DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-8 are presented for examination.
Abstract
3. The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Oath Declaration
4. The Oath complies with all the requirements set forth in MPEP 602 and therefore is accepted.
Drawings
5. The drawings received on 02/01/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Priority
6. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.119 (a)-(d) for Korean Patent Application No. KR10-2023-0015102, filed on Feb. 03, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Wolfgang Lange, Quantum Computing with Trapped Ions, In: Meyers, R. (eds) Computational Complexity. Springer (2012) “herein after as Lange” in view of H. Haffner et al. (Quantum computing with trapped ions" “Herein after as Haffner.”
As per claim 1: Lange substantially teaches or discloses a quantum computing device comprising: an ion trap chip including direct current (DC) electrodes and radio frequency (RF) rails to form a plurality of horizontal traps and one or morevertical traps (see page 2411, right column, herein Ion transfer is achieved by changing the axially confining fields with dc electrodes placed along the trapping zones. This type of trap is also known as a quantum charge-coupled device (QCCD). A sketch of a possible electrode layout; page 2470; and Figs. 3 & 5); and a controller configured to trap ions by controlling the ion trap chip, allocate qubits to trapped ions, adjust positions of the ions, and apply laser beam to the ions to perform traversal gate operations, non-traversal gate operations (See page 2407, right column, herein the term describes the change of state of a two-level atom, induced by the coherent excitation with a laser beam close to resonance; and page 2415, right column After initialization, the state of each qubit may be modified by means of suitable laser pulses applied on the qubit transition. Figure 10 shows the geometry for laser excitation. An important precondition is that the ions may be addressed individually. This requires the laser beam to be focused tighter than the minimum distance between ions; and Fig. 10), and quantum error correction, wherein the controller performs the traversal gate operation based on qubit connectivity of only qubits trapped in the same horizontal trap (see page 2427, right column, with typical gate durations on the order of 1 μs, decoherence times of 1 S would permit 10n quantum operations to be performed. Another approach is to consider the probability of error during a gate operation. It should be smaller than 10nn to be able to successfully apply quantum error correction; and pages 2409), moves the qubits trapped in the horizontal trap to a vertical trap adjacent to the horizontal trap [ ] (see page 2419, right column, the next higher normal mode is often preferable. It is known as the stretch- or breathing mode, since the ions on opposite sides of the center move in opposite directions with an amplitude proportional to their distance from the center; and Fig. 5 Shuttling between different locations is accomplished by suitable dc-voltages applied to the electrodes shown in green), and then performs quantum error correction and performing non-transversal gate operation (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section, and Fig. 1 figure 1” moving the multiple ions of perpendicular memory area to the interaction region of the horizontal and it moves the qubit of the horizontal trap to perpendicular trap can be easily drawn”). Lange does not explicitly teach moves the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. However, Haffner in the same the field of endeavor teaches moves the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling (see page 195, herein Shuttling ions between various traps might relieve the requirements for scalable ion trap quantum computing considerably (Wineland et al., 1998; Kielpinski et al., 2002). In accelerator experiments, shuttling of ions between different traps and re-cooling has been long established to slow down fast ions efficiently (Herfurth et al., 2001), and page 196, Parallel with the efforts to shuttle and split ion strings, in particular the NIST group has put quite some effort into developing new traps manufactured by microfabrication techniques to build a medium sized quantum computer; ---- While all prerequisites for quantum computing by shuttling ion strings have now been demonstrated in separate experiments, a combination of shuttling ions, splitting and re-cooling the ion strings in the same experiment and at the same time preserving the quantum information has yet to be accomplished). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the quantum computing system of Lange with the teachings of Haffner by moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling would have improved quantum computing system performance.
As per claim 2:
Lange teaches that wherein N ions arranged in the same column in N horizontal traps arranged in parallel to each other constitute one logical qubit, and the controller performs the traversal gate operation on a first logical qubit and a second logical qubit arranged in different columns (see page 2029, the Quantum Error Correction section, in which this applies the calculation to the logical queue bit formed with ion base physical qubit; and Fig. 1, moving the multiple ions of perpendicular memory area to the interaction region of the horizontal in the cited invention 3 and it is easy it can draw).
