DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/03/2026 in response to the restriction requirement has been entered and accepted.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water without the residual chaff being expelled from the residual chaff chamber, when the vessel is in the first position” is not properly supported. There is insufficient support in the applicant’s specification filed 01/31/2024 and drawings filed 01/31/2024 providing antecedent basis for the limitation that the port of the residual water chamber is configured to expel the residual water while in the position while the vessel is in the first position of being coupled to the beam roaster. Paragraph 39 of the Applicant’s specification teaches that it is possible to tilt the vessel over a water receptacle to expel the residual water, but it is not clear based on the applicant’s specifications that the vessel would be coupled to the bean roaster during this process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the air handling subsystem”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the term “air handling subsystem” is intended to draw antecedent basis from the term “air handling system” or “air exit subsystem”, or if the subsystem is intended to be a distinct and separate system from the other two terms. Applicant’s specifications filed 01/31/2024 additionally does not disclose the term “the air handling subsystem”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15, 19-20, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) in view of Pierre (US 20180229929 A1) and Hsu (US 5671726 A).
Regarding claim 1, Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) teaches a bean roasting system (Figure 1A), comprising:
a removable vessel (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal)
a roasting drum (Paragraphs 38-39, container 122 wherein the roasting of the food product occurs);
an air handling system configured to heat and circulate air through the roasting drum (Paragraph 65, heating element 124 heats the air stream to a heated air stream that is directed to the openings 130 in the grate 126 and which blower 102 directs) and to remove residual chaff from the air being circulated (Paragraph 39, roasting processing may also cause the food product 142 to shed certain waste materials such as chaff wherein heated air stream directs the waste material);
a coupling that routes the residual chaff to the residual chaff chamber during a roasting process (Paragraph 33, roasting assembly includes an outlet 120 B in communication with the waste assembly 106; Paragraph 45, collection bin 107 is arranged beneath the outlet 60 of the separation chamber 105 of the waste assembly 106); and
an air exit subsystem that is configured to receive air from the air handling system (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106) and to condense water from the air (Paragraph 47, water sprayed helps saturate the smoke in the air to the separation chamber and prevent smoke from being venting out; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture)1 and to deliver resultant residual water to the residual water chamber (Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture).
Annumalla fails to teach:
a removable vessel including a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber fluidically isolated from each other by an inner wall;
Pierre (US 20180229929 A1) teaches a trash receptacle for separating liquids and solids (figures 8-9), comprising:
a removable vessel including a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber fluidically isolated from each other by an inner wall (Figures 8-9 Paragraph 29-31, trash receptacle 300 includes a chute 324 which extends straight into the trash container and a sink area which receives liquids which is isolated from the trash container);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Pierre and have a removable vessel include a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber which are isolated from each other. This would have been done to help isolate the water from the chaff (Pierre Paragraph 4).
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
While the Office does not concede the fact, the applicant may argue that Annumalla as modified does not explicitly teach “an air exit subsystem that is configured to … condense water from the air”, as the water is not from the air but added to it. However, Hsu (US 5671726 A) teaches a cooking fume purifier, wherein a condenser is used to cool fumes (Hsu Column 3 Line 61 – Column 4 Line 16) and pulls water out of the fumes such that the condensed water vapor and particulate matter collects drips into a removable grease tray (Hsu Column 4 Lines 20-24). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Hsu and have an air exit subsystem which condenses water from the air before exhausting it. This would have been done to purify and cool cooking fumes before releasing them (Hsu Column 2 Lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 2, Annumalla as modified teaches the bean roasting system of claim 1, wherein:
the air handling subsystem includes a cyclone separator (Figure 4 Paragraph 46, the air is rotated in the separation chamber as indicated by arrows 166A in a helical pattern around the chamber 105), the coupling routes the residual chaff from the cyclone separator to the residual chaff chamber during the roasting process (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal).
Regarding claim 3, Annumalla as modified teaches the bean roasting system of claim 1, wherein:
the bean roasting system further includes a roasted bean container (Figure 2B, container between the deflector plate 132 and grate 126; Paragraph 41, roasted food product 142 can escape the roasting assembly through aperture 134 in the deflector plate 143 and slide along the guide plate to be output) configured to receive roasted beans from the roasting drum (Paragraph 12, device automatically dispenses the roasting beans into a storage container; during dispensing the container between deflector plate 132 and grate 126 receives the roasted beans),
cooling air from the roasted bean container passes into the air exit subsystem during operation of the bean roasting system (Paragraph 77, terminate operation of the heating element while maintaining operation of the blower to cool the roasted food product; said air passes through the region between the grate and the deflector plate as Paragraph 35 teaches that the heating element is positioned over a portion of the air inlet and the grate is positioned over the heating element), and
the air exit subsystem is configured to condense water from the cooling air and to further deliver resultant residual water to the residual water chamber (Paragraph 47, water sprayed helps saturate the smoke in the air to the separation chamber and prevent smoke from being venting out; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture).
