DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the application filed on February 01, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A (Claims 1-20) in the reply filed on February 06, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figures 1-12 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l) because the lines are not sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined throughout.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to Claim 2, the recitation of “a communication hole to seal the communication hole” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it refers to: (i) one of the aforementioned “plurality of communication holes” provided with in the ‘water outlet disk’ as recited in Claim 1; or (ii) another communication hole.
As to Claim 3, the recitation of “a communication hole” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it refers to: (i) one of the aforementioned “plurality of communication holes” provided with in the ‘water outlet disk’ as recited in Claim 1; or (ii) another communication hole.
As to Claims 6 and 12-15, the respective recitations of “one group of communication holes” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the group of communication holes: (i) must be a group of the aforementioned “plurality of communication holes” provided with in the ‘water outlet disk’ as recited in Claim 1; or (ii) may be a group of different communication holes.
As to Claim 7, “a plurality of communication holes in one group of communication holes” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the group of communication holes: (i) must be a group of the aforementioned “plurality of communication holes” provided with in the ‘water outlet disk’ as recited in Claim 1 and/or those in Claim 6; or (ii) may be a group of different communication holes.
As to Claims 9 and 16-19, the respective recitations of “one group of water outlet nozzles” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the group of nozzles: (i) must be a group of the aforementioned “water outlet nozzles” provided with in the ‘water outlet jacket’ as recited in Claim 1; or (ii) may be a group of different nozzles.
As to Claim 10, “a plurality of water outlet nozzles in one group of water outlet nozzles” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the nozzles and group of nozzles: (i) must be a group of the aforementioned “water outlet nozzles” provided with in the ‘water outlet jacket’ as recited in Claim 1; or (ii) may be a group of different nozzles.
As to Claim 12, “one group of communication holes” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the group of communication holes: (i) must be a group of the aforementioned “plurality of communication holes” provided with in the ‘water outlet disk’ as recited in Claim 1; or (ii) may be a group of different communication holes.
Claims 4-5, 8, 11 and 20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, an indefinite claim
Prior Art Relied Upon
This action references the following issued US Patents and/or Patent Application Publications:
US PATENT or PUBLICATION NUMBER
HEREINAFTER
US-20140306033-A1
“QI”
This action references the following Foreign patent documents and/or Publications:
FOREIGN
DOCUMENT NUMBER
HEREINAFTER
CN 217830409 U*
“HU”
CN 105413898 A*
“CHEN”
CN 210097977 U*
“LIN”
*Copy already of record that was provided by Applicant
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN.
Re Claim 1, CHEN teaches a showerhead (Figures 3-4 embodiment), comprising
a water outlet disk 4, a water outlet jacket 5 and a face cover [7, 2] arranged in sequence along a water outlet direction (4, 5, 7, 2 – see Figs. 3-4), wherein a first water cavity [cavity above 4] (see Fig. 4) is provided at a side of the water outlet disk 4 facing away from the water outlet jacket 5 (Figures 3-4), and a second water cavity [cavity below 4] (see Fig. 4) is provided between the water outlet disk 4 and the water outlet jacket 5 (Figures 3-4);
wherein the water outlet disk 4 is provided with a plurality of communication holes 41 which are communicated with the first water cavity and the second water cavity on two sides of the water outlet disk (Figure 4), the water outlet jacket 5 is provided with a plurality of water outlet nozzles [nozzles opened and closed by contact with 4 at 41] communicated with the second water cavity (¶0042), and the face cover is provided with a plurality of water outlet holes 71 respectively in one-to-one correspondence with the water outlet nozzles (one outlet nozzle corresponds to one outlet hole 71; see Figure 4 and Figure 3);
wherein the water outlet jacket 5 is also provided with a plurality of elastic sealing caps 52 protruding towards the communication holes and in one-to-one correspondence with the communication holes (see Figure 4 and Figure 3); a plurality of support structures [support structures formed by 7 for each sealing cap 52] (see at 53 and Image A above) in one-to-one correspondence with the elastic sealing caps 52 (each cap is supported by one support, see Figure 3 and Figure 4) are provided at a side of the face cover facing the water outlet jacket (top side of 7); the elastic sealing caps are configured to block the communication holes when the showerhead is turned off; when the showerhead is turned on, the elastic sealing caps are capable of being pressed and deformed by the water passing through the communication holes to open the communication holes (¶¶0042-0044); and the support structures are configured to support the elastic sealing caps when the elastic sealing caps are pressed and deformed, so that the elastic sealing caps are able to bounce up and block the communication holes when the showerhead is turned off (Figures 3-4, ¶¶0042-0044). See Image A above.
