DETAILED ACTION
The response filed 8/17/2026 has been entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11, 12, and 16 of U.S. Patent No.11,925,938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application completely encompass the claims of the patent. One could not make or use the invention recited in patent without literally infringing the claims of this application. Specifically: claim 1 of the patent corresponds to claims 1, 2, 6, 7, and 10 of this application; claim 6 of the patent corresponds to claims 7 and 18 of this application; claim 11 of the patent corresponds to claim 12 of this application; claim 12 of the patent corresponds to claim 13 of this application; and claim 16 of the patent corresponds to claim 14 of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lind et al. (US 11,517,913). Lind discloses a system for refining mixed material streams/method for refining mixed material streams, comprising: a receptacle (12) for receiving an input stream; a mill (34) grinding the input stream to reduce particle size and output a milled stream; a first filter (35) having first filtration holes which filter the milled stream to remove a first portion having particle sizes larger than the first filtration holes (see at least col. 14, lines 25-37) and to output as a sifted stream a second portion having particle sizes smaller than the first filtration holes (see at least col. 12, lines 4-16); a second filter (38) having second filtration holes which are smaller than the first filtration holes of the first filter, the second filtration holes filtering the sifted stream to output a filtered stream (see at least col. 12, lines 39-40); and a density separator (20) receiving the filtered stream and receiving a liquid (see col. 12, lines 48-55), wherein the filtered stream combined with the liquid forms a mixture, and wherein the density separator separates the mixture into at least a first output and a second output having a greater density than the first output (see at least col. 12, lines 48-65). The first filter comprises a screen (see at least col. 12, line 5). The first filter is configured to automatically remove the first portion for collection (see at least col. 14, lines 25-35). The second filter comprises a mesh (see at least col. 12, lines 28-30). The density separator is an electrodynamic shaker table, a servo-hydraulic shaker table, a mechanical shaker table, a panning device, a blue bowl concentrator, a miller table, a sluice, a spiral concentrator, or a device designed to produce vibrations (see at least col. 12, lines 48-65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, 15-17, 19, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner notes that a terminal disclaimer has not been submitted by the applicant in this application.
The applicant states that Lind does not disclose a mill grinding the input stream to reduce particle size and output a milled stream. The examiner disagrees with the applicant. Lind discloses a mill (34) grinding the input stream it receives from a receptacle (12). The structure disclosed by Lind reads on the plain meaning of these limitations.
The applicant states that Lind does not disclose a density separator receiving the filtered stream and receiving a liquid that combine to form a mixture separated by density. The examiner disagrees with the applicant. Lind discloses a density separator (20) receiving the filtered stream and receiving a liquid that combine to form a mixture separated by density. The examiner notes that a “hydrocyclone” includes a liquid.
Regarding claim 7, the examiner notes that Lind’s “hydrocyclone” reads on the term “spiral concentrator”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653