DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action based on the application filed on January 31st, 2024, which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined below, of which, claims 1, 8, and 15 are presented in independent form.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Internet E-mail
A written authorization by Applicant is required for the Examiner to respond via
internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the
confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U3.0. 122, such as proposed Examiner’s
Amendments or interview agenda items (MPEP 502.03; See Internet Usage Policy, 64
PR 33056 (June 21, 1999)). To authorize e-mail communications from the Examiner
(e.g. proposed Examiner’s Amendments), the Applicant must place a written
authorization in the record. Applicant may authorize electronic and email communication
by the Examiner via PTO Automated Interview Request web service. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AER) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/298053, filed on April 10th, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception, is directed to that judicial exception, an abstract idea, as it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1: Claims 1-7 are directed to methods and fall within the statutory category of processes; Claims 8-14 are directed to systems and fall within the statutory category of machines; and Claims 15-20 are directed to computer readable storage medium and fall within the statutory category of articles of manufacture. Therefore, “Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 1, 8, and 15: recite the limitations of “
receiving, from a user, a description of one or more functions of the software application via a chat module;
converting, by a generative AI system, the one or more functions into one or more features of the software application; and
refining, by the generative AI system, the one or more features based on responses from the user received via the chat module.”
Step 2A Prong 1:
Steps (a) and (b) as drafted, can be done in human mind with the aid of pen and paper (mental process).
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis:
Claims 1, 8, and 15: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements – “a generative AI system,” “chat module,” “prototype” “template,” “iterative process” “computer system,” “a processor,” “a memory,” “a computer readable storage medium having data stored therein,” which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions merely applying the abstract idea using (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, Step (c) is recited at high level of generality and amount to no more than generic computing components merely applying the abstract idea and field of use/technological environment.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims 1, 8, and 15 not only recite a judicial exception but that the claims are directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
Claims 1, 8, and 15:
Do the claims recite additional elements, considering them both individually and in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 1, 8, and 15 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, they recite additional element recitation of “generating a template containing the one or more features and displaying the template to the user” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 2, 9, and 16 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 2, 9, and 16 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 2, 9, and 16 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, they recite additional element recitation of “wherein the template is modified based on the responses to include the refined one or more features” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 3, 10, and 17 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 3, 10, and 17 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 3, 10, and 17 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, they recite additional element recitation of “generating a prototype of the one or more features, and modifying the prototype based on the responses to demonstrate the refined one or more features” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 4, 11, and 18 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 4, 11, and 18 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 4, 11, and 18 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, they recite additional element recitation of “wherein the refining is repeated using an iterative process” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 5, 12, and 19 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 5, 12, and 19 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 5, 12, and 19 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, they recite additional element recitation of “generating a prompt to the user to provide a minimum number of details for each of the one or more functions” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 6, 13, and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 6, 13, and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 6, 13, and 20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, they recite additional element recitation of “wherein the minimum number of details is dependent on a type of function” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 7, 14, and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 7, 14, and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 7, 14, and 20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 15-20 are directed to a computer readable storage medium. However, it is noted that the specification does not provide an explicit definition of what constitutes a computer readable storage medium. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of a recordable medium, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP § 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 US.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2. Therefore, the claimed computer readable storage medium is ineligible subject matter under §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0365614 – hereinafter, Sun) in view of Sheive et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0047413 – hereinafter, Sheive).