Re Claim 3, CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 1, wherein each of the support structures has a central cavity [opening in 7 above which 52 sits], and each of the elastic sealing caps is deformed towards the central cavity when the elastic sealing cap is pressed by water passing through a communication hole 41 (¶¶0042-0044, Figures 3-4).
Re Claim 4, CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 3, wherein each of the support structures comprises a support rib [annotated in Image A] around the central cavity, and each of the support structures is provided with a communication opening [annotated in Image A] that communicates the central cavity to outside (see Image A and ¶¶0042-0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 AND 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU in view of CHEN.
Re Claims 1 and 20, HU teaches a shower device comprising a showerhead (Figures 1-9; ¶¶0032-0044), the showerhead comprising a water outlet disk 20, a water outlet jacket 30 and a face cover 40 arranged in sequence along a water outlet direction, wherein a first water cavity [cavity between 20 and 60] is provided at a side of the water outlet disk facing away from the water outlet jacket (Figures 3-5), and a second water cavity [cavity between 20 and 30] is provided between the water outlet disk and the water outlet jacket (See Figures 3-5, ¶¶0034-0036);
wherein the water outlet disk is provided with a plurality of communication holes 21 which are communicated with the first water cavity and the second water cavity on two sides of the water outlet disk (Figures 3-5, ¶0036), the water outlet jacket is provided with a plurality of water outlet nozzles 32 communicated with the second water cavity (¶0036), and the face cover is provided with a plurality of water outlet holes [openings through which one respective nozzle 32 extend] respectively in one-to-one correspondence with the water outlet nozzles (Figures 1-3);
wherein the water outlet jacket is also provided with a plurality of elastic sealing caps 31 protruding towards the communication holes and in one-to-one correspondence with the communication holes (Figures 1-3, ¶¶0034-0035); the elastic sealing caps are configured to block the communication holes when the showerhead is turned off; when the showerhead is turned on, the elastic sealing caps are capable of being pressed and deformed by the water passing through the communication holes to open the communication holes (¶0035); and when the elastic sealing caps are pressed and deformed, so that the elastic sealing caps are able to bounce up and block the communication holes when the showerhead is turned off (¶0035). However, HU fails to teach a plurality of support structures configured to support the elastic sealing caps.
CHEN teaches a plurality of support structures in one-to-one correspondence with elastic sealing caps are provided at a side of a face cover facing a water outlet jacket (see Figure 2 or 4; annotated in Image 1 above); the support structures are configured to support the elastic sealing caps when the elastic sealing caps are pressed and deformed, so that the elastic sealing caps are able to bounce up and block the communication holes when the showerhead is turned off (¶¶0036-0044). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the showerhead with a plurality of support structures in one-to-one correspondence with elastic sealing caps are provided at a side of a face cover facing a water outlet jacket; the support structures are configured to support the elastic sealing caps when the elastic sealing caps are pressed and deformed, so that the elastic sealing caps are able to bounce up and block the communication holes when the showerhead is turned off, in order to support the elastic sealing caps by providing them on a sealing ring (¶¶0034-0036) and/or to prevent the sealing ring including the elastic sealing caps from loosening via a fixing plate (¶¶0042-0045).
[continued on next page]
Re Claim 2, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 1. HU further teaches wherein a top of each of the elastic sealing caps is formed with a recessed portion [annotated in Image 2] and an annular sealing portion [annotated in Image 2] around the recessed portion (See Figures 3, 5), and the annular sealing portion abuts against the water outlet disk around a communication hole to seal the communication hole (Figures 3, 5).
Re Claim 3, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 1, each of the elastic sealing caps is deformed towards a lower end when the elastic sealing cap is pressed by water passing through a communication hole 21 (see HU figure 5 vs. figure 4), but as discussed so far fails to teach wherein each of the support structures has a central cavity, and each of the elastic sealing caps is deformed towards the central cavity when the elastic sealing cap is pressed by water passing through a communication hole.
CHEN further teaches (Figure 4 embodiment) wherein each of the support structures has a central cavity [annotated in Image 1], and each of the elastic sealing caps is deformed towards the central cavity when the elastic sealing cap is pressed by water passing through a communication hole (¶¶0042-0045). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the showerhead wherein each of the support structures has a central cavity, and each of the elastic sealing caps is deformed towards the central cavity when the elastic sealing cap is pressed by water passing through a communication hole, for the reasons discussed above in Claim 1.
