DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both the “bottom rail 14” and the “rectangular opening 14”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
“metal fence 20” (see page 3, 1st paragraph, of the original disclosure).
“metal fence 30” (see page 3, 2nd paragraph, of the original disclosure).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claim 1: Claim 1 should be amended as follows:
--1) A metal fence, comprising:
A) at least two metal posts,
B) at least one footing wherein said at least two metal posts are rigidly inserted into said footing, and
C) at least one hollow metal board connected between said at least two metal posts.--
Re Claim 2: Claim 2 should be amended as follows:
--2) The metal fence as in Claim 1, wherein said at least one footing is a concrete footing.--
Re Claim 3: Claim 3 should be amended as follows:
--3) The metal fence as in Claim 1, wherein said at least one hollow metal board is a plurality of extruded hollow metal boards wherein each hollow metal board is filled with acoustical insulation.--
Re Claim 4: Claim 4 should be amended as follows:
--4) The metal fence as in Claim 1, further comprising:
A) a metal top rail slidingly connected between said at least two metal posts, and
B) a metal bottom rail slidingly connected between said at least two metal posts,
wherein said at least one metal board is slidingly and vertically connected between said at least two metal posts and said top rail and said bottom rail.--
Re Claim 5: Claim 5 should be amended as follows:
--5) The metal fence as in Claim 1, further comprising:
A) a metal top rail slidingly connected between said at least two metal posts,
B) a metal bottom rail slidingly connected between said at least two metal posts,
C) two metal vertical channels each adjacent to one of said at least two posts and each slidingly connected between said top rail and said bottom rail,
wherein said at least one metal board is slidingly and horizontally connected between said two vertical channels and said top rail and said bottom rail.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKeown (US Patent 4,838,524).
Re Claim 1: McKeown discloses a metal fence (10), comprising:
at least two metal posts (16),
footing (“Posts 16 will be anchored in the ground by embedment thereinto or into concrete footers (not shown).”; see Col. 4, lines 9-11) wherein said at least two metal posts (16) are rigidly inserted into said footing, and
at least one hollow metal board (12/12’/12A/12B; see Figs. 1, 2, and 9; note that front and rear sheets 20 and 22 of panels 12 are formed of metal; “Front sheet 20 and rear sheet 22 may each comprise a unitary metallic sheet”; see Col. 4, lines 37-38) connected between said at least two metal posts.
Re Claim 2: McKeown discloses a metal fence (10) wherein said footing is concrete footing (“Posts 16 will be anchored in the ground by embedment thereinto or into concrete footers (not shown).”; see Col. 4, lines 9-11).
Re Claim 3: McKeown discloses a metal fence (10) wherein said at least one hollow metal board (12/12’/12A/12B) is a plurality of extruded hollow metal boards wherein each hollow metal board is filled with acoustical insulation (noise absorbing material 50, 54; see Figs. 3-7).
Re Claim 4: McKeown discloses a metal fence (10; see, for example, the embodiment of Fig. 9), further comprising:
a metal top rail (60) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (16), and
a metal bottom rail (62) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (16),
wherein said metal boards (12B) are slidingly and vertically connected between said two metal posts (16) and said top rail (60) and said bottom rail (62.
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amsellem (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0340800).
Re Claim 1: Amsellem discloses a metal fence (2; Fig. 1), comprising:
at least two metal posts (20, 21, 32; see Figs. 2, 3, and 5; the posts comprising base post 10 in combination with tubular member 40; see Fig 2),
footing (concrete poured in a hole; see parag. [0039]) wherein said at least two metal posts (at base posts 10) are rigidly inserted into said footing, and
at least one hollow (see the cross-section of Fig. 3) metal board (slats 100) connected between said at least two metal posts.
Re Claim 2: Amsellem discloses a metal fence wherein said footing is concrete footing (concrete poured in a hole; see parag. [0039]).
Re Claim 5: Amsellem discloses a metal fence further comprising:
a metal top rail (uppermost slat 100; see, for example, Fig. 5) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (20, 21),
a metal bottom rail (lowermost slat 100; see, for example, Fig. 5) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (20, 21),
two metal vertical channels (158; Fig. 2) each adjacent to one of said two posts and each sliding connected between said top rail and said bottom rail,
wherein said metal boards (the remaining slats 100) are slidingly and horizontally connected between said two vertical channels and said top rail and said bottom rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKeown (US Patent 4,838,524), as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Amsellem (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0340800).
Re Claim 5: McKeown discloses a metal fence (10; see, for example, the embodiment of Fig. 2), further comprising:
a metal top rail (for example, the uppermost panel 12’) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (16),
a metal bottom rail (19) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (16),
wherein said metal boards (12’) are slidingly and horizontally connected between said top rail and said bottom rail.
McKeown fails to explicitly disclose further comprising C) two metal vertical channels each adjacent to one of said two posts and each sliding connected between said top rail and said bottom rail, wherein said metal boards are slidingly and horizontally connected between said two vertical channels and said top rail and said bottom rail.
Amsellem teaches the use of a metal fence (2; Fig. 1), comprising at least two metal posts (20, 21, 32; see Figs. 2, 3, and 5; the posts comprising base post 10 in combination with tubular member 40; see Fig 2), a footing (concrete poured in a hole; see parag. [0039]) wherein said at least two metal posts (at base posts 10) are rigidly inserted into said footing, and at least one hollow (see the cross-section of Fig. 3) metal board (slats 100) connected between said at least two metal posts; and further comprising a metal top rail (uppermost slat 100; see, for example, Fig. 5) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (20, 21), a metal bottom rail (lowermost slat 100; see, for example, Fig. 5) slidingly connected between said two metal posts (20, 21), and further comprising two metal vertical channels (158; Fig. 2) each adjacent to one of said two posts and each sliding connected between said top rail and said bottom rail, wherein said metal boards (the remaining slats 100) are slidingly and horizontally connected between said two vertical channels and said top rail and said bottom rail, for the purpose of holding the boards in position between the posts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of McKeown, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises two metal vertical channels each adjacent to one of said two posts and each sliding connected between said top rail and said bottom rail, wherein said metal boards are slidingly and horizontally connected between said two vertical channels and said top rail and said bottom rail, as taught Amsellem, for the purpose of holding the boards in position between the posts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678