DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 02/01/2024. Claims 1-18 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 17 and 18 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: As to claim 18, the claim recites “execute one of (i) either a calculation process… and (ii) or a display process” which is grammatically incorrect for the purposes of examination, Examiner assumed the claim to read "execute one of either (i) a calculation process" and "or (ii) a display process". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “the second format” and “the LaTex notation method” both of which lack antecedent basis therefore making the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner assumed the claim to depend from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canton et al. (US 20170220543 A1, hereinafter Canton).
As to claim 1, Canton discloses a spreadsheet apparatus comprising a processor, the processor (“Furthermore, embodiments of the disclosure may be practiced in an electrical circuit comprising discrete electronic elements, packaged or integrated electronic chips containing logic gates, a circuit utilizing a microprocessor, or on a single chip containing electronic elements or microprocessors,” Canton paragraph 0117) being configured to:
accept a calculation formula for executing calculation with a target being a calculation element that is input in a table format, as a first calculation formula of a first format including a first part corresponding to a description format of referring to a cell of a table and a second part corresponding to a description format for mathematical natural display "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2” and second part is written in mathematical notation); and
execute one of (i) a calculation process for calculating the first calculation formula by using a value of the cell that the first part refers to ("It is understood that the equation 402 may be provided in the formula bar 206 or directly into cell D2 406 of the spreadsheet. Based on a user's operation of the enter key, or a similar operation resulting in a final entry of the equation 402 into the formula bar 206 or a cell, the spreadsheet application 104 can automatically provide the evaluated final result 404 in cell D2 406," Canton paragraph 0059; "In operation 506, the calculation engine 103 performs a translation of the identified one or more elements written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine 103 may translate the parts of the equation “=PRODUCT(A4, 2)” written in spreadsheet notation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 may obtain the data stored in cell A4, which might be, for example a number or another equation. If the data stored in cell A4 is a number, the calculation engine 103 obtains that number. If, alternatively, the data stored in cell A4 is another equation including, for example, another cell reference (e.g., “B4” or “SUM(B4, 5)”), the calculation engine 103 further retrieves the data stored in that referenced cell. Accordingly, the calculation engine 103 iteratively retrieves data until all such data is retrieved," Canton paragraph 0063), and (ii) a display process for displaying on a display the first calculation formula in a display mode of the mathematical natural display indicated by the second part ("Yet, in other embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may display a prompt providing an option for the user to display the final result 404 in cell D2 406 or display, in cell D2 406, the equation 402 written in mathematical notation without evaluating the equation 402. In embodiments, if the option to display the final result 404 is selected, the original equation may still be maintained and referenced. For example, a separate user interface displaying the original equation may be provided in response to hovering over the cell displaying the final result 404. Such a user interface may also allow the equation to be selectable and editable. Yet in other embodiments, other user interfaces may also be provided," Canton paragraph 0059).
As to claim 2, Canton further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether each of the calculation elements included in the first calculation formula is the first part or the second part ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2"; "FIG. 5 illustrates a flow chart of a method 500 for converting an equation written in spreadsheet notation to math notation as performed by the calculation engine 103. In operation 502, the calculation engine 103 identifies and parses the elements of the equation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 identifies each element of the equation and determines which element, if any, is written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine can identify each individual element of the equation '=PRODUCT(A4, 2)' In such an example, the calculation engine 103 will identify two elements: the cell reference A4 and the value 2. The calculation engine 103 will also identify the 'PRODUCT' function in operation 502," Canton paragraph 0061; "In operation 504, the calculation engine 103 determines whether the equation includes mathematical notation. Based on the analysis performed in operation 502, the calculation engine can determine whether the equation is written in spreadsheet notation, mathematical notation, or a combination of spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0062, determining what parts of the formula are in spreadsheet notation and which parts are in mathematical notation); and
convert the first calculation formula of the first format to a second calculation formula of a second format that does not refer to the cell of the table, by taking in a value of the cell which the first part refers to ("In operation 506, the calculation engine 103 performs a translation of the identified one or more elements written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine 103 may translate the parts of the equation “=PRODUCT(A4, 2)” written in spreadsheet notation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 may obtain the data stored in cell A4, which might be, for example a number or another equation. If the data stored in cell A4 is a number, the calculation engine 103 obtains that number. If, alternatively, the data stored in cell A4 is another equation including, for example, another cell reference (e.g., “B4” or “SUM(B4, 5)”), the calculation engine 103 further retrieves the data stored in that referenced cell. Accordingly, the calculation engine 103 iteratively retrieves data until all such data is retrieved," Canton paragraph 0063; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as “=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)” is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument “(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.” The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument “(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2” is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the “SUM” spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056; "The calculation engine 103 also obtains the data stored in cells B2 and C2 (i.e., $4.2 and $0.08, respectively). Based on the parsing performed on the equation 302 and the data obtained from cells B2 and C2, the calculation engine 103 provides the detailed structure of the equation 402, including the data stored in cells B2 and C2 to the math engine 105. In response, the math engine 105 converts the equation 402 to mathematical notation based on the data provided to it by the calculation engine 103 and outputs equation 404, which is stored in cell D2 406," Canton paragraph 0057; Canton Figure 4 402 references to cell B2 and C2 and 406 where the references to B2 and C2 are replaced with the data contained in those cells).
