DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8. Claim 8 is a dependent claim on Claim 1 which recites limitations “the geo-positioning data comprising two or more of” conditions. Claim 1 requires two out of four conditions to be met. Claim 8 recites “the preexisting knowledge” which was not selected in claim 1. As a result, claim 8 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding Claim 9. Claim 9 is a dependent claim on Claim 1 which recites limitations “the geo-positioning data comprising two or more of” conditions. Claim 1 requires two out of four conditions to be met. Claim 9 recites “the preexisting knowledge” which was not selected in claim 1. As a result, claim 9 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganu et al (US 20220390614 A, hereinafter referred to as Ganu)
Regarding Claim 1, Ganu discloses A network device, comprising: a processor; at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a geolocation logic
(Ganu [0019] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example computing device 100 for automatic location of APs. Computing device 100 includes at least one processing resource 110 and at least one machine-readable storage medium 120 comprising (e.g., encoded with) at least GNSS signal measurement receiving instructions 122. Fig 2 Network interface controller (212, 214 …))
configured to: receive geo-positioning data associated with a plurality of access points (APs)
(Ganu [0017, line 3] receive, by a computing device from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement Fig 3 Receiving a GNSS signal measurement from each AP in a subset of a plurality of Aps)
the geo-positioning data comprising two or more of: 1) one or more global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurements
(Ganu [0018, line 3] a computing device may receive GNSS signal measurements from a subset of APs (GNSS-capable APs), and based on each received GNSS signal measurement Fig 2 and 3 shows one or more GNSS measurements)
2) one or more wireless local area network (WLAN) signal measurements
(Ganu [0020, line 5] computing device 100 may comprise a gateway router, a wireless local area network (WLAN) controller)
3) one or more air pressure measurements
(Ganu [0036] the subsequent local measurement may comprise a barometric pressure measurement of the AP. The pressure measurement for each AP may be performed by a calibrated pressure sensor (i.e., where the elevation of the AP is predetermined), or an uncalibrated pressure sensor.)
(Note: “air pressure measurements” in the claim is referred to here as “barometric pressure measurement”)
or 4) preexisting knowledge;
Note: Examiner does not need to address this condition. Examiner has already addressed the first three conditions of the claim limitation.
and determine a set of geo-positions of a set of APs in the plurality of APs based on the geo-positioning data, each AP in the set of APs corresponding to one geo- position in the set of geo-positions.
(Ganu [0017,line 3] receive, by a computing device from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement, and based on each received GNSS signal measurement, constrain, by the computing device, a map of relative AP locations (i.e., AP map) by at least one translational degree of freedom or one rotational degree of freedom.)
(Ganu [0031] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 315, AP location resolving instructions 126, when executed by processing resource 110, resolve locations of the plurality of APs in the map of relative AP locations.)
(Note: “resolving instructions” in the reference is “determining a set of”)
Regarding Claim 5, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein the one or more WLAN signal measurements include one or more received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements.
(Ganu [0020, line 5] For instance, computing device 100 may comprise a gateway router, a wireless local area network (WLAN) controller.) (Ganu [0042] In the example of FIG. 2, network 205 may comprise one or more …. wireless local area networks (WLANs))
(Ganu [0034, line 11] computing device 100 may utilize an RSSI measurement)
Regarding Claim 6, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein at least one WLAN signal measurement in the one or more WLAN signal measurements correlates with a distance between a pair of APs in the plurality of APs.
(Ganu [0020] In the example of FIG. 1, computing device 100 may include a device to communicate with a plurality of APs in a network to perform automatic location of such APs.)
Regarding Claim 7, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein at least one air pressure measurement in the one or more air pressure measurements correlates with an elevation of an AP in the plurality of APs.
(Ganu [0036] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 310, AP map constraining instructions 124 may comprise instructions to receive a subsequent local measurement (e.g., second local measurement) for each of at least one AP in the subset of APs. For instance, the subsequent local measurement may comprise a barometric pressure measurement of the AP. The pressure measurement for each AP may be performed by a calibrated pressure sensor (i.e., where the elevation of the AP is predetermined)
Regarding Claim 10, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein at least one AP in the plurality of APs includes a GNSS receiver.
