DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action in response to the amendment filed 23 December 2025. Claims 1, 7, and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 September 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 7, and 14 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the pending 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the pending 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the amendments herein render the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections moot. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the amendment to claims 1, 7, and 14 includes newly added limitation “wherein the second request comprises dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space,” the visualization of one or more modular functions with drag and drop user object interaction is generically claimed and does not impact the function of the graphical user interface in a manner that amount to a practical application or improvement to interface technology. The step for dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space is a data input step. The recitation of the interface (virtual space) for displaying and the processor for moving data is not enough by itself to transform the exception into a patentable invention, because these limitations are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality. As a result the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is proper, maintained, and updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites a device, independent claim 7 recites a product, and independent claim 14 recites a process for workflow management. Independent claims 1, 7, and 14 recite substantially similar limitations.
Taking claim 1 as representative, claim 1 recites at least the following limitations:
receiving, via a virtual space and from a first user profile associated with a user of a communication platform, a first request to build a workflow;
identifying, based at least in part on the first request, one or more modular functions associated with the virtual space;
causing, in response to receiving the first request, a workflow building virtual space to be displayed via a user interface of a user device associated with the first user profile;
causing, based at least in part on displaying the workflow building virtual space, the one or more modular functions to be displayed within the workflow building virtual space;
receiving, via the workflow building virtual space and from the first user profile, a second request to include a first modular function of the one or more modular functions and a second modular function of the one or more modular functions in the workflow, wherein the second request comprises dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space;
generating, based at least in part on receiving the second request, the workflow; and
receiving, via the virtual space and from a second user profile, a third request to execute the workflow.
Under Step 1 of the eligibility analysis independent claims 1, 7, and 14 recite at least one step or act, including receiving a first request to build a workflow. Thus, the claims fall within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Under Step 2A Prong One, the limitations recited in claim 1 for receiving a first request to build a workflow, identifying one or more modular functions associated with the virtual space, causing a workflow building virtual space to be displayed, causing the one or more modular functions to be displayed within the workflow building virtual space, receiving a second request to include a first and second modular function, generating the workflow, and receiving a third request to execute the workflow, as drafted, illustrates a process that under its broadest reasonable interpretation falls within the abstract concept grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity because managing workflows that encompass the assignment of tasks and tracking the status of those tasks is a form of managing personal behavior and relationships and interactions between people (collaboration and project task management between workers/contacts). Per paragraph [0002] of the Specification: “users may automate various tasks that are typically performed manually in the communication platform. In some cases, users of a communication platform may identify large quantities of tasks to automate based on the user’s organization type, role, assignments, etc.” Additionally, per paragraph [0020]: “A workflow can include an automation of a task that, in some examples, was previously performed manually by a user”; and [0115] “tasks can be assigned to a user via an @mention and such task(s) can be populated in the pane or sidebar associated with that user.” Because the inventive concept is directed to the collection, analysis, and display of workflow data, the inventive concept reasonably falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. As a result, the claims recite an abstract idea.
The steps for receiving data and displaying data amount to insignificant extra-solution activity because the receiving steps merely provide data as input or rules for data processing, and the displaying step merely transmits the data for human review. See MPEP 2106(g).
