DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 08/05/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose “each of the first number of bandwidth parts being a part of a cell bandwidth and different from each other” as the prior art has component carriers which are aggregated and a PDCCH that is distributed across the entire system bandwidth (pages 11-12, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Qualcomm at para. 0084 discloses “one or more resource sets designated for a scheduling cell may be shared among all CCs scheduled by the scheduling cell.” Para. 0040 discloses “a set of resource blocks…Each random access preamble occupies a bandwidth corresponding to six consecutive resource blocks. The starting frequency is specified by the network.” Para. 0046 discloses “an RF carrier.” Para. 0054 discloses “different CCs.” Meaning each component carrier (CC) pertains to a shared (i.e. bandwidth part) amount of the one or more resource set frequencies (i.e. bandwidth) of a scheduling cell, and CCs differ from one another.
Applicant argues dependent claims are allowable (page 12, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See the Claim Rejections section for full details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Upon review, the instant specification does not have support for “the first number of bandwidth parts are provided within a single carrier.” Furthermore, Applicant has not provided any citation to the instant specification as to where the subject matter is allegedly taken from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016502320 A (“Qualcomm”) [see attached English translation for purposes of Examination].
As to claim 1, Qualcomm discloses a user equipment (para. 0089, UE) comprising: at least one memory storing instructions (para. 0108, The apparatus may include additional modules that perform each of the steps of the algorithm in the above flow charts of FIGS. Thus, each step in the above flow charts of FIGS. 12 and 13 may be performed by one module, and the apparatus may include one or more of those modules. The modules are one or more hardware components specifically configured to perform the described process / algorithm or are implemented by a processor configured to execute the described process / algorithm. Or stored in a computer readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof ); and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to (para. 0108, The apparatus may include additional modules that perform each of the steps of the algorithm in the above flow charts of FIGS. Thus, each step in the above flow charts of FIGS. 12 and 13 may be performed by one module, and the apparatus may include one or more of those modules. The modules are one or more hardware components specifically configured to perform the described process / algorithm or are implemented by a processor configured to execute the described process / algorithm. Or stored in a computer readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof ): configure with a first number of bandwidth parts for reception of control information, each of the first number of bandwidth parts being a part of a cell bandwidth and different from each other (para. 0089, the UE receives a first component carrier and a second component carrier. The first component carrier may include a first control channel corresponding to the first component carrier, and may further include a second control channel corresponding to the second component carrier and carrier indication information; para. 0084 discloses “one or more resource sets designated for a scheduling cell may be shared among all CCs scheduled by the scheduling cell.” Para. 0040 discloses “a set of resource blocks…Each random access preamble occupies a bandwidth corresponding to six consecutive resource blocks. The starting frequency is specified by the network.” Para. 0046 discloses “an RF carrier.” Para. 0054 discloses “different CCs.” Meaning each component carrier (CC) pertains to a shared (i.e. bandwidth part) amount of the one or more resource set frequencies (i.e. bandwidth) of a scheduling cell, and CCs differ from one another; para. 0073, 0074, “UE monitors the PDCCH and extracts its own control information”, “PDCCHs transmitted on different CCs”; para. 0100, UE determines whether cross-carrier scheduling is supported….based on the type of control channel (i.e. determination is a configuration)); configure with, for the each of the first number of bandwidth parts, at least one respective control resource set for a Common Search Space (CSS) within the each of the first number of bandwidth parts (para. 0089, the UE receives a first component carrier and a second component carrier. The first component carrier may include a first control channel corresponding to the first component carrier, and may further include a second control channel corresponding to the second component carrier and carrier indication information; para. 0095, the UE Monitors a first search space configured for the first control channel and a second search space configured for the second control channel. The first search space and the second search space may share a common set of resources, i.e. each channel being a bandwidth part, and their search spaces have common resources; para. 0100, UE determines whether cross-carrier scheduling is supported….based on the type of control channel (i.e. determination/monitoring is a configuration)); and monitor control information transmitted on one of the first number of bandwidth parts, using the at least one respective control resource set corresponding to the one of the first number of bandwidth parts (para. 0095, the UE Monitors a first search space configured for the first control channel and a second search space configured for the second control channel. The first search space and the second search space may share a common set of resources, i.e. each channel being a bandwidth part, and their search spaces have common resources; para. 0096, the UE processes the first control channel and the second control channel. For example, the UE decodes the first control channel and the second control channel to determine the control information included in the first control channel and the second control channel).
