DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (Invention I) in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL
Claims 1-13 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a broad and widely varying genus of methods for harvesting a genus of recombinant proteins during a biomanufacturing process comprising: establishing a genus of cell cultures by inoculating a bioreactor with mammalian cells expressing the recombinant protein; maintaining the cell culture during a growth phase and a production phase, wherein a genus of exogenous protease inhibitors is optionally admixed with the cell culture during the growth phase and/or during or after the production phase; cooling the cell culture, wherein a dissolved oxygen level of about 64 mmHg to about 128 mmHg is optionally maintained in the cell culture during the cooling; admixing an acidic solution with the cell culture to obtain an acidified cell culture with a pH of about 4.6 to about 5.3; and incubating the acidified cell culture to induce agglomeration of one or more cell culture impurities, wherein the recombinant protein comprises an genus of asparaginyl endopeptidase (AEP) cleavage sites. According to MPEP 2163:
“For each claim drawn to a genus: The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014)…”
According to MPEP 2163.02:
“The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. The test for sufficiency of support in a parent application is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter." Ralston Purina Co. v. Far-Mar-Co., Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575, 227 USPQ 177, 179 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (quoting In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).”
The specification as originally filed does not disclose a representative number of species encompassed by the claimed genus by actual reduction to practice. The specification as originally filed does not provide a correlation between function and structure to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to predict which structures and chemical properties correlate with protease inhibitor activity and asparaginyl endopeptidase (AEP) cleavage activity.
Hence, the specification does not provide sufficient written description to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that applicants were in possession at the time the application was filed of the claimed broad and widely varying genus of methods for harvesting a genus of recombinant proteins during a biomanufacturing process comprising: establishing a genus of cell cultures by inoculating a bioreactor with mammalian cells expressing the recombinant protein; maintaining the cell culture during a growth phase and a production phase, wherein a genus of exogenous protease inhibitors is optionally admixed with the cell culture during the growth phase and/or during or after the production phase; cooling the cell culture, wherein a dissolved oxygen level of about 64 mmHg to about 128 mmHg is optionally maintained in the cell culture during the cooling; admixing an acidic solution with the cell culture to obtain an acidified cell culture with a pH of about 4.6 to about 5.3; and incubating the acidified cell culture to induce agglomeration of one or more cell culture impurities, wherein the recombinant protein comprises an genus of asparaginyl endopeptidase (AEP) cleavage sites.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200231655A1 (2020-07-23; PTO 892) in view of Maria et al. (JOURNAL OF CHROMATOGRAPHY A, vol. 1393, 1 May 2015 (2015-05-01), pages 57-64; IDS filed 10/22/2025), Zhao et al. (CELL RESEARCH, vol. 24, no. 3, 10 January 2014 (2014-01-10), pages 344-358 ; IDS filed 10/22/2025).
US20200231655A1 teaches methods for purifying cell cultivation supernatants either directly after fermentation or after one or more preliminary purification steps, such as protein A affinity chromatography where by adjusting the pH value in the acid range and subsequent incubation of the acidified solution host cell nucleic acid and host cell protein can be precipitated but the target polypeptide remains in solution, and thereafter the precipitate and therewith the contaminating host cell components can be removed by a simple physical separation step. US20200231655A1 teaches methods to purify recombinant proteins like monoclonal antibodies from fermentation supernatant after cell separation by acidifying by adjusting pH to 4.5-5.5 for removing impurities whereas the protein of interest remain in solution, pH 4.5-3.5 for lgG1, 5.5-4.5, for lgG4, also cooling to 4°C is disclosed. See entire publication and claims especially paragraphs [0007]- [0042]. US20200231655A1 teaches the following in the claims:
19. A method for producing an immunoglobulin comprising the following steps:
i) adding a solution consisting of an acid and water to a cell cultivation broth for adjusting the pH to a value of below 5.5,
ii) incubating the pH adjusted cell cultivation broth, and
iii) removing the precipitate from the incubated cell cultivation broth and thereby producing the immunoglobulin,
wherein the cell cultivation broth comprises the immunoglobulin at a concentration of not more than 10 mg/ml,
wherein the concentration of the added acid is 5.5 mol/l or lower.
20. A method for purifying a cell cultivation broth comprising the following steps:
i) adding a solution consisting of an acid and water to the cell cultivation broth for adjusting the pH value to a value of below 5.5,
ii) incubating the pH adjusted cell cultivation broth, and
iii) removing the precipitate from the incubated cell cultivation broth and thereby purifying the cell cultivation broth,
wherein the cell cultivation broth comprises the immunoglobulin at a concentration of not more than 10 mg/ml,
wherein the concentration of the added acid is 5.5 mol/l or lower.
21. The method according to claim 19, wherein at least 90% of the immunoglobulin remains in solution during the incubating step.
22. The method according to claim 19, wherein the incubating is at a temperature of from 2° C. to 10° C.
23. The method according to claim 22, wherein the incubating of the pH adjusted cell cultivation broth is at a temperature of about 4° C.