As to claim 3, Canton further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 2, further comprising a calculation processing unit capable of calculating a calculation formula of a third format that includes neither the first part nor the second part, wherein the processor is configured to:
be capable of causing the calculation processing unit to execute calculation of a designated calculation formula ("In this example, the calculation engine 103 of the spreadsheet application 104 parses the equation 402 written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation to identify each element contained therein. The calculation engine 103 also identifies any logical operations written in spreadsheet notation that are performed on those elements. Thus, in this example, the calculation engine 103 identifies the ‘SUM’ function as an addition of the three elements. The calculation engine 103 also obtains the data stored in cells B2 and C2 (i.e., $4.2 and $0.08, respectively). Based on the parsing performed on the equation 302 and the data obtained from cells B2 and C2, the calculation engine 103 provides the detailed structure of the equation 402, including the data stored in cells B2 and C2 to the math engine 105. In response, the math engine 105 converts the equation 402 to mathematical notation based on the data provided to it by the calculation engine 103 and outputs equation 404, which is stored in cell D2 406. Based on the information it receives from the calculation engine 103, the math engine 105 inserts addition operators between each identified element to output equation 404 written in mathematical notation (i.e., “4.2+0.08+((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)”)," Canton paragraph 0057);
convert the second calculation formula of the second format to a third calculation formula of the third format ("In this example, the calculation engine 103 of the spreadsheet application 104 parses the equation 402 written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation to identify each element contained therein. The calculation engine 103 also identifies any logical operations written in spreadsheet notation that are performed on those elements. Thus, in this example, the calculation engine 103 identifies the ‘SUM’ function as an addition of the three elements. The calculation engine 103 also obtains the data stored in cells B2 and C2 (i.e., $4.2 and $0.08, respectively). Based on the parsing performed on the equation 302 and the data obtained from cells B2 and C2, the calculation engine 103 provides the detailed structure of the equation 402, including the data stored in cells B2 and C2 to the math engine 105. In response, the math engine 105 converts the equation 402 to mathematical notation based on the data provided to it by the calculation engine 103 and outputs equation 404, which is stored in cell D2 406. Based on the information it receives from the calculation engine 103, the math engine 105 inserts addition operators between each identified element to output equation 404 written in mathematical notation (i.e., “4.2+0.08+((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)”)," Canton paragraph 0057; "Furthermore, in some embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may automatically, or in response to user input, simplify the expression. So in the example provided in FIG. 7, the spreadsheet application 104 might simplify the equation to “0.31+(2*Z).” In other embodiments, the math engine may first simplify the expression prior to substituting the variables within the equation, thereby returning a simplified, substituted result," Canton paragraph 0070, replacing cell references with cell values, converting spreadsheet notation to mathematical notation and calculating to simplify the formula (i.e., conversion to a third format)); and
cause the calculation processing unit to calculate the third calculation formula of the third format as the calculation process ("In this example, the calculation engine 103 of the spreadsheet application 104 parses the equation 402 written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation to identify each element contained therein. The calculation engine 103 also identifies any logical operations written in spreadsheet notation that are performed on those elements. Thus, in this example, the calculation engine 103 identifies the ‘SUM’ function as an addition of the three elements. The calculation engine 103 also obtains the data stored in cells B2 and C2 (i.e., $4.2 and $0.08, respectively). Based on the parsing performed on the equation 302 and the data obtained from cells B2 and C2, the calculation engine 103 provides the detailed structure of the equation 402, including the data stored in cells B2 and C2 to the math engine 105. In response, the math engine 105 converts the equation 402 to mathematical notation based on the data provided to it by the calculation engine 103 and outputs equation 404, which is stored in cell D2 406. Based on the information it receives from the calculation engine 103, the math engine 105 inserts addition operators between each identified element to output equation 404 written in mathematical notation (i.e., “4.2+0.08+((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)”)," Canton paragraph 0057).