(Ganu [0016] In a network that includes access points equipped with Global Navigation Satellite (GNSS) receivers, such GNSS-capable access points may determine their own location from GNSS data and may be established as anchor points.) (Ganu [0043] In the example of FIG. 2, each first network device 212 includes a GNSS receiver 220 (i.e., each first network device 212 is a GNSS-capable network device)).
Regarding Claim 11, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein at least one AP in the plurality of APs includes an air pressure sensor.
(Ganu [0036, line 6] The pressure measurement for each AP may be performed by a calibrated pressure sensor.)
Regarding Claim 12, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of APs are located indoors.
(Ganu [0027, line 25] may reveal information about where the AP is located within a structure (e.g., building) whose boundaries and materials are known. [0037] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 310, AP map constraining instructions 124 may comprise instructions to determine building floor level information for the plurality of APs.)
Regarding Claim 13, Ganu discloses network device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of APs is located on more than one floor in a building.
(Ganu [0037, line 3] The building floor level information for the plurality of APs may include a floor level for one or more of the plurality of APs, which may be used to infer that one or more of the plurality of APs are co-planar with each other.
Regarding Claim 14, Ganu Discloses network device of claim 1, wherein to determine the set of geo-positions of the set of APs, the geolocation logic is further configured to:
a) generate, for each AP in the set of APs, a plurality of geo-position hypotheses; (Ganu [0029, line 7] The signal measurement criteria may correspond to a threshold minimum value, a threshold maximum value, an acceptable range of values, etc., for one or more metrics or parameters of one or more received GNSS signals.)
(Note: hypothesis here means different threshold values of estimate.)
b) calculate, for each AP in the set of APs, a probability for each geo-position hypothesis in the plurality of geo-position hypotheses;
(Ganu [0032, line 17] the location accuracy threshold may be based on a probability of the accuracy of one or more location estimates of the plurality of APs.)
and c) select, for each AP in the set of APs, a geo-position hypothesis associated with a highest probability as a determined geo-position of the AP.
(Ganu [0029] In addition, at block 310, AP map constraining instructions 124 may comprise instructions to determine, for each AP in the subset of APs, whether the GNSS signal measurement received from the AP satisfies a signal measurement criteria. As used herein, a “signal measurement criteria” refers to one or more threshold metrics or parameters of one or more received GNSS signals. The signal measurement criteria may correspond to a threshold minimum value, a threshold maximum value, an acceptable range of values, etc., for one or more metrics or parameters of one or more received GNSS signals.) (note: "a threshold maximum value" is the "highest probablity" of the claim limitation.)
Regarding Claim 15, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein the geolocation logic is further configured to transmit an indication of a probability of the at least one geo-position.
(Ganu [0032, line 7] the location accuracy threshold may be based on a probability of the accuracy of one or more location estimates of the plurality of APs.)
Regarding Claim 16, Ganu discloses The network device of claim 1, wherein the geolocation logic is further configured to:receive an updated geo-positioning data point associated with the plurality of APs; and determine an updated set of geo-positions of the set of APs based on the updated geo- positioning data point.
(Ganu [0027] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 305, GNSS signal measurement receiving instructions 122, when executed by processing resource 110, receive, from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement.[0027, line 5]The GNSS signal measurement received by computing device 100 from an AP may indicate one or more metrics or parameters of GNSS signal(s) received by the AP. [0027, line 18] a GNSS signal measurement received by computing device 100 from an AP may indicate a dilution of precision (DOP) or satellite geometry of signals used in estimating a position for the AP. Based on the DOP or satellite geometry of signals used in estimating the position for the AP, computing device 100 may determine a level of error in the estimated position of the AP.)
Regarding Claim 17, Ganu discloses network device of claim 1, wherein the geolocation logic is further configured to transmit an indication of at least one geo-position in the set of geo-positions.