Regarding claim 1:
Sun discloses a method for determining a template for a software application, comprising:
receiving, from a user, a description of one or more functions of the software application (FIG.3 and associated text, such as, “A user 105, such as a designer, can interact with a creator module 305 of the design framework to provide input data 205 (shown in FIG. 2) and additional information to generate a candidate design or a set of candidate designs for a design proposal for a package design… For example, the creator module 305 can use shape morphing, such as mesh morphing or image morphing to generate and/or refine a candidate design. Mesh morphing involves creating a mesh from triangulation and optimizing the conversion of one mesh to another…In response to receiving the candidate designs from the creator module 305, the adaptive design proposal generator 320 can communicate with the evaluator module 325 to evaluate the candidate designs generated by the creator module 305.” (Underline added – See paras [0031] – [0033])) [[via a chat module]]
converting, by a generative AI system, the one or more functions into one or more features of the software application (FIG.3 and associated text, such as, “The ML models 307 learn how to model and generate new designs using a set of existing designs. Conditional variants take additional inputs that constrain the generation (e.g., generate bottles of a specific color that is specified in the input data 205). The creator module 305 can also use computer graphics techniques to aid in the generation of candidate designs…Inputs of the ML model 327 are candidate designs generated by the creator module 305. Additional inputs can include data associated with design modalities that the user wishes to predict, such as the design and sales per region or customer group, consumer testing scores per customer group, or cost per component…For example, for evaluating the shape of a candidate design, the outputs of a pre-trained image classifier (e.g., deep learning model) are used to distinguish different objects. The evaluation module 325 generates an evaluation of the candidate designs that include scores along the different dimensions or metrics evaluated. The scores of the evaluation can be used by the adaptive design proposal generator 320 to modify, update, or otherwise alter the design proposal to identify or select candidate designs that are more likely to succeed” (See paras [0032] – [0034])); and
refining, by the generative AI system, the one or more features based on responses from the user received (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “During the design recommendation phase 220, the design framework 160 uses the evaluation generated during the design evaluation phase 215 to provide a design proposal using candidate designs associated with the strongest or highest valuation metrics. The design proposal can then be presented to the user for iterative refinement (e.g., receiving feedback and updating candidate designs based on the feedback). The design process iterates through multiple rounds of the design process until a final design 170 (shown in FIG. 1) is identified” (See para [0030])) [[via the chat module]].
But Sun does not explicitly teach:
a chat module
However, Sheive discloses:
a chat module (“In order to facilitate collaboration within the community of developers, our framework will feature its own chat, or instant messaging, system… Each application will have a chat room in which users can discuss the application and how to best modify it, or seek help from other users in creating media or modifying code for that application.” (See paras [0245] – [0252])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sheive into the teachings of Sun because that would have provided a continuous framework with which users can interact, on one or more platforms that support web standards, and which supports the hosting of applications, the publication of hosted applications to a portal within the framework, and the creation and direct editing of files, including text files, that embody those applications and conform to web standards as suggested by Sheive (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further comprising generating a template containing the one or more features (FIG. 1 and associated text, such as, “The design framework 160 can generate, using one or more ML models and techniques, a design proposal based on the input data, any identified constraints or conditions, and/or auxiliary data 110 received and/or accessed by the design framework 160. Examples of auxiliary data 110 include product descriptions 115, consumer insights 120, trend data 130, cost constraints 140, and/or historical sales data 150.” (Underline added – See paras [0027] – [0028]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “A user 105, such as a designer, can interact with a creator module 305 of the design framework to provide input data 205 (shown in FIG. 2) and additional information to generate a candidate design or a set of candidate designs for a design proposal for a package design. The creator module 305 is used for design realization and modification. The creator module 305 generates new candidate designs based on the input data 205 and any constraints or conditions provided by the user 105. The candidate designs are images generated by one or more ML models 307 and are to be used in the design proposal.” (Underline added – See para [0031])) and
displaying the template to the user (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The design proposal can then be presented to the user for iterative refinement (e.g., receiving feedback and updating candidate designs based on the feedback)” (See para [0030])).
Regarding claim 3:
The rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the template is modified based on the responses to include the refined one or more features (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “During the design recommendation phase 220, the design framework 160 uses the evaluation generated during the design evaluation phase 215 to provide a design proposal using candidate designs associated with the strongest or highest valuation metrics. The design proposal can then be presented to the user for iterative refinement (e.g., receiving feedback and updating candidate designs based on the feedback). The design process iterates through multiple rounds of the design process until a final design 170 (shown in FIG. 1) is identified” (See para [0030])).