Regarding claim 4, Annumalla as modified teaches the bean roasting system of claim 3, further comprising:
a heat sink (Paragraph 34, sides of cylinders 128 act as heat sinks) and a filter through which air passes from the air handling system (Paragraph 36, air passes through the filter plate 140 at the top of the container 122) and the roasted bean container (air passes through the region between the grate and the deflector plate as Paragraph 35 teaches that the heating element is positioned over a portion of the air inlet and the grate is positioned over the heating element).
Annumalla as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the air exit subsystem includes a heat sink, an exit fan, and a filter
Hsu (US 5671726 A) teaches a cooking fume purifier, wherein:
the air exit subsystem includes a heat sink (Column 3 Line 61 – Column 4 Line 16, condenser include a plurality of tubes 18 to which fumes are directed toward and cooled), an exit fan (Column 4 Lines 28-33, cooking fumes are condensed before being filtered and conveyed outside the cooking area; Column 3 Lines 53-60, fan 12 draws fumes into the hood 10), and a filter (Column 4 Lines 25-33, invention includes any number of filters 28)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Hsu and have an air exit subsystem comprising a heat sink, exit fan, and a filter through which air from the air handling system travels. This would have been done to purify and cool cooking fumes before releasing them (Hsu Column 2 Lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 5, Annumalla as modified teaches the bean roasting system of claim 4, further comprising:
a fluid conduit that directs condensed water to the residual water chamber (Figure 4 Paragraph 45, outlet 160 directs condensed water into the collection bin 107)
Hsu further teaches:
a fluid conduit that directs condensed water from the heat sink to the residual water chamber during operation of the bean roasting system (Column 4 Lines 20-24, condensed water vapor and particulate matter collects drips into a removable grease tray).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Hsu and have the fluid conduit directs condensed water from the heat sink to the collection bin through an outlet. This would have been done to facilitate purifying and cooling cooking fumes before releasing them (Hsu Column 2 Lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 6, Annumalla as modified teaches the bean roasting system of claim 3, wherein:
a heat sink (Paragraph 34, sides of cylinders 128 act as heat sinks) and a filter through which air passes from the air handling system (Paragraph 36, air passes through the filter plate 140 at the top of the container 122) and the roasted bean container (air passes through the region between the grate and the deflector plate as Paragraph 35 teaches that the heating element is positioned over a portion of the air inlet and the grate is positioned over the heating element).
Annumalla as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the air exit subsystem includes a heat sink, an exit fan, and a filter
Hsu (US 5671726 A) teaches a cooking fume purifier, wherein:
the air exit subsystem includes a heat sink (Column 3 Line 61 – Column 4 Line 16, condenser include a plurality of tubes 18 to which fumes are directed toward and cooled), an exit fan (Column 4 Lines 28-33, cooking fumes are condensed before being filtered and conveyed outside the cooking area; Column 3 Lines 53-60, fan 12 draws fumes into the hood 10), and a filter (Column 4 Lines 25-33, invention includes any number of filters 28)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Hsu and have an air exit subsystem comprising a heat sink, exit fan, and a filter through which air from the air handling system travels. This would have been done to purify and cool cooking fumes before releasing them (Hsu Column 2 Lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 7, Annumalla as modified teaches the bean roasting system of claim 6, further comprising:
a fluid conduit that directs condensed water to the residual water chamber during operation of the bean roasting system (Figure 4 Paragraph 45, outlet 160 directs condensed water into the collection bin 107 during the roasting operation)
Hsu further teaches:
a fluid conduit that directs condensed water from the heat sink to the residual water chamber during operation of the bean roasting system (Column 4 Lines 20-24, condensed water vapor and particulate matter collects drips into a removable grease tray).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) teaches an apparatus (Figure 1A), comprising:
a vessel configured to be removably coupled (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal) to a bean roaster (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106) having (1) a roasting drum (Paragraphs 38-39, container 122 wherein the roasting of the food product occurs),(2) an air handling system configured to heat and circulate air through the roasting drum (Paragraph 65, heating element 124 heats the air stream to a heated air stream that is directed to the openings 130 in the grate 126 and which blower 102 directs) and to remove residual chaff from the air being circulated (Paragraph 39, roasting processing may also cause the food product 142 to shed certain waste materials such as chaff wherein heated air stream directs the waste material), and (3) an air exit subsystem that is configured to receive air from the air handling system (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106) and to condense water from the air (Paragraph 47, water sprayed helps saturate the smoke in the air to the separation chamber and prevent smoke from being venting out; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the vessel receiving residual chaff into the residual chaff chamber from the air handling system during a roasting process (Paragraph 46, waste mater 158 falls through the outlet 160 to the collection bin 107 as indicated by arrows 166C),
the vessel receiving residual water into the residual water chamber from the air exit subsystem during the roasting process (Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture).
