DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 11/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/05/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Instant Specification [0056] should be corrected to “silicone”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second skeleton” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation would be interpreted as “a second skeleton.”
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent from claim 1.
Clam 2 recites the limitation “the molding step further includes a step of previously fixing the first skeleton to the mold” in lines 1-2. It is unclear what the underlined limitation means – i.e., which step is performed after the fixing step performed previously? For the purpose of examination, the limitation would be interpreted as “the molding step further includes a step of prior to the molding” to be consistent with the Instant Specification (fig. 1).
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a mold having a shape in which the second skeleton and a connection bar” in lines 2-3. There is ambiguous antecedent basis for this underlined limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the underlined limitation is (1) the same as “a mold” (claim 1 line 2), or (2) another new mold. For the purpose of examination, either of these interpretations would read on the claim.
Appropriate clarification or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maddocks (US 6,544,094 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Maddocks teaches a manufacturing method of a figure (figs. 10-14 and col. 6 line 59 – col. 7 line 37), comprising:
a molding step of molding a skin surface (skin 1008) in a mold (first mold piece 1315 and/or second mold piece 1320) and a first skeleton (rigid piece 1100) (col. 7 lines 16-20: the resin is injected into the cavity 1325 formed by the first and second mold pieces 1315, 1320 to flow throughout the cavity 1325 and around the clip 1108 and rigid piece 1100 (step 1220), and the resin is cured to form the skin (step 1225); figs. 12-14);
a removing step of removing only the mold on the molded skin surface, and leaving the first skeleton (col. 7 lines 20-22: after the resin has cooled, the first and second mold pieces 1315, 1320 are separated (step 1230) to form a seamless front facial area 1015; fig. 15);
an inserting step of inserting a joint part (clip 1108, mating connectors (not shown) on the head 1010, or a slot associated with the body part 1002) into the first skeleton (figs. 10-14; col. 7 lines 1-4: the rigid piece 1100 is placed onto a first mold piece 1315 and the clip 1108 is inserted into a groove 1317 formed in the first mold piece 1315 (step 1210); figs. 11-14; of note, the clip 1108 is inserted into the rigid piece 1100 as shown in figs. 11 and 14; col. 7 lines 22-27: the front facial area 1015 is then mounted to the head 1010 by attaching the protrusions 1110 to mating connectors (not shown) on the head 1010 and by inserting the clip 1108 into a slot associated with the body part 1002 much like the clips 308 are inserted into slots 310 (step 1235)); and
a coupling step of coupling the joint part to the second skeleton (figs. 10-14; col. 7 lines 1-37; here, clip 1108, mating connectors (not shown) on the head 1010, a slot associated with the body part 1002 are connected to a slot associated with the body part 1002 and then the body part 1002, the head 1010, and the body part 1002, respectively, and thus, each of the slot associated with the body part 1002, the head 1010, and the body part 1002 satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the second skeleton”),
wherein the first skeleton is made of a hard material (col. 6 lines 54-57: rigid piece 1100; fig. 11), and the skin surface is injected as a soft material (col. 3 lines 49-52 and col. 4 line 57 – col. 5 line 3: the skin 108 is formed from a soft, durable, flexible thermoplastic elastomer).
Regarding claim 2, Maddocks teaches the manufacturing method of a figure of claim 1, wherein the molding step further includes a step of previously fixing the first skeleton to the mold (figs. 13-14; col. 7 lines 2-3: the rigid piece 1100 is placed onto a first mold piece 1315).
Regarding claim 3, Maddocks teaches the manufacturing method of a figure of claim 2, wherein the molding step further includes a step of preparing a mold (the first mold piece 1315 including cavities for receiving protrusions 1110) having a shape in which the second skeleton (head 1010) and a connection bar are coupled (protrusions 1110), and the connection bar is configured to have a structure in which the first skeleton (rigid piece 1100) and the second skeleton (head 1010) are connected, and form a space in which the joint part (mating connectors on the head 1010) is to be disposed (fig. 13; col. 7 lines 11-15: the first mold piece 1315 is shaped to facilitate attachment of the front facial area 1015 to the head 1010. Thus, for example, the first mold piece 1315 may include cavities (not shown) for receiving protrusions 1110 formed along an inner surface of the rigid piece 1100).
Regarding claim 5, Maddocks teaches the manufacturing method of a figure of claim 1, further comprising: a finishing step of coupling the second skeleton to a body of the figure after the coupling step (col. 7 lines 22-27: the front facial area 1015 is then mounted to the head 1010 … by inserting the clip 1108 (i.e., “the joint part” as recited) into a slot (i.e., “the second skeleton” as recited) associated with the body part 1002 (i.e., “a body of the figure” as recited) much like the clips 308 are inserted into slots 310 (step 1235); OR, col. 7 lines 11-15: coupling of head 1010 (i.e., the second skeleton) to a body 1001 (i.e., a body of figure)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maddocks (US 6,544,094 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Maddocks teaches the manufacturing method of a figure of claim 3, wherein in the removing step, a space in which the second skeleton is to be disposed and the space in which the joint part is to be disposed are formed inside the skin surface through removing the mold (fig. 10-14; col. 7 lines 11-15: the first mold piece 1315 is shaped to facilitate attachment of the front facial area 1015 to the head 1010. Thus, for example, the first mold piece 1315 may include cavities (not shown) for receiving protrusions 1110 formed along an inner surface of the rigid piece 1100; col. 7 lines 22-24: the front facial area 1015 is then mounted to the head 1010 by attaching the protrusions 1110 to mating connectors (not shown) on the head 1010).
Although Maddocks does not explicitly teach that the space in which the joint part is to be disposed is formed to be larger than the joint part, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention that the space formed inside the skin face 1015 for receiving the mating connectors on the head 1010 should be made at least larger than the mating connector in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of facilitating the assembly of the skin face 1015 into the head 1010 (Maddocks: derived from: figs. 10-11, 13-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ejima (US 20040266315 A1) teaches a method for manufacturing elastic dolls (abstract, figs. 13, 15, 17, 19, 23).
Soto Velasco (US 20130186922 A1) teaches an articulated mannequin (abstract, figs. 3-6).
Lee (US 6,607,684 B1) teaches a jointed linkage support system (abstract, figs. 1-2, 16).
Kohm (US 20230256589 A1) teaches system of subdermal and skin-like epidermal over-mold layers for a modular robotics system and method of fabrication (abstract, figs. 1-2, 8).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744