As to claim 4, Canton further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the first calculation formula is a calculation formula that is input to a cell of the table ("It is understood that the equation 402 may be provided in the formula bar 206 or directly into cell D2 406 of the spreadsheet," Canton paragraph 0059), and the processor is configured to:
determine whether to execute the calculation process for the first calculation formula or to execute the display process for the first calculation formula, in accordance with a description format of the first calculation formula in the cell ("Yet, in other embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may display a prompt providing an option for the user to display the final result 404 in cell D2 406 or display, in cell D2 406, the equation 402 written in mathematical notation without evaluating the equation 402. In embodiments, if the option to display the final result 404 is selected, the original equation may still be maintained and referenced. For example, a separate user interface displaying the original equation may be provided in response to hovering over the cell displaying the final result 404. Such a user interface may also allow the equation to be selectable and editable. Yet in other embodiments, other user interfaces may also be provided," Canton paragraph 0059, user option to execute calculation and display the final result or to display the first calculation formula in mathematical notation).
As to claim 5, Canton further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the first part includes a description of a function for spreadsheet calculation for executing calculation that refers to the cell of the table, and a description of a cell coordinate for designating the cell of the table to be referred to, and the second part includes a description of a function for the mathematical natural display that does not refer to the cell of the table, and a description of a parameter that is not a cell coordinate and is a calculation target of the function for the mathematical natural display.
As to claim 6, Canton further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 3, wherein
the first calculation formula is a calculation formula that is input to the cell of the table ("It is understood that the equation 402 may be provided in the formula bar 206 or directly into cell D2 406 of the spreadsheet," Canton paragraph 0059), and the processor is configured to:
accept an input of the first part included in the first calculation formula, as text of an input character as such ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2"), and
accept an input of the second part included in the first calculation formula, as text by a notation method for a typesetting process system ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, second part of the formula is written in mathematical notation).
As to claim 14, Canton further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 3, wherein the calculation processing unit includes a calculation server that is communicable via a network ("The spreadsheet application may be implemented on a server computing device (e.g., server computing device 104A and 104B). In a basic configuration, server computing device 104 may include at least a processing unit and a system memory for executing computer-readable instructions. In some aspects, server computing device 104 may comprise one or more server computing devices 104 in a distributed environment (e.g., cloud computing environment). Server computing device 104 may provide data, associated with cells of a spreadsheet to and from the one or more client computing devices 104 and/or one or more other server computing devices via network 106," Canton paragraph 0045).
As to claim 17, Canton discloses a spreadsheet method comprising:
by a spreadsheet apparatus, accepting a calculation formula for executing calculation with a target being a calculation element that is input in a table format, as a first calculation formula of a first format including a first part corresponding to a description format of referring to a cell of a table and a second part corresponding to a description format for mathematical natural display "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2” and second part is written in mathematical notation); and
by the spreadsheet apparatus, executing one of (i) a calculation process for calculating the first calculation formula by using a value of the cell that the first part refers to ("It is understood that the equation 402 may be provided in the formula bar 206 or directly into cell D2 406 of the spreadsheet. Based on a user's operation of the enter key, or a similar operation resulting in a final entry of the equation 402 into the formula bar 206 or a cell, the spreadsheet application 104 can automatically provide the evaluated final result 404 in cell D2 406," Canton paragraph 0059; "In operation 506, the calculation engine 103 performs a translation of the identified one or more elements written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine 103 may translate the parts of the equation “=PRODUCT(A4, 2)” written in spreadsheet notation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 may obtain the data stored in cell A4, which might be, for example a number or another equation. If the data stored in cell A4 is a number, the calculation engine 103 obtains that number. If, alternatively, the data stored in cell A4 is another equation including, for example, another cell reference (e.g., “B4” or “SUM(B4, 5)”), the calculation engine 103 further retrieves the data stored in that referenced cell. Accordingly, the calculation engine 103 iteratively retrieves data until all such data is retrieved," Canton paragraph 0063), and (ii) a display process for displaying on a display the first calculation formula in a display mode of the mathematical natural display indicated by the second part ("Yet, in other embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may display a prompt providing an option for the user to display the final result 404 in cell D2 406 or display, in cell D2 406, the equation 402 written in mathematical notation without evaluating the equation 402. In embodiments, if the option to display the final result 404 is selected, the original equation may still be maintained and referenced. For example, a separate user interface displaying the original equation may be provided in response to hovering over the cell displaying the final result 404. Such a user interface may also allow the equation to be selectable and editable. Yet in other embodiments, other user interfaces may also be provided," Canton paragraph 0059).