Annumalla fails to teach:
the vessel including a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber fluidically isolated from each other by a wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber,
Pierre (US 20180229929 A1) teaches a trash receptacle for separating liquids and solids (figures 8-9), comprising:
the vessel including a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber fluidically isolated from each other by a wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber (Figures 8-9 Paragraph 29-31, trash receptacle 300 includes a chute 324 which extends straight into the trash container and a sink area which receives liquids which is isolated from the trash container),
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Pierre and have a removable vessel include a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber which are isolated from each other. This would have been done to help isolate the water from the chaff (Pierre Paragraph 4).
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
While the Office does not concede the fact, the applicant may argue that Annumalla as modified does not explicitly teach “an air exit subsystem that is configured to … condense water from the air”, as the water is not from the air but added to it. However, Hsu (US 5671726 A) teaches a cooking fume purifier, wherein a condenser is used to cool fumes (Hsu Column 3 Line 61 – Column 4 Line 16) and pulls water out of the fumes such that the condensed water vapor and particulate matter collects drips into a removable grease tray (Hsu Column 4 Lines 20-24). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Hsu and have an air exit subsystem which condenses water from the air before exhausting it. This would have been done to purify and cool cooking fumes before releasing them (Hsu Column 2 Lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 19, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the vessel has a first position (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106) and a second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal), the vessel in the first position being coupled to the bean roaster (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106), the vessel in the second position being removed from the bean roaster (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal),
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air exit subsystem when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture; Paragraph 31, hose 111 located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin; port can also be interpreted to be the hose which is fluidically coupled to the waste assembly 106 through the bin 107),
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air handling system when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 92, water in the bin is returned to the water tank in a fluid loop and thus is expelled; Paragraph 31, hose 111 is located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin 107 such that the water is returned while the vessel is in the first position)
the port of the residual chaff chamber configured to expel the residual chaff when the vessel is in the second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal).
Pierre further teaches:
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 28, cap of the reservoir tank can be removed to enable the waste liquid to be discarded),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 15.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the vessel has a first position (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106) and a second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal), the vessel in the first position being coupled to the bean roaster (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106), the vessel in the second position being removed from the bean roaster (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal),
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air exit subsystem when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture; Paragraph 31, hose 111 located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin; port can also be interpreted to be the hose which is fluidically coupled to the waste assembly 106 through the bin 107),
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air handling system when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water when the vessel is in the first position without the residual chaff being expelled from the residual chaff chamber, when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 92, water in the bin is returned to the water tank in a fluid loop and thus is expelled; Paragraph 31, hose 111 is located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin 107 such that the water is returned while the vessel is in the first position; Paragraph 47, the collection bin/water tank/ pump include filters to prevent particulate matter from entering the fluid loop)
the port of the residual chaff chamber configured to expel the residual chaff when the vessel is in the second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal).
Pierre further teaches:
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water when the vessel is in the first position without the residual chaff being expelled from the residual chaff chamber, when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 28, the lid unit 100 can be removed from the reservoir tank and the cap of the reservoir tank can be removed to enable the waste liquid to be discarded which would allow the water to be expelled without the chaff being expelled),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 15.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15,wherein:
the vessel has a first position (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106) and a second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal), the vessel in the first position being coupled to the bean roaster (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106), the vessel in the second position being removed from the bean roaster (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal),
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to an air exit subsystem of the bean roaster when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture; Paragraph 31, hose 111 located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin; port can also be interpreted to be the hose which is fluidically coupled to the waste assembly 106 through the bin 107),
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to an air handling system of the bean roaster when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 92, water in the bin is returned to the water tank in a fluid loop and thus is expelled; Paragraph 31, hose 111 is located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin 107 such that the water is returned while the vessel is in the first position)
the port of the residual chaff chamber configured to expel the residual chaff when the vessel is in the second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal).
