DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the European Patent Office have been considered.
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) received on 02-01-2024, 04-17-2024, 01-07-2025, 10-16-2025 and 02-04-2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US20190166556A1) hereinafter Ly in view of Babaei (US12022433B2) and further in view of Lin et al. (US11637670B2) hereinafter Lin.
Regarding Claim 50, Ly discloses a method of wireless communication comprising: prior to receiving a paging message, receiving, at a wireless device, paging configuration information(Ly, par 43; the base station may send a WUR signal to the UE prior to sending a paging message),wherein the paging configuration information includes a paging indication comprising N*M bits followed immediately by a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource availability indication comprising Q bits, wherein N, M, and Q are integers(Ly, par 40; In some examples, the WUR signal numerology may have the same numerology as the paging channels. In other examples, the numerology of WUR signals may be communicated from a base station to a UE. In such example, the base station may signal the WUR signal numerology in system information (SI) and/or in a radio resource control (RRC) message. The determination may be based on specifications in standards, specified by an operator, and/or based on static parameters including cell id, frequency band used. The determination may be dynamic. For example, determination may be based on the channel condition and/or usage of resource); monitoring for the paging message based on the paging indication (Ly, par 51; the method 300 may include monitoring one or more WUR signals, based on at least on the determined WUR numerology and the determined WUR signaling configuration); and receiving a CSI-RS according to the CSI-RS resource availability indication (Ly, par. 52; if a UE detects a WUR signal based on the determined WUR numerology and determined WUR signaling configuration then the UE may proceed to monitor and decode PDCCH to receive paging messages).
Ly does not explicitly disclose paging indication with byte subgrouping however Babaei further teaches adding subgroups and early indications before paging occasions using downlink control information (Babaei, par. 190; A wireless device may receive a DCI comprising a plurality of bits. In an example, the DCI may be a paging DCI, received by the wireless in a paging occasion and comprising scheduling information for a paging TB … The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ly’s wake up signal techniques with Babaei’s power saving system to improve the power efficiency in a wireless paging system.
The combination of Ly and Babaei does not explicitly discloses a resource availability indication, however, Lin further teaches CSI-TRS resource availability signaling before paging occasions in idle states (Lin, par. 95; there is a need to determine a configuration of channel state information-reference-signal/tracking reference signal (CSI-RS/TRS) resources for a UE operates in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE state. The configuration can include DL BWP or subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration μ or resource blocks (RBs) or resource element (RE) mapping or the OFDM symbols, or the first slot, or duration, or number of antenna ports, transmit power of the idle mode CSI-RS/TRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings from Ly, Babaei and Lyn to improve the power efficiency in paging devices, reducing false wake-ups and DCI overhead.
Regarding Claim 51, Babaei further discloses the method of claim 50, wherein N is a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with the paging indication; wherein M is a number of PO groups within each of the POs; wherein each of the N*M bits is associated with a respective PO group of the PO groups (Babaei, par 166; In an example, indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be based on different P-RNTIs for different sub-groups, based on different CORESETs/search spaces for receiving DCIs (e.g., paging DCIs or paging early indication DCIs) for different sub-groups, or by indicators in a paging DCI and/or paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly); and wherein for each of the N*M bits, a value of 1 indicates the associated PO group is paged, and a value of 0 indicates the associated PO group is not paged (Babaei, par 190; the DCI may be a paging early indication DCI received in a timing before the PO/timing of the paging DCI. In an example, the DCI may be received via a common search space/CORESET. For example, the DCI may comprise a field comprising a plurality of bits. The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more first bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in the paging TB. In an example, the plurality of bits may further comprise one or more second bits that correspond to a second paging group. The one or more second bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more second bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in the paging TB.
Regarding Claim 52, Lin further teaches the method of claim 50, wherein each of the Q bits indicates whether a corresponding CSI-RS resource set is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 53, Lin further teaches the method of claim 52, wherein a bit of the Q bits having a value of 1 indicates that a CSI-RS resource set corresponding to the bit having the value of 1 is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 54, Lin further teaches the method of claim 50, wherein the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Lin, par. 6; The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive a first configuration for periodic CSI-RS/tracking reference signal (TRS) reception occasions for idle/inactive UEs).
Regarding claim 55, Ly discloses a method of wireless communication comprising:
prior to transmitting a paging message, transmitting, by a network device, paging configuration information (Ly, par 43; the base station may send a WUR signal to the UE prior to sending a paging message), wherein the paging configuration information includes a paging indication comprising N*M bits followed immediately by a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource availability indication comprising Q bits, wherein N, M, and Q are integers (Ly, par 40; In some examples, the WUR signal numerology may have the same numerology as the paging channels. In other examples, the numerology of WUR signals may be communicated from a base station to a UE. In such example, the base station may signal the WUR signal numerology in system information (SI) and/or in a radio resource control (RRC) message. The determination may be based on specifications in standards, specified by an operator, and/or based on static parameters including cell id, frequency band used. The determination may be dynamic. For example, determination may be based on the channel condition and/or usage of resource), wherein the paging indication is configured for use by the wireless device to monitor for the paging message (Ly, par 51; the method 300 may include monitoring one or more WUR signals, based on at least on the determined WUR numerology and the determined WUR signaling configuration); transmitting the CSI-RS resource according to the CSI-RS resource availability indication (Ly, par 43; the method 200 may include transmitting one or more WUR signals. The transmitted signal may be based on at least on the determined numerology and the determined WUR signaling configuration, to one or more wireless devices); and transmitting the paging message according to the paging indication (Ly par. 44; transmitting a paging message to the one or more wireless devices subsequent to transmitting one or more WUR signals).