As per claim 3:
Lange teaches that wherein the ion trap chip includes the first horizontal trap area in which the N horizontal traps are arranged in parallel to each other, the second horizontal trap area which is adjacent to the first horizontal trap area and in which the N horizontal traps are arranged in parallel to each other, and a vertical trap disposed between the first horizontal trap area and the second horizontal trap area (see page 2429 in Quantum Error Correction section, in which this applies the calculation to the logical queue bit composed for the bug fixing of ion base physical qubits), and the controller moves a first logical qubit represented by N ions arranged in the same column in the first horizontal trap area to the vertical trap through the parallel shuttling, performs quantum error correction and non-transversal gate operation (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section), and moves the first logical qubit to the second horizontal trap area through the parallel shuttling (see Fig. 1 moving the multiple ions of perpendicular memory area to the interaction region of the horizontal and it is easy it can draw).
As per claim 4:
Lange substantially teaches or discloses an ion trap chip comprising: a first horizontal trap area in which the N horizontal traps are arranged in parallel to each other; a second horizontal trap area which is adjacent to the first horizontal trap area and in which the N horizontal traps are arranged in parallel to each other (see page 2411, right column the Large-Scale ion trap formed with the multiple horizontals and perpendicular trap, and Fig. 5); and a vertical trap disposed between the first horizontal trap area and the second horizontal trap area (see page 2411, right column, herein Ion transfer is achieved by changing the axially confining fields with dc electrodes placed along the trapping zones. This type of trap is also known as a quantum charge-coupled device (QCCD). A sketch of a possible electrode layout; page 2470; and Figs. 3 & 5), wherein a first logical qubit represented by N ions arranged in the same column in the first horizontal trap area is moved [ ] (Fig. 1 figure 1, moving the multiple ions of perpendicular memory area to the interaction region of the horizontal and it moves the qubit of the horizontal trap to perpendicular trap can be easily drawn), quantum error correction is performed on the first logical qubit arranged in the vertical trap, after the quantum error correction (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section), the N ions of the first logical qubit move to the N horizontal traps of the second horizontal trap area through shuttling (see page 2419, right column, the next higher normal mode is often preferable. It is known as the stretch- or breathing mode, since the ions on opposite sides of the center move in opposite directions with an amplitude proportional to their distance from the center; and Fig. 5 Shuttling between different locations is accomplished by suitable dc-voltages applied to the electrodes shown in green), and the quantum error correction is performed based on qubit connectivity of only qubits trapped in the vertical trap (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section). Lange does not explicitly teach moved to the vertical trap through parallel shuttling of the N ions. However, Haffner in the same the field of endeavor teaches moved to the vertical trap through parallel shuttling of the N ions (see page 195, herein Shuttling ions between various traps might relieve the requirements for scalable ion trap quantum computing considerably (Wineland et al., 1998; Kielpinski et al., 2002). In accelerator experiments, shuttling of ions between different traps and re-cooling has been long established to slow down fast ions efficiently (Herfurth et al., 2001), and page 196, Parallel with the efforts to shuttle and split ion strings, in particular the NIST group has put quite some effort into developing new traps manufactured by microfabrication techniques to build a medium sized quantum computer; ---- While all prerequisites for quantum computing by shuttling ion strings have now been demonstrated in separate experiments, a combination of shuttling ions, splitting and re-cooling the ion strings in the same experiment and at the same time preserving the quantum information has yet to be accomplished). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the quantum computing system of Lange with the teachings of Haffner by moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling would have improved quantum computing system performance.