Pierre further teaches:
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 28, cap of the reservoir tank can be removed to enable the waste liquid to be discarded),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 15.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the vessel has a first position (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106) and a second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal), the vessel in the first position being coupled to the bean roaster (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106), the vessel in the second position being removed from the bean roaster (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal),
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to an air exit subsystem of the bean roaster when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture; Paragraph 31, hose 111 located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin; port can also be interpreted to be the hose which is fluidically coupled to the waste assembly 106 through the bin 107),
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to an air handling system of the bean roaster when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water without the residual chaff being expelled from the residual chaff chamber, when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 92, water in the bin is returned to the water tank in a fluid loop and thus is expelled; Paragraph 31, hose 111 is located between the water tank 109 and the collection bin 107 such that the water is returned while the vessel is in the first position; Paragraph 47, the collection bin/water tank/ pump include filters to prevent particulate matter from entering the fluid loop)
the port of the residual chaff chamber configured to expel the residual chaff when the vessel is in the second position (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal).
Pierre further teaches:
the port of the residual water chamber configured to expel the residual water without the residual chaff being expelled from the residual chaff chamber, when the vessel is in the first position (Paragraph 28, the lid unit 100 can be removed from the reservoir tank and the cap of the reservoir tank can be removed to enable the waste liquid to be discarded which would allow the water to be expelled without the chaff being expelled),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 15.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled, during the roasting process, to an air handling system (1) of the bean roaster (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture) and (2) that is configured to heat and circulate air through a roasting drum of the bean roaster (Paragraph 65, heating element 124 heats the air stream to a heated air stream that is directed to the openings 130 in the grate 126 and which blower 102 directs) and to remove residual chaff from the air being circulated (Paragraph 39, roasting processing may also cause the food product 142 to shed certain waste materials such as chaff wherein heated air stream directs the waste material),
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled, during the roasting process, to an air exit subsystem (1) of the bean roaster (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture) and (2) that is configured to receive air from the air handling system and to condense water from the air (Paragraph 39, roasting processing may also cause the food product 142 to shed certain waste materials such as chaff wherein heated air stream directs the waste material).
Claim(s) 16-18 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) in view of Pierre (US 20180229929 A1) and Hsu (US 5671726 A) as applied to claims 3 and 15 above respectively, and further in view of Standke (US 10196203 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15.
Annumalla as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber.
Standke (US 10196203 B2) teaches a waste separation system, wherein:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber (Figures 1-2 Column 5 Lines 11-14, insert includes a flange 338 which suspends the insert within the shell; Column 6 Lines 20-39, solid waste is stored within the insert wherein the liquid would be stored within a liquid capture reservoir; Figure 1, liquid capture reservoir is disposed the area not including the insert which is an area disposed circumferentially about and below the insert area).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Standke and have the residual be circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber. This would have been done to have the solid container be a removable instead of the liquid container for obvious engineering choice.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP §2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the residual water chamber be disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber is not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant.
Regarding claim 17, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15.
Annumalla as modified fails to teach:
the wall is a first wall, the vessel includes a second wall, the residual water chamber disposed between the second wall and the first wall, the first wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber
Standke (US 10196203 B2) teaches a waste separation system, wherein:
the wall is a first wall (Figure 1 Column 4 Lines 25-28, second component is defined by a cylindrical wall 42),
the vessel includes a second wall (Column 4 Lines 8-10, shell includes cylindrical wall 16), the residual water chamber disposed between the second wall and the first wall (Figure 1, area between cylindrical wall 42 and cylindrical wall 16 defines part of the liquid capture reservoir 34),
the first wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber (Figure 1, cylindrical wall 42 is disposed between the insert 22 wherein a solid waste 80 and liquid capture reservoir).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Standke and have the residual be circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber. This would have been done to have the solid container be a removal insert instead of the liquid container be the removal insert for obvious engineering choice.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP §2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the residual water chamber be disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber is not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant.
Regarding claim 18, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein:
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air exit subsystem when the vessel during the roasting process (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air handling system during the roasting process (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture).
Annumalla as modified fails to teach:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber
Standke (US 10196203 B2) teaches a waste separation system, wherein:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber (Figures 1-2 Column 5 Lines 11-14, insert includes a flange 338 which suspends the insert within the shell; Column 6 Lines 20-39, solid waste is stored within the insert wherein the liquid would be stored within a liquid capture reservoir; Figure 1, liquid capture reservoir is disposed the area not including the insert which is an area disposed circumferentially about and below the insert area).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Standke and have the residual be circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber. This would have been done to have the solid container be a removable instead of the liquid container for obvious engineering choice.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP §2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the residual water chamber be disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber is not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant.
Regarding claim 23, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15.
