig. 13 step 9; paragraphs [0161], [0170], [0172]; e.g., Then in Step 9, the Negotiator A and B, respectively, sends an “Acknowledgement” to the Negotiation Broker).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Dong in combination of Wang as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to output, to a second device in the wireless network, a configuration preference request message; obtain, from the second device, an indication of one or more configuration preferences for the service configuration based at least in part on the configuration preference request message; and communicate the one or more messages to negotiate the one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the service configuration request, the one or more configuration preferences from the second device for advantages of improving negotiation services at the M2M service layer and providing capabilities for dynamically requesting services (Wang: paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 9, fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to:
output, to a second device in the wireless network, a configuration preference request message; obtain, from the second device, an indication of one or more configuration preferences for the service configuration; and communicate the one or more messages to negotiate the one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the one or more service configuration response messages, the one or more configuration preferences from the second device, or any combination thereof.
However, Wang discloses output, to a second device in the wireless network, a configuration preference request message (Fig. 9 step 1A; paragraphs [0147], [0155]; e.g., the Negotiatee sends “Subscription for Negotiation Requests” to the Negotiation Broker );
obtain, from the second device, an indication of one or more configuration preferences for the service configuration based at least in part on the configuration preference request message (Fig. 9 step 3A; paragraphs [0151], [0155]; e.g., The Negotiation Broker sends a “Response” to the Negotiatee); and
communicate the one or more messages to negotiate the one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the service configuration request, the one or more configuration preferences from the second device, or any combination thereof (Fig. 13 step 9; paragraphs [0161], [0170], [0172]; e.g., Then in Step 9, the Negotiator A and B, respectively, sends an “Acknowledgement” to the Negotiation Broker).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Dong in combination of Wang as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to output, to a second device in the wireless network, a configuration preference request message; obtain, from the second device, an indication of one or more configuration preferences for the service configuration based at least in part on the configuration preference request message; and communicate the one or more messages to negotiate the one or more parameters of the service configuration on behalf of the first device based at least in part on the service management message, the service configuration request, the one or more configuration preferences from the second device for advantages of improving negotiation services at the M2M service layer and providing capabilities for dynamically requesting services (Wang: paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE delegation service to: obtain, from a second device in the wireless network, a UE configuration feasibility request message; and output, to the second device, a UE configuration feasibility response message, wherein the UE configuration feasibility response message indicates whether the service configuration between the second device and the first device is feasible.
However, Wang discloses obtain, from a second device in the wireless network, a UE configuration feasibility request message (Fig. 9 step 3A; paragraphs [0151], [0155]; e.g., The Negotiation Broker sends a “Response” to the Negotiatee); and output, to the second device, a UE configuration feasibility response message, wherein the UE configuration feasibility response message indicates whether the service configuration between the second device and the first device is feasible (paragraphs [0047], [0105]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Dong in combination of Wang as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to obtain, from a second device in the wireless network, a UE configuration feasibility request message; and output, to the second device, a UE configuration feasibility response message, wherein the UE configuration feasibility response message indicates whether the service configuration between the second device and the first device is feasible for advantages of improving negotiation services at the M2M service layer and providing capabilities for dynamically requesting services (Wang: paragraph [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 17, the prior arts of records fail to teach, or render obvious, alone or in combination, a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) delegation service comprising the claimed means and their components, relationships, and functionalities as specifically recited in claims 17 and independent claim 1 that claim 17 depends on.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648