Regarding claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further comprising
generating a prototype of the one or more features (FIG. 600 and associated text, such as, “FIG. 6 depicts an illustrative example 600 for rapid prototyping of package designs by a machine learning based design framework in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present invention. In one example, the creator module 305 (shown in FIG. 3) uses ML models 307 (shown in FIG. 3) or computer graphics techniques for rapid prototyping of package designs. For example, the creator module 305 receives a design sketch 605 of a bottle as input data 205. The input data 205 (shown in FIG. 2) can also include design inspiration images 610 (e.g., color palette). The creator module 305 can use the input data to generate realistic candidate design images 615 to be used for the design proposal. The candidate design images 615 can be based on the design sketch 605 and the design inspiration images 610.” (See para [0050])), and
modifying the prototype based on the responses to demonstrate the refined one or more features (FIGS. 1, 3 and associated text, such as, “The iterative process of receiving feedback from users and updating the design proposal to include modified or replacement candidate designs can continue until approval of a candidate design or a set of candidate designs is received from the users 105. For example, in some examples, approval can be required from the user that initiated the design process while other examples can require approval from all designated reviewers before identifying and finalizing a candidate design or a set of candidate designs of the design proposal as a final design/design set. The adaptive design proposal generator 320 can generate a final design 170 upon receiving an appropriate level of approval from one or more users 105.” (See para [0037])).
Regarding claim 5:
The rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the refining is repeated using an iterative process (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “During the design recommendation phase 220, the design framework 160 uses the evaluation generated during the design evaluation phase 215 to provide a design proposal using candidate designs associated with the strongest or highest valuation metrics. The design proposal can then be presented to the user for iterative refinement (e.g., receiving feedback and updating candidate designs based on the feedback). The design process iterates through multiple rounds of the design process until a final design 170 (shown in FIG. 1) is identified.” (Underline added – See para [0030])).
Regarding claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further comprising generating a prompt to the user to provide a minimum number of details for each of the one or more functions (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “Conditional variants take additional inputs that constrain the generation (e.g., generate bottles of a specific color that is specified in the input data 205). The creator module 305 can also use computer graphics techniques to aid in the generation of candidate designs. For example, the creator module 305 can use shape morphing, such as mesh morphing or image morphing to generate and/or refine a candidate design. Mesh morphing involves creating a mesh from triangulation and optimizing the conversion of one mesh to another. The ML models 307 can use a set of designs for the generative model to learn the design space for the design proposal. The output is the trained model, which then can output candidate designs sampled from the design space. If conditional models are used, additional inputs could be the design sketch or outline, some specific design details (e.g., color, size, material, etc.), style inspiration images, etc.” (See para [0032]). “Additional inputs can include data associated with design modalities that the user wishes to predict, such as the design and sales per region or customer group, consumer testing scores per customer group, or cost per component.” (See para [0034])).
Regarding claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Sun further discloses wherein the minimum number of details is dependent on a type of function (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “Conditional variants take additional inputs that constrain the generation (e.g., generate bottles of a specific color that is specified in the input data 205). The creator module 305 can also use computer graphics techniques to aid in the generation of candidate designs. For example, the creator module 305 can use shape morphing, such as mesh morphing or image morphing to generate and/or refine a candidate design. Mesh morphing involves creating a mesh from triangulation and optimizing the conversion of one mesh to another. The ML models 307 can use a set of designs for the generative model to learn the design space for the design proposal. The output is the trained model, which then can output candidate designs sampled from the design space. If conditional models are used, additional inputs could be the design sketch or outline, some specific design details (e.g., color, size, material, etc.), style inspiration images, etc.” (See para [0032]).
Regarding claim 8:
This is a computer system version of the rejected method claim 1 above, wherein all the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15:
This is a computer readable storage medium version of the rejected method claim 1 above, wherein all the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claims 6 and 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/HANH THI-MINH BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192 February 7th, 2026