Re Claim 4, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 3, but as discussed so far fails to teach wherein each of the support structures comprises a support rib around the central cavity, and each of the support structures is provided with a communication opening that communicates the central cavity to outside.
CHEN further teaches (Figure 4 embodiment) each of the support structures comprises a support rib [annotated in Image 1, Fig. 4] around the central cavity, and each of the support structures is provided with a communication opening [annotated in Image 1, Fig. 4] that communicates the central cavity to outside. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the showerhead wherein each of the support structures comprises a support rib around the central cavity, and each of the support structures is provided with a communication opening that communicates the central cavity to outside, for the reasons discussed above in Claim 1.
Re Claim 5, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 2. HU further teaches wherein each of the elastic sealing caps has a sealing cap cavity [annotated in Image 2] with an opening [annotated in Image 2] facing the face cover (see Image 2), the recessed portion forms a protrusion [annotated in Image 2] protruding into the sealing cap cavity (see Image 2), and the annular sealing portion forms an annular notch [annotated in Image 2] around the protrusion in the sealing cap cavity (extending around border of elastic seal caps; see Image 2 and Figures 3 and 5). However, HU in view of CHEN as discussed so far fails to teach wherein each of the support structures comprises a support rib protruding toward the sealing cap cavity, the support rib is annularly arranged to form a central cavity at a central position, the support rib comprises a first rib portion and a second rib portion located above the first rib portion, the second rib portion corresponds to the annular notch, and a width of the second rib portion in a radial direction is less than a width of the first rib portion.
CHEN teaches (in the Figure 4 embodiment, which is annotated in Images 3 & 4 below) an annular sealing portion that forms an annular notch around a center in the sealing cap cavity; wherein each of the support structures comprises a support rib [annotated in Image 3] protruding toward the sealing cap cavity, the support rib is annularly arranged to form a central cavity [annotated in Image 3] at a central position (See Image 3), the support rib comprises a first rib portion and a second rib portion located above the first rib portion (annotated “A” and “B” in Image 3), the second rib portion corresponds to the annular notch (see Image 3), and a width of the second rib portion [annotated “B-width” in Image 4] in a radial direction is less than a width of the first rib portion [annotated “A-width” in Image 4]. Note, the direction of these measurements is considered width in the radial direct consonant with applicant’s disclosure; however, they also have a width in a radial direction along the measurements of “A-length” and “B-length” annotated in Image 4, in which the width of the second rib portion is also less than the first rib portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each of the support structures comprises a support rib protruding toward the sealing cap cavity, the support rib is annularly arranged to form a central cavity at a central position, the support rib comprises a first rib portion and a second rib portion located above the first rib portion, the second rib portion corresponds to the annular notch, and a width of the second rib portion in a radial direction is less than a width of the first rib portion, in order to support the elastic sealing caps by providing them on a sealing ring (¶¶0034-0036) and/or to prevent the sealing ring including the elastic sealing caps from loosening via a fixing plate (¶¶0042-0045).
Re Claims 6 and 12-15, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 1 and of claims 2-5 as set forth fully above. HU further teaches wherein the showerhead further comprises a sealing disk 60 (¶¶0036-0041), and the first water cavity is formed between the sealing disk and the water outlet disk (Figs. 3, 8 and 9);wherein, the first water cavity comprises a central water cavity at a central position of the water outlet disk (¶¶0037-0039) and a plurality of first water division cavities communicated with the central water cavity and arranged along a circumferential direction [formed between 20 and 60] (See Figs. 8-9, ¶¶0036-0040), the plurality of communication holes are divided into a plurality of groups (Figs. 3, 8 and 9, ¶¶0040-0041), and each of the first water division cavities corresponds to one group of communication holes (Figs. 3, 8 and 9, ¶¶0040-0041).
