Detailed Action
-Claims 1, 13, 18 and 19 have been amended.
-Claim 6, 12 and 15 cancelled.
-The 112 rejection is withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
-Claims 1-5 and 7-11, 13-14, 16-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks filed on 6/30/2026 have been fully considered.
Arguments Remarks that the prior art does not disclose building such a model are not persuasive. Saxena does teach a semantic model and further teaches propositional formulae with at least the Boolean expression described in [0052] and teaches using predicate logic with at least the logic expressions described in [0146].
Note that recitations including “usable to….” are interpreted as intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena et al (US Pub.No.2019/0327271) in view of Tuggle (US Pub.No.2019/0147068).
Re Claim 1. Saxena discloses a system, comprising: a processor configured to: receive configuration information [associated with a production network environment], including at least one policy; use the received configuration information to build a semantic model of intent, including by normalizing the policy (i.e. provide the information to PE 360 and/or SPD 312, which may process the information to determine access policies and provide the information to SPN 314 and/or access policy representation block (APR) 316 to normalize and/or update access policy graphs. In some embodiments, various access policy graphs (e.g. associated with individual actors/objects) may be combined to create a master access policy graph where each actor and/or object in the IT infrastructure is uniquely represented as a single node. The master access policy graph represents a collective logical representation of all policy objects expressed across all objects……..AOPC 310 may further include security policy normalization block (SPN) 314, which may receive access control policy information for entities (e.g. actors and/or objects) associated with one or more subsystems from SPD 312, interpret each policy associated with the respective entities, and represent the policies in a normal or standardized form. In some embodiments, the normal or standardized from may be a generalized representation independent of any particular entity (e.g. the normalized representation may be entity/system/sub-system agnostic). For example, SPN 314 may represent security and/or access control policies in a form that is not specific to any particular subsystem or entity and in a manner that facilitates access control description across the various subsystems of an IT infrastructure in a consistent standardized format) [Saxena, para.0103-0104, see also para.0114, and para.0196 teaches intent model] with a normalizer configured to generate a set comprising propositional formulae (i.e. Rules may specify: (a) conditions under which an actor may access an object; and (b) the type of access permitted to the object for each actor/actor type. The rules may be based on attributes associated with the actor (e.g. actor location/geography, actor IP address, actor type, actor groups, historical behavior, profiles including actor risk profiles, type of access requested, etc.), environmental considerations (time, current threat level, predicted risk, etc.), object attributes (e.g. object location, object type, geography, etc.), and/or metrics determined from some combination of the above (e.g. a predicted risk etc.) and/or tags assigned to and/or metadata associated with objects and/or actors. In some embodiments, the rules may be specified using one or more logical (e.g. Boolean) operators and two or more rules may be combined to obtain to more complex rules…………….. specify access control rules in PR 350 (e.g. associated with entities in the IT infrastructure) using logical expressions. The logical expressions above may reflect access control policies associated with one or more physical entities (actors and/or objects) in an IT infrastructure (e.g. system 100/100). A stated policy, which may include rules for one or more entities, may also be specified in PR 350 using logical expressions. In some embodiments, expressions based on first order logic may be used to represent access control policies in PR 350 for implemented policies, stated policies and derived policies) [Saxena, para.0052, 0113, and 0150-0151], and by using predicate logic (i.e. For example, if it is to be determined whether a specific user will have access to an AWS S3 bucket, then a model graph may be created based on the specified set of policies and the model graph may be traversed starting at the user (specified actor) to determine if at least one path exists to the S3 node and then to the specific S3 bucket (specified object)) [Saxena, para.0146, Note: policy determined based on existence of a path teaches policy formulated based on predicate logic] use the model to perform a policy analysis, including by identifying at least one existing policy intent conflict (i.e. in policy management block 570, provisioned policies or implemented policies that are non-compliant or inconsistent with one or more derived or stated access control policies may be identified, flagged as exceptions, and an administrator may be alerted) [Saxena, para.0216, see also 0133], (i.e. determining actors and/or object that have associated privileges that are inconsistent with one or more access control policies) [Saxena, para.0070], (i.e. notifications (e.g. real time) when one or more access control rules are inconsistent with an access control policy) [Saxena, para.0141], (i.e. Graphs with a similarity score above some threshold may be evaluated and deviations between the graphs may be attributed to access policy drift) [Saxena, 0162], (i.e. due to the effect of cumulative policy changes over time, policies (stated or derived) may drift relative to their intent. In some embodiments, by determining the difference between the sets of entities with access to similar objects (e.g. objects within an object cluster), policy drift for stated and/or derived policies may be identified and flagged) [Saxena, para.0196], and also including by performing a pre-change analysis associated with a proposed policy change [for the production network environment]; and provide a result of the policy analysis as output (i.e. an IT infrastructure (e.g. system 100) may be monitored (e.g. by SPD 312) when deployed and/or to determine if there are changes to the system (additions, deletions and/or changes related to the security policies/access control