DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 4/27/2026.
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on April 27, 2026. Claims 1, 6, and 11-14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 11-14 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150103704 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of YANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200120582 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a terminal device ([see, Fig. 1, mobile devices 1 and 2]) comprising:
one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more data processors]); and
one or more memories that stores a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more memory with data processors]), the one or more processors to function as:
a setting unit configured to perform setting so that a timeslot allocation and a frequency resource are switched, in units of time slots, between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of downlink and uplink subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods, and special subframes of the radio frame can provide switching points. Wherein switching from the downlink to the uplink transmission disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
a communication unit configured to perform communication with a base station device based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource.
However, D2 discloses the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource ([see, [0146, 0167, 0198], the first frequency band and the second frequency band belong to different Radio Access Technology (RATs)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide switch radio frequency bands between the uplink and downlink results improve utilization of the radio resources (D2, [0020]]).
As per Claim 6, D1 discloses A base station device comprising:
one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more data processors]); and
one or more memories that stores a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors ([see, [0052], one or more memory with data processors]), the one or more processors to function as:
a setting unit configured to perform setting of a terminal device so that a timeslot allocation and a frequency resource are switched, in units of time slots (i.e., Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields), between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0007, 0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
a communication unit configured to perform communication with the terminal device based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource.
However, D2 discloses the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource ([see, [0146, 0167, 0198], the first frequency band and the second frequency band belong to different Radio Access Technology (RATs)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide switch radio frequency bands between the uplink and downlink results improve utilization of the radio resources (D2, [0020]]).
As per Claims 2, 7, D1 further discloses wherein the communication unit receives, from the base station device, information designating at least one of a time slot in which the first allocation is to be used and a time slot in which the second allocation is to be used, and the setting unit performs the setting based on the information ([see, [0037-0038], wherein the signal propagation time from a base station to mobile device, the signal propagation time information prevent conflicts when switching from the uplink to the downlink transmission designating to provide setting for flexible uplink/downlink (UL/DL) allocation for transmission of time division duplex (TDD) radio frames]).
As per Claims 3, 8, D1 further discloses wherein the information is transmitted from the base station device using downlink control information (DCI) ([see, [0038-0039], wherein the signal propagation time from a base station to mobile device, the signal propagation time information prevent conflicts when switching from the uplink to the downlink transmission, and downlink control information is signaled in the at least one special subframe]).
As per Claims 4, 9, D1 further discloses wherein the information is transmitted from the base station device using a radio resource control (RRC) message ([see, [0038-0039, 0044], wherein special subframe design it is possible to support efficient communication between a base station and mobile device(s), signaling of important radio resource control (RRC) information within the special subframe]).
As per Claims 5, 10, D1 further discloses wherein the information is transmitted from the base station device using a system information block (SIB) ([see, [0005, 0008], cell specific UL/DL configuration is broadcasted in system information block 2 (SIB-2)]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses communication method executed by a terminal device ([see, Fig. 1, mobile devices 1 and 2]), comprising:
performing setting so that a timeslot allocation and a frequency resource are switched, in units of time slots (i.e., Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields), between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0007, 0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
performing communication with a base station device based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource.
However, D2 discloses the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource ([see, [0146, 0167, 0198], the first frequency band and the second frequency band belong to different Radio Access Technology (RATs)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide switch radio frequency bands between the uplink and downlink results improve utilization of the radio resources (D2, [0020]]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses communication method executed by a base station device, wireless access via base stations (see, FIG. 1 shows two base stations 10 and 12, provided with wireless access via base stations]), comprising:
performing setting of a terminal device so that a timeslot allocation and a frequency resource are switched, in units of time slots (i.e., Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields), between a first allocation and a second allocation different from the first allocation ([0007, 0037-0039], and Fig. 4, wherein the communications of TDD radio frames arrangement configuration setting, the TDD radio frames particularly for allocation of Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields subframes that an arrangement where at least one special subframe containing at least one pilot period is provided in the radio frame, wherein special subframe comprises time for downlink and uplink pilots and for a guard period between the downlink and uplink pilot periods disclosed]),
the first allocation and the second allocation being allocation of a time slot ([see, [0007], special subframe comprises Downlink Pilot Timeslot (DwPTS) 22 and Uplink Pilot Timeslot (UpPTS) 24 fields]) in which uplink communication is performed and a time slot in which downlink communication ([see, [0007], radio frames can be switched between uplink and downlink subframes. Switching from the downlink to the uplink can be provided on a subframe commonly referred to as a special subframe]) is performed in time division duplex (TDD) communication ([see, [0008], UL/DL allocation for time division duplexing (TDD)]); and
performing communication with the terminal device (mobile devices) based on the setting ([see, [0032-0033], wherein the mobile communication devices performing in communication with the base stations, communication of radio frames based on the setting, such as necessary information for enabling flexible switching and/or allocation of radio resources for communications between the base station and mobile devices]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource.
However, D2 discloses the first allocation corresponding to a first frequency resource and the second allocation corresponding to a second frequency that is different from the first frequency resource ([see, [0146, 0167, 0198], the first frequency band and the second frequency band belong to different Radio Access Technology (RATs)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide switch radio frequency bands between the uplink and downlink results improve utilization of the radio resources (D2, [0020]]).
As per Claim 13, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 13 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 14, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 14 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418