Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP23159736.0, filed on 03/02/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yen et al. (US 20240361821 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yen discloses
A communication device (see Fig. 1, electronic device 100 communicates with external device 108), comprising:
an ultra-wideband communication unit (see pg. 2, paragraph 0022, “the wireless transceiver may exchange data communications using a wireless connection such as…an Ultra-wideband (UWB) communication”) configured to operate in a first radar mode and in a second radar mode (see Fig. 5B, various stages and working modes of the device);
a distance determination unit configured to determine a distance between the communication device and an external device (see Fig. 1; pg. 2, paragraph 0024, “processor 106 may monitor a distance between electronic device 100 and external device 108 via first wireless transceiver 102”);
a controller configured to switch the ultra-wideband communication unit from the first radar mode into the second radar mode in dependence on the distance determined by the distance determination unit (see Fig. 3A, distance determining and state controlling capabilities within device 300; pg. 6, paragraph 0070, “When the monitored distance is between second threshold 504 (e.g., 5 meters) and third threshold 506 (e.g., 30 centimeters), electronic device 400 may be operated in the third power state at stage 3. In an example third power state, electronic device 400 may be switched to a modern standby mode from the hibernated mode”).
Regarding claim 2, Yen further discloses
The communication device of claim 1, wherein the distance determination unit is configured to determine said distance using ultra-wideband communication in a ranging mode, Wi- Fi communication or Bluetooth low energy, BLE, communication (see pg. 3, paragraph 0026, “For example, the first wireless communication may be a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication that measures a signal strength of a received signal to estimate the distance and the second wireless communication may be an Ultra-wideband (UWB) communication that measures a ToF of a received signal to estimate the distance”).
Regarding claim 3, Yen further discloses
The communication device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to switch the ultra-wideband communication unit from the first radar mode into the second radar mode if the distance determined by the distance determination unit falls below a predefined threshold (see Figs. 5A and 5B; pg. 5, paragraph 0058, “When the monitored distance is greater than a first threshold 502 (e.g., as shown by 508), processor 412 may operate electronic device 400 in a first power state. When the monitored distance is less than first threshold 502 (e.g., as shown by 510), processor 412 may transition electronic device 400 from the first power state to a second power state”).
Regarding claim 4, Yen further discloses
The communication device claim 1, wherein the first radar mode is a low-power mode and the second radar mode is a high-power mode (see pg. 5, paragraph 0055, “For example, processor 302 may detect that the user is static and place electronic device 300 into a low power state. In another example, processor 302 may detect that the user is actively moving towards electronic device 300 and transition electronic device 300 into a higher power state from the low power state”).
Regarding claim 5, Yen further discloses
The communication device claim 1, wherein the first radar mode is a low range resolution mode and the second radar mode is a high range resolution mode (see pg. 2, paragraph 0022, “a device or circuit that is able to both transmit and receive the radio frequency signals through a transmission medium. The wireless transceiver may exchange data communications using a wireless connection such as a Bluetooth communication, an Ultra-wideband (UWB) communication, a Near-Field Communication (NFC), a Zigbee communication, an Infrared communication, or the like. In an example, first wireless transceiver 102 and second wireless transceiver 104 may be a Bluetooth transceiver and a UWB transceiver, respectively, to exchange wireless communications in accordance with a corresponding one of a Bluetooth communication protocol and a UWB communication protocol”).
Regarding claim 6, Yen further discloses
The communication device claim 1, wherein the first radar mode involves operating the ultra-wideband communication unit at a first channel frequency and wherein the second radar mode involves operating the ultra-wideband communication unit at a second channel frequency (see pg. 2, paragraph 0022, “a device or circuit that is able to both transmit and receive the radio frequency signals through a transmission medium. The wireless transceiver may exchange data communications using a wireless connection such as a Bluetooth communication, an Ultra-wideband (UWB) communication, a Near-Field Communication (NFC), a Zigbee communication, an Infrared communication, or the like. In an example, first wireless transceiver 102 and second wireless transceiver 104 may be a Bluetooth transceiver and a UWB transceiver, respectively, to exchange wireless communications in accordance with a corresponding one of a Bluetooth communication protocol and a UWB communication protocol”).
Regarding claim 8, Yen further discloses
The communication device claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to switch the ultra-wideband communication unit from the first radar mode into the second radar mode in dependence on location information, wherein said location information is indicative of the location of the external device (see Figs. 5A and 5B; device can switch between modes depending on distance to external device; pg. 5, paragraph 0058, “When the monitored distance is greater than a first threshold 502 (e.g., as shown by 508), processor 412 may operate electronic device 400 in a first power state. When the monitored distance is less than first threshold 502 (e.g., as shown by 510), processor 412 may transition electronic device 400 from the first power state to a second power state”).
