Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake (US 2019/0306919 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Miyake discloses one or a plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) configured to: when an event of starting a direct operation (Fig. 3, T70, DPP connection selected; par. 39) for an image processing apparatus (Fig. 1, printer 100) has occurred, display predetermined identification information (Fig. 3, T72, display QR Code) on the image processing apparatus (In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped., par. 48); and restrict remote operations for the image processing apparatus (As described above, the Wi-Fi I/F 116 of the printer 100 is not configured to simultaneously establish WFD connections with a plurality of terminals. If a WFD connection with a first terminal (e.g., 10B) is disconnected at S24 in FIG. 7 or S124/S224 in FIG. 8, the CPU 132 may appropriately establish a WFD connection with a second terminal (e.g., 10A) at S30 in FIG. 7 or S150 in FIG. 8., par. 128) performed by terminals other than a terminal that has read the identification information (In the second illustrative embodiment, subsequent to receiving an instruction for outputting a QR code or NFC information obtained using the public key PPK1 (T610, T651 in FIG. 12) in a state in which a WFD connection has been established between the printer 100 and the terminal 10B, the printer 100 disconnects the WFD connection (T632, T672). This configuration may prevent such a situation that a new WFD connection is not established due to another WFD connection established. The printer 100 receives an AReq (T690) from the terminal 10A. The AReq includes the encrypted data ED1, which is generated by encrypting the random value RV1 using the shared key SK1. The shared key SK1 is generated using the public key PPK1. The printer 100 sends an ARes to the terminal 10A (T690). The printer 100 receives the printer configuration object from the terminal 10A (T692). The printer 100 may appropriately establish a WFD connection, using the printer configuration object, between the printer 100 and the terminal 10A (T694, T696)., par. 133).
Regarding claim 2: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Miyake further discloses display on the image processing apparatus, as the identification information, information in which information about the image processing apparatus and information for authentication are associated (In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped., par. 48); and restrict remote operations for the image processing apparatus (As described above, the Wi-Fi I/F 116 of the printer 100 is not configured to simultaneously establish WFD connections with a plurality of terminals. If a WFD connection with a first terminal (e.g., 10B) is disconnected at S24 in FIG. 7 or S124/S224 in FIG. 8, the CPU 132 may appropriately establish a WFD connection with a second terminal (e.g., 10A) at S30 in FIG. 7 or S150 in FIG. 8., par. 128) performed by terminals other than a terminal that has been authenticated based on the information for authentication among terminals that have read the identification information (In the second illustrative embodiment, subsequent to receiving an instruction for outputting a QR code or NFC information obtained using the public key PPK1 (T610, T651 in FIG. 12) in a state in which a WFD connection has been established between the printer 100 and the terminal 10B, the printer 100 disconnects the WFD connection (T632, T672). This configuration may prevent such a situation that a new WFD connection is not established due to another WFD connection established. The printer 100 receives an AReq (T690) from the terminal 10A. The AReq includes the encrypted data ED1, which is generated by encrypting the random value RV1 using the shared key SK1. The shared key SK1 is generated using the public key PPK1. The printer 100 sends an ARes to the terminal 10A (T690). The printer 100 receives the printer configuration object from the terminal 10A (T692). The printer 100 may appropriately establish a WFD connection, using the printer configuration object, between the printer 100 and the terminal 10A (T694, T696)., par. 133).
Regarding claim 3: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 2. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to display the identification information on the image processing apparatus (Fig. 3, T72, Display QR Code), the identification information (Fig. 3, QR Code) being one-time identification information in which the information for authentication is updated every time that the identification information is displayed on the image processing apparatus (In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped.
Based on a user's operation of the terminal 10A for scanning the QR code at T74, the terminal 10A causes the camera 115 to scan the QR code. At T76, the terminal 10A decodes the scanned QR code and obtains information, such as the public key of the printer 100., pars. 48-49; also Fig. 8, once an authentication request does not occur, S156 execute re-establishment processing which would go through the authentication process of displaying a QR Code again to authenticate the terminal with the printer).
Regarding claim 4: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 2. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to restrict remote operations for the image processing apparatus (As described above, the Wi-Fi I/F 116 of the printer 100 is not configured to simultaneously establish WFD connections with a plurality of terminals. If a WFD connection with a first terminal (e.g., 10B) is disconnected at S24 in FIG. 7 or S124/S224 in FIG. 8, the CPU 132 may appropriately establish a WFD connection with a second terminal (e.g., 10A) at S30 in FIG. 7 or S150 in FIG. 8., par. 128) performed by terminals other than a terminal that has been authenticated based on the information for authentication among terminals that have read the identification information (Fig. 3, T72, scan QR Code), the information for authentication being unused (Fig. 8, no authentication request received at S140 and S156 execute re-establishment processing).
