Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, and 19 are examined in this office action.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 14, 16, 17, 18, and 20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10-13, 15, and 19 in the reply filed on June 26th, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 13, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Shauver et al. (US Pub No. 20230310824 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shauver discloses a fluid connector assembly (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7), comprising:
a first connector (first connector 100, Fig. 1) having a first housing (housing 102, Fig. 1);
a second connector (connector 200, Fig. 7) configured to couple with the first connector ("The connector 100 can be configured to receive a portion of another connector 200 into the cavity 200." - Para [0135]), the second connector having a second housing (housing 202, Fig. 7); and
a connecting mechanism (protrusions 178, Figs. 18-19) disposed on at least one of the first connector or the second connector ("The shroud 150 can have one or more protrusions 178 …” - Para [0166], “… the first connector 100 can include a shroud 150 …” – Para [0151]) for removably coupling the first connector and the second connector ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]),
wherein, when a predetermined pull force is applied to at least one of the first connector or the second connector, the connecting mechanism disengages thereby allowing the first connector and the second connector to be decoupled ("The shroud can include a breakaway engagement feature … that permits the connectors 100, 200 to be decoupled when a sufficient force is applied that pulls the connectors 100, 200 apart (e.g., longitudinally), and
wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are decoupled, an interior surface of at least one of the first connector or the second connector is exposed thereby allowing for disinfection ("… after disconnection of the connectors 100, 200, the user can retract the shroud 150, disinfect the connector 100, and recouple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0152]).
Regarding claim 2, Shauver teaches the fluid connector (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, wherein
the connecting mechanism comprises a first connecting member (protrusions 178, Fig. 19) coupled to one of the first connector or the second connector ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]).
Regarding claim 4, Shauver teaches the fluid connector (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, further comprising
a second connecting member (“… a corresponding structure …” – Para [0166]), and wherein the first connecting member is coupled to the first connector ("The shroud can have one or more protrusions 178 …" - Para [0166]), and the second connecting member is coupled to the second connector ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]).
Regarding claim 8, Shauver teaches the fluid connector (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, wherein
when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, the first connecting member and the second connecting member are coupled ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]), and wherein, when the predetermined pull force is applied, the first connecting member and the second connecting member are decoupled ("The shroud can include a breakaway engagement feature … that permits the connectors 100, 200 to be decoupled when a sufficient force is applied that pulls the connectors 100, 200 apart (e.g., longitudinally).
Regarding claim 12, Shauver teaches a fluid connector assembly (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) comprising:
a first connector (first connector 100, Fig. 1) having a first housing (housing 102, Fig. 1); a second connector (connector 200, Fig. 7) configured to couple with the first connector ("The connector 100 can be configured to receive a portion of another connector 200 into the cavity 200." - Para [0135]), the second connector having a second housing (housing 202, Fig. 7); and a connecting mechanism (protrusions 178, Figs. 18-19) disposed on at least one of the first connector or the second connector ("The shroud 150 can have one or more protrusions 178 …” - Para [0166], “… the first connector 100 can include a shroud 150 …” – Para [0151]) for removably coupling the first connector and the second connector ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]), and wherein, when a pull force of a predetermined threshold is applied to one of the first connector or the second connector ("The shroud can include a breakaway engagement feature … that permits the connectors 100, 200 to be decoupled when a sufficient force is applied that pulls the connectors 100, 200 apart (e.g., longitudinally), the first connector and the second connector are decoupled ("… after disconnection of the connectors 100, 200, the user can retract the shroud 150, disinfect the connector 100, and recouple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0152]).
Regarding claim 13, Shauver teaches the fluid connector assembly (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, wherein
the connecting mechanism comprises a first connecting member (protrusions 178, Fig. 19) coupled to one of the first connector or the second connector ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]).
Regarding claim 15, Shauver teaches the fluid connector assembly (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, further comprising
a second connecting member (“… a corresponding structure …” – Para [0166]), and wherein the first connecting member is coupled to the first connector ("The shroud can have one or more protrusions 178 …" - Para [0166]), and the second connecting member is coupled to the second connector ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]).
Regarding claim 19, Shauver teaches the fluid connector assembly (connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, wherein
when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, the first connecting member and the second connecting member are coupled ("The one or more protrusions 178 can engage a corresponding structure on the second connector to couple the connectors 100, 200." - Para [0166]), and wherein, when the pull force is applied, the first connecting member and the second connecting member are decoupled ("The shroud can include a breakaway engagement feature … that permits the connectors 100, 200 to be decoupled when a sufficient force is applied that pulls the connectors 100, 200 apart (e.g., longitudinally).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US Pub No. 20130006194 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Shauver in view of Anderson teaches the fluid connector assembly (Anderson, connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, wherein
Shauver does not expressly disclose that the connecting mechanism comprises an elastic band and one or more threads disposed around the first connector or second connector, and wherein, the elastic band is disposed around the one or more threads.
Anderson teaches that the connecting mechanism comprises an elastic band (radially compressible locking ring 3174, Fig. 115) and one or more threads (peripheral proximal end 3166, Fig. 115) disposed around the first connector or second connector (plunger 3140, Fig. 115), and wherein, the elastic band is disposed around the one or more threads ("…a radially compressible locking ring 3174 attached to a peripheral proximal end 3166 of a plunger 3140." - Para [0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Shauver to include that the connecting mechanism comprises an elastic band and one or more threads disposed around the first connector or second connector, and wherein, the elastic band is disposed around the one or more threads as taught by Anderson to easily remove the cap holder (Anderson, Para [0281]).
Regarding claim 11, Shauver in view of Anderson teaches the fluid connector assembly (Anderson, connectors 100 and 200, Figs. 1 and 7) as recited above, wherein
Shauver does not expressly disclose that the elastic band is configured to deflect until the predetermined pull force is applied, and wherein, when the predetermined pull force is applied, the elastic band expands allowing the one or more threads to pull thereby decoupling the first connector and the second connector.
Anderson teaches that the elastic band is configured to deflect until the predetermined pull force is applied, and wherein, when the predetermined pull force is applied, the elastic band expands allowing the one or more threads to pull thereby decoupling the first connector and the second connector ("When a diametrically opposed force is applied at the press point 3178, as shown by Arrows I the locking ring 3174 deforms and the locking tabs 3176 separate from each other, shown by Arrows J, sufficient to allow the removal of the cap holder assembly 3120 from the chamber 3160 of the plunger 3140." - Para [0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Shauver to include that the elastic band is configured to deflect until the predetermined pull force is applied, and wherein, when the predetermined pull force is applied, the elastic band expands allowing the one or more threads to pull thereby decoupling the first connector and the second connector as taught by Anderson to easily remove the cap holder (Anderson, Para [0281]).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783