policies) so that access policy graphs and/or clusters affected by the changes to the IT infrastructure may be reflected in PR 350. In some embodiments, monitoring of an IT infrastructure for changes (e.g. by SPD 312) may occur continuously, on some predetermined schedule (e.g. set by a system administrator), or periodically. In some embodiments, agents coupled to PE 360 and/or SPD 312 may monitor actors and/or objects in the IT infrastructure to detect changes affecting security policies and/or access control policies and may trigger functionality associated with AOC 310 (e.g. SPN 314 and/or SPR 316) and/or AOA 320 (described below) to update access policy graphs and/or clusters affected by the changes and create, update and/or augment PR 350) [Saxena, para.0120], (i.e. verification that any access control rules (implemented or to be implemented) are consistent with the set of access control policies (derived and/or stated); (g) notifications (e.g. real time) when one or more access control rules are inconsistent with an access control policy) [Saxena, para.0067, Note: analysis of rules “to be implemented” teaches pre-change analysis], wherein the result is usable to identify whether implementing the proposed policy change would result in a resolution of the existing policy intent conflict (i.e. the impact of any proposed rule changes (e.g. on system entities) may also be presented to the user. In some embodiments, SV 330 and/or ST 340 and/or PE 360 may include functionality to automatically remediate the policy violation by modifying the access control policy such that it is consistent with specified rules) [Saxena, para.0157, see also 0162]; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions [Saxena, para.268, Fig.7].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the different embodiments, because when describing Fig.7, Saxena suggests such a combination: computer- readable medium 720 and/or removable media 708 may include program code stored thereon may include program code to support methods for access control policy determination, management, provisioning, verification, and testing according to some disclosed embodiments. For example, computer-readable medium 720 and/or removable media 708 may include program code to support techniques disclosed in relation to FIGS. 3-6 [Saxena, para.0274]. In addition, Figs.8-12 are flowcharts described as corresponding to steps in Fig. 3A and Fig.5A [Saxena, para.0276, 0282, 0285, 0288 and 0291]. This motivation applies to the dependent claims.
Saxena does not explicitly disclose whereas Tuggle does: configuration associated with a production network environment and policy change for the production network environment (i.e. utilizes the customizations to determine a plurality of different potential solutions for implementing new functionality or achieving an objective without conflicting with the existing customizations. For example, for an administrator user associated with a particular tenant, the automated development engine 126 may utilize the tenant identifier to identify or obtain information pertaining to any existing custom objects, custom validation rules, custom workflow rules, custom metadata or schema, custom code packages, and/or custom point-and-click configurations …….the testing database is realized as a replication of the up-to-date or real-time data maintained in the production database with at least some customizations associated with the particular user or tenant being modified with respect to the customizations in the production database. In one or more exemplary embodiments described herein, the automated development engine 126 obtains the current customizations from each of the different databases 104 within the database system 100 to determine potential solutions that do not conflict with existing customizations implemented at the production database) [Tuggle, para.0024-0025].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Saxena with Tuggle because by virtue of the selected solution accounting for existing validation rules, workflows, and other applicable customizations, the modifications for achieving the desired functionality or objective are unlikely to result in errors or conflicts when deploying the modifications in the production database [Tuggle, para.0013].
Re Claim 2. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to provide a suggested recommendation associated with the result of the policy analysis (i.e. any exceptions to derived access control policies and/or stated access control policies may be flagged and/or presented to an administrator as an exception and/or for approval) [Saxena, para.0216], (i.e. a proposed access control policy change may be made in a simulation mode in SCT block 346 to determine if any of the invariant checks or best practices checks are violated. The impact of any access control policy changes may also be assessed in terms of whether there is a net increase or decrease in access to one or more entities. One or more of the above factors (consistency with invariant policies and/or best practices or change in access) may be used allow or disallow the proposed changes) [Saxena, para.0141].
Re Claim 3. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the proposed policy change includes a proposal to add a new rule (i.e. changes to access policies associated with the entity being processed may be determined and edges may be created (to reflect new inbound/outbound policies), deleted (to reflect access revocations), or modified (e.g. to reflect access policy changes)) [Saxena, para.0111], and wherein the suggested recommendation is against adding the new rule (i.e. upon a determination that a desired policy is being violated, one or more specific rules that contribute to the violation may be identified and the information may be provided to a user. For example, as a result of an access policy graph traversal, an access path that is non-compliant with some specified policy may be identified, and rule(s) and/or object attributes that contribute to the violation may be flagged and reported. In some embodiments, the user may be provided with information pertaining to rule changes that may stop the non-compliant behavior…………………….one or more paths in the cluster may be tested and/or validated to determine compliance with policies (e.g. as reflected in PR 350) prior to be added to the path cluster. Paths that violate one or more policies may be flagged, not added to the cluster) [Saxena, para.0227, 0236].
