DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/429,441, “POSITIVE ELECTRODE FOR SECONDARY BATTERY”, was filed with the USPTO on 2/1/2024 and has a foreign priority document of JP2023-015224 filed on 2/3/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 2/1/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/429,441, filed on 2/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,791,452 (hereinafter 452’) in view of Lee et al. (US 20160043430 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 452’ teaches a positive electrode (positive electrode, claim 1 of 452’) for a secondary battery, comprising:
a positive electrode current collector (current collector, claim 1 of 452’); and
a positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode active material layer, claim 1 of 452’),
the positive electrode active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material layer containing a positive electrode active material, see claim 1 of 452’), and
the positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, claim 1 of 452’) being with a solid electrolyte (solid electrolyte, claim 1 of 452’).
452’ does not teach the positive electrode active material being in contact with a solid electrolyte having a median diameter of 150 nm or less.
Lee et al. teaches positive electrode active material (16, Fig. 1) being in contact with (contact area, [0029]; also see Fig. 1) a solid electrolyte (14, Fig. 1; also see first solid electrolyte particle, [0030]) having a median diameter of 150 nm or less (1 nm to 100 nm, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode taught by 452’ by having the positive electrode active material contacts with the solid electrolyte particles as taught by Lee et al. to increase a contact area between the solid electrolyte particles and an active material and increase the amount of movement of lithium ions, therefore to improve the performance of the secondary battery (see Lee et al. [0029]); and to modify the solid electrolyte taught by 452’ to have the average particle diameter (D50) in the range of 1 nm to 100 nm taught by Lee et al. because a process of preparing solid electrolyte particles having D50 less than 1 nm is difficult and the movement of lithium ions at an interface is not easy when solid electrolyte particles having D50 greater than 100 nm (see Lee et al. [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. (US 20120115028 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20160043430 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ueno et al. teaches a positive electrode (positive electrode active material layer/current collector of first example, [0061]; also see 20, Fig. 1) for a secondary battery (all-solid battery of first example, [0067]; also see 100, Fig. 1), comprising:
a positive electrode current collector (current collector of first example, [0061]; also see 11, Fig. 1); and a positive electrode active material layer (first positive electrode active material layer: LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:2, [0061]; also see 12a, Fig. 1),
the positive electrode active material layer (first positive electrode active material layer: LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:2, [0061]; also see 12a, Fig. 1; note: 12a has both 1 and 2, [0027]) comprising a positive electrode active material (LiCoO2, [0061]; also see 1, Fig. 1), and
the positive electrode active material (LiCoO2, [0061]; also see 1, Fig. 1) being in contact with (1 contacts with 2, see Fig. 1; also see “LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 are mixed and pressed”, [0061]) a solid electrolyte (75Li2S-25P2S5, [0061]; also see 2, Fig. 1).
Ueno et al. does not teach a solid electrolyte having a median diameter of 150 nm or less.
Lee et al. teaches a solid electrolyte (14, Fig. 1; also see first solid electrolyte particle, [0030]) having a median diameter of 150 nm or less (1 nm to 100 nm, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the solid electrolyte 75Li2S-25P2S5 taught by Ueno et al. to have the average particle diameter (D50) in the range of 1 nm to 100 nm taught by Lee et al. because a process of preparing solid electrolyte particles having D50 less than 1 nm is difficult and the movement of lithium ions at an interface is not easy when solid electrolyte particles having D50 greater than 100 nm (see Lee et al. [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Ueno et al. in view of Lee et al. teaches further comprising an adhesive layer (second positive electrode active material layer: LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:5, Ueno [0061]; also see 12b, Ueno Fig. 1; note: “adhesive” because of laminated body, see Ueno [0061]) formed on at least one of laminated surfaces (surface when subsequently, the first positive electrode active material layer and the second positive electrode active material layer were bonded to each other, Ueno [0061]; also see the surface between 12a and 12b, Ueno Fig. 1) of the positive electrode active material layer,
wherein the adhesive layer (second positive electrode active material layer: LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:5, Ueno [0061]; also see 12b, Ueno Fig. 1) comprises the solid electrolyte (75Li2S-25P2S5 of Ueno modified with Lee) having the median diameter of 150 nm or less (1 nm to 100 nm, Lee [0030]) as a main component (75Li2S-25P2S5 is 62.5 volume%; note: LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:5, Ueno [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Ueno et al. in view of Lee et al. teaches wherein a content of the solid electrolyte (volume% of 75Li2S-25P2S5, Ueno [0061]) having the median diameter of 150 nm or less (1 nm to 100 nm, Lee [0030]) is greater toward (75Li2S-25P2S5 in second positive electrode active material layer (12b) is 62.5 volume%, which is greater than 40 volume% of 75Li2S-25P2S5 in first positive electrode active material layer (12a); note: second positive electrode active material layer (12b): LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:5; first positive electrode active material layer (12a): LiCoO2 and 75Li2S-25P2S5 with volume ratio of 3:2, Ueno [0061]) a laminated surface (surface where 12b and 40 contact, see Ueno Fig. 1; “laminated” see laminated body, Ueno [0061]) where a solid electrolyte layer (solid electrolyte layer of first example, Ueno [0061]; also see 40, Ueno Fig. 1) is laminated in a thickness direction (direction from 12a to 12b, see Ueno Fig. 1) of the positive electrode (20, Ueno Fig. 1) for a secondary battery (100, Ueno Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Horikawa): US 20200212499 A1, Fig. 1;
(Kuriki): US 20230009782 A1, Fig. 2;
(Kojima): US 20200212479 A1, Fig. 2.
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723