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception of claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite a processor and one or more memories to perform the recited steps in a “virtual space.” These elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, Applicant’s specification a paragraph [0035]: “The processor(s) 108 can be implemented as one or more microprocessors, microcomputers, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, central processing units (CPUs) …” and [0064]: “The processor(s) 130 can comprise any of the types of processors described above with reference to the processor(s) 108 and may be the same as or different than the processor(s) 108.” Adding generic computer components to perform generic functions, such as data gathering, performing calculations, and outputting a result would not transform the claim into eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
While the claims include “a virtual space” as an additional element, the claims recite steps for predefining task/project data and manipulating visual data using a virtual space as a generic computer based tools, without claiming specific elements of the virtual space or technical improvement to data manipulation and visualization using an interface. The data is analyzed by visually placing graphical elements that are representative of one of the human steps and automated steps into the canvas rendered in the virtual space. The data is further analyzed by defining rules associated with different ones of the human steps and automated steps. Finally, the data is analyzed by generating computer readable instructions for the user interface workflow. These steps are clearly directed to the abstract idea of collecting, analyzing and displaying data and are generic computer functions. The claims do not include specific elements for creating an improved workflow design tool, but to an abstract idea that uses a generic virtual space as a tool for implementing the collection, analysis, and display of workflow data. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Regarding the newly added limitation “wherein the second request comprises dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space,” the visualization of one or more modular functions with drag and drop user object interaction is generically claimed and does not impact the function of the graphical user interface in a manner that amount to a practical application or improvement to interface technology. Paragraph [0020] of the Specification details: “Upon receiving the request, the communication platform may display a variety of modular functions which may be used to build the workflow. A modular function may be a no-code building block used in a workflow to automate virtual space creation, updates, and sharing.” Paragraph [0027] of the Specification details: “when generating (or creating) the workflow, the user profile may be selecting (or dragging) modular functions to be included in the workflow. In such cases, when the user profile selects a modular function to include in the workflow, the communication platform may receive a request. Upon receiving the requests, the communication platform may cause the modular function to be associated with the workflow.” The step for dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space is a data input step. The recitation of the interface (virtual space) for displaying and the processor for moving data is not enough by itself to transform the exception into a patentable invention, because these limitations are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality.
Under Step 2B, claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor and storage device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-13, and 15-20 include the abstract idea of the independent claims. The limitations of the dependent claims merely narrow the method of organizing human activity/mental process abstract idea by describing how the data is manipulated, shared, and visualized. The limitations of the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application because none of the additional elements set forth any limitations that meaningfully limit the abstract idea implementation. There are no additional elements that transform the claim into a patent eligible idea by amounting to significantly more. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly independent claims 7 and 14 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 U.S.C. 101 based upon the same analysis applied to claim 1 above. Therefore claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butterfield et al. (US 2022/0051169) in view of K et al. (US 2023/0153723).
Regarding Amendment Claim 1, Butterfield et al. discloses a system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the system to perform operations comprising: (… techniques described herein are directed to the creation, modification, and/or presentation of a virtual space, canvas, page, or the like for collaborative communication and/or organization within the communication platform. Such a virtual space, canvas, page, or the like can be referred to as an “board.” Butterfield et al. [para. 0014, 0092-0100] (editing/modifying board)]. … the server(s) 102 can include one or more processors 108, computer-readable media 110, one or more communication interfaces 112, and input/output devices Butterfield et al. [para. 0032-0034, 0140]);
receiving, via a virtual space and from a first user profile associated with a user of a communication platform, a first request to build a workflow; (… upon receiving a request to modify a board, the board management component 116 can access data associated with the board and can cause the presentation of one or more user interfaces to enable modification to the board. … the board management component 116 can facilitate the sharing of boards (e.g., with different channels, different groups of users, users associated with different groups, and/or the like), searching for data associated with boards, and/or the like. Butterfield et al. [para. 0036-0035]. …an administrator or other user associated with the first organization can invite new members in the first organization or the second organization via a mention, a profile view, an email, or generating a link from a user interface. Butterfield et al. [para. 0039-0040]. … , the user data 124 can store data in a user profile (which can also be referred to as a “user account”), which can store data associated with a user. Butterfield et al. [para. 0044]);
identifying, based at least in part on the first request, one or more modular functions associated with the virtual space; causing, in response to receiving the first request, a workflow building virtual space to be displayed via a user interface of a user device associated with the first user profile; causing, based at least in part on displaying the workflow building virtual space, the one or more modular functions to be displayed within the workflow building virtual space; (… the board management component 116 can present user interfaces to enable users to modify boards. In an example, the board management component 116 can access data associated with the board and can cause the presentation of one or more user interfaces to enable modification to the board. In some examples, the board management component 116 can receive an indication of an input associated with such user interfaces, which can be associated with a modification request. The modification request can identify the board, an object and/or a section, a user associated with the request, a requested modification, and/or the like. Butterfield et al. [para. 0114, 0126-0131]. … receiving a request to modify a board associated with at least one communication channel of a communication platform, wherein the board is associated with editable text and one or more objects capable of being at least one of reordered, added, deleted, or edited by one or more first users associated with the at least one communication channel; based at least in part on processing the request, modifying the board; and causing the board to be presented via a user interface associated with a member of the at least one communication channel, wherein the board is sharable with one or more second users associated with a different group than the one or more first users. Butterfield et al. [para. 0148-0150]);
