DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-14) in the reply filed on May 1st 2026 is acknowledged.
The restriction is deemed proper, and therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 22th 2024, November 14th 2025 and May 1st 2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending.
Claims 15-20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-26 are newly added.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10, 12 and 14 are amended.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by SCHMEHL et al (US2023/0085702A1 cited from written opinion PCT/US25/13904).
The applied reference has a common inventor SCHMEHL Stewart with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-14, 21-23 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US2023/0000277A1) herein set forth as Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a bean roasting system (refer to fig.1), comprising:
a roasting drum (#126, fig.1A) including a housing (#102, fig.1) enclosing a roasting chamber (#104, fig.1) and having a curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) defined by a curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A), and an air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) fluidically coupled to the roasting chamber (#104, fig.1) and configured to direct air (refer to the air flow exited the 144a-d in fig.2) toward the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) which redirects the air in a first rotational direction (refer to the air rotation flow when existing #144a-d, in fig.2 and hitting the curved surface of lid #106 in fig.1, creating a rotational air flow);
an agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) having a main axle with an axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) and having a plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B), a distal end of each blade from the plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B) being disposed from the axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) toward the curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A) by a distance no greater than R, the curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A) being spaced at least a distance R + G from the axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) to provide a minimum gap G between a distal end of each blade from the plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B) and the curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A) during rotation of the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B); and
an agitator actuator (#614, fig.6A) configured to rotate the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) in a second rotational direction (referring the rotation direction of the blade, that is different than the air flow rotation direction) during a roasting process;
the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) and the directed air (refer to the air flow exited the 144a-d in fig.2) collectively prevents accumulation of beans (refer as food throughout the specification) along the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) during the roasting process.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the first rotational direction (refer to #144C and #144A, there are two rotational direction of airflow) is opposite to the second rotational direction (Examiner note: since there are two different rotational direction of airflow, therefore no matter which direction of the agitator rotational direction is, Wang would teach the cited limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein each blade from the plurality of blades (#600, fig.10) includes an arcuate arm (#712, fig.10) extending away from the axis of rotation (refer to the axis of #1010 in fig. 10A and B) and having a concave side (#1002A and B in fig. 10) that faces that second rotational direction (Examiner note: since the blade has both concave toward both direction, therefore no matter which direction the blade rotate, Wang would teaches the limitation cited above).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1,
Wang further discloses wherein the roasting drum (#126, fig.1A) further includes an air inlet conduit (#144a-d in fig.2) fluidically coupled to the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A), and an air outlet conduit (#130, fig.1) fluidically coupled to the roasting chamber (#104, fig.1), the bean roasting system (refer to fig.1) further includes:
an air handling system that circulates heated air (refer to Paragraph 0046 cited: “…an automated cooking system according to the present subject matter include a convection heater located within the housing and configured to deliver hot air to the cooking vessel…”, Examiner note: convection heater is an air handling system that circulates heated air) from the air inlet conduit (#144a-d in fig.2) to the air outlet conduit (#130, fig.1) during the roasting process.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, Wang further discloses wherein the housing (#102, fig.1) includes an outer wall (#106, fig. 1) and an inner extension wall (#124, fig.1) that collectively define, at least in part the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, Wang further discloses wherein the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) narrows to a jet impinging outlet (refer to the sized opening of #144a-d in fig.2) configured to increase a velocity of air impinging upon the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses an apparatus (refer to fig.1), comprising:
a roasting drum (#126, fig.1A) including a housing (#102, fig.1) enclosing a roasting chamber (#104, fig.1) and having a curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) defined by a curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A), and an air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) fluidically coupled to the roasting chamber (#104, fig.1) and configured to direct air toward the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) in a first rotational direction (refer to the air rotation flow when existing #144a-d, in fig.2 and hitting the curved surface of lid #106 in fig.1, creating a rotational air flow); and
an agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) having a main axle with an axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) and having a plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B), a distal end of each blade from the plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B) being disposed from the axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) toward the curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A) by at least a first non-zero distance (refer to #712 in fig.10) and spaced from the curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A) by at least a second non-zero distance (refer to #712 in fig.10), the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) configured to rotate in a second rotational direction (referring the rotation direction of the blade, that is different than the air flow rotation direction) during a roasting process,
the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) and the directed air collectively prevents accumulation of beans (refer as food throughout the specification) along the curved lower inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) during the roasting process.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Wang further discloses wherein the first rotational direction (refer to #144C and #144A, there are two rotational direction of airflow) is opposite to the second rotational direction (Examiner note: since there are two different rotational direction of airflow, therefore no matter which direction of the agitator rotational direction is, Wang would teach the cited limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Wang further discloses wherein each blade from the plurality of blades (#600, fig.10) includes an arcuate arm (#712, fig.10) extending away from the axis of rotation (refer to the axis of #1010 in fig. 10A and B) and having a concave side (#1002A and B in fig. 10) that faces that second rotational direction (Examiner note: since the blade has both concave toward both direction, therefore no matter which direction the blade rotate, Wang would teaches the limitation cited above).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8,
Wang further discloses wherein the roasting drum (#126, fig.1A) further includes an air inlet conduit (#144a-d in fig.2) fluidically coupled to the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A), and an air outlet conduit (#130, fig.1) fluidically coupled to the roasting chamber (#104, fig.1), the bean roasting system (refer to fig.1) further includes:
an air handling system that circulates heated air (refer to Paragraph 0046 cited: “…an automated cooking system according to the present subject matter include a convection heater located within the housing and configured to deliver hot air to the cooking vessel…”, Examiner note: convection heater is an air handling system that circulates heated air) from the air inlet conduit (#144a-d in fig.2) to the air outlet conduit (#130, fig.1) during the roasting process.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 8, Wang further discloses wherein the housing (#102, fig.1) includes an outer wall (#106, fig. 1) and an inner extension wall (#124, fig.1) that collectively define, at least in part the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Wang further discloses wherein the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) narrows to a jet impinging outlet (refer to the sized opening of #144a-d in fig.2) configured to increase a velocity of air impinging upon the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A).
