DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laszczak et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0113356A1.
Regarding claim 1, Laszczak et al discloses a prosthesis (1) for a leg, comprising a flexible sleeve (see Fig. 1 and 2, 71 Including elements 68 & 69) for receiving a residual limb, a constrictor (70, see Fig. 2) on the flexible sleeve for tightening the sleeve around the residual limb, and a rigid mount (the whole artificial prosthetic leg 33, especially an intelligent knee joint, see Fig. 9) secured to the sleeve and spaced axially along the sleeve from the constrictor for mounting a tool (prosthetic foot and lower structure below knee joint), wherein a sensor (21, see paragraphs 174 and 175 disclosing an intelligent knee having sensors to send data to the socket for the purpose of tightening and loosening the socket) is provided in the mount to measure a physical parameter associated with the function performed by the tool (see paragraph 198 disclosing different sensing parameters, such as, detecting when to release the knee (paragraph 264), detecting seated position (see paragraph 266)) and wherein the prosthesis further comprises an actuator connected to the constrictor and a control circuit acting on the actuator to vary the force tightening the sleeve around the residual limb (see paragraphs 161, 175 and 176) in dependence upon the measured parameter.
Regarding claim 2, a prosthesis (1) for a leg, comprising a flexible sleeve (see Fig. 1 and 2, 71 Including elements 68 & 69) for receiving a residual limb, a constrictor (70, see Fig. 2) on the flexible sleeve for tightening the sleeve around the residual limb, a rigid mount (the whole artificial prosthetic leg 33, especially an intelligent knee joint, see Fig. 9) secured to the sleeve and spaced axially along the sleeve from the constrictor for releasably attaching to the prosthesis a tool (prosthetic foot and lower structure below knee joint) that incorporates a sensor (21, see paragraphs 174 and 175 disclosing an intelligent knee having sensors to send data to the socket for the purpose of tightening and loosening the socket) for measuring a physical parameter associated with the function performed by the tool (see paragraph 198 disclosing different sensing parameters, such as, detecting when to release the knee (paragraph 264), wherein the prosthesis comprises an actuator (see paragraph 175 and 176) connected to the constrictor and a control circuit (see paragraph 161, 162, 173 and 174) communicating with the sensor by way of the mount and acting on the actuator to vary the force tightening the sleeve around the residual limb in dependence upon the measured parameter (see paragraph 175).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, see paragraph 162 disclosing that the control unit (23) is in communication with the different modules through a wired or wireless transmitters and transducers mounted in the socket 1A. Regarding the sensors, see sensors mounted at prosthetic limb elements (See paragraph 174, lines 4-7 and lines 9-14).
Regarding claim 5, see paragraphs 148 and 154 disclosing a variety of sensors, such as, piezoelectric sensors and strain gauges.
Regarding claim 6, see paragraph 176.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laszczak et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0113356A1 in view of Martin US Patent Pub. 2020/0397602A1.
Laszczak et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Laszczak et al is silent regarding a step-down gearing and a sensor that determines position (encoder).
Martin discloses an implant having a socket, a constrictor and an actuator capable of tightening and loosening the constrictor for the purpose of avoiding accidental dislocation of the socket with respect to the amputated stump of a patient. Additionally, Martin discloses a worm gear and a microprocessor having a plurality of sensors, such as, a motor position sensor for the purpose of having a step-down gear and have a system capable of loosening or tightening the socket. See paragraphs 94-97.
Regarding claim 7, it is well known in the art to use worm gears connected to electric motors for the purpose of reducing output speed and increasing torque, therefore, they are used to step-down gearing.
Regarding claim 8, Martin discloses a motor position sensor for the purpose of determining how loose or how tight is the constrictor so the control unit can give feedback to the user and/or system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 8/28/26