As to claim 18, Canton discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a spreadsheet program for causing a processor included in a spreadsheet apparatus (“Furthermore, embodiments of the disclosure may be practiced in an electrical circuit comprising discrete electronic elements, packaged or integrated electronic chips containing logic gates, a circuit utilizing a microprocessor, or on a single chip containing electronic elements or microprocessors,” Canton paragraph 0117), to:
accept a calculation formula for executing calculation with a target being a calculation element that is input in a table format, as a first calculation formula of a first format including a first part corresponding to a description format of referring to a cell of a table and a second part corresponding to a description format for mathematical natural display "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2” and second part is written in mathematical notation); and
execute one of either (i) a calculation process for calculating the first calculation formula by using a value of the cell that the first part refers to ("It is understood that the equation 402 may be provided in the formula bar 206 or directly into cell D2 406 of the spreadsheet. Based on a user's operation of the enter key, or a similar operation resulting in a final entry of the equation 402 into the formula bar 206 or a cell, the spreadsheet application 104 can automatically provide the evaluated final result 404 in cell D2 406," Canton paragraph 0059; "In operation 506, the calculation engine 103 performs a translation of the identified one or more elements written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine 103 may translate the parts of the equation “=PRODUCT(A4, 2)” written in spreadsheet notation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 may obtain the data stored in cell A4, which might be, for example a number or another equation. If the data stored in cell A4 is a number, the calculation engine 103 obtains that number. If, alternatively, the data stored in cell A4 is another equation including, for example, another cell reference (e.g., “B4” or “SUM(B4, 5)”), the calculation engine 103 further retrieves the data stored in that referenced cell. Accordingly, the calculation engine 103 iteratively retrieves data until all such data is retrieved," Canton paragraph 0063), or (ii) a display process for displaying on a display the first calculation formula in a display mode of the mathematical natural display indicated by the second part ("Yet, in other embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may display a prompt providing an option for the user to display the final result 404 in cell D2 406 or display, in cell D2 406, the equation 402 written in mathematical notation without evaluating the equation 402. In embodiments, if the option to display the final result 404 is selected, the original equation may still be maintained and referenced. For example, a separate user interface displaying the original equation may be provided in response to hovering over the cell displaying the final result 404. Such a user interface may also allow the equation to be selectable and editable. Yet in other embodiments, other user interfaces may also be provided," Canton paragraph 0059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canton et al. (US 20170220543 A1, hereinafter Canton) in view of Kijewski (US 20100031175 A1).
As to claim 7, Canton discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 6, however Canton does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the notation method for the typesetting process system is a LaTex notation method.
Kijewski teaches a limitation wherein the notation method for the typesetting process system is a LaTex notation method ("The present invention will allow a user to define a mathematical equation, the results of which will be output in graphical and numerical formats. The user opens a window into which a mathematical expression is typed. This expression may be typed using a variety of math typesetting languages, such as MathML, LaTeX, or similar. Multiple equations can be entered, which are stored as separate 'layers'," Kijewski paragraph 0013).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Canton to allow the user to enter mathematical notation using LaTex as taught by Kijewski. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could have more choice as to how to enter mathematical expressions, therefore resulting greater ease of use for the user.
As to claim 8, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 7, wherein the processor accepts, as the calculation element that is input in the table format,
numerical value data that is a numerical value or a variable, and LaTex data in which a numerical value is expressed by the LaTex notation method ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2"; "The present invention will allow a user to define a mathematical equation, the results of which will be output in graphical and numerical formats. The user opens a window into which a mathematical expression is typed. This expression may be typed using a variety of math typesetting languages, such as MathML, LaTeX, or similar. Multiple equations can be entered, which are stored as separate 'layers'," Kijewski paragraph 0013).
