DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 11, 12 – There is a lack of antecedent basis for the limitation of “the current threshold”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 13, 16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ting et al., US 11,784,482
Regarding claim 1, Ting discloses a system comprising: a plurality of electrical conduction sensors that are each configured for operative connection to one electrical conduit among a plurality of electrical conduits of a power delivery system (Fig. 1a; conductors 140 and 142 connected to a connection wire of the continuity detection circuit 160 considered to be a conduction sensor), wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether electrical conduction of its respective electrical conduit meets a predetermined criterion (Fig. 1a; signal sent to cdc 160 used to determine whether normal current flow is present in the conductors 140, 142; See Col. 5 lines 55-65 ); and a power delivery manager configured to implement a predetermined action in response to detection, by one of the electrical conduction sensors, that electrical conduction of its respective electrical conduit meets the predetermined criterion (Fig. 1a; controller 130 takes corrective action responsive to the continuity detection circuit 160 detecting that a fault condition has occurred; See Col. 6 lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 4, Ting discloses wherein the electrical conduits include a positive wire for carrying positive voltage and a negative wire for ground connection (fig. 4; 440 , 470).
Regarding claim 5, Ting discloses wherein the electrical conduits are operatively connected to an electronic device and a power source for delivering power to the electronic device (fig. 1a; power supply 110 to modules 104).
Regarding claim 13, Ting discloses a method comprising: using a plurality of electrical conduction sensors to detect whether each electrical conduit among a plurality of electrical conduits meets a predetermined criterion (Fig. 1a; conductors 140 and 142 connected to a connection wire of the continuity detection circuit 160 considered to be a conduction sensor; signal sent to cdc 160 used to determine whether normal current flow is present in the conductors 140, 142; See Col. 5 lines 55-65); and implementing a predetermined action in response to detection, by one of the electrical conduction sensors, that electrical conduction of its respective electrical conduit meets the predetermined criterion (Fig. 1a; controller 130 takes corrective action responsive to the continuity detection circuit 160 detecting that a fault condition has occurred; See Col. 6 lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 16, Ting discloses wherein the electrical conduits include a positive wire for carrying positive voltage and a negative wire for ground connection (Fig. 4; 440, 470).
Regarding claim 17, Ting discloses wherein the electrical conduits are operatively connected to an electronic device and a power source for delivering power to the electronic device (Fig. 1a ; 110, 104).
Regarding claim 20, Ting discloses wherein implementing the predetermined action comprises notifying an operator, or powering down or preventing from powering up an electronic device operatively to the electrical conduits (Col. 6 lines 5-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 3, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al., US 11,784,482 in view of Montanegro et al., US 20200264240
Regarding claim 2, Ting is silent in wherein the predetermined criterion is a current threshold, wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold, and wherein the power delivery manager is configured to implement the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold. Montanegro teaches wherein the predetermined criterion is a current threshold, wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold, and wherein the power delivery manager is configured to implement the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold (¶[0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Montanegro into Ting for the benefit of detecting whether a wire is broken.
Regarding claim 3, Ting is silent in wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes, and wherein the power delivery manager is configured to implement the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes. Montanegro teaches wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes, and wherein the power delivery manager is configured to implement the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes (¶[0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Montanegro into Ting for the benefit of detecting whether a wire is broken.
Regarding claim 11, Ting is silent in wherein the power delivery manager is configured to communicate notification to an operator in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level. Montanegro teaches wherein the power delivery manager is configured to communicate notification to an operator in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level (¶[0100], [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Montanegro into Ting for the benefit of providing an alert to an operator so that the fault in the wire can be remediated quickly.
Regarding claim 12, Ting teaches wherein the power delivery manager is configured to power down or prevent from powering up an electronic device operatively connected to the power cable in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors (fig. 1a; power supply 110 to modules 104). Ting is silent in wherein the power down is in response to the detection by one of the electrical conduction sensor that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold. Montanegro teaches a detection by one of the electrical conduction sensor that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold (¶[0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Montanegro into Ting for the benefit of providing an alert to an operator so that the fault in the wire can be remediated quickly.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al., US 11,784,482 in view of Sanders et al., US 5231375
Regarding claim 6, Ting is silent in wherein each electrical conduction sensor comprises: a resistor configured for connection in series with a respective electrical conduit of the electrical conduction sensor; a comparator circuit operative configured to: sense a differential voltage across the resistor; determine whether there is current flow or no current flow based on the sensed differential voltage; and output a signal indicative of a determination of current flow or no current flow. Sanders teaches wherein each electrical conduction sensor comprises: a resistor configured for connection in series with a respective electrical conduit of the electrical conduction sensor (Fig. 3; resistor 46 series with wire 68); a comparator circuit operative configured to: sense a differential voltage across the resistor (Fig. 3; diff amp 50); determine whether there is current flow or no current flow based on the sensed differential voltage; and output a signal indicative of a determination of current flow or no current flow (Col. 5 lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sanders into Ting for the benefit of efficiently detecting a signal interruption.
