DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 19th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every Claim objection, 112(f) interpretation, and 112(b) rejection previously cited in the Non-Final rejection mailed December 19th, 2026. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed March 19th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 16-19 (as numbered by the Applicant) in the Remarks, “Furthermore, it is stated on pages 17-18 of the Office Action that "Widder teaches a lower edge of the substrate is not connected to the surrounding wall, and a liquid communicating hole is formed between any two adjacent fins between the lower edge of the substrate and the surrounding wall..." However, please refer to the figure below. Widder discloses a printed circuit board assembly for use in a power tool including a motor and a power source (see, e.g., paragraph [0004]). During operation of the rotary hammer 10, the motor 18 rotates to drive the impeller 19 and draw airflow AF into the motor housing 14 via the inlet openings 16. That airflow AF is directed past the PCBA 200 and the motor 18 before being exhausted from the exhaust opening 15. As the airflow AF passes the PCBA 200, heat is transferred from the secondary fins 236 of the secondary heat sink 232 to the airflow AF (more specifically, a second airflow path AF2 that passes along the secondary fins 236) via convection, and the heat is carried by the airflow AF through the exhaust openings 15 and to the surroundings of the rotary hammer 10. Depending on orientation of the PCBA 200, airflow AF generated by the impeller 19 may split between a first airflow path AF1 that passes along the primary fins 208 and a second airflow path AF2 that passes along the secondary fins 236. After passing the PCBA 200, the first airflow path AF1 and the second airflow path AF2 may converge toward one another for exhaust via the exhaust openings 15 (see, e.g., paragraph [0028]). It is clear that Widder merely places PCBA 200 inside the motor housing 14 and provides the primary fins 208 and the secondary fins 236 on the outer casing of PCBA 200, so that the airflow AF can help PCBA 200 dissipate heat quickly as it passes through. Therefore, like Yu, Widder also employs dry cooling technology with air as the primary heat exchange medium; in other words, Widder's structural and functional characteristics are also incompatible with Whiticar's operational requirements, and there is no motivation to combine Whiticar, Yu, and Widder. (emphasis added) Moreover, the flow channels formed by both Widder and Yu are for flowing gas, while the liquid communicating holes of the present application are for flowing liquid. Therefore, even the combination of Whiticar, Yu, and Widder fails to disclose or teach "the gas inflow portion is adapted to be in communication with an outer hood assembled to a cabinet such that a gaseous working fluid in the outer hood flows through the gas inflow portion and into the condensation channel; the condensation channel is adapted to allow the gaseous working fluid to cool down and condense back to a liquid state while flowing toward the gas outflow portion and flow into the liquid collection zone; the liquid outflow portion is adapted to discharge the liquid working fluid so as to recycle the working liquid for further use" and "a plurality of liquid communicating holes are formed through the substrate of the second fin group to communicate with the condensation channel and the liquid collection zone" recited in the claim 1 of the present application. (emphasis added).”
However, this argument is not persuasive as the teachings of Widder are simply relied upon to show it is known in the art for a heat sink to have a gap between a substrate of the heat sink and fins that extend to a surrounding wall to allow for the passage of fluid. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the arrangement disclosed by Widder with fins extending past a lower edge of a substrate would allow for flow either liquid or gas between any two adjacent fins of the plurality of fins between the lower edge of the substrate and the surrounding wall.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outer hood” and “cabinet” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, lines 3-4 recite, “the second fin group comprises a plurality of fins disposed on a substrate of the second fin group” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the plurality of fins and substrate of the second fin group relate to the previously claimed plurality of fins and substrate of the second fin group of claim 1 from which claim 9 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the plurality of fins and substrate of the second fin group of claims 1 and 9 to be the same components and purely duplicative when recited in claim 9. The Examiner recommends removing the duplicative limitation from claim 9.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the liquid communicating hole" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the liquid communicating hole" in lines 7-8 to “a liquid communicating hole of the plurality of liquid communicating holes”. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim as recommended herein.
