DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action based on the application filed on January 31st, 2024, which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined below, of which, claims 1, 8, and 15 are presented in independent form.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Internet E-mail
A written authorization by Applicant is required for the Examiner to respond via
internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the
confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U3.0. 122, such as proposed Examiner’s
Amendments or interview agenda items (MPEP 502.03; See Internet Usage Policy, 64
PR 33056 (June 21, 1999)). To authorize e-mail communications from the Examiner
(e.g. proposed Examiner’s Amendments), the Applicant must place a written
authorization in the record. Applicant may authorize electronic and email communication
by the Examiner via PTO Automated Interview Request web service. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AER) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/298036, filed on June 4th, 2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 contains acronyms such as AI in which its intended meanings are likely to be changed over the time. Thus, such acronym should have spelled out once in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception, is directed to that judicial exception, an abstract idea, as it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1: Claims 1-7 are directed to methods and fall within the statutory category of processes; Claims 8-14 are directed to systems and fall within the statutory category of machines; and Claims 15-20 are directed to computer readable storage medium and fall within the statutory category of articles of manufacture. Therefore, “Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 1, 8, and 15: recite the limitations of “
receiving, from a user, a description of one or more features of the software application design via a chat module;
selecting, by a generative AI system, a previous design that most closely corresponds to the one or more features;
displaying a prototype of the selected design to the user; and
modifying, by the generative AI system, the prototype based on one or more responses from the user received via the chat module”
Step 2A Prong 1:
Steps (a) and (c) as drafted, can be done in human mind with the aid of pen and paper (mental process).
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis:
Claims 1, 8, and 15: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements – steps (b), (d), “a generative AI system,” “chat module,” “displaying a prototype … to the user,” “screen flow view,”” “arrows representing linkages,” “graph view,” “nodes,” “computer system,” “a processor,” “a memory,” and “a computer readable storage medium having data stored therein,” which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions merely applying the abstract idea using (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims 1, 8, and 15 not only recites a judicial exception but that the claim is directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
Claims 1, 8, and 15: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Steps (b), (c), and (d) are recited at high level of generality and amount to no more than generic computing components merely applying the abstract idea and field of use/technological environment.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 1, 8, and 15 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the prototype is repeatedly modified using an iterative process” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 2, 9, and 16 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 2, 9, and 16 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 2, 9, and 16 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the prototype is displayed as a screen flow view, with arrows representing linkages between the one or more features” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 3, 10, and 17 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 3, 10, and 17 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 3, 10, and 17 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the linkages are determined based on at least one of historical data and user input” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 4, 11, and 18 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 4, 11, and 18 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 4, 11, and 18 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the prototype is displayed as a graph view, with nodes representing the one or more features, and arrows representing linkages between the one or more features” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 5, 12, and 19 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 5, 12, and 19 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 5, 12, and 19 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the linkages are determined based on at least one of historical data and user input” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 6, 13, and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 6, 13, and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 6, 13, and 20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the prototype is modified and displayed in real time” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 7, 14, and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 7, 14, and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 7, 14, and 20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 15-20 are directed to a computer readable storage medium. However, it is noted that the specification does not provide an explicit definition of what constitutes a computer readable storage medium. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of a recordable medium, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP § 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 US.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2. Therefore, the claimed computer readable storage medium is ineligible subject matter under §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0365614 – hereinafter, Sun) in view of Sheive et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0047413 – hereinafter, Sheive).
Regarding claim 1:
Sun discloses a method for determining a design for a software application, comprising:
receiving, from a user, a description of one or more features of the software application design (FIGS. 1-2 and associated text, such as, “a user 105 can provide input data to a design framework 160. Examples of input data include inspiration data for a design proposal such as images, audio files, keywords, an existing design, a video, a report outlining parameters or constraints for the design proposal, or the like. The design framework 160 can include a user interface or AI-driven tool configured to receive input data from the user 105” (See paras [0027] – [0028])) [[via a chat module]];
selecting, by a generative AI system, a previous design that most closely corresponds to the one or more features (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “During the design recommendation phase 220, the design framework 160 uses the evaluation generated during the design evaluation phase 215 to provide a design proposal using candidate designs associated with the strongest or highest valuation metrics” (Emphasis added – See para [0030]). FIG. 4 and associated text, such as, “In some examples, the ML models of the learned user preference module 410 can identify current user preferences and/or a current specific design goal for a design proposal as well as overall user preferences based on previous interactions by the user with the design framework 160. In some examples, the ML models of the learned user preference module 410 can identify and/or learn the preferences of a user based on their selection of candidate designs of a design proposal and/or any type of feedback they provide for the candidate design. Thus, the ML models are able to learn and/or identify the current design goal or preference of the user 105 for the current design proposal. Based on the information generated by the ML models of the learned user preference module 410, the adaptive design proposal generator 320 updates or adapts its recommendations to reflect what the user is currently looking for (e.g., current design goal)” (Emphasis added – See paras [0038] – [0039]));
displaying a prototype of the selected design to the user (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “During the design recommendation phase 220, the design framework 160 uses the evaluation generated during the design evaluation phase 215 to provide a design proposal using candidate designs associated with the strongest or highest valuation metrics. The design proposal can then be presented to the user for iterative refinement” (See para [0030]). FIGS. 6-7 and associated text, such as, “FIG. 6 depicts an illustrative example 600 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention. In one example, the creator module 305 (shown in FIG. 3) uses ML models 307 (shown in FIG. 3) or computer graphics techniques for rapid prototyping of package designs…FIG. 7 depicts an illustrative example 700 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention. In some examples, the creator module 305 (shown in FIG. 3) can utilize ML models 307 (shown in FIG. 3) and/or computer graphics techniques for rapid prototyping of package designs.” (See paras [0050] – [0051])); and
modifying, by the generative AI system, the prototype based on one or more responses from the user (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “During the design recommendation phase 220, the design framework 160 uses the evaluation generated during the design evaluation phase 215 to provide a design proposal using candidate designs associated with the strongest or highest valuation metrics. The design proposal can then be presented to the user for iterative refinement…The design process iterates through multiple rounds of the design process until a final design 170 (shown in FIG. 1) is identified.” (Emphasis added – See para [0030])) [[received via the chat module]].