As per claim 5:
Lange substantially teaches or discloses a quantum error correction method of a quantum computing device including an ion trap chip in which a plurality of horizontal traps and one or more vertical traps are formed (see page 2411, right column, herein Ion transfer is achieved by changing the axially confining fields with dc electrodes placed along the trapping zones. This type of trap is also known as a quantum charge-coupled device (QCCD). A sketch of a possible electrode layout; page 2470; and Figs. 3 & 5), the quantum error correction method comprising: moving, by a controller, qubits, which are arranged in the first horizontal trap area of the ion trap chip and on which traversal gate operations using qubit connectivity in a horizontal direction are completed, to the vertical trap adjacent to a first horizontal trap area [ ] (see page 2419, right column, the next higher normal mode is often preferable. It is known as the stretch- or breathing mode, since the ions on opposite sides of the center move in opposite directions with an amplitude proportional to their distance from the center; and Fig. 5 Shuttling between different locations is accomplished by suitable dc-voltages applied to the electrodes shown in green, and Fig. 1); performing quantum error correction on the qubits moved to the vertical trap based on the qubit connectivity of only the qubits trapped in the vertical trap (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section); and moving in parallel the qubits, on which the quantum error correction is performed, to a second horizontal trap area adjacent to the vertical trap (Fig. 1 figure 1, moving the multiple ions of perpendicular memory area to the interaction region of the horizontal and it moves the qubit of the horizontal trap to perpendicular trap can be easily drawn). Lange does not explicitly teach moves the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. However, Haffner in the same the field of endeavor teaches moves the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling (see page 195, herein Shuttling ions between various traps might relieve the requirements for scalable ion trap quantum computing considerably (Wineland et al., 1998; Kielpinski et al., 2002). In accelerator experiments, shuttling of ions between different traps and re-cooling has been long established to slow down fast ions efficiently (Herfurth et al., 2001), and page 196, Parallel with the efforts to shuttle and split ion strings, in particular the NIST group has put quite some effort into developing new traps manufactured by microfabrication techniques to build a medium sized quantum computer; ---- While all prerequisites for quantum computing by shuttling ion strings have now been demonstrated in separate experiments, a combination of shuttling ions, splitting and re-cooling the ion strings in the same experiment and at the same time preserving the quantum information has yet to be accomplished). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the quantum computing system of Lange with the teachings of Haffner by moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling would have improved quantum computing system performance.
As per claim 6:
Lange teaches that wherein the ion trap chip includes the first horizontal trap area in which N horizontal traps are arranged in parallel to each other, the second horizontal trap area which is adjacent to the first horizontal trap area and in which the N horizontal traps are arranged in parallel to each other (see page 2411, right column, herein Ion transfer is achieved by changing the axially confining fields with dc electrodes placed along the trapping zones. This type of trap is also known as a quantum charge-coupled device (QCCD). A sketch of a possible electrode layout; page 2470; and Figs. 3 & 5), and the vertical trap disposed between the first horizontal trap area and the second horizontal trap area (see page 2429 in Quantum Error Correction section, in which this applies the calculation to the logical queue bit composed for the bug fixing of ion base physical qubits), and in the moving of the qubits, a first logical qubit represented by N ions arranged in the same column in the first horizontal trap area is moved to the vertical trap [ ] (see page 2419, right column, the next higher normal mode is often preferable. It is known as the stretch- or breathing mode, since the ions on opposite sides of the center move in opposite directions with an amplitude proportional to their distance from the center; and Fig. 5 Shuttling between different locations is accomplished by suitable dc-voltages applied to the electrodes shown in green), in the performing of the quantum error correction, the quantum error correction is performed on the first logical qubit moved to the vertical trap (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section), and in the moving in parallel of the qubits, the first logical qubit on which the quantum error correction is performed is moved to the second horizontal trap area (Fig. 1 figure 1, moving the multiple ions of perpendicular memory area to the interaction region of the horizontal and it moves the qubit of the horizontal trap to perpendicular trap can be easily drawn). Lange does not explicitly teach moves the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. However, Haffner in the same the field of endeavor teaches moves the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling (see page 195, herein Shuttling ions between various traps might relieve the requirements for scalable ion trap quantum computing considerably (Wineland et al., 1998; Kielpinski et al., 2002). In accelerator experiments, shuttling of ions between different traps and re-cooling has been long established to slow down fast ions efficiently (Herfurth et al., 2001), and page 196, Parallel with the efforts to shuttle and split ion strings, in particular the NIST group has put quite some effort into developing new traps manufactured by microfabrication techniques to build a medium sized quantum computer; ---- While all prerequisites for quantum computing by shuttling ion strings have now been demonstrated in separate experiments, a combination of shuttling ions, splitting and re-cooling the ion strings in the same experiment and at the same time preserving the quantum information has yet to be accomplished). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the quantum computing system of Lange with the teachings of Haffner by moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the moving the qubits trapped through parallel shuttling would have improved quantum computing system performance.
As per claim 7:
Lange teaches that a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which a computer program for performing the quantum error correction method according to claim 5 is recorded (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section).
As per claim 8:
Lange teaches that a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which a computer program for performing the quantum error correction method according to claim 6 is recorded (see page 2434, left column, the fidelity of gate operations must be improved, in order to reach the point where quantum error correction could be successfully applied; and page 2430 left column, quantum error correction section).
Examiner Notes
8. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
9. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSMAN ALSHACK whose telephone number is (571)272-2069. The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALBERT DECADY can be reached on 5712723819. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OSMAN M ALSHACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2112