24. The method according to claim 19, wherein the incubating the pH adjusted broth is for about at least 2 hours.
25. The method according to claim 24, wherein the incubating is for about 2-72 hours, about 2-48 hours, or about 24 hours.
26. The method according to claim 19, wherein the removing is by a method selected from sedimentation, decantation, filtration, settlement, and centrifugation.
27. The method according to claim 19, wherein the acid is selected from acetic acid, citric acid, hydrochloric acid, and phosphoric acid.
28. The method according to claim 19, wherein the concentration of the acid is of from 1.5 mol/l to 5.5 mol/l.
29. The method according to claim 27, wherein the acid is acetic acid with a concentration of from 1.5 mol/l to 4 mol/l.
30. The method according to claim 28, wherein the acid is acetic acid with a concentration of from 1.5 mol/l to 4 mol/l.
31. The method according to claim 19, wherein the concentration of the immunoglobulin is of from 1 mg/ml to 5 mg/ml.
32. The method according to claim 19, wherein the cell is a CHO cell.
33. A method for producing a polypeptide comprising the following steps:
i) providing a mammalian cell comprising a nucleic acid encoding the polypeptide,
ii) cultivating the cell under serum free conditions,
iii) recovering the cell cultivation broth, without removing cells and cell debris from the cell cultivation broth, and
iv) purifying the cell cultivation broth by the following steps and thereby producing a polypeptide:
a) adding a solution consisting of an acid and water to the cell cultivation broth for adjusting the pH to a value below 5.5,
b) incubating the pH adjusted cell cultivation broth, and
c) removing the precipitate from the incubated cell cultivation broth,
wherein the cell cultivation broth comprises the polypeptide at a concentration of not more than 10 mg/ml,
wherein the concentration of the added acid is 5.5 mol/l or lower.
Maria et al. teach a process to purify monoclonal antibodies (mAb) from CHO cell culture supernatant using chromatography, anion-exchange membrane and discloses host cell
proteins identified in mAb fractions at end of purification, i.e. legumain in the
fermentation supernatant, see table 3. Maria et al. teach that mAb fractions comprise host cell-derived legumain (= asparaginyl endopeptidase) in the supernatant as the second most abundant host cell protein. See entire publication and abstract especially Table 3.
Zhao et al. teaches the enzyme asparaginyl endopeptidase (AEP, legumain) and reveals the hydrolytic activation mechanism and a reversible intermediate, wherein the activation
occurs at pH 4.5. See entire publication and abstract especially pages 345-347 and Figs. 1 and 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reference teachings to make the claimed method for harvesting a recombinant protein during a biomanufacturing process where the recombinant protein comprise an asparaginyl endopeptidase cleavage site and a protease inhibitor is optionally admixed with the cell culture during the growth phase and/or during or after the production phase. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a simple and efficient method for harvesting a recombinant protein during a biomanufacturing process where the recombinant protein comprise an asparaginyl endopeptidase cleavage site. It would have been obvious to adjust and implement all method steps and culturing conditions as routine optimization and/or as desired for harvesting the desired recombinant protein. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success because modifying proteins to comprise an asparaginyl endopeptidase cleavage site are known in the art. Hence, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.Hence, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of US Patent 12195779, claims 1-5 of US Patent 11427848,
claims 1-16 of US Patent 11384378. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the patents teach the claimed method for harvesting a recombinant protein during a biomanufacturing process comprising: establishing a cell culture by inoculating a bioreactor with mammalian cells expressing the recombinant protein; maintaining the cell culture during a growth phase and a production phase, wherein an exogenous protease inhibitor is optionally admixed with the cell culture during the growth phase and/or during or after the production phase; cooling the cell culture, wherein a dissolved oxygen level of about 64 mmHg to about 128 mmHg is optionally maintained in the cell culture during the cooling; admixing an acidic solution with the cell culture to obtain an acidified cell culture with a pH of about 4.6 to about 5.3; and incubating the acidified cell culture to induce agglomeration of one or more cell culture impurities, wherein the recombinant protein comprises an asparaginyl endopeptidase (AEP) cleavage site. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application 19152699. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending application teach the claimed method for harvesting a recombinant protein during a biomanufacturing process comprising: establishing a cell culture by inoculating a bioreactor with mammalian cells expressing the recombinant protein; maintaining the cell culture during a growth phase and a production phase, wherein an exogenous protease inhibitor is optionally admixed with the cell culture during the growth phase and/or during or after the production phase; cooling the cell culture, wherein a dissolved oxygen level of about 64 mmHg to about 128 mmHg is optionally maintained in the cell culture during the cooling; admixing an acidic solution with the cell culture to obtain an acidified cell culture with a pH of about 4.6 to about 5.3; and incubating the acidified cell culture to induce agglomeration of one or more cell culture impurities, wherein the recombinant protein comprises an asparaginyl endopeptidase (AEP) cleavage site. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHRISTIAN L FRONDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652