But Sun does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from a user, … via a chat module
However, Sheive discloses:
receiving, from a user, … via a chat module (“In order to facilitate collaboration within the community of developers, our framework will feature its own chat, or instant messaging, system… Each application will have a chat room in which users can discuss the application and how to best modify it, or seek help from other users in creating media or modifying code for that application.” (See paras [0245] – [0252])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sheive into the teachings of Sun because that would have provided a continuous framework with which users can interact, on one or more platforms that support web standards, and which supports the hosting of applications, the publication of hosted applications to a portal within the framework, and the creation and direct editing of files, including text files, that embody those applications and conform to web standards as suggested by Sheive (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the prototype is repeatedly modified using an iterative process (FIG. 1 and associated text, such as, “The design process iterates through multiple rounds of the design process until a final design 170 (shown in FIG. 1) is identified.” (See para [0030]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The creator module 305 transmits the candidate designs to the adaptive design proposal generator 320 of the iterator 310. The iterator 310 includes a design explorer module 315 and/or an adaptive design proposal generator 320 and facilitates the iterative design process for package design” (See para [0033])).
Regarding claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the prototype is displayed as a screen flow view, with arrows representing linkages between the one or more features (FIGS. 6-7 and associated text, such as, “FIG. 6 depicts an illustrative example 600 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention. In one example, the creator module 305 (shown in FIG. 3) uses ML models 307 (shown in FIG. 3) or computer graphics techniques for rapid prototyping of package designs…FIG. 7 depicts an illustrative example 700 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention. In some examples, the creator module 305 (shown in FIG. 3) can utilize ML models 307 (shown in FIG. 3) and/or computer graphics techniques for rapid prototyping of package designs.” (See paras [0050] – [0051])).
Regarding claim 4:
The rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the linkages are determined based on [[at least one of historical data and]] user input (FIGS. 6-7 and associated text, such as, “FIG. 6 depicts an illustrative example 600 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention…FIG. 7 depicts an illustrative example 700 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention... The creator module 305 can receive input data 205 (shown in FIG. 2) in the form of an inspiration image 710, such as the depicted apple. The creator module 305 executes an ML model 307 and/or computer graphics techniques to generate a set 720 of realistic candidate design images shaped like an apple based on the inspiration image 710 of the apple to be used for the design proposal.” (See paras [0050] – [0051])).
Regarding claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Sun does not explicitly teach:
wherein the prototype is displayed as a graph view, with nodes representing the one or more features, and arrows representing linkages between the one or more features.
However, Sheive discloses:
wherein the prototype is displayed as a graph view, with nodes representing the one or more features, and arrows representing linkages between the one or more features (See FIG. 8
).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sheive into the teachings of Sun because that would have provided a continuous framework with which users can interact, on one or more platforms that support web standards, and which supports the hosting of applications, the publication of hosted applications to a portal within the framework, and the creation and direct editing of files, including text files, that embody those applications and conform to web standards as suggested by Sheive (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 6:
The rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, but Sun does not explicitly teach:
wherein the linkages are determined based on at least one of historical data and user input.
However, Sheive discloses:
wherein the linkages are determined based on [[at least one of historical data and]] user input (See FIG. 8
).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sheive into the teachings of Sun because that would have provided a continuous framework with which users can interact, on one or more platforms that support web standards, and which supports the hosting of applications, the publication of hosted applications to a portal within the framework, and the creation and direct editing of files, including text files, that embody those applications and conform to web standards. as suggested by Sheive (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the prototype is modified and displayed in real time (“The updated design proposal that incorporates the feedback received from the designated reviewers can be processed by the design framework 160 in an iterative process that includes evaluation by the evaluator module 325 and presentation of an updated design proposal and updated recommendation to the users 105 (e.g., designated reviewers) by the design explorer module 315. An updated design proposal can include updated and/or replacement candidate designs in response to the feedback received from the designated reviewers and/or based on the user preference profiles associated with the designated reviewers” (See para [0036])).
Regarding claim 8:
This is a computer system version of the rejected method claim 1 above, wherein all the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15:
This is a computer readable storage medium version of the rejected method claim 1 above, wherein all the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claims 5 and 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claims 6 and 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/HANH THI-MINH BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192 December 22nd, 2025