As to claim 4, Qualcomm further discloses the user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the at least one control resource set includes a control resource set for initial access, and the at least one processor is further configured to process the instructions to: receive information for the control resource set for the initial access via a Master Information Block (MIB) or system information (para. 0039-0040, The UE may be assigned resource blocks 410a, 410b in the control section to transmit control information to the eNB; A set of resource blocks may be used to perform initial system access and achieve UL synchronization in a physical random access channel (PRACH) 430; para. 0055, DCI (i.e. system information) [para. 0002, communication systems] may be carried in the PDCCH. The DCI may include transmission resource allocation and other control information for the UE or group of UEs ).
As to claims 8 and 11, see similar rejections to claim 1 and 4, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claim 15, Qualcomm discloses a base station (para. 0030, base station) comprising: at least one memory storing instructions (para. 0133, the modules are one or more hardware components specifically configured to perform the described process / algorithm or are implemented by a processor configured to execute the described process / algorithm. Or stored in a computer readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof); and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to (para. 0133, the modules are one or more hardware components specifically configured to perform the described process / algorithm or are implemented by a processor configured to execute the described process / algorithm. Or stored in a computer readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof): transmit information for configuring a user equipment with a first number of bandwidth parts for transmission of control information, each of the first number of bandwidth parts being included in a cell bandwidth and different from each other (para. 0089, the UE receives a first component carrier and a second component carrier. The first component carrier may include a first control channel corresponding to the first component carrier, and may further include a second control channel corresponding to the second component carrier and carrier indication information; para. 0084 discloses “one or more resource sets designated for a scheduling cell may be shared among all CCs scheduled by the scheduling cell.” Para. 0040 discloses “a set of resource blocks…Each random access preamble occupies a bandwidth corresponding to six consecutive resource blocks. The starting frequency is specified by the network.” Para. 0046 discloses “an RF carrier.” Para. 0054 discloses “different CCs.” Meaning each component carrier (CC) pertains to a shared (i.e. bandwidth part) amount of the one or more resource set frequencies (i.e. bandwidth) of a scheduling cell, and CCs differ from one another; para. 0073, 0074, “UE monitors the PDCCH and extracts its own control information”, “PDCCHs transmitted on different CCs”; para. 0100, UE determines whether cross-carrier scheduling is supported….based on the type of control channel (i.e. determination is a configuration)); transmit information for configuring the user equipment, for the each of the first number of the bandwidth parts, at least one respective control resource set for a Common Search Space (CSS) within the each of the first number of bandwidth parts (para. 0089, the UE receives a first component carrier and a second component carrier. The first component carrier may include a first control channel corresponding to the first component carrier, and may further include a second control channel corresponding to the second component carrier and carrier indication information; para. 0095, the UE Monitors a first search space configured for the first control channel and a second search space configured for the second control channel. The first search space and the second search space may share a common set of resources, i.e. each channel being a bandwidth part, and their search spaces have common resources; para. 0100, UE determines whether cross-carrier scheduling is supported….based on the type of control channel (i.e. determination/monitoring is a configuration)); and transmit control information on one of the first number ofbandwidth parts, wherein the control information is monitored by the user equipment using the at least one respective control resource set corresponding to the one of the first number of bandwidth parts (para. 0095, the UE Monitors a first search space configured for the first control channel and a second search space configured for the second control channel. The first search space and the second search space may share a common set of resources, i.e. each channel being a bandwidth part, and their search spaces have common resources; para. 0096, the UE processes the first control channel and the second control channel. For example, the UE decodes the first control channel and the second control channel to determine the control information included in the first control channel and the second control channel).
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 15. The apparatus teaches the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 7, 9-10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016502320 A (“Qualcomm”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0339677 A1 to RICO ALVARINO et al. (“Rico”).
As to claim 2, Qualcomm does not expressly disclose the user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to process the instructions to: switch bandwidth parts for monitoring among the first number of bandwidth parts, and select at least one control resource set for monitoring in accordance with the switching the bandwidth parts.