Ly does not explicitly disclose paging indication with byte subgrouping however Babaei further teaches adding subgroups and early indications before paging occasions using downlink control information (Babaei, par. 190; A wireless device may receive a DCI comprising a plurality of bits. In an example, the DCI may be a paging DCI, received by the wireless in a paging occasion and comprising scheduling information for a paging TB … The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ly’s wake up signal techniques with Babaei’s power saving system to improve the power efficiency in a wireless paging system.
The combination of Ly and Babaei does not explicitly discloses a resource availability indication, however, Lin further teaches CSI-TRS resource availability signaling before paging occasions in idle states (Lin, par. 95; there is a need to determine a configuration of channel state information-reference-signal/tracking reference signal (CSI-RS/TRS) resources for a UE operates in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE state. The configuration can include DL BWP or subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration μ or resource blocks (RBs) or resource element (RE) mapping or the OFDM symbols, or the first slot, or duration, or number of antenna ports, transmit power of the idle mode CSI-RS/TRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings from Ly, Babaei and Lyn to improve the power efficiency in paging devices, reducing false wake-ups and DCI overhead.
Regarding claim 56, Babaei further discloses the method of claim 55, wherein N is a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with the paging indication; wherein M is a number of PO groups within each of the POs; wherein each of the N*M bits is associated with a respective PO group of the PO groups (Babaei, par 166; In an example, indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be based on different P-RNTIs for different sub-groups, based on different CORESETs/search spaces for receiving DCIs (e.g., paging DCIs or paging early indication DCIs) for different sub-groups, or by indicators in a paging DCI and/or paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly); and wherein for each of the N*M bits, a value of 1 indicates the associated PO group is paged, and a value of 0 indicates the associated PO group is not paged (Babaei, par 190; the DCI may be a paging early indication DCI received in a timing before the PO/timing of the paging DCI. In an example, the DCI may be received via a common search space/CORESET. For example, the DCI may comprise a field comprising a plurality of bits. The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more first bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in the paging TB. In an example, the plurality of bits may further comprise one or more second bits that correspond to a second paging group. The one or more second bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more second bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in the paging TB).
Regarding Claim 57, Lin further teaches the method of claim 55, wherein each of the Q bits indicates whether a corresponding CSI-RS resource set is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 58, Lin further teaches the method of claim 57, wherein a bit of the Q bits having a value of 1 indicates that a CSI-RS resource set corresponding to the bit having the value of 1 is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 59, Lin further teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Lin, par. 6; The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive a first configuration for periodic CSI-RS/tracking reference signal (TRS) reception occasions for idle/inactive UEs).
Regarding Claim 60, Ly discloses an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, execution of which by the processor causes the apparatus to: prior to receiving a paging message, receive, at the apparatus, paging configuration information (Ly, par 43; the base station may send a WUR signal to the UE prior to sending a paging message), wherein the paging configuration information includes a paging indication comprising (Ly, par 40; In some examples, the WUR signal numerology may have the same numerology as the paging channels. In other examples, the numerology of WUR signals may be communicated from a base station to a UE. In such example, the base station may signal the WUR signal numerology in system information (SI) and/or in a radio resource control (RRC) message) N*M bits followed immediately by a CSI-RS resource availability indication comprising Q bits, wherein N, M, and Q are integers; monitor for the paging message based on the paging indication (Ly, par 40; determination may be based on the channel condition and/or usage of resource); and receive a CSI-RS according to the CSI-RS resource availability indication (Ly, par. 52; if a UE detects a WUR signal based on the determined WUR numerology and determined WUR signaling configuration then the UE may proceed to monitor and decode PDCCH to receive paging messages).
Ly does not explicitly disclose paging indication with byte subgrouping however Babaei further teaches adding subgroups and early indications before paging occasions using downlink control information (Babaei, par. 190; A wireless device may receive a DCI comprising a plurality of bits. In an example, the DCI may be a paging DCI, received by the wireless in a paging occasion and comprising scheduling information for a paging TB … The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ly’s wake up signal techniques with Babaei’s power saving system to improve the power efficiency in a wireless paging system.
The combination of Ly and Babaei does not explicitly discloses a resource availability indication, however, Lin further teaches CSI-TRS resource availability signaling before paging occasions in idle states (Lin, par. 95; there is a need to determine a configuration of channel state information-reference-signal/tracking reference signal (CSI-RS/TRS) resources for a UE operates in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE state. The configuration can include DL BWP or subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration μ or resource blocks (RBs) or resource element (RE) mapping or the OFDM symbols, or the first slot, or duration, or number of antenna ports, transmit power of the idle mode CSI-RS/TRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings from Ly, Babaei and Lyn to improve the power efficiency in paging devices, reducing false wake-ups and DCI overhead.
