Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “member to be cleaned is one of a charging member, a transfer member, a fixing member, or a transporting member” of claims 8 and 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218).
Regarding claim 1, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1-3, #2b); and a cleaning blade, comprising a contact portion (fig.2, edge of #2h contacts #2b) that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned (fig.2, #2h contacting #2b) and cleans the member to be cleaned and that is provided with both end portions in a longitudinal direction protruding from the member to be cleaned (see fig.3, width #2h & #2b; or one of the listed apparatus in fig.5B); wherein a contact angle of the cleaning blade to the member to be cleaned is 18° or more and 50° or less (see contact angle in fig.2 between #2h and #2b).
Regarding claim 2, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) teach an image forming apparatus wherein a protrusion length of the member to be cleaned protruding at an end portion of the cleaning blade is 0.1 mm or more, wherein the protrusion length is measured in the longitudinal direction of the cleaning blade (fig.3, difference between 363.5 mm and 362 mm results in an end protrusion of 0.75 mm, greater than 0.1 mm; same with fig.5B, second apparatus, third apparatus; para.0059-0062).
Regarding claim 3, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the protrusion length of the member to be cleaned protruding at the end portion of the cleaning blade is 1.0 mm or more (fig.5B, second apparatus, difference between 363.5 mm and 355 mm results in a difference on one end of 4.25 mm; para.0059-0060).
Regarding claim 7, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) teach a process cartridge (fig.1, #2; para.0023) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1-3, #2b); and a cleaning blade that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned (fig.2, #2h contacting #2b) and cleans the member to be cleaned and that is provided with both end portions in a longitudinal direction protruding from the member to be cleaned (see fig.3, width #2h & #2b), wherein the process cartridge is detachably attached to an image forming apparatus (fig.1).
While the Office contends that the depicted configuration may have a contact angle that would fall within the claimed range, reference is silent thereto.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) (of a similar configuration to that of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) ) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1-2A, #2); and a cleaning blade that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned (fig.1-2A, #9 contacting #2) and cleans the member to be cleaned; wherein a contact angle of the cleaning blade to the member to be cleaned is 18° or more and 50° or less (see contact angle in fig.2A, #α; col.5, ln.14-16).
If the teachings of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) are not sufficiently convincing, it would have at least been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to set the contact angle of the cleaning blade of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) to be in the range claimed as in Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) in order to effect a good cleaning operation (col.5, ln.14-16).
However, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) fail to teach a surface layer of the contact portion of the cleaning blade having a layer impregnated with diamond-like carbon or a diamond-like carbon layer.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) teaches an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1, #12); and a cleaning blade (fig.1, #20), comprising a contact portion that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned and cleans the member to be cleaned (see fig.1, end of #20 contacts #12), wherein a contact angle of the cleaning blade to the member to be cleaned is 18° or more and 50° or less (para.0175-0176) and wherein a surface layer of the contact portion of the cleaning blade has a layer impregnated with diamond-like carbon or a diamond-like carbon layer (para.0010&0012-0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the cleaning blade coating of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) by using the coating material as in Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) because it is a conventionally known coating for the purpose that results in a low friction coefficient and excellent wear resistance (para.0012-0013) and is known to be used to prevent chattering and poor cleaning performance (para.0009-0010).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 5,765,088).
Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) teach all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 4 and 6 depend.
However, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) fail to teach specifics about the cleaning blade’s composition or contact pressure.
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama et al. (US 5,765,088) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) similar to that of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1, #11); and a cleaning blade that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned (fig.1, #611 contacting #11) and cleans the member to be cleaned wherein a line contact pressure of the cleaning blade to the member to be cleaned is 1.5 gf/mm or more and 4.0 gf/mm or less (col.21, ln.25-26).
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama et al. (US 5,765,088) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) similar to that of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1, #11); and a cleaning blade that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned (fig.1, #611 contacting #11) and cleans the member to be cleaned wherein a Young's modulus of the contact portion of the cleaning blade that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned is 5 MPa or more and 30 MPa or less (col.21, ln.28-30: 30 to 120 kg/cm2 is the equivalent of 2.94 MPa to 11.77 MPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the blade of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) to be configured with the properties found in Nakayama et al. (US 5,765,088) so as to maintain sufficient cleaning performance while preventing blade edge breakage, wear of the blade and wear of the member to be cleaned (col.21, ln.24-35).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (US Pub.2006/0216084).
Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) teach all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 8 depends.
However, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) fail to teach the cleaning blade being used for anything other than a photoreceptor.
Regarding claim 8, Kojima et al. (US Pub.2006/0216084) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.3, #31); and a cleaning blade (fig.3, #342), comprising a contact portion that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned and cleans the member to be cleaned (fig.3, #342a), wherein the member to be cleaned is one of a charging member, a transfer member, a fixing member, or a transporting member (para.0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kuribayashi et al. (US 5,438,400) and in view of Sugimoto (US Pub.2007/0078218) by using the cleaning blade configuration for other members to be cleaned in the image forming apparatus as in Kojima et al. (US Pub.2006/0216084) because it is known in the art that a blade usable for a photoreceptor/image carrier can also be used for cleaning other parts of the apparatus (para.0077). As such, the claim limitations would be easily arrived at by one of ordinary skill in the art without undue experimentation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) in view of Kojima et al. (US Pub.2006/0216084).
Regarding claim 9, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.1-3, #2b); and a cleaning blade (fig.2, edge of #2h contacts #2b) that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned (fig.2, #2h contacting #2b) and cleans the member to be cleaned and that is provided with both end portions in a longitudinal direction protruding from the member to be cleaned (see fig.3, width #2h & #2b; or one of the listed apparatus in fig.5B).
However, Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) fail to teach the cleaning blade being used for anything other than a photoreceptor.
Regarding claim 9, Kojima et al. (US Pub.2006/0216084) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a member to be cleaned (fig.3, #31); and a cleaning blade (fig.3, #342) that is brought into contact with the member to be cleaned and cleans the member to be cleaned (fig.3, #342a), wherein the member to be cleaned is one of a charging member, a transfer member, a fixing member, or a transporting member (para.0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Aso et al. (US Pub.2009/0297239) by using the cleaning blade configuration for other members to be cleaned in the image forming apparatus as in Kojima et al. (US Pub.2006/0216084) because it is known in the art that a blade usable for a photoreceptor/image carrier can also be used for cleaning other parts of the apparatus (para.0077). As such, the claim limitations would be easily arrived at by one of ordinary skill in the art without undue experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on solely the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/LKR/
10/1/2025
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852