(Ganu [0027, line 5] The GNSS signal measurement received by computing device 100 from an AP may indicate one or more metrics or parameters of GNSS signal(s) received by the AP. For instance, the GNSS signal measurement may indicate a GNSS type. [0027, line 28] It will be understood that the received GNSS signal measurement may include other suitable type(s) of metrics or parameters of GNSS signal(s) received by the AP.)
Regarding Claim 18, Ganu discloses A network device, comprising:a processor; at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a geolocation logic that is
(Ganu [0019] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example computing device 100 for automatic location of APs. Computing device 100 includes at least one processing resource 110 and at least one machine-readable storage medium 120 comprising (e.g., encoded with) at least GNSS signal measurement receiving instructions 122. Fig 2 Network interface controller (212, 214 …))
configured to: receive geo-positioning data associated with a plurality of access points (APs)
(Ganu [0017, line 3] receive, by a computing device from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement Fig 3 Receiving a GNSS signal measurement from each AP in a subset of a plurality of Aps)
the geo-positioning data comprising two or more of: 1) one or more global navigation satellite system measurements
(Ganu [0018, line 3] a computing device may receive GNSS signal measurements from a subset of APs (GNSS-capable APs), and based on each received GNSS signal measurement Fig 2 and 3 shows one or more GNSS measurements)
2) one or more wireless local area network signal measurements
(Ganu [0020, line 5] computing device 100 may comprise a gateway router, a wireless local area network (WLAN) controller)
3) one or more air pressure measurements
(Ganu [0036] the subsequent local measurement may comprise a barometric pressure measurement of the AP. The pressure measurement for each AP may be performed by a calibrated pressure sensor (i.e., where the elevation of the AP is predetermined), or an uncalibrated pressure sensor.)
(Note: “air pressure measurements” in the claim is referred to here as “barometric pressure measurement”)
or 4) preexisting knowledge;
Note: Examiner does not need to address this condition. Examiner has already addressed the first three conditions of the claim limitation.
determine a set of geo-positions of a set of APs in the plurality of APs based on the geo-positioning data, each AP in the set of APs corresponding to one geo- position in the set of geo-positions;
(Ganu [0017, lime 3] receive, by a computing device from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement, and based on each received GNSS signal measurement, constrain, by the computing device, a map of relative AP locations (i.e., AP map) by at least one translational degree of freedom or one rotational degree of freedom.)
(Ganu [0031] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 315, AP location resolving instructions 126, when executed by processing resource 110, resolve locations of the plurality of APs in the map of relative AP locations.)
(Note: “resolving instructions” in the reference is “determining a set of”)
receive an updated geo-positioning data point associated with the plurality of APs;
(Ganu [0027] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 305, GNSS signal measurement receiving instructions 122, when executed by processing resource 110, receive, from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement. [0027, line 2] The GNSS signal measurement received by computing device 100 from an AP may indicate one or more metrics or parameters of GNSS signal(s) received by the AP.)
(Ganu [32, line 8] Based on the local measurement, AP location resolving instructions 126 may comprise instructions to determine location estimates (e.g., first location estimates) for the plurality of APs.
determine an updated set of geo-positions of the set of APs based on the updated geo-positioning data point.
(Ganu [0027, line 18] a GNSS signal measurement received by computing device 100 from an AP may indicate a dilution of precision (DOP) or satellite geometry of signals used in estimating a position for the AP. Based on the DOP or satellite geometry of signals used in estimating the position for the AP, computing device 100 may determine a level of error in the estimated position of the AP.)
Regarding Claim 19, Ganu discloses network device of claim 18, wherein the geolocation logic is further configured to transmit an indication of at least one geo-position in the set of geo-positions.
(Ganu [0027, line 5] The GNSS signal measurement received by computing device 100 from an AP may indicate one or more metrics or parameters of GNSS signal(s) received by the AP. For instance, the GNSS signal measurement may indicate a GNSS type. [0027, line 28] It will be understood that the received GNSS signal measurement may include other suitable type(s) of metrics or parameters of GNSS signal(s) received by the AP.)
