DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been considered for patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Publication 2023/0148721).
In re Claim 16, Lee discloses a computing device cover, comprising: a back panel 510 (Figure 5) removably attachable to a computing device 200, the back panel comprising: a first surface abuttable against the computing device; and a second surface opposing the first surface (Figure 5); an upper panel 811 (Figures 5, 8 and 11) comprising a hidden surface attached to the second surface; a hinge 700 comprising a hinge shape and a hinge position (Figure 5); a kickstand 812 (Figures 5 and 11) rotatably attached to the upper panel 811 via the hinge 700, the kickstand comprising a kickstand surface abuttable against the second surface (Figure 11); and a sheet of fabric covering the kickstand surface, the hinge, and the hidden surface, wherein the sheet of fabric visually conceals the hinge shape and the hinge position from an unaided human eye (See Figure 5; paragraph 0064 disclosing 810, 820 comprising a fabric).
In re Claim 17, Lee discloses a stiffener 710 or 720 (Figure 11) positioned between the hinge 730 and the sheet of fabric 811 or 812, wherein the sheet of fabric at the hinge is shaped to the stiffener (See Figure 5).
In re Claim 19, Lee discloses wherein the sheet of fabric (810, 820; paragraph 0064; Figure 5) comprises a continuous sheet of fabric.
In re Claim 20, Lee discloses wherein the kickstand is rotatable relative to the back panel within a range extending from about 0 degrees to about 180 degrees (Lee, paragraph 0028). This range fully covers the claimed range of 0 degrees to about 85 degrees and therefore is anticipated by Lee. See MPEP §2131.03.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The specific limitations of “the fabric layer comprising: a pre-drawn fabric positionable adjacent to the rotation member, the pre-drawn fabric comprising a predetermined tension for controlling kinematics of the rotation member relative to the fixed portion” in Claim 1 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion.
The specific limitations of “a fabric layer positioned between the first layer and the second layer, the fabric layer comprising a tension control region defined by a combination of one or more stiffened areas and one or more flexible areas” in Claim 8 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion.
The specific limitations of "wherein the sheet of fabric comprises: a first predetermined tension or compression at a first hinge angle of the hinge; and a second predetermined tension or compression at a second hinge angle of the hinge, the second predetermined tension or compression differing from the first predetermined tension or compression” in Claim 18 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner's opinion.
For example, Lee et al. (US Publication 2023/0148721) discloses a computing device cover, comprising: a base layer 510 (Figure 5); a split layer 810, comprising: a fixed portion 811 attached to the base layer 510; and a rotation member 812 pivotably connected to the fixed portion (Figure 11); and a fabric layer (paragraph 0064) attached to the split layer and positioned between the base layer and the split layer.
Lee also discloses a computing device cover, comprising: a back panel 510 (Figure 5) removably attachable to a computing device 200, the back panel comprising: a first surface abuttable against the computing device; and a second surface opposing the first surface (Figure 5); an upper panel 811 (Figures 5, 8 and 11) comprising a hidden surface attached to the second surface; a hinge 700 comprising a hinge shape and a hinge position (Figure 5); a kickstand 812 (Figures 5 and 11) rotatably attached to the upper panel 811 via the hinge 700, the kickstand comprising a kickstand surface abuttable against the second surface (Figure 11); and a sheet of fabric covering the kickstand surface, the hinge, and the hidden surface, wherein the sheet of fabric visually conceals the hinge shape and the hinge position from an unaided human eye (See Figure 5; paragraph 0064 disclosing 810, 820 comprising a fabric).
However, Lee does not disclose the specific limitations as noted above in Claims 1, 8 or 18.
Podhajny et al. (US Patent 10,683,591) discloses a removeable cover for a portable electronic device (col. 2, ll. 36-37) comprising a pre-drawn fabric with a predetermined tension for use as a hinge in the removable cover. However, Podhajny does not disclose a base layer, a split layer comprising a fixed portion attached to the base layer; and a rotation member pivotably connected to the fixed portion, where the fabric layer is attached to the split layer and positioned between the base layer and the split layer. Also, in the examiner’s opinion, Podhajny teaches away from a combination with Lee because Podhajny discloses its fabric hinge as a substitution for traditional hinge structures like that disclosed in Lee. Podhajny, col. 1, ll. 14-21.
Conclusion
/ADRIAN S WILSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841