DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230171709 A1 to Xu et al. (hereinafter “Xu”).
As per claim 1, 20, Xu discloses a network device (Xu Fig. 12), comprising: a processor (Xu Fig. 12); at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (Xu Fig. 12); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Xu Fig. 12), wherein the memory comprises a management logic that is configured (Xu Fig. 12 and [0141] The power mode configuration module 1208 and/or the communication module 1209 may be implemented via hardware, software, or combinations thereof. The power mode configuration module 1208 and/or the communication module 1209 may be implemented as a processor, circuit, and/or instructions 1206 stored in the memory 1204 and executed by the processor 1202. In some instances, the power mode configuration module 1208 and/or the communication module 1209 can be integrated within the modem subsystem 1212. The power mode configuration module 1208 and/or the communication module 1209 can be implemented by a combination of software components (e.g., executed by a DSP or a general processor) and hardware components (e.g., logic gates and circuitry) within the modem subsystem 1212. The power mode configuration module 1208 and/or the communication module 1209 may be used for various aspects of the present disclosure, for example, aspects of FIGS. 1-11, 14, and 15.) to: select a channel (Xu [0043,0084]); identify one or more first channel segments of the channel, the one or more first channel segments being usable with a first transmit power mode and a second transmit power mode (Xu [0130] In other aspects, the BS 105 may configure a single PSD per subband in the UL BWP 1001 (not shown). A first transmit power parameter included in a first power mode configuration may include a first maximum transmit PSD for a first subband within a first UL BWP and a second maximum transmit PSD for a second subband within the first UL BWP, where the first subband may be different from the first subband. Additionally or alternatively, the second transmit power parameter included in a second power mode configuration may include a third maximum transmit PSD for a third subband within a second UL BWP and a fourth maximum transmit PSD for a fourth subband within the second UL BWP, where the third subband may be different from the fourth subband. [0131] In some aspects, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may operate in a first subband with an SP mode configuration and may operate in a second subband with an LP mode configuration. In other words, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may operate in the SP mode configuration and the LP mode configuration for different subbands, as shown in FIG. 11. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication network 1100 according to one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The wireless communication network 1100 may be incorporated in the network 100. The network 1100 may include a BS 1105 and a UE 1115. The BS 1105 may correspond to the BS 105 in FIG. 1, and the UE 1115 may correspond to the UE 115 in FIG. 1.); identify one or more second channel segments of the channel, the one or more second channel segments being usable with the second transmit power mode (Xu [0130] In other aspects, the BS 105 may configure a single PSD per subband in the UL BWP 1001 (not shown). A first transmit power parameter included in a first power mode configuration may include a first maximum transmit PSD for a first subband within a first UL BWP and a second maximum transmit PSD for a second subband within the first UL BWP, where the first subband may be different from the first subband. Additionally or alternatively, the second transmit power parameter included in a second power mode configuration may include a third maximum transmit PSD for a third subband within a second UL BWP and a fourth maximum transmit PSD for a fourth subband within the second UL BWP, where the third subband may be different from the fourth subband. [0131] In some aspects, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may operate in a first subband with an SP mode configuration and may operate in a second subband with an LP mode configuration. In other words, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may operate in the SP mode configuration and the LP mode configuration for different subbands, as shown in FIG. 11. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication network 1100 according to one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The wireless communication network 1100 may be incorporated in the network 100. The network 1100 may include a BS 1105 and a UE 1115. The BS 1105 may correspond to the BS 105 in FIG. 1, and the UE 1115 may correspond to the UE 115 in FIG. 1.); and announce the identified one or more first channel segments or the identified one or more second channel segments (Xu [0133] The BS 1105 may transmit the first and second power mode configurations to the UE 1115 in a variety of ways. In some aspects, the BS 1105 may transmit the first power mode configuration 1120 to the UE 1115 by transmitting a first BWP switch configuration for switching from the second UL BWP to the first UL BWP and/or may transmit the second power mode configuration 1122 to the UE 1115 by transmitting a second BWP switch configuration for switching from the first UL BWP to the second UL BWP. The first BWP switch configuration may include the first power mode configuration 1120, and the second BWP switch configuration may include the second power mode configuration 1122. The UE 1115 may receive the first power mode configuration 1120 and the second power mode configuration 1122 from the BS 1105. See also [0134]).
As per claim 2, Xu discloses the network device of claim 1, wherein the one or more first channel segments or the one or more second channel segments are identified based on an automated frequency coordination (AFC) response (Xu [0064] An AP operating in the network 100 may refer to a U-NII transceiver that operates either as a bridge in a peer-to-peer connection or as a connector between the wired and wireless segments of the network 100 or as a relay between wireless network segments. Various APs such as, for example, an SP AP or an LP AP, may operate in the network 100. For an SP mode configuration, a BS 105 communicates with an AFC system, which may automatically determine and provide lists of which frequencies are available for use by SP APs operating in, for example, particular bands (e.g., the 5.925-6.425 GHz band and 6.525-6.875 GHz band). See also [0041-0043,0065-0066,0084]).