Butterfield et al. fails to explicitly disclose receiving, via the workflow building virtual space and from the first user profile, a second request to include a first modular function of the one or more modular functions and a second modular function of the one or more modular functions in the workflow, wherein the second request comprises dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space. K et al. discloses this limitation. (… the workflow manager may be configured to generate a user interface that may allow dragging and dropping of various functionalities, computing applications, etc. for the purposes of generating a particular workflow. The user interface may include one or more graphical panels that may include a listing of workflows and/or components (e.g., partial workflows, functionalities, computing blocks, data, metadata, etc.) of workflows that may be available for selection. The user interface may also include a “canvas” area that may be used generation of a workflow. … The workflow manager may be configured to provide one or more templates (e.g., predefined structures) for generating a portion and/or an entire a workflow. … users may select one or more pre-defined workflows from one or more user interface panels and then drag-and-drop the workflows into workflow manager’s canvas area. … A computing component 114 may refer to a software code that may be configured to perform a particular function, a piece and/or a set of data (e.g., data unique to a particular user and/or data available to a plurality of users) and/or configuration data used to create, modify, etc. one or more software functionalities associated with a particular workflow, sub-workflow, and/or a portion of a workflow. K et al. [para. 0029-0033]. … Upon completion of the workflow and the connection object setup, the workflow may be generated, at 214, as shown in FIG. 2. The generated workflow may be tested. K et al. [para. 0048-0049; Fig. 1-2, 9]. … The workflow controller 712 may also be configured to forward various workflow data to the data processor 714, where the processor 714 may use the data for generation, modification, etc. of new workflows, existing workflows, and/or functionalities that may be associated with such workflows. K et al. [par. 0052-0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of workflow building and collaborative project management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workflow building steps of Butterfield et al. to include receiving, via the workflow building virtual space and from the first user profile, a second request to include a first modular function of the one or more modular functions and a second modular function of the one or more modular functions in the workflow, wherein the second request comprises dragging and linking the first modular function into the workflow of the workflow building virtual space as disclosed by K et al. for generating and/or using one or more workflow managers in computing systems (K et al. [para. 0003]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
generating, based at least in part on receiving the second request, the workflow ( … wherein the request to modify the board comprises a request to add a new section to the board or a request to add a new object to the board. Butterfield et al. [para. 0133, 0148-0150]);
Butterfield et al. fails to explicitly disclose receiving, via the virtual space and from a second user profile, a third request to execute the workflow. K et al. discloses this limitation. (Upon completion of the workflow and the connection object setup, the workflow may be generated, at 214, as shown in FIG. 2. The generated workflow may be tested. K et al. [para. 0048-0049; Fig. 1-2, 9]. … The workflow controller 712 may also be configured to forward various workflow data to the data processor 714, where the processor 714 may use the data for generation, modification, etc. of new workflows, existing workflows, and/or functionalities that may be associated with such workflows. K et al. [par. 0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of workflow building and collaborative project management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workflow building steps of Butterfield et al. to include receiving, via the virtual space and from a second user profile, a third request to execute the workflow as disclosed by K et al. for generating and/or using one or more workflow managers in computing systems (K et al. [para. 0003]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 2, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the system, wherein the one or more modular functions is one or more first modular functions, the operations further comprising: receiving, via the workflow building virtual space and from the first user profile, a fourth request to display one or more second modular functions; identifying, based at least in part on the fourth request, the one or more second modular functions associated with a second type of virtual space, wherein the one or more first modular functions are different than the one or more second modular functions; and causing the one or more second modular functions to be displayed via the workflow building virtual space. (…a board may be associated with channels from different workspaces. In some examples, a board may include files or messages associated with channels from different workspaces. In some examples, a board may be associated with channels from different organizations. Butterfield et al. [para. 0019]. … , a user can input a search query and the board management component 116 can receive the search query, perform a search associated with the board data 132 and identify candidate board(s) to return as search results. Butterfield et al. [para. 0105]. … : receiving a request to modify a board associated with at least one communication channel of a communication platform, wherein the at least one communication channel is associated one or more first users; based at least in part on processing the request, modifying the board; and causing the board to be presented via a user interface associated with a member of the at least one communication channel, wherein the board is sharable with at least one or more second users associated with a different group than the one or more first users. … the request to modify the board comprises a request to add a new section to the board, the operations further comprising: causing one or more section types to be presented via the user interface; and based at least in part on a selection of a section type of the one or more section types, modifying the board to include the new section, the new section being associated with the section type. … wherein the request to modify the board comprises a request to add a new object to the board, the operations further comprising modifying the board to include the new object, wherein the new object comprises text, a task, an event, an image, a graphic, a link to a local object, a link to a remote object, or a file, and the new object is associated with a section of the board. Butterfield et al. [para. 0140-0150] ).