Regarding claim 8: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 2. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to, after the identification information is displayed on the image processing apparatus (Fig. 3, T72, display QR Code), when the direct operation is completed or when the direct operation is not started, restrict a remote operation for the image processing apparatus by the terminal that has read the identification information (As described above, the Wi-Fi I/F 116 of the printer 100 is not configured to simultaneously establish WFD connections with a plurality of terminals. If a WFD connection with a first terminal (e.g., 10B) is disconnected at S24 in FIG. 7 or S124/S224 in FIG. 8, the CPU 132 may appropriately establish a WFD connection with a second terminal (e.g., 10A) at S30 in FIG. 7 or S150 in FIG. 8., par. 128).
Regarding claim 16: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 16. Thus, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. A non-transitory computer readable medium is inherently taught as evidenced by CPU 132 and various memories stored therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of White (US 2024/0013216 A1).
Regarding claim 5: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 4. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to, after the identification information is displayed on the image processing apparatus (Fig. 3, T72, display QR Code), when a predetermined condition is satisfied (Fig. 3, T70, DPP connection selected); on the image processing apparatus the identification information in which the information for authentication has been updated (In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped.
Based on a user's operation of the terminal 10A for scanning the QR code at T74, the terminal 10A causes the camera 115 to scan the QR code. At T76, the terminal 10A decodes the scanned QR code and obtains information, such as the public key of the printer 100., pars. 48-49; also Fig. 8, once an authentication request does not occur, S156 execute re-establishment processing which would go through the authentication process of displaying a QR Code again to authenticate the terminal with the printer).
Miyake fails to specifically address display in a switched manner.
White discloses display in a switched manner (prompt the customer to try to read the QR code again, par. 119).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include display in a switched manner in order to provide a way to authenticate in the event the authentication has lapsed or was not proper.
Regarding claim 6: Miyake in view of White satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Miyake further discloses wherein the condition is that a job designated by the terminal that has read the identification information has been executed (Fig. 3, selecting DPP Connection (T70) and scanning a QR Code (T72) and In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped., par. 48).
Regarding claim 7: Miyake in view of White satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Miyake further discloses wherein the condition is that a request for authentication has been made by another terminal (As described above, the Wi-Fi I/F 116 of the printer 100 is not configured to simultaneously establish WFD connections with a plurality of terminals. If a WFD connection with a first terminal (e.g., 10B) is disconnected at S24 in FIG. 7 or S124/S224 in FIG. 8, the CPU 132 may appropriately establish a WFD connection with a second terminal (e.g., 10A) at S30 in FIG. 7 or S150 in FIG. 8., par. 128) that has read the identification information (subsequent to receiving an instruction for outputting a QR code or NFC information obtained using the public key PPK1 (T610, T651 in FIG. 12) in a state in which a WFD connection has been established between the printer 100 and the terminal 10B, the printer 100 disconnects the WFD connection (T632, T672)., par. 133).
Claim(s) 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Onishi (US 2018/0176404 A1).
Regarding claim 9: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 8. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to; from the image processing apparatus, determine that the direct operation is completed or the direct operation is not started.
Miyake fails to specifically address when a person has moved away.
Onishi discloses when a person has moved away (In a case where there is no input during counting of the wait timer the second time, and furthermore the person moved away from the image processing apparatus 10, and after the second timeout, no person is detected by the human detection sensor 601 (timeout in step S308, no detection of a person in step S322)., par. 74).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include when a person has moved away in order to wait for user input as taught by Onishi (par. 74).
Regarding claim 11: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to; the image processing apparatus, determine that the direct operation is to start (Fig. 3, T72, display QR Code).
Miyake fails to specifically address when an object has approached.
Onishi discloses when an object has approached (The sensor unit 600 comprises a human detection sensor 601 and a determination unit 603, and detects a person positioned in the vicinity of the image processing apparatus 10. The human detection sensor 601 has a fixed detection range, and may be an ultrasonic sensor, a pyroelectric sensor, an infrared array sensor, or the like. The determination unit 603 detects whether or not an object (person) is in the detection range of the human detection sensor based on output of the human detection sensor 601., par. 30).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include when an object has approached in order to detect whether or not an object (person) is in the detection range as taught by Onishi (par. 30).
Regarding claim 12: Miyake in view of Onishi satisfy all the elements of claim 1. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to; when a person has approached the image processing apparatus, determine that the direct operation is to start (Fig. 3, T72, display QR Code).
Miyake fails to specifically address when a person has approached.
Onishi discloses when a person has approached (The sensor unit 600 comprises a human detection sensor 601 and a determination unit 603, and detects a person positioned in the vicinity of the image processing apparatus 10. The human detection sensor 601 has a fixed detection range, and may be an ultrasonic sensor, a pyroelectric sensor, an infrared array sensor, or the like. The determination unit 603 detects whether or not an object (person) is in the detection range of the human detection sensor based on output of the human detection sensor 601., par. 30).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include when a person has approached in order to detect whether or not an object (person) is in the detection range as taught by Onishi (par. 30).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Kojima (US 2010/0073740 A1).
Regarding claim 10: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 8. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to; from the image processing apparatus, determine that the direct operation is completed (In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped., par. 48) or the direct operation is not started.
Miyake fails to specifically address when a document has been removed.