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses an apparatus (refer to fig.1), comprising:
a roasting drum (#126, fig.1A) including a housing (#102, fig.1) enclosing a roasting chamber (#104, fig.1) and having a curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) defined by a curved lower wall (#604, fig.6A), and an air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) fluidically coupled to the roasting chamber (#104, fig.1) via an outlet (refer to the 144a-d in fig.2), the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) configured to direct air (refer to the air flow exited the 144a-d in fig.2) toward the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) which redirects the air in a first rotational direction (refer to the air rotation flow when existing #144a-d, in fig.2 and hitting the curved surface of lid #106 in fig.1, creating a rotational air flow), a narrowing (refer to the narrowing to the #144a-d in fig.2) of the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) towards the outlet (refer to the 144a-d in fig.2) increases a velocity of air directed to and impinging upon the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) during a roasting process; and
an agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) having a main axle with an axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) and having a plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B) extended radially from the axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B), at least one blade (#712, fig.10) from the plurality of blades (refer to the plurality of blade in fig 6B) having a length from the axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) to a distal end of the at least one blade (#712, fig.10) that is less than a distance from the axis of rotation (refer to the center axis of #600 that rotated in fig.6B) to the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) such that at least a portion of the directed air passes between the distal end of the at least one blade (#712, fig.10) and the curved inner surface (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A), the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) configured to rotate in a second rotational direction (Examiner note: since there are two different rotational direction of airflow, therefore no matter which direction of the agitator rotational direction is, Wang would teaches the limitation) during the roasting process, the second rotational direction (Examiner note: since there are two different rotational direction of airflow, therefore no matter which direction of the agitator rotational direction is, Wang would teaches the limitation) different from the first rotational direction (refer to the air rotation flow when existing #144a-d, in fig.2 and hitting the curved surface of lid #106 in fig.1, creating a rotational air flow),
the agitator blade set (#600, fig.6B) and the directed air collectively prevents accumulation of beans (refer as food throughout the specification) along the curved inner (refer to the curved surface of #604 in fig.6A) surface during the roasting process.
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, Wang further discloses wherein the first rotational direction (refer to #144C and #144A, there are two rotational direction of airflow) is opposite to the second rotational direction (Examiner note: since there are two different rotational direction of airflow, therefore no matter which direction of the agitator rotational direction is, Wang would teaches the cited limitation).
Regarding claim 23, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, Wang further discloses wherein each blade from the plurality of blades (#600, fig.10) includes an arcuate arm (#712, fig.10) extending away from the axis of rotation (refer to the axis of #1010 in fig. 10A and B) and having a concave side (#1002A and B in fig. 10) that faces that second rotational direction (Examiner note: since the blade has both concave toward both direction, therefore no matter which direction the blade rotate, Wang would teaches the limitation cited above).
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, Wang further discloses wherein the roasting drum (#126, fig.1A) further includes an air inlet conduit (#144a-d in fig.2) fluidically coupled to the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A), and an air outlet conduit (#130, fig.1) fluidically coupled to the roasting chamber (#104, fig.1), the bean roasting system (refer to fig.1) further includes:
an air handling system that circulates heated air (refer to Paragraph 0046 cited: “…an automated cooking system according to the present subject matter include a convection heater located within the housing and configured to deliver hot air to the cooking vessel…”, Examiner note: convection heater is an air handling system that circulates heated air) from the air inlet conduit (#144a-d in fig.2) to the air outlet conduit (#130, fig.1) during the roasting process.