Claim 18 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Patent No. 8,728,240), hereinafter Liu in view of Lee et al. (KR 20170057021), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an exhaust condensation recovery device (Fig. 1, vapor condensing apparatus 60; Fig. 2, vapor condensing apparatus 100; Col. 3, lines 55-57, FIG. 2 shows a vertical sectional view of vapor condensing apparatus 60 of FIG. 1. The apparatus is shown generally located at 100), comprising:
a housing, comprising a gas inflow portion, a liquid outflow portion and a gas outflow portion, the housing having an accommodating chamber, wherein a liquid collection zone is formed below the accommodating chamber, the liquid outflow portion is in communication with the liquid collection zone (Fig. 2, vacuum tight envelope 105, inlet 62, outlet 66, outlet 64, trough 180; See annotated Fig. 3 of Liu below, accommodating chamber A; Col. 3, lines 57-62, with an inlet, 62, for the gas/vapor mixture to enter and an outlet 66 for the condensed liquid to flow out. The gas, which is substantially free of the precursor vapor, then exits the vapor condensing apparatus 100 through outlet 64 and flows into vacuum pump 70 for exhaust to the ambient atmosphere); and
a cooling module, forming a condensation channel in the accommodating chamber, the condensation channel located above the liquid collection zone, and two ends of the condensation channel respectively being in communication with the gas inflow portion and the gas outflow portion (Fig. 3, thermoelectric cooler 120, heat transfer surface 160, heat transfer surface 170; See annotated Fig. 2 of Liu below, condensation channel B is shown in communication with inlet 62 and outlet 64 and located above the trough 180; Col. 4, lines 14-21, As the gas/vapor mixture flows along heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 within the vacuum tight envelop 105, precursor vapor will condense on these heat transfer surfaces to cause it to form liquid on the surfaces. This precursor condensed liquid will then flow by gravity along these surfaces into the annular liquid collecting trough 180 below. The condensed liquid will then flow out of trough 180 through exit 66 into external reservoir 80 shown in FIG. 1),
wherein the gas inflow portion is configured to be in communication with an outer hood assembled to a cabinet such that a gaseous working fluid in the outer hood flows through the gas inflow portion and into the condensation channel; the condensation channel is configured to allow the gaseous working fluid to cool down and condense back to a liquid state while flowing toward the gas outflow portion and flow into the liquid collection zone; the liquid outflow portion is configured to discharge the liquid working fluid so as to recycle the working liquid for further use (Fig. 1, outlet 44, deposition chamber 40; Col. 3, lines 35-54, The thin film deposition system of FIG. 1 also includes a vapor condensing apparatus 60, which is provided with an inlet 62 for the vapor and carrier gas mixture from deposition chamber to enter, an outlet 66 for the condensed liquid to exit, an external reservoir 80 for capture and store the condensed liquid, and an outlet, 64, for the carrier gas to exit. The carrier gas is substantially free of the precursor vapor, which has been condensed and collected by the vapor condensing apparatus 60, then enters pump 60 for exhaust to the ambient. Unlike prior art exhaust treatment systems that are designed to destroy the precursor vapor to prevent or reduce pump contamination, the vapor condensing apparatus of the present disclosure condenses the precursor vapor without substantially changing its chemical nature or its physical characteristics. The condensed precursor liquid is generally quite pure. The collected liquid can be stored in the external reservoir 80. Alternatively, the condensed liquid can be stored internally in the vapor condensing apparatus 60 from which the stored liquid can be drained out of the system from time to time for safe disposal or reuse; Further, the gas inlet 62, the condensation channel B, and the outlet 66 of Liu have the same structure as the claimed gas inflow portion, condensation channel, and liquid outflow portion and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed), and
wherein the cooling module comprises a first fin group and a second fin group, the second fin group and the first fin group together form the condensation channel; the second fin group is located in the accommodating chamber and comprises a plurality of fins disposed on a substrate (Fig. 3, heat transfer surface 160, heat transfer surface 170; See annotated Fig. 3 of Liu below, heat transfer surface 160 comprises fins 160a disposed on a substrate 160b; Col. 4, lines 14-21, As the gas/vapor mixture flows along heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 within the vacuum tight envelop 105, precursor vapor will condense on these heat transfer surfaces to cause it to form liquid on the surfaces. This precursor condensed liquid will then flow by gravity along these surfaces into the annular liquid collecting trough 180 below. The condensed liquid will then flow out of trough 180 through exit 66 into external reservoir 80 shown in FIG. 1).
