DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0141784) in view of Rao et al. (US 2008/0025341).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Kim discloses a method, a system, and a device, the method comprising:
comparing, using a processing device, a measured temperature of a component of a wireless device with a designated temperature value (Fig. 5 step S110; paragraphs [0006], [0024]; e.g., the temperature of the terminal may not exceed (or may be unlikely to exceed) a threshold temperature);
determining, using the processing device, if a transmission parameter of the wireless device should be adjusted, the determining comprising determining that the measured temperature is a designated difference from the designated temperature value (Fig. 5 step S130; paragraphs [0026], [0053]; e.g., adjust a transmission power limit for uplink transmission based on the temperature obtained in operation S110 and the resource block allocation information received in operation S120);
identifying, using the processing device, an adjustment to be made to the transmission parameter in response to determining that a transmission parameter should be adjusted (paragraphs [0026], [0050]; e.g., a terminal may adjust a transmission power limit for transmitting signals to a base station to reduce power consumption at the terminal).
Kim fails to specifically disclose adjusting, using the processing device, the transmission parameter of one or more transmission operations of the wireless device based on the identified adjustment.
However, Rao discloses adjusting, using the processing device, the transmission parameter of one or more transmission operations of the wireless device based on the identified adjustment (Fig. 5 step 504; paragraphs [0004], [0024];e.g., determining an adjustment in view of the temperature, changing a duty-cycle of the device in accordance with the adjustment).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kim in combination of Rao as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to adjusting the transmission parameter of one or more transmission operations of the wireless device based on the identified adjustment for advantages of mitigating the effects of heat dissipation within a radio while maintaining system throughput and linear operating characterstics (Rao: paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method of claim 1, fails to specifically disclose wherein the transmission parameter is a transmission duty cycle.
However, Rao discloses the transmission parameter is a transmission duty cycle (paragraphs [0004], [0024]; e.g., The temperature can be compared to a threshold, and if the temperature exceeds the threshold, an adjustment can be performed to the duty-cycle).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kim in combination of Rao as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to have the transmission parameter is a transmission duty cycle in order to prevent thermal failure as ambient heat rises.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method, the system, and the device of claims 2, 10, and 16, fails to specifically disclose wherein the identified adjustment comprises an adjustment to a percentage of the transmission duty cycle of the wireless device.
However, Rao discloses the identified adjustment comprises an adjustment to a percentage of the transmission duty cycle of the wireless device (paragraphs [0026], [0031]; e.g., The duty-cycle 300, as a result of timing adjustments by the controller 240 due to temperature readings, provides an indication of transmit and receive times that are optimal to the mobile device in view of operating performance).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kim in combination of Rao as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to adjust the transmission duty cycle to a percentage of the wireless device in order to prevent thermal failure as ambient heat rises.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method and the system of claims 1 and 10, wherein the identifying of the adjustment further comprises: identifying an adjustment mode from a plurality of adjustment modes, and wherein the plurality of adjustment modes comprises a first adjustment mode and a second adjustment mode (Kim: paragraphs [0006], [0026]; e.g., a terminal may adjust a transmission power limit based on a block error rate (BLER), such that the BLER remains below a threshold (e.g., while minimizing the transmission power limit)).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method and the system of claims 4 and 12, fails to specifically disclose wherein the first adjustment mode comprises a percentage change to a transmission duty cycle determined based on a difference between the measured temperature and the designated temperature value, and wherein the second adjustment mode comprises the percentage change to the transmission duty cycle determined based on the difference between the measured temperature and the designated temperature value multiplied by a scaling factor.
However, Rao discloses wherein the first adjustment mode comprises a percentage change to a transmission duty cycle determined based on a difference between the measured temperature and the designated temperature value, and wherein the second adjustment mode comprises the percentage change to the transmission duty cycle determined based on the difference between the measured temperature and the designated temperature value multiplied by a scaling factor ([0031]-[0032]; e.g., the controller 240 can increase the duty-cycle 300 to lengthen time periods between transmissions or receptions upon the sensor 230 detecting increasing temperatures).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kim in combination of Rao as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to have the first adjustment mode comprises a percentage change to a transmission duty cycle determined based on a difference between the measured temperature and the designated temperature value, and wherein the second adjustment mode comprises the percentage change to the transmission duty cycle determined based on the difference between the measured temperature and the designated temperature value multiplied by a scaling factor for advantages of mitigating the effects of heat dissipation within a radio while maintaining system throughput and linear operating characterstic (Rao: paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 19, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method, the system, and the device of claims 5, 13, and 18, fails to specifically disclose wherein the identifying the adjustment comprises: identifying an increase in a transmission duty cycle in response to determining that the measured temperature is less than or equal to the designated temperature value.
However, Rao discloses the identifying the adjustment comprises: identifying an increase in a transmission duty cycle in response to determining that the measured temperature is less than or equal to the designated temperature value (Rao: [0031]-[0032]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kim in combination of Rao as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to identifying an increase in a transmission duty cycle in response to determining that the measured temperature is less than or equal to the designated temperature value in order to prevent thermal failure as ambient heat rises.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method of claim 6,
wherein the first adjustment mode is identified in response to determining that the measured temperature is less than a threshold temperature value minus a designated step size (Kim: paragraphs [0026], [0042], [0045]).
Regarding claims 8, 15, and 20, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method, the system, and the device of claims 5, 13, and 18, fails to specifically disclose wherein the identifying the adjustment comprises: identifying a decrease in a transmission duty cycle in response to determining that the measured temperature is greater than the designated temperature value.
However, Rao discloses the identifying the adjustment comprises: identifying a decrease in a transmission duty cycle in response to determining that the measured temperature is greater than the designated temperature value (Rao: paragraphs [0025], [0031]; e.g., the controller 240 can decrease the duty-cycle for decreasing temperatures).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kim in combination of Rao as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to identifying a decrease in a transmission duty cycle in response to determining that the measured temperature is greater than the designated temperature value in order to prevent thermal failure as ambient heat rises.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in combination with Rao discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first adjustment mode is identified in response to determining that the measured temperature is greater than a threshold temperature value (Kim: paragraphs [0045], [0063], [0076]; e.g., when the temperature at the terminal increases or is greater than a temperature threshold, the second power headroom that is reported may be less than the first power headroom such that the base station may allocate a reduced number of (e.g., less) resource blocks to the terminal).
Claim 18 is rejected with the same reasons set forth to claims 4 and 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2025/0212140) discloses limiting transmission power of a transmission signal based upon temperature detection.
Kothiwale et al. (US 2021/0168838) discloses identifying a set of data transmission based on determining a current temperature of the UE is greater than a threshold temperature.
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648