Regarding Claim 20, Ganu discloses A method for geolocating access points (APs), comprising: receiving geo-positioning data associated with a plurality of APs, the geo-positioning data comprising two or more of:
1) one or more global navigation satellite system measurements,
(Ganu [0017, line 3] receive, by a computing device from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement Fig 3 Receiving a GNSS signal measurement from each AP in a subset of a plurality of Aps)
2) one or more wireless local area network signal measurements,
(Ganu [0020] In the example of FIG. 1, computing device 100 may include a device to communicate with a plurality of APs in a network to perform automatic location of such APs. For instance, computing device 100 may comprise a gateway router, a wireless local area network (WLAN) controller)
3) one or more air pressure measurements, or
(Ganu [0036] the subsequent local measurement may comprise a barometric pressure measurement of the AP. The pressure measurement for each AP may be performed by a calibrated pressure sensor (i.e., where the elevation of the AP is predetermined), or an uncalibrated pressure sensor.)
(Note: “air pressure measurements” in the claim is referred to here as “barometric pressure measurement”)
4) preexisting knowledge;
Note: Examiner does not need to address this condition. Examiner has already addressed the first three conditions of the claim limitation.
and determining a set of geo-positions of a set of APs in the plurality of APs based on the geo- positioning data, each AP in the set of APs corresponding to one geo-position in the set of geo-positions.
(Ganu [0017, line 3] receive, by a computing device from each AP in a subset of a plurality of APs, a GNSS signal measurement, and based on each received GNSS signal measurement, constrain, by the computing device, a map of relative AP locations (i.e., AP map) by at least one translational degree of freedom or one rotational degree of freedom.)
(Ganu [0031] In the example of FIG. 3, at block 315, AP location resolving instructions 126, when executed by processing resource 110, resolve locations of the plurality of APs in the map of relative AP locations.)
(Note: “resolving instructions” in the reference is “determining a set of”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganu et al (US 20220390614 A1) in view of Edge (US 20120306693 A1).
Regarding Claim 2. Ganu et al discloses the invention in Claim 1
But does not teach
wherein the one or more GNSS measurements include one or more pseudo range measurements.
However, Edge teaches
(Edge [0008] The method of obtaining location measurements includes one or more of obtaining GNSS pseudo range measurements for one or more satellite vehicles by one or more static devices in the plurality.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ganu et al by incorporating Edge providing resources to the device to arrive at the invention.
Motivation of doing so would have enabled the device to have GNSS measurements that includes pseudo range measurements.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganu et al (US 20220390614 A1) in view of Wilson et al (US 20180199304 A1)
Regarding Claim 3. Ganu et al discloses the invention in Claim 1
But does not teach
wherein the one or more WLAN signal measurements include one or more time of arrival (ToA) measurements.
However, Wilson et al teaches
(Wilson [0006, line 4] the information indicating the distance between the mobile device and the base station includes at least one of a time of flight (TOF), a time of arrival (TOA), or a roundtrip time (RTT) of the signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ganu et al by incorporating Wilson et al providing resources to the device to arrive at the invention.
Motivation of doing so would have enabled the device to have WLAN measurements that includes time of arrival (ToA) measurements.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganu et al (US 20220390614 A1) in view of Ayyalasomayajula et al (US 20220196787 A1)
Regarding Claim 4. Ganu et al discloses the invention in Claim 1
But does not teach
wherein the one or more WLAN signal measurements include one or more channel state information (CSI) measurements.
However, Ayyalasomayajula et al teaches
(Ayyalasomayajula [0053, line 3] the WiFi device on mapping device 108 may collect a channel state information (CSI) for WiFi packets heard from all the access points in the environment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ganu et al by incorporating Ayyalasomayajula et al providing resources to the device to arrive at the invention.
Motivation of doing so would have enabled the device to have WLAN measurements that includes CSI measurements.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644