DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/01/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Specifically, a legible copy of WO 2005058747 was not provided.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the electrical energy” should be “an electrical energy” as this is the first instance of “electrical energy” being recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “launch measures” should be “launch measurements of temperature” or words to that effect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the operating temperature” should be “the operative temperature” in order to be consistent with claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a double comma between “a source of liquid” and “the fluid circuit.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation of “the last calculated ramp value” renders the claim indefinite as “the last calculated ramp value” lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear if such is intended to refer to the calculated “adjusted ramp value” recited in claim 1 or to some other calculated ramp value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Etter el al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0322401), hereinafter Etter.
Regarding claim 1, Etter teaches a beverage preparation machine comprising a thermal conditioning device, the thermal condition device comprising (para. 0001; “The invention concerns the start-up of a thermal conditioning device, in particular a device with a thermal accumulator such as a thermoblock, for heating or cooling a fluid circulating therethrough, e.g. a heater for a beverage preparation machine. In particular the present invention concerns a method for optimized heating up of a coffee machine in-line heater to an operating temperature from a rest temperature with best possible heat up time and consideration of different system constellations.”) (Figure 1; thermal conditioning device 100 including thermoblock 101) (Figures 3-4):
a control unit for controlling a start up phase of the thermal conditioning device from a temperature of inactivity (i.e., off) to an operative temperature (para. 0031-0034; controls from a temperature of inactivity to an operative temperature), the control unit comprising:
a controller ( controller 2 including PCB 4 and processor-para. 0099) with a start up profile for starting-up the thermal conditioning device (para. 0030; “a start-up profile for starting-up such a thermal conditioning device from a temperature of inactivity to an operative temperature for bringing to a target temperature a fluid circulating through said thermal conditioning device at start-up end”), wherein the start-up profile has at least one parameter and the controller has a self-learning mode for adjusting the at least one parameter (para. 0034; “he start-up profile has at least one parameter and the controller has a self-learning mode for adjusting such parameter as a function of said temperature difference and to store the adjusted parameter or parameters for a subsequent starting-up of said thermal device”); and
a temperature sensor (70) connected to the controller for measuring a temperature of the thermal conditioning device ( para. 0076; “connected to said controller 2 for determining a temperature of said fluid upon circulation through said thermal conditioning device 100.”),
wherein the self-learning mode causes the controller during a start-up phase to:
calculate a ramp value representative of a rate of change in temperature during the start-up phase of the thermal conditioning device (See steps 110-113 and paragraphs 0193-0196; target temperature) (see paragraph 0068; achieving target temperature in the shortest possible time) (See paragraphs 0163-0166; “The machine takes the last stored index number from the EEPROM and calculates the needed time the heater is switched on to reach the target temperature based on the index from the permanent memory.”) (Figure 3 also illustrates the temperature change over time) (See also paragraphs 0176-0181 for calculating a temperature gradient);
adjust the at least one parameter as a function of the calculated ramp value (paragraphs 0034-0035; “…at least one parameter and the controller has a self-learning mode for adjusting such parameter as a function of said temperature difference and to store the adjusted parameter or parameters for a subsequent starting-up of said thermal device.” “At least one parameter can be a duration of the power start-up profile. At least one parameter may be a power intensity of the power start-up profile. In any case, the power intensity may be variable or constant over time during start-up. For example, at least one parameter is a target temperature of said thermal conditioning device.”) (para. 0081; “…this parameter of the start-up profile can be, preferably but not restrictively: [0082] a duration of the power start-up profile; [0083] a power intensity of the power start-up profile; [0084] a target temperature TT of said thermal conditioning device 100…”) (Fig. 3 shows heat-up curve including three areas: heat-up start A, linear temperature gradient B, and heat-up engage C-para. 0172. Paragraph 0114 discloses that the controller allows reaching the optimal operative temperature, which is equal to the switch off temperature SOT. Paragraph 0115 states that the SOT is a stored parameter.); and
