DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the multiple annular contact surfaces arranged concentrically as claimed in claims 2 and 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “each cylindrical electrode” should be amended to --the cylindrical electrode--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the range". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the area of contact" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the range" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Britva et al. (US 2015/0045857) in view of Pope et al. (US 2008/0312651).
Regarding claim 1, Britva discloses a system for heating biological tissue via RF energy (see Figs. 4-8), the system comprising a source of RF energy (see [0022]) at frequency in excess of 25 MHz (see 30 MHz to 100 MHz, [0022] and [0030]) and an applicator incorporating an electrode (see applicator 10 incorporating electrode array with multiple spaced contact regions 14, Fig. 6) connected to the RF source for introducing the RF energy into the biological tissue (see [0030], claim 1), wherein the electrode an end remote from the RF source defining an annular surface for contacting the biological tissue (see annular outer surface of the array of electrodes 14, Fig. 4), the outer diameter of the annular surface exceeding 3 cm (see in excess of 4 cm, [0028]). However, Britva fails to disclose the electrode comprising a hollow cylinder of which an end remote from the RF source defines the annular surface.
Pope teaches a system for heating tissue (see Figs. 6-9B) including an electrode comprising hollow cylinders of which an end remote from the RF source defines a convex annular surface (see annular electrodes 32, Figs. 6-7A, see also [0080]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as disclosed by Britva to comprise hollow cylinders of which an end remote from the RF source defines the annular surface in light of Pope, since the modification would have been a matter of simple substitution for the purpose of distributing the contact area of the electrode uniformly over the total area of the applicator tip in order to minimize the edge effect of a singular electrode (see Pope [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Britva in view of Pope further teaches wherein the system comprises a plurality of concentric cylindrical electrodes each formed of a hollow cylinder of which an end remote from the RF source defines an annular surface for contacting the biological tissue (see Pope: Figs. 6-7A), and wherein the electrodes are configured such that RF currents flow in parallel along all the cylindrical surfaces of the electrodes in the same direction as one another (RF currents flow out through each annular electrode in the same direction in Pope and Britva, which is considered flowing in parallel as claimed, see also Pope: Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 3, Britva in view of Pope teaches the limitations of claim 1, however fails to specifically teach wherein the wall thickness of the cylindrical electrode is in the range of 5 mm to 6 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the wall thickness of the cylindrical electrodes of Britva in view of Pope to have a wall thickness in the range of 5 mm to 6 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Britva in view of Pope would not operate differently with the claimed wall thickness since the cylindrical electrodes would function appropriately for distributing the contact area when having the claimed wall thickness. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “may” be within the claimed range (Specification [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Britva in view of Pope further teaches wherein the, or at least one, annular surface is formed with indentation to increase the area of contact with the biological tissue (see Pope: “convex”, [0080]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Britva et al. (US 2015/0045857).
Regarding claim 5, Britva discloses a method of treatment of biological tissue which comprises applying RF energy (see [0022]) at a frequency in excess of 25 MHz to the tissue (see 30 MHz to 100 MHz, [0022] and [0030]) using an electrode having at least one annular contact surface (see applicator 10 incorporating electrode arrays with multiple spaced, annular contact regions 14, Fig. 6) of which the outer diameter exceeds 3 cm (see in excess of 4 cm, [0028]). However, Britva fails to specifically teach the radial dimension of the annular surface lies on the range of 5 mm to 6 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the wall thickness of the cylindrical electrodes of Britva to have a radial dimension in the range of 5 mm to 6 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Britva would not operate differently with the claimed radial dimension since the annular electrodes would function appropriately for distributing the contact area when having the claimed radial dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “may” be within the claimed range (Specification [0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Britva further discloses wherein the electrode comprises multiple annular contact surfaces arranged concentrically (see outer circle of annular contact surfaces 14 arranged concentrically with an inner circle of annular contact surfaces 14 as shown in Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794