However, Liu does not disclose a plurality of liquid communicating holes are formed through the substrate of the second fin group to communicate with the condensation channel and the liquid collection zone.
Lee discloses a plurality of liquid communicating holes are formed through the substrate of the second fin group to communicate with the condensation channel and the liquid collection zone (Fig. 1, dehumidification module 100, heat sink 130, base plate 132, radiating fins 134, inlet holes 136; Pg. 3, The inlet hole 136 may be formed in the heat sink 130 so that the condensed water flowing out of the
outlet hole 126 may be supplied to the surfaces of the plurality of heat sinks 134 provided in the heat
sink 130).
Liu as modified fails to teach a plurality of liquid communicating holes are formed through the substrate of the second fin group to communicate with the condensation channel and the liquid collection zone, however Lee teaches that it is a known method in the art of dehumidification to include a plurality of liquid communicating holes are formed through the substrate of the second fin group to communicate with the condensation channel and the liquid collection zone. This is strong evidence that modifying Liu as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. routing condensate away from the condensation flow path and into the collection zone to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu as modified by Lee and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of routing condensate away from the condensation flow path and into the collection zone to improve overall system efficiencies.
Annotated Fig. 2 of Liu
Annotated Fig. 3 of Liu
Regarding claim 2, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the cooling module comprises a thermoelectric cooling module, the first fin group is thermally connected to a cold end of the thermoelectric cooling module and extends into the accommodating chamber (Liu, Fig. 3, thermoelectric cooler 120, heat transfer surface 170; Col. 4, lines 2-21, A thermoelectric cooler 120 is placed in good thermal contact with the heat conducting metal envelop 105 in order to control its temperature to a suitably low value, typically below about 25 degrees C. Within the vacuum tight envelop, there are multitudes of heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 that are in good thermal contact with the heat conducting envelop. Since heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 are in good thermal contact with the heat conducting metal envelop 105, the temperature of these heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 is also substantially the same as that of envelop 105 and is thus also below about 25° C. As the gas/vapor mixture flows along heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 within the vacuum tight envelop 105, precursor vapor will condense on these heat transfer surfaces to cause it to form liquid on the surfaces. This precursor condensed liquid will then flow by gravity along these surfaces into the annular liquid collecting trough 180 below. The condensed liquid will then flow out of trough 180 through exit 66 into external reservoir 80 shown in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), further comprising a heat dissipation module which comprises a third fin group located outside the housing, wherein the third fin group is thermally connected to a hot end of the thermoelectric cooling module (Liu, Fig. 3, external heat transfer surface 130; Col. 4, lines 22-30, When vapor condenses on the heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170, the vapor condensation release heat. This heat will be transferred by conduction to the vacuum tight envelop 105 for it to be carried away by the thermoelectric cooler 150 and rejected to the ambient atmosphere by the external heat transfer surface 130. A cooling fan 140 will draw air from ambient causing it to flow in the indicated direction of the arrows 150 and blowing this air back to the ambient in the direction of arrows 190).
Regarding claim 6, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the third fin group comprises a plurality of fins disposed on a substrate of the first fin group, the substrate of the third fin group is thermally connected to the hot end of the thermoelectric cooling module, and the heat dissipation module comprises a cooling fan group which drives air amidst the plurality of fins of the third fin group to flow (See annotated Fig. 3 of Liu below, external heat transfer surface 130 comprises fins 130a and substrate 130b disposed on a hot end of the thermoelectric cooler 120 and cooled by cooling fan 140; Col. 4, lines 22-30, When vapor condenses on the heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170, the vapor condensation release heat. This heat will be transferred by conduction to the vacuum tight envelop 105 for it to be carried away by the thermoelectric cooler 150 and rejected to the ambient atmosphere by the external heat transfer surface 130. A cooling fan 140 will draw air from ambient causing it to flow in the indicated direction of the arrows 150 and blowing this air back to the ambient in the direction of arrows 190). Further, regarding a cooling fan group, “the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Liu
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US Patent No. 6,906,922), hereinafter Yu.