Regarding Claim 3, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the system, wherein the first modular function includes one or more instructions to perform at least one of adding a record to a first list associated with a list virtual space, creating a second list associated with the list virtual space, sharing the first list with a channel, removing content from the first list associated with the list virtual space, replacing the content within the first list associated with the list virtual space, or sharing the first list with one or more user profiles. ( … the sections and/or objects can be reordered and/or otherwise rearranged, new sections and/or objects can be added or removed, and/or data associated with such sections and/or objects can be edited and/or modified. That is, boards can be created and/or modified for various uses. … a communication channel can be between and among various user computing devices, allowing the user computing devices to communicate and share data between and among each other. Butterfield et al. [para. 0015-0017]. … … the board management component 116 can facilitate the sharing of boards (e.g., with different channels, different groups of users, users associated with different groups, and/or the like), searching for data associated with boards, and/or the like. Butterfield et al. [para. 0036-0040]. … text associated with the board can be editable, as described above. Further, in some examples, text associated with the board can be formattable. That is, text can be associated with different formatting, style, or the like. In some examples, text can be hyperlinked, organized in bulleted and/or numbered lists, highlighted, and/or the like. Butterfield et al. [para. 0099]. …, the board management component 116 can receive a request—via a user interface—to add a section and/or an object to a board. Butterfield et al. [para. 0112-0115]).
Regarding Claim 4, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the system, wherein the second modular function includes one or more instructions to perform at least one of: adding content to a canvas associated with a canvas virtual space, creating the canvas associated with a canvas virtual space, finding the canvas associated with a canvas virtual space, replacing the content associated with the canvas associated with a canvas virtual space, sharing the canvas with a channel, or sharing the canvas with one or more user profiles. (… the sections and/or objects can be reordered and/or otherwise rearranged, new sections and/or objects can be added or removed, and/or data associated with such sections and/or objects can be edited and/or modified. That is, boards can be created and/or modified for various uses. … a communication channel can be between and among various user computing devices, allowing the user computing devices to communicate and share data between and among each other. Butterfield et al. [para. 0015-0017]. … … the board management component 116 can facilitate the sharing of boards (e.g., with different channels, different groups of users, users associated with different groups, and/or the like), searching for data associated with boards, and/or the like. Butterfield et al. [para. 0036-0040]. … the boards can be searchable. Butterfield et al. [para. 0094-0096]).
Regarding Claim 5, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the system, wherein the first modular function is associated with a first type of virtual space and the second modular function is associated with a second type of virtual space. (… the board 152 can be shared with another communication channel (or multiple other communication channels), user(s) associated with a workspace (which can be the same workspace or a different workspace as the workspace associated with the at least one communication channel). Butterfield et al. [para. 0092]).
Regarding Claim 6, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the system, the operations further comprising: causing, in response to receiving the third request, the workflow to be performed. K et al. discloses this limitation. (Upon completion of the workflow and the connection object setup, the workflow may be generated, at 214, as shown in FIG. 2. The generated workflow may be tested. K et al. [para. 0048-0049; Fig. 1-2, 9]. … The workflow controller 712 may also be configured to forward various workflow data to the data processor 714, where the processor 714 may use the data for generation, modification, etc. of new workflows, existing workflows, and/or functionalities that may be associated with such workflows. K et al. [par. 0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of workflow building and collaborative project management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workflow building steps of Butterfield et al. to include causing, in response to receiving the third request, the workflow to be performed as disclosed by K et al. for generating and/or using one or more workflow managers in computing systems (K et al. [para. 0003]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claims 7-12, claims 7-12 recite substantially similar limitations to those of claims 1-6 respectively and are therefore rejected based upon the same prior art combination, reasoning, and rationale. Claims 7-12 are directed to One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a system to perform operations, which is disclosed by Butterfield et al. [para. 0032-0034, 0140].