As per claim 3, Xu discloses the network device of claim 1, wherein the channel is selected based on an automated frequency coordination (AFC) response (Xu [0064] An AP operating in the network 100 may refer to a U-NII transceiver that operates either as a bridge in a peer-to-peer connection or as a connector between the wired and wireless segments of the network 100 or as a relay between wireless network segments. Various APs such as, for example, an SP AP or an LP AP, may operate in the network 100. For an SP mode configuration, a BS 105 communicates with an AFC system, which may automatically determine and provide lists of which frequencies are available for use by SP APs operating in, for example, particular bands (e.g., the 5.925-6.425 GHz band and 6.525-6.875 GHz band). See also [0041-0043,0065-0066,0084]).
As per claim 4, Xu discloses the network device of claim 1, wherein the channel comprises a plurality of sub-channels (Xu Figs. 9 and 10).
As per claim 5, Xu discloses the network device of claim 4, wherein at least one channel segment of the identified one or more first channel segments (Xu Figs. 9 and 10) or the identified one or more second channel segments corresponds to one of the plurality of sub-channels (Xu Figs. 9 and 10).
As per claim 6, Xu discloses the network device of claim 1, wherein the selected channel spans a boundary between a first unlicensed national information infrastructure (U-NII) band (Xu [0041,0064-0065,0067-0068]) a second U-NII band (Xu [0041,0064-0065,0067-0068]), the identified one or more first channel segments are included in the first U-NII band (Xu Figs. 9 and 10 and [0041,0064-0065,0067-0068]), and the identified one or more second channel segments are included in the second U-NII band (Xu Figs. 9 and 10 and [0041,0064-0065,0067-0068]).
As per claim 7, Xu discloses the network device of claim 1, wherein to announce the identified one or more first channel segments and the identified one or more second channel segments, the management logic is further configured to: announce a first indication associated with the first transmit power mode (Xu [0134] In some aspects, the BS 1105 may transmit the first power mode configuration 1120 to the UE 1115 by transmitting the first power mode configuration 1120 in a first RRC configuration and/or may transmit the second power mode configuration 1122 to the UE 1115 by transmitting the second power mode configuration 1122 in a second RRC configuration. The BS 1105 may configure the power mode configuration per subband PSD limitation. The UE 1115 may apply different PSD limitations based on the UL transmission location. The first RRC configuration and/or the second RRC configuration may be BWP dependent.); and announce a second indication associated with the second transmit power mode (Xu [0134] In some aspects, the BS 1105 may transmit the first power mode configuration 1120 to the UE 1115 by transmitting the first power mode configuration 1120 in a first RRC configuration and/or may transmit the second power mode configuration 1122 to the UE 1115 by transmitting the second power mode configuration 1122 in a second RRC configuration. The BS 1105 may configure the power mode configuration per subband PSD limitation. The UE 1115 may apply different PSD limitations based on the UL transmission location. The first RRC configuration and/or the second RRC configuration may be BWP dependent.).
As per claim 8, Xu discloses the network device of claim 7, wherein the first indication is associated with the identified one or more first channel segments and the identified one or more second channel segments (Xu Figs. 9, 10, and [0042,0127,0129-0132]), and the second indication is associated with the identified one or more second channel segments (Xu Figs. 9, 10, and [0042,0127,0129-0132]).
As per claim 9, Xu discloses the network device of claim 7, wherein the first indication or the second indication is associated with a beacon (Xu [0057,0044,0069]) or a probe response.
As per claim 17, Xu discloses the network device of claim 1, wherein the first transmit power mode corresponds to a standard power mode (Xu [0041] An access point (AP) operating in a network may refer to a U-NII transceiver that operates either as a bridge in a peer-to-peer connection or as a connector between the wired and wireless segments of the network or as a relay between wireless network segments. Various APs such as, for example, a standard power (SP) AP or a low-power indoor (LPI) AP, may operate in the network. In the present disclosure, LPI may also refer to low power (indoor or outdoor). For an SP mode configuration, a BS may communicate with an automated frequency coordination (AFC) system, which may automatically determine and provide lists of which frequencies are available for use by SP APs operating in, for example, particular bands (e.g., the 5.925-6.425 GHz band and 6.525-6.875 GHz band). For an LP mode configuration, it may be unnecessary for the BS to communicate with the AFC system. In some aspects, the BS may communicate with the AFC system for the LP mode configuration.), and the second transmit power mode corresponds to a low-power indoor mode (Xu [0041] An access point (AP) operating in a network may refer to a U-NII transceiver that operates either as a bridge in a peer-to-peer connection or as a connector between the wired and wireless segments of the network or as a relay between wireless network segments. Various APs such as, for example, a standard power (SP) AP or a low-power indoor (LPI) AP, may operate in the network. In the present disclosure, LPI may also refer to low power (indoor or outdoor). For an SP mode configuration, a BS may communicate with an automated frequency coordination (AFC) system, which may automatically determine and provide lists of which frequencies are available for use by SP APs operating in, for example, particular bands (e.g., the 5.925-6.425 GHz band and 6.525-6.875 GHz band). For an LP mode configuration, it may be unnecessary for the BS to communicate with the AFC system. In some aspects, the BS may communicate with the AFC system for the LP mode configuration.).
