DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phase “a one-way bearing can also be installed between an output shaft and a driven wheel” is indefinite because the term "can” creates doubts as to whether the one-way bearing is in fact installed between an output shaft and a driven wheel and therefore is unclear. “Can” and “capable” are not equivalents. For examination purpose, it is understood as " a one-way bearing is installed between an output shaft and a driven wheel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepe et al. (US 11,975,854 B2) in view of Shenouda (US 11,043,884 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Tepe teaches a novel electric driving force device, comprising a box body (1202A, fig 12A), driving motor ((1204A-1208A) and inverters (component in side inverter housing 1228A), a reducing mechanism (1202A) composed of driving wheels and driven wheels (1214A, 1216A, 1218A), central bearings (1616B, fig 16B), output shafts (1210A), some standard mechanical fasteners and other parts (1224A). However, Tepe does not teaches more than two sets of driving motors are distributed in a solar planetary manner on a radial spatial plane with an output shaft as a center of gyration, to drive more than one set of reducing mechanism in parallel.
Shenouda teaches a multi-rotor electric machine having a plurality of motors (fig 1) wherein more than two sets of driving motors (102-122) are distributed in a solar planetary manner on a radial spatial plane (fig 1) with an output shaft (104) as a center of gyration, to drive more than one set of reducing mechanism (118, 119, and 150) in parallel to promote an efficient use of space and power density so that reduce corresponding cost and weight saving (col 3 ln 40-44).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tepe’s novel electric driving force device with more than two sets of driving motors are distributed in a solar planetary manner on a radial spatial plane with an output shaft as a center of gyration, to drive more than one set of reducing mechanism in parallel as taught by Shenouda. Doing so would promote an efficient use of space and power density so that reduce corresponding cost and weight saving (col 3 ln 40-44).
Regarding the claim 2, Tepe in view of Shenouda teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Tepe further teaches a one-way bearing (1124B, 1126B) is installed between an output shaft (1110B) and a driving wheel of a driving motor (col 22 ln 47-52).
Regarding the claim 3, Tepe in view of Shenouda teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Tepe further teaches a one-way bearing (1616A) is installed between an output shaft and a driven wheel (col 31 ln 11-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Downs et al. (US 9,991,763 B1) teaches a power plant for a small aircraft with a gas turbine engine that drives a number of electric generators, where a gear box transmit power from the engine shaft to the number of generators, the gear box having a single input shaft that drives a number of driven gears with each driven gear having a generator drive shaft that extends out both sides, and an electric generator connected to each side of the drive shaft. A compact arrangement of generators are formed where each generator can be disengaged from the drive shaft to regulate total electrical output or to prevent a damaged generator from causing damage to other parts of the system or aircraft.
Petersen et al. (US 9,487,084 B2) teaches an electric drive includes a motor configuration with a plurality of electric machines, an output configuration, and a transmission stage. The output configuration has a summing stage configured as a Ravigneaux set with a summing internal gear, a summing spider, two sets of summing planets, and two summing suns. The transmission stage has a transmission sun, transmission planets, and a rotatably mounted transmission internal gear. The transmission sun is connected to the output configuration. The transmission planets are each connected to a respective one of the electric machines. The transmission planets roll on the transmission sun and on the transmission internal gear in a torque-transmitting manner. The transmission internal gear is fixedly connected to one of the two summing suns. The transmission sun is fixedly connected to another one of the two summing suns. A drive configuration for a motor vehicle is also provided.
/LEDA T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834