Regarding claim 26, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, Wang further discloses wherein the air inlet chamber (#119, fig.1A) is defined, at least in part, by an outer wall (#106, fig. 1) of the housing (#102, fig.1) and an inner extension wall of the housing (#102, fig.1), the inner extension wall (#124, fig.1) disposed at an angle with respect to the outer wall (#106, fig. 1) to cause the narrowing (refer to the sized opening of #144a-d in fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US2023/0000277A1) herein set forth as Wang.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Wang further discloses the length of the blades are adjustable between two different distance according to needs (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The blade 712 can have a length such that the wall 604 of the of the cooking vessel 104 can be of a relatively short distance d2 from a tip or leading edge of the blade 712, which can allow the blade to scrape food from an inner surface of the wall 604. The paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub, stopping short of the wall 604 at a distance d1, which can be relatively larger than the distance d2 …”)
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the gap G has a magnitude within a range of 0.25 inch to 0.75 inch.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system with a magnitude within a range of 0.25 inch to 0.75 inch, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In order to decide how to break down relatively larger portions of food adhered in a group (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The blade 712 and the paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub 716. The blade 712 can extend to the wall 604 of the wok 126, and can contact the wall 604, in some examples, at a tip of the blade 712. In other examples, the blade 712 may not contact the wall 604. The blade 712 can have a length such that the wall 604 of the of the cooking vessel 104 can be of a relatively short distance d2 from a tip or leading edge of the blade 712, which can allow the blade to scrape food from an inner surface of the wall 604. The paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub, stopping short of the wall 604 at a distance d1, which can be relatively larger than the distance d2, which can allow the paddle 714 to break down relatively larger portions of food adhered in a group (bunches of food) …”).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Wang further discloses the length of the blades are adjustable between two different distance according to needs (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The blade 712 can have a length such that the wall 604 of the of the cooking vessel 104 can be of a relatively short distance d2 from a tip or leading edge of the blade 712, which can allow the blade to scrape food from an inner surface of the wall 604. The paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub, stopping short of the wall 604 at a distance d1, which can be relatively larger than the distance d2 …”)
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the second distance is within a range of 0.25 inch to 0.75 inch.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system with wherein the second distance is within a range of 0.25 inch to 0.75 inch, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In order to decide how to break down relatively larger portions of food adhered in a group (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The blade 712 and the paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub 716. The blade 712 can extend to the wall 604 of the wok 126, and can contact the wall 604, in some examples, at a tip of the blade 712. In other examples, the blade 712 may not contact the wall 604. The blade 712 can have a length such that the wall 604 of the of the cooking vessel 104 can be of a relatively short distance d2 from a tip or leading edge of the blade 712, which can allow the blade to scrape food from an inner surface of the wall 604. The paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub, stopping short of the wall 604 at a distance d1, which can be relatively larger than the distance d2, which can allow the paddle 714 to break down relatively larger portions of food adhered in a group (bunches of food) …”).
Regarding claim 24, Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, Wang further discloses the length of the blades are adjustable between two different distance according to needs (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The blade 712 can have a length such that the wall 604 of the of the cooking vessel 104 can be of a relatively short distance d2 from a tip or leading edge of the blade 712, which can allow the blade to scrape food from an inner surface of the wall 604. The paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub, stopping short of the wall 604 at a distance d1, which can be relatively larger than the distance d2 …”)
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein a difference between the length of the at least one blade and the distance from the axis of rotation to the curved inner surface is within a range of 0.25 inch to 0.75 inch.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s system with wherein a difference between the length of the at least one blade and the distance from the axis of rotation to the curved inner surface is within a range of 0.25 inch to 0.75 inch, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In order to decide how to break down relatively larger portions of food adhered in a group (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The blade 712 and the paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub 716. The blade 712 can extend to the wall 604 of the wok 126, and can contact the wall 604, in some examples, at a tip of the blade 712. In other examples, the blade 712 may not contact the wall 604. The blade 712 can have a length such that the wall 604 of the of the cooking vessel 104 can be of a relatively short distance d2 from a tip or leading edge of the blade 712, which can allow the blade to scrape food from an inner surface of the wall 604. The paddle 714 can extend radially outward from the hub, stopping short of the wall 604 at a distance d1, which can be relatively larger than the distance d2, which can allow the paddle 714 to break down relatively larger portions of food adhered in a group (bunches of food) …”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Annumalla et al (US2023/0007975A1) discloses a roasting system that teaches the circulation of the hot air for roasting and the inlet and outlet to the roasting chamber.
Ludwig (US2013/0344207A1) discloses another roasting system that teaches a roasting drum, inlet and outlet, agitator blade set, the distance of the blade, also the air handling system, but it is unclear on the curved surface.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 July 22th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761