As to claim 9, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to cause the cell to display the LaTex data that is input to the cell, by the mathematical natural display ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056; "Based on the parsing performed on the equation 302 and the data obtained from cells B2 and C2, the calculation engine 103 provides the detailed structure of the equation 402, including the data stored in cells B2 and C2 to the math engine 105. In response, the math engine 105 converts the equation 402 to mathematical notation based on the data provided to it by the calculation engine 103 and outputs equation 404, which is stored in cell D2 406," Canton paragraph 0057; "The present invention will allow a user to define a mathematical equation, the results of which will be output in graphical and numerical formats. The user opens a window into which a mathematical expression is typed. This expression may be typed using a variety of math typesetting languages, such as MathML, LaTeX, or similar. Multiple equations can be entered, which are stored as separate 'layers'," Kijewski paragraph 0013; Canton Figure 4 406).
As to claim 10, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to save, as the cell value of the cell of the table, the input LaTex data, and numerical value data in which the input LaTex data is converted to a numerical value ("Furthermore, in some embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may automatically, or in response to user input, simplify the expression. So in the example provided in FIG. 7, the spreadsheet application 104 might simplify the equation to “0.31+(2*Z).” In other embodiments, the math engine may first simplify the expression prior to substituting the variables within the equation, thereby returning a simplified, substituted result," Canton paragraph 0070; "Yet, in other embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may display a prompt providing an option for the user to display the final result 404 in cell D2 406 or display, in cell D2 406, the equation 402 written in mathematical notation without evaluating the equation 402. In embodiments, if the option to display the final result 404 is selected, the original equation may still be maintained and referenced. For example, a separate user interface displaying the original equation may be provided in response to hovering over the cell displaying the final result 404. Such a user interface may also allow the equation to be selectable and editable. Yet in other embodiments, other user interfaces may also be provided," Canton paragraph 0059).
As to claim 11, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 10, wherein
the first part included in the first calculation formula includes a spreadsheet function ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2"), and
the conversion of the first calculation formula to the second calculation formula includes replacing, based on a content of the spreadsheet function, an input content with LaTex data by the LaTex notation method, and includes replacing, by using the LaTex data saved in the cell that is referred to, the first calculation formula of the first format with the second calculation formula of the LaTex notation method that is the second format that can be calculated ("In this example, the calculation engine 103 of the spreadsheet application 104 parses the equation 402 written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation to identify each element contained therein. The calculation engine 103 also identifies any logical operations written in spreadsheet notation that are performed on those elements. Thus, in this example, the calculation engine 103 identifies the 'SUM' function as an addition of the three elements. The calculation engine 103 also obtains the data stored in cells B2 and C2 (i.e., $4.2 and $0.08, respectively). Based on the parsing performed on the equation 302 and the data obtained from cells B2 and C2, the calculation engine 103 provides the detailed structure of the equation 402, including the data stored in cells B2 and C2 to the math engine 105. In response, the math engine 105 converts the equation 402 to mathematical notation based on the data provided to it by the calculation engine 103 and outputs equation 404, which is stored in cell D2 406. Based on the information it receives from the calculation engine 103, the math engine 105 inserts addition operators between each identified element to output equation 404 written in mathematical notation (i.e., '4.2+0.08+((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)')," Canton paragraph 0057; "The present invention will allow a user to define a mathematical equation, the results of which will be output in graphical and numerical formats. The user opens a window into which a mathematical expression is typed. This expression may be typed using a variety of math typesetting languages, such as MathML, LaTeX, or similar. Multiple equations can be entered, which are stored as separate 'layers'," Kijewski paragraph 0013).
As to claim 12, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to save, as a cell value for the cell in which the first calculation formula is accepted, a calculation result of the third calculation formula by the LaTex data and the numerical value data ("It is understood that the equation 402 may be provided in the formula bar 206 or directly into cell D2 406 of the spreadsheet. Based on a user's operation of the enter key, or a similar operation resulting in a final entry of the equation 402 into the formula bar 206 or a cell, the spreadsheet application 104 can automatically provide the evaluated final result 404 in cell D2 406," Canton paragraph 0059).
As to claim 13, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to cause the cell in which the first calculation formula is accepted, to display, by the mathematical natural display, the LaTex data that is the calculation result of the third calculation formula ("Yet, in other embodiments, the spreadsheet application 104 may display a prompt providing an option for the user to display the final result 404 in cell D2 406 or display, in cell D2 406, the equation 402 written in mathematical notation without evaluating the equation 402. In embodiments, if the option to display the final result 404 is selected, the original equation may still be maintained and referenced. For example, a separate user interface displaying the original equation may be provided in response to hovering over the cell displaying the final result 404. Such a user interface may also allow the equation to be selectable and editable. Yet in other embodiments, other user interfaces may also be provided," Canton paragraph 0059).