use the adjusted at least one parameter for a remainder of the start-up phase (powering the thermoblock or thermal accumulator-paragraphs 0030, 0035-0036) (para. 0034; “the start-up profile has at least one parameter and the controller has a self-learning mode for adjusting such parameter as a function of said temperature difference and to store the adjusted parameter or parameters for a subsequent starting-up of said thermal device.”) (See also paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 2, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches wherein the at least one parameter is a duration of at least part of the start-up phase (a duration of the power start-up profile, as stated above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches wherein the at least one parameter is the electrical energy transmitted to the thermal conditioning device during at least part of the start-up phase (a power intensity, as stated above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to calculate the ramp value as a ramp time duration measured by the controller for the thermal conditioning device to go from a first calibration temperature to a second calibration temperature during the start-up phase, divided by the difference between the second calibration temperature and the first calibration temperature (para. 0176-0180; “The algorithm of acquiring the temperature gradient can be the following in the case of N=8: Temperature values T1 to TN can be stored in an array as here described, assuming a later temperature is higher than the previous temperature. At a given point of time (t=0), the array will contain the following previous acquired (e.g. measured and/or derived) and stored temperature values: T1=temperature (t=-0.5 sec) T2=temperature (t=-1 sec), T3=temperature (t=-1.5 sec), T4=temperature (t=-2 sec), T5=temperature (t=-2.5 sec), T6=temperature (t=-3 sec), T7=temperature (t=-3.5 sec), T8=temperature (t=-4 sec),”) (para. 0181; “From these values the average temperature gradient AG can be calculated as follows, after the calculation of the n temperature gradients Gi, from G1 to Gn, e.g. n=N/2=4 G1=Gradient 1=T1-T5=temperature (t=-0.5 sec)-temperature (t=-2.5 sec); G2=Gradient 2=T2-T6=temperature (t=-1 sec)-temperature (t=-3 sec); G3=Gradient 3=T3-T7=temperature (t=-1.5 sec)-temperature (t=-3.5 sec); G4=Gradient 4=T4-T8=temperature (t=-2 sec)-temperature (t=-4 sec). Consecutively an average temperature gradient AG is built by averaging the 4 gradients mathematically: AG=1/n. Σi=1 n with n=N/2 In this example, AG=1/4(G1+G2+G3+G4).”).
Regarding claim 5, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches wherein the thermal conditioning device comprises a thermal accumulator or a thermoblock (para. 0036).
Regarding claim 6, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches the controller including at least a clock to launch measures of temperature at periodic time intervals (para. 0037; “controller includes a clock to launch measures of temperature at periodic time intervals”).
Regarding claim 7, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to supply energy to the thermal conditioning device after the start-up phase, using a flow coefficient representative of the power required by the thermal conditioning device to remain at the operating temperature while a liquid circulates through it, wherein the flow coefficient is determined on the basis of the last calculated ramp value (para. 0099; “controlling the intensity of current passed to resistive heating element based on the flow rate of the circulating water measured with the flow meter and the temperature of the heated water measured with the temperature sensor 70”) (Additionally, as the flow rate is measured during heating phase, this flow rate is measured during a period in which the ramp value is calculated and is, at least partially, based on such ramp value).
Regarding claim 8, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches preparing coffee (para. 0001).
Regarding claim 9, Etter, as applied to claim 1, teaches each claimed limitation and further teaches a capsule processing arrangement to prepare a beverage using ingredients contained in one or more capsules and a fluid circuit connecting the capsule processing arrangement to a source of liquid, the fluid circuit comprising the thermal conditioning device for heating and/or cooling the liquid supplied to the capsule processing arrangement (para. 0089; “ a beverage ingredient is supplied to the beverage preparation machine, particularly the coffee machine 104, in a capsule. Typically, this type of beverage machine is suitable to prepare coffee and is in this case called a coffee machine 104, or to prepare tea and/or other hot beverages or even soups and like food preparations. The pressure of the liquid circulated to the brewing chamber 200 may for instance reach about 2 to 25 bar, in particular 5 to 20 bar such as 10 to 15 bar.”) (See Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 0091-0095 detailing the fluid circuit including the thermal conditioning device for supplying hot liquid to the capsule in the brewing chamber).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/018488 to Tanaka relates to a control method of controlling temperature profile for heating devices (para. 2-4 and 9) and teaches determining a ramp up time of the heating device (Fig. 1-3; TL).
WO2005/058747 to Cooke relates to a beverage system in which a controller uses a self-learning mode to control temperature (6:12-24 and 11:14-24).
/JUSTIN C DODSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761