The examiner objects to claim 20 as “a” gap should be changed to “a second” gap since a “first gap” is defined in claim 17.
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobson (5295693) in view of Messina (4248422) and Board et al (20230417100). 5,295,693) in view of Messina (US 4,248,422). Regarding claim 17, Dobson discloses a game construction comprising a frame (10) that is configured to hold an upright maze (4). Note Figures 1 and 3 and column 3, lines 22-25. The upright maze comprises an entrance (18) at the bottom and an exit (22) at the top with a pathway (4) which connects the entrance and exit. The maze is shown as a single sheet of material with space between the edges of the pathway cut out. Dobson also provides a ball (23) with a diameter equal to or less than the width of the maze's pathway. Note Figure 1. A control member (6) is provided to move the ball through the maze. Regarding the limitation for the maze to be removeable, note Figures 1 and 3 and column 3, lines 57-60 stating that the transparent front panel (26) is secured to the support structure (10) by screws (28). Further, Dobson does not teach that the maze is permanently secured to the frame nor does Dobson teach a gap between the removeable upright maze and the open-backed frame.. However, Dobson does not particularly teach a removable maze for the game. Messina reveals that it is known in the art of maze games to provide the game with various layout boards in order to vary the difficulty of the game. Note column 3, lines 7-10 and claim 5 of Messina. Given that Dobson does not teach permanent attachment of the maze to the frame and Messina's teaching that it is known to provide various maze boards, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the upright maze of Dobson removable in order to permit the user to replace the board with another maze to change the difficulty of the game. Board teaches an upright member 114 that is placed in a open-backed frame 102 with a gap where sealing member 106 is placed in to hold the upright member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further provide Dobson in view of Messina with a gap between an frame that is securing an upright member as taught by Board et al to provide holding means 106 in the gap to aid with supporting the upright member. Regarding the limitation directed towards the width having a gap width equal to or greater than the diameter of the ball, the examiner first notes that there is no specific dimension provided for the diameter of the ball and that the gap width size has no bearing in patentability. See Gardner v Tec Syst, Inc, 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) where it was held that where the only different between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently that the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 18, note Figure 3 of Dobson showing a first ball return device (32).
Regarding claim 19, note Figure 3 of Dobson showing the ball exiting the top end of the maze, falling off the maze and dropping into the first ball return device (32).
Regarding claim 20, note Figure 3 and column 3, lines 55-60 of Dobson defining a transparent front panel (26). Figure 3 shows the gap between the clear cover (26) and the maze (4) which is greater than the diameter of the ball (23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed. Although claims 1 and 17 are fairly similar in scope claim 1 does structurally recite the upright maze being adjacent to the backstop while claim 17
recites the frame configured to hold an upright maze. Claim 1 also recites an additional return ball means as well. These claims were indicated as being allowable previously during prosecution and the examiner maintains the position of these claims being allowable.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711