Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language defined by a Markush grouping requires selection from a closed group "consisting of" the alternative members. Treatment of claims reciting alternatives is not governed by the particular format used (e.g., alternatives may be set forth as "a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is A, B, or C"). See MPEP 2117(I).
Claim 1 recites “includes at least one selected from a gel, a polymer, and a high viscosity electrolyte”. It appears that applicant is intending for the selection to made from one of the components in the list or a combination of those components and the claim is interpretated as such.
The Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a gel, a polymer, and a high viscosity electrolyte” or “includes at least one of a gel, a polymer, or a high viscosity electrolyte” to reflect the alternative selection of a component or a combination of those from the list.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation “said current collector” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpretated as “said porous current collector”, pending further clarification from applicant.
Claims 2-3 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasuo (US 2022/0173378 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hasuo teaches an all-solid-state battery (Hasuo [0075-0080], Fig. 1) comprising:
an all-solid-state battery positive electrode in which a positive electrode active material (2, Hasuo Fig. 1) layer is formed on a positive electrode current collector (1, Hasuo Fig. 1)
an all-solid-state battery negative electrode in which a negative electrode active material layer (4, Hasuo Fig. 1) is formed on a negative electrode current collector (5, Hasuo Fig. 1)
a solid electrolyte layer disposed between said all-solid-state battery positive electrode and said all-solid-state battery negative electrode (3, Hasuo Fig. 1)
wherein the positive electrode active material layer is a porous active material layer including a porous current collector (aluminum fiber A, Hasuo Fig. 1) and an active material filled in said porous current collector (11, Hasuo Fig. 1)
an intermediate layer disposed between said porous active material layer and said solid electrolyte layer (interface between the solid electrolyte layer (3) and the cathode layer (2), Hasuo Fig. 1).
said intermediate layer including a polymer (polyvinylidene fluoride, Hasuo [0075,0079])
Regarding claim 2, Hasuo teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Hasuo further teaches said porous active material layer comprising a void on said solid electrolyte layer side (spaces between the fibers A, Hasuo Fig. 1) and said intermediate layer is disposed in said void (Hasuo Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasuo.
Regarding claim 3, Hasuo teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Hasuo does not expressly teach an embodiment of an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1 wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises metallic lithium, a lithium alloy, or silicon.
However, Hasuo teaches that the embodiment of their invention may be used to form a solid-state battery that uses a silicon negative active material (silicon anode, Hasuo [0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a silicon negative active material in the all-solid-state battery of Hasuo in order to obtain the predictable result of an all-solid-state battery comprising a negative electrode capable of intercalating and deintercalating lithium ions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang (US 2023/0163347 A1): appears to disclose a solid state battery comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode comprising a current collector, a porous layer, and a solid electrolyte layer (abstract, Fig. 2).
Tao (Tao, X. et al. Solid-State Lithium-Sulfur Batteries Operated at 37°C with Composites of Nanostructured Li7La3Zr2O12/Carbon Foam and Polymer. Nano Letters. 17, 2967-2972 (2017)): appears to disclose an all-solid-state battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a solid electrolyte layer, wherein the positive electrode comprises a porous current collector (carbon foam) and an active material filled in the porous current collector (sulfur) (Fig. 1).
Yan (Yan, C. et al. Interconnected cathode-electrolyte double-layer enabling continuous Li-ion conduction throughout solid-state Li-S battery. Energy Storage Materials. 44, 136-144 (2022)): appears to disclose an all-solid-state battery comprising a cathode comprising a porous layer and active material, a solid electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode layer (Fig. 1-2).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789