Rico discloses if the first control channel provides an indication that the second set of resources (or resources contained in the second set of resources) are assigned for receiving data, the UE monitors the portion of the second set of resources indicated by the first control channel for receiving the data. In an aspect, if the control channel provides an indication to monitor (e.g., switch to) the second bandwidth region, the UE monitors the second set of resources for a second control channel (e.g., PDCCH, EPDCCH or another control channel associated with wideband operation) for receiving control information scheduling resources for receiving data (para. 0095).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the switching of Rico into the invention of Qualcomm. The suggestion/motivation would have been for flexible bandwidth operation in a wireless communicant network (Rico, para. 0002). Including the switching of Rico into the invention of Qualcomm was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Rico.
As to claim 3, Qualcomm does not expressly disclose the user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to process the instructions to switch the bandwidth parts based on at least one of: downlink control information (DCI); an expiry of an inactive timer for a respective bandwidth part; a Media Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE); and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
Rico discloses if the first control channel provides an indication that the second set of resources (or resources contained in the second set of resources) are assigned for receiving data, the UE monitors the portion of the second set of resources indicated by the first control channel for receiving the data. In an aspect, if the control channel provides an indication to monitor (e.g., switch to) the second bandwidth region, the UE monitors the second set of resources for a second control channel (e.g., PDCCH, EPDCCH or another control channel associated with wideband operation) for receiving control information scheduling resources for receiving data (para. 0095) and dynamic bandwidth switching may include dynamic explicit signaling including the base station explicitly signaling the UE (e.g., via Downlink Control Information, DCI) (para. 0092).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the switching of Rico into the invention of Qualcomm. The suggestion/motivation would have been for flexible bandwidth operation in a wireless communicant network (Rico, para. 0002). Including the switching of Rico into the invention of Qualcomm was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Rico.
As to claim 7, Qualcomm does not expressly disclose the user equipment according to claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to process the instructions to switch to a bandwidth part for initial access based on the expiry of the inactive timer for a respective bandwidth part.
Rico discloses at para. 0109-0110: the UE monitors mPDCCH in subframe 4 to receive data grant scheduling resources for data in the same subframe. Similarly the UE monitors mPDCCH in subframe 5 to receive data grant scheduling resources for data in subframe 4. In an aspect, if the UE does not receive a grant for a given period of time (e.g., before preconfigured counter/timer expires) the UE switches back to the narrowband mode of operation to conserve power.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the switching of Rico into the invention of Qualcomm. The suggestion/motivation would have been for flexible bandwidth operation in a wireless communicant network (Rico, para. 0002). Including the switching of Rico into the invention of Qualcomm was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Rico.
As to claims 9-10, 14, see similar rejections to claims 2-3, 7, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016502320 A (“Qualcomm”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0367046 A1 to Papasakellariou.
As to claim 5, Qualcomm does not expressly disclose the user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to process the instructions to: receive information for location of the at least one respective control resource set, and monitor the control information using the information for the location of the at least one respective control resource set.
Papasakellariou discloses PDCCH transmissions conveying DL DCI formats are configured to be in a first DL control resource set located in a first slot symbol 2020 (para. 0242).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the PDCCH transmission of Papasakellariou into the invention of Qualcomm. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable power savings (Papasakellariou, para. 0002). Including the PDCCH transmission of Papasakellariou into the invention of Qualcomm was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Papasakellariou.
As to claim 6, Qualcomm does not expressly disclose the user equipment according to claim 1, wherein time duration of the at least one respective control resource set is at least one of 1, 2, and 3 symbols.
Papasakellariou discloses PDCCH transmissions conveying DL DCI formats are configured to be in a first DL control resource set located in a first slot symbol 2020 (para. 0242).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the PDCCH transmission of Papasakellariou into the invention of Qualcomm. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable power savings (Papasakellariou, para. 0002). Including the PDCCH transmission of Papasakellariou into the invention of Qualcomm was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Papasakellariou.
As to claims 12-13, see similar rejections to claims 5-6, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. From a prior Office action: US 20180270699 A1 discloses at para. 0104: In an example, for a DL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs on a PCell, a base station may configure a UE with one or more control resource sets for at least one type of common search space and/or one UE-specific search space. For example, a base station may not configure a UE without a common search space on a PCell, or on a PSCell, in an active DL BWP.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463