Annumalla as modified fails to teach:
the wall is a first wall, the vessel includes a second wall, the residual water chamber disposed between the second wall and the first wall, the first wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber
Standke (US 10196203 B2) teaches a waste separation system, wherein:
the wall is a first wall (Figure 1 Column 4 Lines 25-28, second component is defined by a cylindrical wall 42),
the vessel includes a second wall (Column 4 Lines 8-10, shell includes cylindrical wall 16), the residual water chamber disposed between the second wall and the first wall (Figure 1, area between cylindrical wall 42 and cylindrical wall 16 defines part of the liquid capture reservoir 34),
the first wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber (Figure 1, cylindrical wall 42 is disposed between the insert 22 wherein a solid waste 80 and liquid capture reservoir).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Standke and have the residual be circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber. This would have been done to have the solid container be a removal insert instead of the liquid container be the removal insert for obvious engineering choice.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP §2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the residual water chamber be disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber is not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant.
Regarding claim 24, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15.
the residual water chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to the air exit subsystem during the roasting process (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 47, water is collected in the bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture),
the residual chaff chamber including a port sized and shaped to be fluidically coupled to an air handling system of the bean roaster during the roasting process (Paragraph 45, incoming air from the roasting assembly 104 to the waste assembly 106 includes smoke from the roasting process; Paragraph 46, outlet 160 allows waste matter to enter into the collection bin 107; Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture).
Annumalla as modified fails to teach:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber,
Standke (US 10196203 B2) teaches a waste separation system, wherein:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber (Figures 1-2 Column 5 Lines 11-14, insert includes a flange 338 which suspends the insert within the shell; Column 6 Lines 20-39, solid waste is stored within the insert wherein the liquid would be stored within a liquid capture reservoir; Figure 1, liquid capture reservoir is disposed the area not including the insert which is an area disposed circumferentially about and below the insert area).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Standke and have the residual be circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber. This would have been done to have the solid container be a removable instead of the liquid container for obvious engineering choice.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP §2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the residual water chamber be disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber is not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) in view of Pierre (US 20180229929 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) teaches an apparatus (Figure 1A), comprising:
a vessel configured to be removably coupled (Paragraph 46, waste matter 158 is collected in the bin 107 for later removal and disposal) to a bean roaster (Paragraph 31, collection bin 107 is part of the waste assembly 106),
the vessel configured to receive into the residual chaff chamber residual chaff from the bean roaster during a roasting process (Paragraph 46, waste mater 158 falls through the outlet 160 to the collection bin 107 as indicated by arrows 166C),
the vessel configured to receive into the residual water chamber residual water from the bean roaster during the roasting process (Paragraph 76, bin of the waste collection assembly collects the waste product and water mixture).
Annumalla fails to teach:
the vessel including a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber fluidically isolated from each other by a wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber,
Pierre (US 20180229929 A1) teaches a trash receptacle for separating liquids and solids (figures 8-9), comprising:
the vessel including a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber fluidically isolated from each other by a wall disposed between the residual chaff chamber and the residual water chamber (Figures 8-9 Paragraph 29-31, trash receptacle 300 includes a chute 324 which extends straight into the trash container and a sink area which receives liquids which is isolated from the trash container),
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Pierre and have a removable vessel include a residual chaff chamber and a residual water chamber which are isolated from each other. This would have been done to help isolate the water from the chaff (Pierre Paragraph 4).
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that the use of one-piece construction instead of a separate structure would be merely a matter of obvious engineer choice. MPEP §2144.04.V.B. IN this case, having the vessel be removable is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Furthermore, the use of a removal of a disposal tray/bin is well known in the art as evidenced by Hsu (US 5671726 A) and JIN (US 20220142221 A1).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annumalla (US 20230007975 A1) in view of Pierre (US 20180229929 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Standke (US 10196203 B2).
Regarding claim 22, Annumalla as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Annumalla as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber.
Standke (US 10196203 B2) teaches a waste separation system, wherein:
the residual water chamber is disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber (Figures 1-2 Column 5 Lines 11-14, insert includes a flange 338 which suspends the insert within the shell; Column 6 Lines 20-39, solid waste is stored within the insert wherein the liquid would be stored within a liquid capture reservoir; Figure 1, liquid capture reservoir is disposed the area not including the insert which is an area disposed circumferentially about and below the insert area).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Annumalla with Standke and have the residual be circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber. This would have been done to have the solid container be a removable instead of the liquid container for obvious engineering choice.
The Office further notes that the MEPE teaches that mere changes in shape are not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant. MPEP §2144.04.IV.B. In this case, having the residual water chamber be disposed circumferentially about and below the residual chaff chamber is not patentably distinguishable over prior art unless there exists persuasive evidence that the particular shape was significant.
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office further notes that use of a condenser which is connected to a