Re Claim 4. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the proposed policy change includes a proposal to delete an existing rule (i.e. changes to access policies associated with the entity being processed may be determined and edges may be created (to reflect new inbound/outbound policies), deleted (to reflect access revocations), or modified (e.g. to reflect access policy changes)) [Saxena, para.0111], and wherein the suggested recommendation is against deleting the existing rule (i.e. In some embodiments, an administrator may be alerted when access is disabled and provided an opportunity to confirm or override the new policy) [Saxena, para.0190, Note: alerting an admin to override a rule that disables an existing rule that allows access teaches a suggestion against disabling access i.e. against deleting the existing rule that allows access].
Re Claim 5. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the result includes an indication of a conflict that would be introduced as a result of making the proposed policy change (i.e. the above factors (consistency with invariant policies and/or best practices or change in access) may be used allow or disallow the proposed changes ………………notifications (e.g. real time) when one or more access control rules are inconsistent with an access control policy) [Saxena, para.0141, 0067].
Re Claim 7. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the configuration information includes live state information extracted from an executing firewall (i.e. agents may also determine and/or select actors, objects, and connections during program run time based on the evaluation of the conditions. For example, agents may monitor actor and/or object instantiations, access requests to objects by actors, network traffic etc., and provide the information to PE 360 and/or SPD 312, which may process the information to determine access policies and provide the information to SPN) [Saxena, para.0103, Note: an agent that monitors network traffic is interpreted as firewall].
Re Claim 8. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the configuration information is received in response to an on-demand request for policy analysis (i.e. method 360 may be invoked periodically (e.g. at some specified or predetermined interval), on demand (e.g. by an administrator or another program), or whenever a new subsystem is added or policies and/or attributes are changed) [Saxena, para.0099].
Re Claim 9. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the configuration information is received periodically (i.e. automatic policy determination may be used as part of an access control verification process to verify that an implemented rule base reflects stated policies for a system/subsystem or to determine any inconsistencies. For example, derived polices, which may include learned/inferred rules may be compared with a stated access control policy (or rule) to determine potential inconsistencies. In some embodiments, access control verification may be run periodically, and/or whenever access control policies are changed) [Saxena, para.0072].
Re Claim 10. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the configuration information comprises metadata (i.e. Rules may specify: (a) conditions under which an actor may access an object; and (b) the type of access permitted to the object for each actor/actor type. The rules may be based on attributes associated with the actor (e.g. actor location/geography, actor IP address, actor type, actor groups, historical behavior, profiles including actor risk profiles, type of access requested, etc.), environmental considerations (time, current threat level, predicted risk, etc.), object attributes (e.g. object location, object type, geography, etc.), and/or metrics determined from some combination of the above (e.g. a predicted risk etc.) and/or tags assigned to and/or metadata associated with objects and/or actors. In some embodiments, the rules may be specified using one or more logical (e.g. Boolean) operators and two or more rules may be combined to obtain to more complex rules. As one example, access may be allowed to a database (object) for an application (actor) only when connecting from a corporate office (actor location) in Europe (actor geography) and the user group associated with the actor (actor group) is developer and the access type is “read only.”) [Saxena, para.0052].
Re Claim 11. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the metadata comprises at least one of: (1) an address object (i.e. Actor geography may be determined, for example, from IP addresses or location of the user attributed in the HR database or other metadata associated with the object access request) [Saxena, para.0052], (2) a filter, (3) a service group, (4) DNS resolution information, or (5) an application object.
Re Claim 13. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein using the model to perform the policy analysis includes determining a conflict between two rules included in the policy (i.e. in policy management block 570, provisioned policies or implemented policies that are non-compliant or inconsistent with one or more derived or stated access control policies may be identified, flagged as exceptions, and an administrator may be alerted) [Saxena, para.0216].
Re Claim 14. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein using the model to perform the analysis includes optimizing the policy using contra-shadow analysis (i.e. facilitate determination of a change audit trail that captures all access changes that may have occurred across all entities over a specified time period. Accordingly, entities affected by access policy changes may be determined and unintended effects may be remedied. For example, access to an object O1 may be granted to an entity E4, if an access policy change (inadvertently) affected entity E4's access to object O1 or the access policy change may be modified to remove unintended consequences) [Saxena, para.0156, Note: analyzing entities affected by policy changes to remediate unintended consequences/effects teaches contra-shadow].
Re Claim 16. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein using the model to perform the analysis includes checking one or more invariants (i.e. to determine if any of the invariant checks or best practices checks are violated. The impact of any access control policy changes may also be assessed in terms of whether there is a net increase or decrease in access to one or more entities. One or more of the above factors (consistency with invariant policies and/or best practices or change in access) may be used allow or disallow the proposed changes) [Saxena, para.0141].
Re Claim 17. Saxena in view of Tuggle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein building the model includes performing a group-user mapping (i.e. governed by a respective set of access control policies. Further, users 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 . . . 102-s (collectively referred to as users 102) may also be associated with respective groups each with associated access permissions, and services 202-1, 202-2, 202-3 etc. (collectively referred to as services 202) may also be associated with respective access permissions) [Saxena, para.0086].
Re Claims 18 and 19. These claims recite features similar to those in claim 1, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434