Regarding Claim 13, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, wherein displaying the workflow building virtual space and the one or more modular functions is based at least in part on: receiving, via a virtual space and from the first user profile associated with a user of a communication platform, a third request to build a workflow; and identifying, based at least in part on the third request, one or more modular functions associated with the virtual space. ( the user data 124 can store data in a user profile (which can also be referred to as a “user account”). Butterfield et al. [para. 0044]. … data associated with boards can be searchable using the search mechanism 206, described above. That is, the boards can be searchable. Butterfield et al. [para. 0094]. … a user can input a search query and the board management component 116 can receive the search query, perform a search associated with the board data 132 and identify candidate board(s) to return as search results. Such search results can be presented via the user interface 400. In some examples, such search results can be presented in an order based at least in part on relevance to the search query. Butterfield et al. [para. 0105]. … receiving a request to modify a board associated with at least one communication channel of a communication platform, wherein the board is associated with editable text and one or more objects capable of being at least one of reordered, added, deleted, or edited by one or more first users associated with the at least one communication channel; based at least in part on processing the request, modifying the board; and causing the board to be presented via a user interface associated with a member of the at least one communication channel, wherein the board is sharable with one or more second users associated with a different group than the one or more first users. Butterfield et al. [para. 0148-0150]).
Regarding Claim 14-19, claims 14-19 recite substantially similar limitations to those of claims 1-6 respectively and are therefore rejected based upon the same prior art combination, reasoning, and rationale. Claims 14-19 are directed to a process, which is disclosed by Butterfield et al. [para.0133-0139]: A method implemented at least in part by one or more computing devices of a communication platform .
Regarding Claim 20, Butterfield et al. and K et al. combined disclose the method, wherein displaying the workflow building virtual space and the one or more modular functions is based at least in part on: receiving, via a virtual space and from the first user profile associated with a user of a communication platform, a third request to build a workflow; and identifying, based at least in part on the third request, one or more modular functions associated with the virtual space. (… the user data 124 can store data in a user profile (which can also be referred to as a “user account”). Butterfield et al. [para. 0044]. … data associated with boards can be searchable using the search mechanism 206, described above. That is, the boards can be searchable. Butterfield et al. [para. 0094]. … a user can input a search query and the board management component 116 can receive the search query, perform a search associated with the board data 132 and identify candidate board(s) to return as search results. Such search results can be presented via the user interface 400. In some examples, such search results can be presented in an order based at least in part on relevance to the search query. Butterfield et al. [para. 0105]. … receiving a request to modify a board associated with at least one communication channel of a communication platform, wherein the board is associated with editable text and one or more objects capable of being at least one of reordered, added, deleted, or edited by one or more first users associated with the at least one communication channel; based at least in part on processing the request, modifying the board; and causing the board to be presented via a user interface associated with a member of the at least one communication channel, wherein the board is sharable with one or more second users associated with a different group than the one or more first users. Butterfield et al. [para. 0148-0150]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 12,591,607) - systems and methods for automatically generating content, generating API requests and/or request bodies, structuring user-generated content, and/or generating structured content in collaboration platforms, such as documentation systems, issue tracking systems, project management platforms, and other platforms.
Laetham et al. (US 2019/0392617) - Workflows can be refactored using a visual workflow model, such as within a virtual programming environment. A selection of a group of activities in an existing workflow can be received. The group of activities can be duplicated into a new workflow. Thereafter, the group of activities can be parsed to identify at least one input variable used by the activities of the group and at least one output variable resulting from those activities. The input variables and output variables are then duplicated as inputs and outputs to the new workflow. The previously selected group of activities can be replaced in the existing workflow with an activity based on the new workflow. The input variables and output variables are then mapped to the respective inputs and outputs of that activity.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3623 /RUTAO WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623