As per claim 18, Xu discloses a client device (Xu Fig. 13), comprising: a processor (Xu Fig. 13); at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (Xu Fig. 13); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Xu Fig. 13), wherein the memory comprises a management logic (Xu Fig. 13) that is configured to: receive an indication of one or more first channel segments of a channel or one or more second channel segments of the channel, the one or more first channel segments being usable with a first transmit power mode and a second transmit power mode (Xu [0172] At block 1610, the method 1600 includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a first power mode configuration including a first transmit power parameter specific to the UE, the first transmit power parameter including at least one of a maximum transmit power or a maximum transmit PSD. At block 1620, the method 1600 includes transmitting, to the BS, a communication signal based on the first power mode configuration. [0173] In some aspects, the first power mode configuration includes an SP mode configuration, and the second power mode configuration includes an LP mode configuration. The first power mode configuration may include a first SP mode configuration, and the second power mode configuration may include a second SP mode configuration. In an instance, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, a first RRC message indicating the first power mode configuration.), the one or more second channel segments being usable with the second transmit power mode (Xu [0172] At block 1610, the method 1600 includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a first power mode configuration including a first transmit power parameter specific to the UE, the first transmit power parameter including at least one of a maximum transmit power or a maximum transmit PSD. At block 1620, the method 1600 includes transmitting, to the BS, a communication signal based on the first power mode configuration. [0173] In some aspects, the first power mode configuration includes an SP mode configuration, and the second power mode configuration includes an LP mode configuration. The first power mode configuration may include a first SP mode configuration, and the second power mode configuration may include a second SP mode configuration. In an instance, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, a first RRC message indicating the first power mode configuration.); and transmit a communication based on the indication (Xu [0172] At block 1610, the method 1600 includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a first power mode configuration including a first transmit power parameter specific to the UE, the first transmit power parameter including at least one of a maximum transmit power or a maximum transmit PSD. At block 1620, the method 1600 includes transmitting, to the BS, a communication signal based on the first power mode configuration. [0173] In some aspects, the first power mode configuration includes an SP mode configuration, and the second power mode configuration includes an LP mode configuration. The first power mode configuration may include a first SP mode configuration, and the second power mode configuration may include a second SP mode configuration. In an instance, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, a first RRC message indicating the first power mode configuration.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu as applied to claims 1-9 and 17-20 above, and further in view of US 2016/0050634 A1 to Seok (hereinafter “Seok”).
As per claim 19, Xu discloses the client device of claim 18, wherein to transmit the communication, the management logic is further configured to simultaneously transmit, via a first link, a first communication based on at least one of the one or more first channel segments and the first transmit power mode and, via a second link, a second communication based on at least one of the one or more second channel segments and the second transmit power mode, and the first link and the second link are associated with a multi-link operation.
Xu may not explicitly disclose, but Seok, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses simultaneously transmit, via a first link, a first communication based on at least one of the one or more first channel segments and the first transmit power mode and, via a second link, a second communication based on at least one of the one or more second channel segments and the second transmit power mode, and the first link and the second link are associated with a multi-link operation (Seok [0243] The example of FIG. 20 illustrates transmission power control for multiple transmitter transmission. For example, it is assumed that the multiple transmitter transmission is OFDMA transmission. When STA1, STA2, STA3, STA4, STA5, STA6, and STA7 transmit HE PPDUs simultaneously to the AP, they may transmit a 20-MHz HE PPDU, a 20-MHz HE PPDU, a 20-MHz HE PPDU, a 20-MHz HE PPDU, a 20-MHz HE PPDU, a 20-MHz HE PPDU, and a 40-MHz HE PPDU, respectively on a primary channel and a secondary channel(s). [0244] Further, the PSDs of a plurality of PPDUs transmitted in the same frequency segment by a plurality of transmitting STAs may be maintained equal or similar in the example of FIG. 20. This is because different maximum transmission power values may be allowed for different frequency positions according to the regulation requirement. That is, even though HE PPDUs are transmitted in the same channel bandwidth (or subchannel bandwidth), the output powers of the HE PPDUs may be set to different values according to frequency positions (e.g., frequency segments) to which corresponding channels (or subchannels) belong.). The purpose of Seok is to transmission power control for a device and reducing adjacent-channel interference (Seok [0003,0258]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seok with Xu, to transmission power control for a device and reducing adjacent-channel interference (Seok [0003,0258]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476