DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communications management system is configured to receive a downlink message from an avionics device onboard the vehicle in claim 1. The figure 2 and the specification [0024] support the structure for the claimed “means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandit et al. (US 9719799 B2) (Pandit herein after).
Re Claim 1, Pandit discloses a system, comprising:
a communications management system coupled to a vehicle (aircraft communications management unit (CMU), column 5 lines 10-15); and
an electronic flight bag (EFB) coupled to the communications management system (the EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU, column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19), wherein the EFB is configured for datalink communications using at least one communication link associated with the EFB, wherein the EFB is configured to receive the downlink message (Depending upon whether the aircraft is equipped with a CMU, the EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19),
wherein the EFB is configured to transmit the downlink message to at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the EFB (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19).
Pandit discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches communications management system is configured to receive a downlink message from an avionics device onboard the vehicle.
However, Pandit discloses communication with the communications systems 210 may take place via the aircraft communications management unit (CMU) (column 5 lines 10-14); EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU and EFB 100 may also implement an ACARS message data analyzer. Preferably, this analyzer is configured to analyze the stored ACARS message data and verify that the directions given by ATC/AOC are consistent with the current flight plan (column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to implement the method taught by Pandit utilizing known component such as processor and communication interface to achieve the same expected result as the claimed invention and to further improve the functional efficiency.
Re Claim 2, Pandit discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the EFB is configured to receive an uplink message from the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the EFB, wherein the uplink message is intended for the avionics device, wherein the EFB is configured to forward the uplink message to the communications management system, wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the uplink message to the avionics device (EFB 100 may be in operable communication with the aircraft IFE 220 via a broadband feeder 222 or other suitable device. No matter the specific manner in which the EFB 100 communicates with the IFE 220, it will be appreciated that such functionality may reduce the overall size and weight associated with the aircraft IFE 220. For example, rather than storing various entertainment content (e.g., movies, audio content, etc.) on-board the aircraft, this content may be selectively transmitted (either automatically or in response to a command) to the EFB 100, via one of the wireless sub-networks 230, and then supplied to the IFE 220, column 9 lines 36-55).
Re Claim 6, Pandit discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one communication link comprises a WiFi, cellular, and/or broadband satellite communications (SATCOM-BB) communication link (the wireless sub-networks may include various WiFi networks, various WiMAX networks, various wireless IP networks, or any other wireless network protocol now known or developed in the future, column 5 lines 15-30).
Re Claim 7, Pandit discloses a method for datalink communication between a vehicle and at least one ground station, the method comprising:
for a downlink message:
receiving, at a communications management system coupled to the vehicle (aircraft communications management unit (CMU), column 5 lines 10-15), a first downlink message from an avionics device (Depending upon whether the aircraft is equipped with a CMU, the EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19);
forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to at least one of: an electronic flight bag (EFB) and/or an aircraft interface device (AID) (the EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU, column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19), wherein the EFB and/or the AID are configured for datalink communications using at least one communication link associated with the EFB and/or the AID; and
transmitting the first downlink message from at least one of: the EFB and/or the AID to the at least one ground station using the at least one communication link; and/or for an uplink message (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19):
receiving, at the at least one of: the EFB and/or the AID, a first uplink message from the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link, wherein the first uplink message is intended for the avionics device; forwarding the first uplink message from the at least one of: the EFB and/or the AID to the communications management system; and forwarding the first uplink message from the communications management system to the avionics device (EFB 100 may be in operable communication with the aircraft IFE 220 via a broadband feeder 222 or other suitable device. No matter the specific manner in which the EFB 100 communicates with the IFE 220, it will be appreciated that such functionality may reduce the overall size and weight associated with the aircraft IFE 220. For example, rather than storing various entertainment content (e.g., movies, audio content, etc.) on-board the aircraft, this content may be selectively transmitted (either automatically or in response to a command) to the EFB 100, via one of the wireless sub-networks 230, and then supplied to the IFE 220, column 9 lines 36-55).
Pandit discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches first downlink message from an avionics device communicatively coupled to the communications management system.
However, Pandit discloses communication with the communications systems 210 may take place via the aircraft communications management unit (CMU) (column 5 lines 10-14); EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU and EFB 100 may also implement an ACARS message data analyzer. Preferably, this analyzer is configured to analyze the stored ACARS message data and verify that the directions given by ATC/AOC are consistent with the current flight plan (column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to implement the method taught by Pandit utilizing known component such as processor an communication interface to achieve the same expected result as the claimed invention and to further improve the functional efficiency.
Re Claim 8, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the at least one communication link comprises a WiFi, cellular, and/or broadband satellite communications (SATCOM-BB) communication link (the wireless sub-networks may include various WiFi networks, various WiMAX networks, various wireless IP networks, or any other wireless network protocol now known or developed in the future, column 5 lines 15-30).
Claim(s) 3-5, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandit et al. (US 9719799 B2) (Pandit herein after) in view of Hathaway (US 10707951 B2).