As to claim 16, Canton as modified by Kijewski further discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether each calculation element included in the accepted first calculation formula is the first part corresponding to the cell coordinate that refers to the cell of the table, or the second part corresponding to the LaTex notation method ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056; "FIG. 5 illustrates a flow chart of a method 500 for converting an equation written in spreadsheet notation to math notation as performed by the calculation engine 103. In operation 502, the calculation engine 103 identifies and parses the elements of the equation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 identifies each element of the equation and determines which element, if any, is written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine can identify each individual element of the equation '=PRODUCT(A4, 2)' In such an example, the calculation engine 103 will identify two elements: the cell reference A4 and the value 2. The calculation engine 103 will also identify the 'PRODUCT' function in operation 502," Canton paragraph 0061; "In operation 504, the calculation engine 103 determines whether the equation includes mathematical notation. Based on the analysis performed in operation 502, the calculation engine can determine whether the equation is written in spreadsheet notation, mathematical notation, or a combination of spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0062, determining what parts of the formula are in spreadsheet notation and which parts are in mathematical notation); and
convert, in accordance with a result of the determination, the first calculation formula to the second calculation formula of the second format that can be calculated by a predetermined calculation processing unit ("In operation 506, the calculation engine 103 performs a translation of the identified one or more elements written in spreadsheet notation. For example, the calculation engine 103 may translate the parts of the equation “=PRODUCT(A4, 2)” written in spreadsheet notation. In particular, the calculation engine 103 may obtain the data stored in cell A4, which might be, for example a number or another equation. If the data stored in cell A4 is a number, the calculation engine 103 obtains that number. If, alternatively, the data stored in cell A4 is another equation including, for example, another cell reference (e.g., “B4” or “SUM(B4, 5)”), the calculation engine 103 further retrieves the data stored in that referenced cell. Accordingly, the calculation engine 103 iteratively retrieves data until all such data is retrieved," Canton paragraph 0063).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canton et al. (US 20170220543 A1, hereinafter Canton) in view of Zusman et al. (US 20180239749 A1, hereinafter Zusman).
As to claim 15, Canton discloses the spreadsheet apparatus of Claim 14, wherein
the first part included in the first calculation formula includes a spreadsheet function ("For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the equation 402 represented as '=SUM(B2, C2, ((x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2)' is provided in the formula bar 206. The equation 402 includes three elements: cell reference B2, cell reference C2, and argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2.' The cell references B2 and C2 are written in spreadsheet notation and the argument '(x.sup.3+15).sup.2÷4.2' is written in mathematical notation. Furthermore, the cell references and the argument are nested inside the 'SUM' spreadsheet notation operator. Accordingly, the equation 402 is written in both spreadsheet notation and mathematical notation," Canton paragraph 0056, first part of formula is represented in spreadsheet formula "=SUM(B2, C2").
However Canton does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the processor is configured to execute, in a case where the first calculation formula includes a spreadsheet function that cannot be processed by the calculation server, calculation by the spreadsheet function in regard to numerical value data in a calculation result calculated by the calculation server.
Zusman teaches a limitation wherein the processor is configured to execute, in a case where the first calculation formula includes a spreadsheet function that cannot be processed by the calculation server, calculation by the spreadsheet function in regard to numerical value data in a calculation result calculated by the calculation server (“For example, the system can estimate an amount of time that a given spreadsheet task will take to execute locally and notify the user about the ability to asynchronously offload the task,” Zusman paragraph 0025; “At decision 207, the spreadsheet application decides whether to offload the computationally expensive spreadsheet task. As discussed herein, the decision can occur as a result of a manual user operation, e.g., directing the spreadsheet app to offload a computationally expensive spreadsheet task,” Zusman paragraph 0030, will only offload computation tasks that the user has approved (i.e., those tasks which can be processed by the server) and all others will be executed locally).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Canton to allow the user to selectively choose whether to run calculations locally or in the cloud as taught by Kijewski. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could choose between keeping data private on the device or preserving the local device’s battery life (Zusman paragraphs 0022 and 0030).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12450426 B1 to Samadani discloses a method and system for cellular computation and display where a mathematical formula in mathematical notation can be entered into a table cell and calculated;
US 20120179956 A1 to Winterstein discloses structured domain specific language and grid valued machine for creating spreadsheets and numerical plans where LaTex formulas can be input into a cell of a spreadsheet; and
US 20120192052 A1 to Caplan et al. discloses a hybrid client/network service application integration where calculations of cells in a spreadsheet can selectively happen locally or remotely.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171