Regarding claim 3, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first fin group and comprises a plurality of fins disposed on a substrate (See annotated Fig. 3 of Liu below, heat transfer surface 170 comprises fins 170a disposed on a substrate 170b).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose the plurality of fins of the first fin group are alternately arranged with the plurality of fins of the second fin group so as to together form the condensation channel having a serpentine shape.
Yu teaches the plurality of fins of the first fin group are alternately arranged with the plurality of fins of the second fin group so as to together form the channel having a serpentine shape. (Yu, Fig. 2, heat-dissipating device 51, casing 52, heat-dissipating substrate 511, heat-dissipating fins 512, top plate 521, internal heat-dissipating 525; Col. 4-5, lines 40-51, 58-67, and 1; Additionally, the heat-dissipating device 51 comprises a heat-dissipating substrate 511, and a plurality of heat-dissipating fins 512 spaced at intervals and positioned on an upper surface of the heat-dissipating substrate 511. Each of the internal heat-dissipating fins 525 of the casing 52 is located between the two adjacent heat dissipating fins 512 of the heat-dissipating device 51. A lower surface of the heat-dissipating substrate 511 is adhered to the main heat-generating source 4 through the above mentioned heat-conducting adhesive tapes so that the heat dissipating substrate 511 is almost directly in contact with the main heat-generating source 4… Therefore, all of the heat transmitted from the main heat-generating source 4 to the heat dissipating fins 512 and the heat transmitted from the sub heat-generating sources 6 to the internal heat-dissipating fins 525 exchange thermal energy with the air inside the casing 52, and then, the heat-dissipating fan 53 dissipates the heat forcedly. Due to the running of the heat-dissipating fan 53, a great quantity of airflow is blown into the casing 52 for speeding up the heat exchange between all of the heat dissipating fins 512, 525 in the casing 52 and the air inside the casing 52).
Liu as modified fails to teach the plurality of fins of the first fin group are alternately arranged with the plurality of fins of the second fin group so as to together form the condensation channel having a serpentine shape, however Yu teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric heat sinks to include the plurality of fins of the first fin group are alternately arranged with the plurality of fins of the second fin group so as to together form the channel having a serpentine shape. This is strong evidence that modifying Liu as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improving a heat-dissipating efficiency of the system (Yu, Col. 5, lines 45-46)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu as modified by Yu and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improving a heat-dissipating efficiency of the system (Yu, Col. 5, lines 45-46).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Liu
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (KR 20200074760), hereinafter Jin.
Regarding claim 5, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the housing comprises a bottom plate and a surrounding wall, the surrounding wall is connected to the bottom plate to together form the accommodating chamber, the liquid collection zone is adjacent to the bottom plate (Liu, Fig. 2, removeable cover plate 115, vacuum tight envelope 105; Col. 3-, lines 63-67 and 1, The vapor condensing apparatus 100 generally operates under vacuum. It is provided with a vacuum tight envelop 105 with removable cover plates, 110 and 115, that are held in place by screws, 106, and gaskets, 108. Alternatively, cover plates 110 and 115 can be permanently welded in place to form a vacuum tight envelop).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose the surrounding wall has an opening formed on the surrounding wall, a substrate of the first fin group seals the opening, and a substrate of the third fin group is fixedly connected to the surrounding wall and sandwiches the thermoelectric cooling module between the third fin group and the first fin group.
Jin teaches the surrounding wall has an opening formed on the surrounding wall, a substrate of the first fin group seals the opening, and a substrate of the third fin group is fixedly connected to the surrounding wall and sandwiches the thermoelectric cooling module between the third fin group and the first fin group (Fig. 3 of Jin depicts housing 110, which acts as the substrate for first electrode plate 111, to seal an opening formed by the side plates 130 and further depicts the substrate of first heat sink 140 to be fixedly connected to the side plates 130 and sandwiching the 1st cooling PTC between the first heat sink 140 and the housing 110).
Liu as modified fails to teach the surrounding wall has an opening formed on the surrounding wall, a substrate of the first fin group seals the opening, and a substrate of the third fin group is fixedly connected to the surrounding wall and sandwiches the thermoelectric cooling module between the third fin group and the first fin group, however Jin teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric heat exchange to include the surrounding wall has an opening formed on the surrounding wall, a substrate of the first fin group seals the opening, and a substrate of the third fin group is fixedly connected to the surrounding wall and sandwiches the thermoelectric cooling module between the third fin group and the first fin group. This is strong evidence that modifying Liu as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a thermoelectric heat exchange system with desired heat transfer characteristics). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu as modified by Jin and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a thermoelectric heat exchange system with desired heat transfer characteristics.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Parish et al. (US 20110314837), hereinafter Parish.