Regarding claim 7, Ting as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Ting is silent in wherein the resistor is a first resistor including a first end and a second end; and wherein the comparator comprises: a differential amplifier comprising a first and second inputs and an output, wherein the first input is operatively connected to the first end of the first resistor; a second resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second end of the first resistor, and wherein the second end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier; and a third resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the third resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier, and wherein the second end of the third resistor is operatively connected to ground. Sanders teaches wherein the resistor is a first resistor including a first end and a second end (Fig. 3; resistor 46); and wherein the comparator comprises: a differential amplifier comprising a first and second inputs and an output, wherein the first input is operatively connected to the first end of the first resistor (fig. 3; diff amp 50); a second resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second end of the first resistor, and wherein the second end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier (fig. 3; resistor 82); and a third resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the third resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier, and wherein the second end of the third resistor is operatively connected to ground (fig. 3; resistor 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sanders into Ting for the benefit of efficiently detecting a signal interruption.
Regarding claim 8, Ting as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Ting is silent in wherein the power delivery manager comprises an AND gate comprising a plurality of inputs and an output, wherein the output of each differential amplifier is operatively connected to a respective one of the inputs of the AND gate, and wherein the output of the AND gate indicates there is no current flow in any one of the electrical conduits. Sanders teaches wherein a power delivery manager comprises an AND gate comprising a plurality of inputs and an output, wherein the output of each differential amplifier is operatively connected to a respective one of the inputs of the AND gate, and wherein the output of the AND gate indicates there is no current flow in any one of the electrical conduits (Fig. 3; output of amps 50 and 52 connected to AND gate 58 which signals an alarm in response to a current interruption). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sanders into Ting for the benefit of efficiently detecting a signal interruption.
Regarding claim 18, Ting is silent in wherein each electrical conduction sensor comprises: a resistor configured for connection in series with a respective electrical conduit of the electrical conduction sensor; a comparator circuit operative configured to: sense a differential voltage across the resistor; determine whether there is current flow or no current flow based on the sensed differential voltage; and output a signal indicative of a determination of current flow or no current flow. Sanders teaches wherein each electrical conduction sensor comprises: a resistor configured for connection in series with a respective electrical conduit of the electrical conduction sensor (Fig. 3; resistor 46 series with wire 68); a comparator circuit operative configured to: sense a differential voltage across the resistor (Fig. 3; diff amp 50); determine whether there is current flow or no current flow based on the sensed differential voltage; and output a signal indicative of a determination of current flow or no current flow (Col. 5 lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sanders into Ting for the benefit of efficiently detecting a signal interruption.
Regarding claim 19, Ting as modified is silent in wherein the resistor is a first resistor including a first end and a second end; and wherein the comparator comprises: a differential amplifier comprising a first and second inputs and an output, wherein the first input is operatively connected to the first end of the first resistor; a second resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second end of the first resistor, and wherein the second end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier; and a third resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the third resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier, and wherein the second end of the third resistor is operatively connected to ground. Sanders teaches wherein the resistor is a first resistor including a first end and a second end (Fig. 3; resistor 46); and wherein the comparator comprises: a differential amplifier comprising a first and second inputs and an output, wherein the first input is operatively connected to the first end of the first resistor (fig. 3; diff amp 50); a second resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second end of the first resistor, and wherein the second end of the second resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier (fig. 3; resistor 82); and a third resistor comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the third resistor is operatively connected to the second input of the differential amplifier, and wherein the second end of the third resistor is operatively connected to ground (fig. 3; resistor 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sanders into Ting for the benefit of efficiently detecting a signal interruption.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al., US 11,784,482 in view of Sanders et al., US 5231375 in view of Sanders, US 4539562
Regarding claim 9, Ting as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 8. Ting is silent in comprising a light source operatively connected to the output of the AND gate for indicating current flow in all of the electrical conduits or no current flow in any one of the electrical conduits. Sanders teaches a light source operatively connected to the output of the AND gate for indicating current flow in all of the electrical conduits or no current flow in any one of the electrical conduits (Col. 5 lines 45-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sanders into Ting for the benefit of efficiently detecting a signal interruption.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al., US 11,784,482 in view of Rathi et al., US 20220021195
Regarding claim 10, Ting teaches wherein the power delivery system comprises a power cable. Ting is silent in wherein the power delivery system comprises a power cable, printed circuit board (PCB) traces, a busbar, a mechanical fastener, a crimped connector, or soldered connectors. Rathi teaches wherein the power delivery system comprises a power cable, printed circuit board (PCB) traces, a busbar, a mechanical fastener, a crimped connector, or soldered connectors (¶[0145]-[0147]; [0205], [0216]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Rathi into Ting for the benefit of having a secured connection.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al., US 11,784,482 in view of Forster et al., US 20080143340
Regarding claim 14, Ting is silent in wherein the predetermined criterion is a current threshold, wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by each electrical conduction sensor, whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold; and implementing the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold. Forster teaches detecting, by each electrical conduction sensor, whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold; and implementing the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is less than the current threshold (¶[0003]; if measured current is less than reference current, a determination is made that there is a wire break). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Forster into Ting for the benefit of providing a determination as to a break in wiring so that the faults in the system can be easily detected.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al., US 11,784,482 in view of Sato et al., JP 2004045349
Regarding claim 15, Ting is silent in wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes, and wherein implementing the predetermined action comprises implementing the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes. Sato teaches wherein each electrical conduction sensor is configured to detect whether a current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes, and wherein implementing the predetermined action comprises implementing the predetermined action in response to detection by one of the electrical conduction sensors that the current level through its respective electrical conduit is 0 amperes (¶[0044]; ammeter measurement of 0 ampere, the control unit determines a wire break). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sato into Ting for the benefit of providing a determination as to a break in wiring so that the faults in the system can be easily detected.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858