Re Claim 7, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 6 as discussed above. HU further teaches wherein each of the first water division cavities comprises a plurality of communication hole regions [regions along 61 and corresponding part of 20] (Figs. 8-9) and a channel [circumferential channel, extending adjacent 23] connecting two adjacent communication hole regions (Figures 8-9), the plurality of communication hole regions respectively are in one-to-one correspondence with a communication hole in one group of communication holes. However, HU in view of CHEN as discussed so far fails to teach the plurality of communication hole regions respectively are in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of communication holes in one group of communication holes. In the embodiment depicted the number of communication holes 21 is less than the openings 32 (see Figure 3). However, HU further teaches the number of communications holes may be provided to match that of outlets 32 (¶0036), in which case teach the plurality of communication hole regions would respectively be in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of communication holes in one group of communication holes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the showerhead wherein the plurality of communication hole regions respectively are in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of communication holes in one group of communication holes, to provide the number of water holes that match the number of water outlets (HU ¶0036), while communicating along the cavities channels 61 shown in Figures 8-9.
Re Claim 8, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 6. HU further teaches wherein a raised first water barrier strip [62, 64] is provided on a surface of the sealing disk facing the water outlet disk , the first water barrier strip abuts against the water outlet disk to form the central water cavity and the plurality of first water division cavities (Figs. 1, 8-9).
Re Claims 9 and 16-19, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 1 and of claims 2-5 as set forth fully above. HU further teaches wherein the second water cavity comprises a plurality of second water division cavities (circumferential spaces sized to include one structure 31 at centers thereof) (See Figure 3) which are communicated with the plurality of communication holes in one-to-one correspondence respectively (Figure 3), the plurality of water outlet nozzles are divided into a plurality of groups (circumferential groupings), and each of the second water division cavities is correspondingly communicated with one group of water outlet nozzles (See Figure 3).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU in view of CHEN as applied above, and further in view of LIN.
Re Claim 10, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 9. However, HU in view of CHEN fails to teach wherein each of the second water division cavities comprises a central region corresponding to the communication hole, a plurality of water outlet regions, and channels for communicating the plurality of water outlet regions to the central region, wherein the plurality of water outlet regions are in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of water outlet nozzles in one group of water outlet nozzles respectively.
LIN teaches each of a second water division cavities 23 comprises a central region (internal top region of 23) corresponding to a communication hole (hole in 3), a plurality of water outlet regions (exit outlets connected to 23, Fig. 3), and channels for communicating the plurality of water outlet regions to the central region (channels extending to the exit outlets, Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of water outlet regions are in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of water outlet nozzles 21 in one group of water outlet nozzles respectively (Figure 1 and Figure 3; ¶¶0027-0028). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each of the second water division cavities comprises a central region corresponding to the communication hole, a plurality of water outlet regions, and channels for communicating the plurality of water outlet regions to the central region, wherein the plurality of water outlet regions are in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of water outlet nozzles in one group of water outlet nozzles respectively, in order to diverter water will respect to the elastic deformation portion providing the showerhead with instant shutdown ability (LIN ¶¶0027, 0032-0033).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU in view of CHEN as applied above, and further in view of QI.
Re Claim 11, HU in view of CHEN teaches the showerhead according to claim 9, but fails to teach wherein a second water barrier strip is provided on a surface of the water outlet disk facing the water outlet jacket, and the second water barrier strip abuts against the water outlet jacket to divide a space between the water outlet disk and the water outlet jacket so as to form the plurality of second water division cavities.
QI teaches a second water cavity (between 2 and 3) comprises a plurality of second water division cavities (circumferential spaces about 2 defined by 22/24 and radial arms shown in Fig. 1A) a second water barrier strip (arms defining circumferential spaces and 22, 24) is provided on a surface of the water outlet disk facing the water outlet jacket (¶¶0020-0022), and the second water barrier strip abuts against the water outlet jacket to divide a space between the water outlet disk and the water outlet jacket so as to form the plurality of second water division cavities (¶¶0020-0021; see Figures 1-3A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the showerhead with a second water barrier strip is provided on a surface of the water outlet disk facing the water outlet jacket, and the second water barrier strip abuts against the water outlet jacket to divide a space between the water outlet disk and the water outlet jacket so as to form the plurality of second water division cavities, in order to facilitate diversion of water to respective outlets and/or to facilitate bubble generation via an air inlet (QI ¶¶0020-0022).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record below and the PTO-892 but not relied upon in a rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20240091795-A1 –showerhead with deformable element
US-20190224697-A1 - showerhead with deformable element
US-5213236-A – deformable valve element of similar shape to that of Applicant’s sealing cap.
Correspondence
JASON H DUGER
PRIMARY EXAMINER, ART UNIT 3741
PHONE (313) 446 6536
FAX (571) 270 9083
DATE
May 26, 2026
/JASON H DUGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741