Re Claim 3, Pandit discloses the system of claim 1, except further comprising an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the EFB and the communications management system, wherein the AID is configured for datalink communications using at least one communication link associated with the AID , wherein the AID is configured to receive the downlink message from the communications management system, wherein the AID is configured to transmit the downlink message to the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the AID.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein tablet connected to the ADID (aircraft integration device) 200 which obtains flight data and aircraft system data via a flight data recorder data bus, e.g. ARINC 717 data bus or equivalent and/or an avionics data bus, e.g. ARINC 429 data bus or equivalent. For the purposes of this specification, it will be appreciated that ARINC 429 and ARINC 717 data buses are used to exemplify a best mode of implementing the invention. Any other suitable data buses may be used instead of ARINC 429 and ARINC 717 (column 4 line 49 – column 5 line 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the EFB and the communications management system, wherein the AID is configured for datalink communications using at least one communication link associated with the AID , wherein the AID is configured to receive the downlink message from the communications management system, wherein the AID is configured to transmit the downlink message to the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the AID.
Re Claim 4, Pandit discloses the system of claim 1, except further comprising an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the EFB and the communications management system, wherein the AID is configured for datalink communications using at least one communication link associated with the AID, wherein the AID is configured to receive an uplink message from the at least one ground station, wherein the uplink message is intended for the avionics device, wherein the AID is configured to forward the uplink message to the EFB, wherein the EFB is configured to forward the uplink message back to the AID, wherein the AID is configured to forward the uplink message to the communications management system, wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the uplink message to the avionics device.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein tablet connected to the ADID (aircraft integration device) 200 which obtains flight data and aircraft system data via a flight data recorder data bus, e.g. ARINC 717 data bus or equivalent and/or an avionics data bus, e.g. ARINC 429 data bus or equivalent. For the purposes of this specification, it will be appreciated that ARINC 429 and ARINC 717 data buses are used to exemplify a best mode of implementing the invention. Any other suitable data buses may be used instead of ARINC 429 and ARINC 717 (column 4 line 49 – column 5 line 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the EFB and the communications management system, wherein the AID is configured for datalink communications using at least one communication link associated with the AID, wherein the AID is configured to receive an uplink message from the at least one ground station, wherein the uplink message is intended for the avionics device, wherein the AID is configured to forward the uplink message to the EFB, wherein the EFB is configured to forward the uplink message back to the AID, wherein the AID is configured to forward the uplink message to the communications management system, wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the uplink message to the avionics device.
Re Claim 5, Pandit discloses the system of claim 1, except wherein the communications management system is configured for datalink communication using at least one communication link associated with the communications management system, wherein the communications management system is configured to determine whether at least one communication link associated with the EFB and/or an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the EFB and the communications management system is available, wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the downlink message to at least one of the EFB and/or the AID instead of transmitting the downlink message via the at least one communication link associated with the communications management system when the at least one communication link associated with the EFB and/or the AID is available.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of
wherein the communications management system is configured for datalink communication using at least one communication link associated with the communications management system, wherein the communications management system is configured to determine whether at least one communication link associated with the EFB and/or an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the EFB and the communications management system is available, wherein the communications management system is configured to forward the downlink message to at least one of the EFB and/or the AID instead of transmitting the downlink message via the at least one communication link associated with the communications management system when the at least one communication link associated with the EFB and/or the AID is available.
Re Claim 9, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, except wherein forwarding the first downlink message comprises: forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the AID when the AID is connected to the communications management system; and forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the EFB when the EFB is directly coupled to the communications management system.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein forwarding the first downlink message comprises: forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the AID when the AID is connected to the communications management system; and forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the EFB when the EFB is directly coupled to the communications management system.
Re Claim 10, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, comprising: transmitting the first downlink message to the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the EFB (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19). Pandit discloses the claimed invention except comprising: forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the AID; forwarding the first downlink message from the AID to the EFB; and transmitting the first downlink message to the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the EFB.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising: forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the AID; forwarding the first downlink message from the AID to the EFB; and transmitting the first downlink message to the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the EFB.
Re Claim 11, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, comprising: transmitting the first downlink message to the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link associated with the AID (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19). Pandit discloses the claimed invention except comprising: forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the AID; forwarding the first downlink message from the AID to the EFB; forwarding the first downlink message from the EFB back to the AID.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising: forwarding the first downlink message from the communications management system to the AID; forwarding the first downlink message from the AID to the EFB; forwarding the first downlink message from the EFB back to the AID.
Re Claim 12, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, except comprising: receiving the first uplink message on the at least one communication link associated with the EFB; forwarding the first uplink message from the EFB to the AID; and forwarding the first uplink message from the AID to the communications management system.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising: receiving the first uplink message on the at least one communication link associated with the EFB; forwarding the first uplink message from the EFB to the AID; and forwarding the first uplink message from the AID to the communications management system.
Re Claim 13, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, except comprising: receiving the first uplink message on the at least one communication link associated with the AID; forwarding the first uplink message from the AID to the EFB; forwarding the first uplink message from the EFB back to the AID; and forwarding the first uplink message from the AID to the communications management system.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising: receiving the first uplink message on the at least one communication link associated with the AID; forwarding the first uplink message from the AID to the EFB; forwarding the first uplink message from the EFB back to the AID; and forwarding the first uplink message from the AID to the communications management system.