Regarding claim 7, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose wherein the cooling fan group comprises a support frame and a plurality of cooling fans, the support frame comprises a plurality of through holes, the plurality of cooling fans are respectively coupled at the support frame and are aligned with the corresponding through holes of the plurality of through holes, an airway is formed between any two adjacent fins of the plurality of fins of the third fin group, and the support frame is in an open form on both ends of the airway.
Parish teaches wherein the cooling fan group comprises a support frame and a plurality of cooling fans, the support frame comprises a plurality of through holes, the plurality of cooling fans are respectively coupled at the support frame and are aligned with the corresponding through holes of the plurality of through holes, an airway is formed between any two adjacent fins of the plurality of fins of the third fin group, and the support frame is in an open form on both ends of the airway (Fig. 6E, system 600, housing 605, axial fans 615, ambient air intakes 625; Pg. 7, paragraphs 89-90, The system 600 includes a pair of axial fans 615 configured to draw exhaust from the thermal transfer devices (440, 450, 470). The axial fans 615 are mounted above the thermal transfer devices (440,450, 470) and adjacent to (such as centered in relation to) the fins 430 of the exhaust heat exchanger 622 (exhaust sink 420). As shown in the example illustrated in FIG. 6F, the axial fans 615 are mounted to the sides 608 and 609 with rubber mounts 650 and a flat gasket 655 to reduce vibration. Each of the axial fans 615 operates to drive exhaust from each of the two thermal transfer devices (440, 450, 470) through a first set of exhaust vias and a second set of 620a exhaust vias in the top cover 607; each set of vias 620 is 620b disposed above a respective one of the axial fans 615. The axial fans 615 draw ambient air in through ambient air intakes 625 and across exhaust heat exchanger 622 to draw the heat away from the thermal transfer devices (440, 450, 470) in a cooling operation).
Liu as modified fails to teach wherein the cooling fan group comprises a support frame and a plurality of cooling fans, the support frame comprises a plurality of through holes, the plurality of cooling fans are respectively coupled at the support frame and are aligned with the corresponding through holes of the plurality of through holes, an airway is formed between any two adjacent fins of the plurality of fins of the third fin group, and the support frame is in an open form on both ends of the airway, however Y teaches that it is a known method in the art of cooling heat sinks to include wherein the cooling fan group comprises a support frame and a plurality of cooling fans, the support frame comprises a plurality of through holes, the plurality of cooling fans are respectively coupled at the support frame and are aligned with the corresponding through holes of the plurality of through holes, an airway is formed between any two adjacent fins of the plurality of fins of the third fin group, and the support frame is in an open form on both ends of the airway. This is strong evidence that modifying Liu as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improving overall heat transfer efficiency of the system). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu as modified by Y and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improving overall heat transfer efficiency of the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Whiticar (US Patent No. 5,555,732), hereinafter Whiticar.
Regarding claim 8, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Liu as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the housing comprises inside of the housing at least one confluence sloped surface located in the liquid collection zone, and the liquid outflow portion is located at a low position of the confluence sloped surface.
Whiticar teaches wherein the housing comprises inside of the housing at least one confluence sloped surface located in the liquid collection zone, and the liquid outflow portion is located at a low position of the confluence sloped surface (Fig. 2, upper housing section 12, lower housing section 14, vapor barrier 90, V-shaped depression 91, condensate reservoir 92; Fig. 2 of Whiticar depicts condensate exit drain 96 to be located below the apex of V-shaped depression 91 which places the condensate exit drain 96 at a low position of the V-shaped depression 91).
