DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asahi Glass #1 (WO 2016/185898; applicant cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Asahi #1 discloses a glass plate 11 for a vehicle; a first bus bar 26 provided in or on the glass plate and including an upper portion extending in a direction along an upper edge of the glass plate (Fig. 4); a second bus bar 27 provided in or on the glass plate and including a lower portion extending in a direction along a lower edge of the glass plate (Fig. 4); and an antenna 18 disposed in a space near the upper portion and configured to transmit and receive a radio wave having a certain frequency; wherein the glass plate has a heating area extending between the upper portion and the lower portion (Fig. 4; between bus bars 26 and 27), and a non-heating area extending above the upper portion (Fig. 4); wherein the heating area is an area where a conductive member 13 is disposed (Fig. 4), the conductive member being configured to flow a direct current in an up-down direction by applying the direct voltage between the first bus bar and the second bus bar by the power supply 16, 17 such that the heating area is heated by heat generation of the conductive member; and wherein the antenna 18 has a conductor spaced apart from the glass plate and opposed to the glass plate (see Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 2, there is a gap between the conductor 13 and the upper portion as viewed in a horizontal direction from a vehicle interior side (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, the non- heating area has a recessed portion 41 (Fig. 4) descending downward as viewed in a horizontal direction from the vehicle interior side; and wherein the recessed portion is configured to overlap with a projected plane formed by projecting the conductor onto the glass plate in the horizontal direction.
Regarding Claim 11, the antenna 18 has a radiating surface radiating the radio wave, and a dielectric 33 having a relative dielectric constant of greater than 1 is disposed between the glass plate and the radiating surface (Fig. 11; translation, page 21).
Regarding Claim 12, the dielectric 33 includes a resin (translation; page 24).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, the antenna 18 has a radiating surface radiating the radio wave, and the radiating surface is disposed substantially parallel to the glass plate (Fig. 11), and substantially parallel to a vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 16, the antenna 18 is disposed in a space near the upper portion in a central portion of the glass plate in a horizontal direction (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 15, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi Glass #1 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Asahi Glass #2 (JP 2003-170739).
Regarding Claim 4, It is unclear if Asahi #1 discloses an angle of the conductor. Asahi #2 discloses a windshield system including an antenna area 10 (Fig. 1A) wherein the entire windshield is set at an angle greater than 5 degrees to the horizontal (Fig. 1B; translation, paragraph 0022). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the windshield of Asahi #1, and the conductor, at an angle of greater than 5 degrees as it is a standard windshield mounting angle used in the art, as taught by Asahi #2.
Regarding Claim 15, the antenna area 10 of Asahi #2 is a patch style film antenna.
Regarding Claim 17, Asahi #2 discloses that the windshield may be in the range of 20 to 30 degrees.
Regarding Claim 18, Asahi #2 discloses the antenna transmits in 5.8GHz (paragraph 0017).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, applicant’s use of the formula:(1/4) x ƛ ≤ D wherein the antenna is configured to transmit and receive a radio wave having a wavelength ƛ in air, and the gap has a length D in a vertical direction, is novel.
Regarding Claims 7-10, applicant having the antenna configured to transmit and receive a vertically polarized wave, and a projected surface on which the conductor is projected horizontally onto the glass plate overlaps the heating area, is novel.
Conclusion
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612