Regarding claim 9, Yen further discloses
The communication device of claim 8, wherein said location information has been provided by one or more of the distance determination unit or one or more external localization devices (see pg. 2, paragraph 0024, “processor 106 may monitor a distance between electronic device 100 and external device 108 via first wireless transceiver 102”).
Regarding claim 10, Yen further discloses
A lighting device comprising: the communication device of claim 1 (see pg. 5, paragraph 0056, “An example display panel may include a liquid crystal display (LCD), light emitting diode (LED), electro-luminescent (EL) display, or the like. In other examples, display housing 404 and base housing 402 may house other components such as a camera, audio/video devices, and the like, depending on the functions of electronic device 400”).
Regarding claim 11, Yen further discloses
A speaker comprising the communication device of claim 1 (see pg. 2, paragraph 0020, “Example electronic device 100 may include a notebook computer, a tablet computer, a gaming laptop, a convertible device, or any other computing device that can operate in multiple power states.”).
Regarding claim 13, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 1 are applied. Yen further discloses
an ultra-wideband communication unit configured to operate in a first radar mode, a second radar mode and a ranging mode (see pg. 2, paragraph 0016, “The second wireless communication may have a property (e.g., a distance detection range”);
a controller configured to:
switch the ultra-wideband communication unit from the first radar mode into the ranging mode such that the ultra-wideband communication unit determines a distance between the communication device and an external device (see Fig. 5B; pg. 6, paragraph 0071, “When the monitored distance via the UWB transceiver is less than third threshold 506, a check may be made to determine whether a display panel of electronic device 400 is in an open position relative to a base of electronic device 400. When the display panel is in the open position, ToF camera 410 may be triggered to oversee the user's distance and range”; pg. 4, paragraph 0038, “the lower power state or the higher power state may be activated based on the monitored distance via wireless transceiver 202”);
switch the ultra-wideband communication unit from the ranging mode back to the first radar mode or into the second radar mode in dependence on the distance determined by the ultra-wideband communication unit (see Figs. 5A and 5B; device can switch between modes depending on distance to external device; pg. 5, paragraph 0058, “When the monitored distance is greater than a first threshold 502 (e.g., as shown by 508), processor 412 may operate electronic device 400 in a first power state. When the monitored distance is less than first threshold 502 (e.g., as shown by 510), processor 412 may transition electronic device 400 from the first power state to a second power state”).
Regarding claim 14, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 13 are applied. The only difference between claim 13 and claim 14 is that claim 13 refers to an apparatus while claim 14 refers to a method. The examiner considers Yen pg. 1, paragraph 0009 (“FIG. 5B is a schematic diagram, depicting an example operation to return the electronic device of FIG. 4 to the working state from the power saving mode based on the monitored distance”) to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claim 14.
Regarding claims 16-21, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 1-6 are applied. The only difference between claims 1-6 and claims 16-21 is that claims 1-6 refer to an apparatus while claims 16-21 refer to a method. The examiner considers Yen pg. 1, paragraph 0009 (“FIG. 5B is a schematic diagram, depicting an example operation to return the electronic device of FIG. 4 to the working state from the power saving mode based on the monitored distance”) to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 16-21.
Regarding claim 22, Yen further discloses
A computer program comprising executable instructions which, when executed by a communication device, cause said communication device to carry out the method of claim 16 (see Fig. 3B, various instructions within machine-readable storage medium 304).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (US 20240361821 A1) in view of Sethuraman (US 20240168128 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Sethuraman discloses
The communication device claim 1, wherein the first radar mode involves using a first radar code, in particular a code generated at a low pulse repetition frequency (LPRF) (see pg. 4, paragraph 0074, “To get to static object detection, a switch to a low PRF radar mode is done, where there is sufficient gap between pulses”), and wherein the second radar mode involves using a second radar code, in particular a code generated at a high pulse repetition frequency (HPRF) (see pg. 1, paragraph 0002, “For example, ultra-wide band technology may use the frequency spectrum of 3.1 to 10.6 GHz and may feature a high-frequency bandwidth of more than 500 MHz and very short pulse signals, resulting in high data rates”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Sethuraman into the invention of Yen. Both Yen and Sethuraman are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose UWB communication devices that can detect movement and distance. Yen discloses the limitations of claim 1; however, Yen fails to disclose using a radar code at LPRF and at HPRF. This feature is disclosed by Sethuraman where the radar device may use LPRF and HPRF to send signals. The combination of Yen and Sethuraman would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently detect close distance static objects (see Sethuraman pg. 4, paragraph 0074) as well as further distanced moving objects with the same device to allow the device to track an object in multiple position and speed scenarios.
Conclusion
/ISABELLA A EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648