Liu as modified fails to teach wherein the housing comprises inside of the housing at least one confluence sloped surface located in the liquid collection zone, and the liquid outflow portion is located at a low position of the confluence sloped surface, however Y teaches that it is a known method in the art of condensation recovery to include wherein the housing comprises inside of the housing at least one confluence sloped surface located in the liquid collection zone, and the liquid outflow portion is located at a low position of the confluence sloped surface. This is strong evidence that modifying Liu as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. routing condensate away from the condensation flow path and into the collection zone to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu as modified by Y and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of routing condensate away from the condensation flow path and into the collection zone to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Widder et al. (US 20240244739), hereinafter Widder.
Regarding claim 9, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the housing comprises a surrounding wall connected to a bottom plate to together form the accommodating chamber, the second fin group comprises a plurality of fins disposed on a substrate of the second fin group, the substrate of the second fin group is disposed obliquely in the accommodating chamber, both ends of each fin of the plurality of fins of the second fin group are individually connected to the surrounding wall (Liu, Fig. 2, removeable cover plate 115, vacuum tight envelope 105; See annotated Fig. 3 of Liu below, heat transfer surface 160 comprises fins 160a disposed on a substrate 160b which is disposed obliquely in the accommodating chamber A Col. 3-, lines 63-67 and 1-13, The vapor condensing apparatus 100 generally operates under vacuum. It is provided with a vacuum tight envelop 105 with removable cover plates, 110 and 115, that are held in place by screws, 106, and gaskets, 108. Alternatively, cover plates 110 and 115 can be permanently welded in place to form a vacuum tight envelop. Apparatus 100 is generally constructed of a heat conducting metal, such as aluminum. A thermoelectric cooler 120 is placed in good thermal contact with the heat conducting metal envelop 105 in order to control its temperature to a suitably low value, typically below about 25 degrees C. Within the vacuum tight envelop, there are multitudes of heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 that are in good thermal contact with the heat conducting envelop. Since heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 are in good thermal contact with the heat conducting metal envelop 105, the temperature of these heat transfer surfaces 160 and 170 is also substantially the same as that of envelop 105 and is thus also below about 25° C; Further, the teachings of Liu which disclose the heat transfer surface 160 to be in good thermal contact with the heat conducting envelop at least imply both ends of each fin of the plurality of fins of the second fin group are individually connected to the surrounding wall since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose a lower edge of the substrate is not connected to the surrounding wall, and a liquid communicating hole is formed between any two adjacent fins between the lower edge of the substrate and the surrounding wall.
Widder teaches a lower edge of the substrate is not connected to the surrounding wall, and a liquid communicating hole is formed between any two adjacent fins between the lower edge of the substrate and the surrounding wall (Fig. 6 of Widder depicts the side walls 306, which correspond to the substate, to be recessed in relation to the heat sink fins 308 which create flow passages for fluid between adjacent heat sink fins 308).
Liu as modified fails to teach a lower edge of the substrate is not connected to the surrounding wall, and a liquid communicating hole is formed between any two adjacent fins between the lower edge of the substrate and the surrounding wall, however Widder teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermoelectric heat exchange to include a lower edge of the substrate is not connected to the surrounding wall, and a liquid communicating hole is formed between any two adjacent fins between the lower edge of the substrate and the surrounding wall. This is strong evidence that modifying Liu as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a thermoelectric heat exchange system with desired heat transfer characteristics). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu as modified by Widder and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a thermoelectric heat exchange system with desired heat transfer characteristics.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Liu
Claims 10-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 6,393,842), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 10, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Regarding claim 11, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Regarding claim 13, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Regarding claim 15, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee and Yu as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 6,393,842), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 12, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 3 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee and Jin as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 6,393,842), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 14, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee and Parish as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 6,393,842), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 16, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee and Whiticar as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 6,393,842), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 17, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Lee and Widder as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 6,393,842), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Liu as modified discloses the exhaust condensation recovery device according to claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above).
However, Liu as modified does not disclose further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer.
Kim teaches further comprising a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion, and comprises a filter media layer (Fig. 4, front air outlet, 12, filter 50; Col. 4, lines 15-18, There is a filter 50 fitted to an inside of each of the front air inlet 11 and the front air outlet 12 of the front compartment 10, and the rear air inlet 21 and the rear air outlet 22 of the rear compartment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust condensation recovery device of Liu as modified to include a filter module which is in communication with the gas outflow portion as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cleaner air to from the gas outflow portion to improve local air quality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 April 15th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763