Kojima discloses when a document has been removed (document is removed, par. 37).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include when a document has been removed in order to determine whether a function has been performed or not as taught by Kojima (par. 37).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Onishi and further in view of Kojima.
Regarding claim 13: Miyake in view of Onishi satisfy all the elements of claim 11. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to; the image processing apparatus, determine that the direct operation is to start (In the example case A3-1 as depicted in FIG. 3, the printer 100 receives, at T70, a user's selection of the “DPP connection” in the selection screen. At T72, the printer 100 causes the display 114 to display a QR code of the printer 100. The QR code is a coded image that is obtained by encoding information, such as a public key of the printer 100. The public key of the printer 100 may be pre-stored (e.g., by a printer manufacturer) in the memory 134. The QR code may be generated by the printer 100 at the time of execution of T72, or may be stored in the memory 134 before the printer 100 is shipped., par. 48).
Miyake in view of Onishi fail to specifically address when a document has been set on.
Kojima discloses when a document has been set on (determines that the document is placed on, par. 37).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyake in view of Onishi to include when a document has been set on in order to determine that a function is ready to begin.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Mori (US 2021/0400153 A1).
Regarding claim 14: Miyake satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to, in a case where the image processing apparatus (Fig. 3, printer 100); by the terminal (Fig. 3, Terminal 10A) that has read the identification information (Fig. 3, T72, scan QR Code), display on the terminal information indicating that the image processing apparatus (Fig. 3, T70, display QR Code); by the terminal (Fig. 3, Terminal 10A).
Miyake fails to specifically address is not capable of executing a job designated; is not capable of executing the job designated.
Mori discloses is not capable of executing a job designated (In step S604, the operation processing unit 204 displays the execution button 701 in a grayout in a case where it is determined that job execution is not possible based on the determination result by the comparison in step S603 and adds and displays a reason why execution is not possible including status information under the execution button 701. Then the processing is advanced to step S606. This reason why execution is not possible may be in a form that is stored in a memory or the like as text in advance and displayed when a corresponding error has occurred or may be in a form that embeds in relation to predecided text the information that the apparatus information management unit 205 manages when an error has occurred. In the example of FIG. 7, a print job that uses A3 paper is accumulated in a print app that corresponds to the execution button 701. In such a case, the job information comparison unit 206, in a case where A3 paper is not set in the image processing apparatus 1 or in a case where the set A3 paper is insufficient, determines that job execution by the execution button 701 is not possible due to insufficiency of A3 paper. Accordingly, the operation processing unit 204 displays that A3 paper is insufficient as an error message 702 in a region under (near) the execution button 701. Also, the operation processing unit 204 changes the execution button 701 to unselectable such that processing is not executed even if the execution button 701 is selected and displays it., par. 55); is not capable of executing the job designated (In step S604, the operation processing unit 204 displays the execution button 701 in a grayout in a case where it is determined that job execution is not possible based on the determination result by the comparison in step S603 and adds and displays a reason why execution is not possible including status information under the execution button 701. Then the processing is advanced to step S606. This reason why execution is not possible may be in a form that is stored in a memory or the like as text in advance and displayed when a corresponding error has occurred or may be in a form that embeds in relation to predecided text the information that the apparatus information management unit 205 manages when an error has occurred. In the example of FIG. 7, a print job that uses A3 paper is accumulated in a print app that corresponds to the execution button 701. In such a case, the job information comparison unit 206, in a case where A3 paper is not set in the image processing apparatus 1 or in a case where the set A3 paper is insufficient, determines that job execution by the execution button 701 is not possible due to insufficiency of A3 paper. Accordingly, the operation processing unit 204 displays that A3 paper is insufficient as an error message 702 in a region under (near) the execution button 701. Also, the operation processing unit 204 changes the execution button 701 to unselectable such that processing is not executed even if the execution button 701 is selected and displays it., par. 55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include is not capable of executing a job designated; is not capable of executing the job designated in order to provide the user with a display that shows that the designated job cannot be executed and the reason why it cannot be executed as taught by Mori (par. 55).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Mori and further in view of Kaneko (US 2021/0303246 A1).
Regarding claim 15: Miyake in view of Mori satisfy all the elements of claim 14. Miyake further discloses wherein the one or the plurality of processors (Fig. 1, CPU 132) are configured to display on the terminal (Fig. 3, display QR Code on terminal 10A) at least one of information for allowing the image processing apparatus to execute the designated job (The printer 100 is configured to execute printing, par. 33); and is executable by the image processing apparatus (The printer 100 is configured to execute printing, par. 33).
Miyake fails to specifically address from the designated job.
Mori discloses from the designated job (Fig. 6, S605).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include from the designated job in order to determine that job execution is possible as taught by Mori (par. 55).
Miyake in view of Mori fail to specifically address and information about a job that is different.
Kaneko discloses and information about a job that is different (Fig. 22, list of print jobs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyake in view of Mori to include and information about a job that is different in order to provide a list of additional print jobs as taught by Koneka (Fig. 22).
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
26 August 2026