Re Claim 14, Pandit discloses the method of claim 7, except comprising: receiving the first uplink message on the at least one communication link associated with the EFB; and forwarding the first uplink message directly from the EFB to the communications management system.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of comprising: receiving the first uplink message on the at least one communication link associated with the EFB; and forwarding the first uplink message directly from the EFB to the communications management system.
Re Claim 15, Pandit discloses an avionics device configured to be coupled to a communications management system onboard a vehicle, the avionics device comprising:
receive a downlink message from the communications management system (Depending upon whether the aircraft is equipped with a CMU, the EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19);
at least one processor (processing system column 2 lines 51-67), wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute a datalink application for processing datalink messages including the downlink message (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19); and
a datalink transceiver coupled to the communication interface, wherein the datalink transceiver is configured to establish at least one communication link with at least one ground station (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19),
wherein the datalink transceiver is configured to transmit the downlink message via the at least one communication link (EFB 100 may communicate via multiple sub-networks, the stored ACARS messages may be down-linked to the ground via any one of the available sub-networks or per an aircraft owner's preference column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19).
Pandit discloses the claimed invention except a communication interface, wherein the communication interface is configured to receive a downlink message from the communications management system.
However, Hathaway discloses a method and system for transferring aircraft data from an aircraft to a portable electronic device wherein ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300 (column 8 lines 30-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Pandit, by making use of the technique taught by Hathaway, in order to improve the communication tools efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of aircraft data communication, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Pandit, nor does Pandit teach away from the modification (Pandit merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the integrated communication method and system taught by Hathaway is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the communication interface is configured to receive a downlink message from the communications management system.
Re Claim 16, the combined teachings disclose the avionics device of claim 15, Pandit discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the downlink message originates from another avionics device coupled to the communications management system (EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU, column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19).
Re Claim 17, the combined teachings disclose the avionics device of claim 15, Pandit discloses wherein the datalink transceiver is configured to receive an uplink message from the at least one ground station via the at least one communication link, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the uplink message is intended for another avionics device coupled to the communications management system, wherein the communication interface is configured to forward the uplink message to the communications management system (EFB 100 may be in operable communication with the aircraft IFE 220 via a broadband feeder 222 or other suitable device. No matter the specific manner in which the EFB 100 communicates with the IFE 220, it will be appreciated that such functionality may reduce the overall size and weight associated with the aircraft IFE 220. For example, rather than storing various entertainment content (e.g., movies, audio content, etc.) on-board the aircraft, this content may be selectively transmitted (either automatically or in response to a command) to the EFB 100, via one of the wireless sub-networks 230, and then supplied to the IFE 220, column 9 lines 36-55).
Re Claim 18, the combined teachings disclose the avionics device of claim 17, Pandit discloses wherein the avionics device is an electronic flight bag (EFB) (the EFB 100 may transmit, receive, process, and store ACARS messages either directly or via the CMU, column 9 line 64 – column 10 line 19), Hathaway discloses wherein the communication interface is configured to forward the uplink message to an aircraft interface device (AID) coupled between the communications management system and the EFB, wherein the communication interface is configured to receive the downlink message from the AID (ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300, column 8 lines 30-50).
Re Claim 19, the combined teachings disclose the avionics device of claim 17, Hathaway discloses wherein the avionics device is an aircraft interface device (AID), wherein the communication interface is configured to forward the downlink message to an electronic flight bag (EFB), wherein the AID is configured to receive the uplink message from the EFB, and to forward the uplink message to the communications management system (ACARS transmission over VHF may be done when the aircraft 20 is on the ground or in the air. The aircraft 20 shown in FIG. 5 is a commuter turboprop such as the Bombardier Q400 which does not have a satcom system for transmitting ACARS via satellite. The ICAS tablet 100 may be used to transmit ACARS data or any reformatted ACARS data via the cellular base station 50 (or Wi-Fi hotspot) through a mobile gateway 55 to the Internet 90. The data is then forwarded through the Internet as packetized data using standard TCP/IP techniques to the second flight operations server 310 without having to pass through the first flight operations server 300, column 8 lines 30-50).
Re Claim 20, the combined teachings disclose the avionics device of claim 15, Pandit discloses wherein the at least one communication link comprises a WiFi, cellular, and/or broadband satellite communications (SATCOM-BB) communication link (the wireless sub-networks may include various WiFi networks, various WiMAX networks, various wireless IP networks, or any other wireless network protocol now known or developed in the future, column 5 lines 15-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shamasundar et al. (US 2020/0402412 A1) – generating air traffic control requests on an onboard or an offboard avionics device with a graphical display
Hochwarth et al. (US 2021/0142681 A1) – method and system for synchronizing a flight management system with an external device
Leal Herrera et al. (US 2021/0409272 A1) – method and system for automatic configuration of a communications interface for a specialized data network of an aircraft
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631