DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 02/01/2024.
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on February 01, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150103704 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a terminal device ([see, Fig. 1, mobile devices 1 and 2]) comprising:
one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more data processors]); and
one or more memories that stores a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more memory with data processors]), the one or more processors to function as:
a setting unit configured to perform setting so that a timeslot allocation is switched, in units of time slots, between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0036-0039], and Fig. 2 and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of downlink and uplink subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods, and special subframes of the radio frame can provide switching points. Wherein switching from the downlink to the uplink transmission disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
a communication unit configured to perform communication with a base station device based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
As per Claim 6, D1 discloses A base station device comprising:
one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more data processors]); and
one or more memories that stores a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more memory with data processors]), the one or more processors to function as:
a setting unit configured to perform setting of a terminal device so that a timeslot allocation is switched, in units of time slots (i.e., Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields), between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0007, 0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
a communication unit configured to perform communication with the terminal device based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
As per Claims 2, 7, D1 further discloses wherein the communication unit receives, from the base station device, information designating at least one of a time slot in which the first allocation is to be used and a time slot in which the second allocation is to be used, and the setting unit performs the setting based on the information ([see, [0037-0038], wherein the signal propagation time from a base station to mobile device, the signal propagation time information prevent conflicts when switching from the uplink to the downlink transmission designating to provide setting for flexible uplink/downlink (UL/DL) allocation for transmission of time division duplex (TDD) radio frames]).
As per Claims 3, 8, D1 further discloses wherein the information is transmitted from the base station device using downlink control information (DCI) ([see, [0038-0039], wherein the signal propagation time from a base station to mobile device, the signal propagation time information prevent conflicts when switching from the uplink to the downlink transmission, and downlink control information is signaled in the at least one special subframe]).
As per Claims 4, 9, D1 further discloses wherein the information is transmitted from the base station device using a radio resource control (RRC) message ([see, [0038-0039, 0044], wherein special subframe design it is possible to support efficient communication between a base station and mobile device(s), signaling of important radio resource control (RRC) information within the special subframe]).
As per Claims 5, 10, D1 further discloses wherein the information is transmitted from the base station device using a system information block (SIB) ([see, [0005, 0008], cell specific UL/DL configuration is broadcasted in system information block 2 (SIB-2)]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses communication method executed by a terminal device ([see, Fig. 1, mobile devices 1 and 2]), comprising:
performing setting so that a timeslot allocation is switched, in units of time slots (i.e., Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields), between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0007, 0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
performing communication with a base station device based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses communication method executed by a base station device, wireless access via base stations (see, FIG. 1 shows two base stations 10 and 12, provided with wireless access via base stations]), comprising:
performing setting of a terminal device so that a timeslot allocation is switched, in units of time slots (i.e., Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields), between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0007, 0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
performing communication with the terminal device (mobile devices) based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
As per Claim 13, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 13 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 14, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 14 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418