Regarding claim 61, Babaei further discloses the apparatus of claim 60, wherein N is a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with the paging indication; wherein M is a number of PO groups within each of the POs; wherein each of the N*M bits is associated with a respective PO group of the PO groups (Babaei, par 166; In an example, indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be based on different P-RNTIs for different sub-groups, based on different CORESETs/search spaces for receiving DCIs (e.g., paging DCIs or paging early indication DCIs) for different sub-groups, or by indicators in a paging DCI and/or paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly); and wherein for each of the N*M bits, a value of 1 indicates the associated PO group is paged, and a value of 0 indicates the associated PO group is not paged (Babaei, par 190; the DCI may be a paging early indication DCI received in a timing before the PO/timing of the paging DCI. In an example, the DCI may be received via a common search space/CORESET. For example, the DCI may comprise a field comprising a plurality of bits. The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more first bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in the paging TB. In an example, the plurality of bits may further comprise one or more second bits that correspond to a second paging group. The one or more second bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more second bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in the paging TB).
Regarding Claim 62, Lin further teaches the method of claim 60, wherein each of the Q bits indicates whether a corresponding CSI-RS resource set is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 63, Lin further teaches the apparatus of claim 62, wherein a bit of the Q bits having a value of 1 indicates that a CSI-RS resource set corresponding to the bit having the value of 1 is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 64, Lin further teaches the apparatus of claim 55, wherein the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Lin, par. 6; The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive a first configuration for periodic CSI-RS/tracking reference signal (TRS) reception occasions for idle/inactive UEs).
Regarding Claim 65, Ly discloses an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, execution of which by the processor causes the apparatus to: prior to transmitting a paging message, transmit, by the apparatus, paging configuration information (Ly, par 43; the base station may send a WUR signal to the UE prior to sending a paging message), wherein the paging configuration information includes a paging indication comprising N*M bits followed immediately by a CSI-RS resource availability indication comprising Q bits, wherein N, M, and Q are integers (Ly, par 40; In some examples, the WUR signal numerology may have the same numerology as the paging channels. In other examples, the numerology of WUR signals may be communicated from a base station to a UE. In such example, the base station may signal the WUR signal numerology in system information (SI) and/or in a radio resource control (RRC) message. The determination may be based on specifications in standards, specified by an operator, and/or based on static parameters including cell id, frequency band used. The determination may be dynamic. For example, determination may be based on the channel condition and/or usage of resource), wherein the paging indication is configured for use by a wireless device to monitor for the paging message (Ly, par 51; the method 300 may include monitoring one or more WUR signals, based on at least on the determined WUR numerology and the determined WUR signaling configuration); transmit the CSI-RS resource according to the CSI-RS resource availability indication (Ly, par. 52; if a UE detects a WUR signal based on the determined WUR numerology and determined WUR signaling configuration then the UE may proceed to monitor and decode PDCCH to receive paging messages); and transmit the paging message according to the paging indication (Ly, par. 43; the method 200 may include transmitting one or more WUR signals. The transmitted signal may be based on at least on the determined numerology and the determined WUR signaling configuration, to one or more wireless devices).
Ly does not explicitly disclose paging indication with byte subgrouping however Babaei further teaches adding subgroups and early indications before paging occasions using downlink control information (Babaei, par. 190; A wireless device may receive a DCI comprising a plurality of bits. In an example, the DCI may be a paging DCI, received by the wireless in a paging occasion and comprising scheduling information for a paging TB … The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ly’s wake up signal techniques with Babaei’s power saving system to improve the power efficiency in a wireless paging system.
The combination of Ly and Babaei does not explicitly discloses a resource availability indication, however, Lin further teaches CSI-TRS resource availability signaling before paging occasions in idle states (Lin, par. 95; there is a need to determine a configuration of channel state information-reference-signal/tracking reference signal (CSI-RS/TRS) resources for a UE operates in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE state. The configuration can include DL BWP or subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration μ or resource blocks (RBs) or resource element (RE) mapping or the OFDM symbols, or the first slot, or duration, or number of antenna ports, transmit power of the idle mode CSI-RS/TRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings from Ly, Babaei and Lyn to improve the power efficiency in paging devices, reducing false wake-ups and DCI overhead.
Regarding Claim 66, Babaei further discloses the apparatus of claim 65, wherein N is a number of paging occasions (POs) associated with the paging indication; wherein M is a number of PO groups within each of the POs; wherein each of the N*M bits is associated with a respective PO group of the PO groups (Babaei, par 166; In an example, indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be based on different P-RNTIs for different sub-groups, based on different CORESETs/search spaces for receiving DCIs (e.g., paging DCIs or paging early indication DCIs) for different sub-groups, or by indicators in a paging DCI and/or paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly); and wherein for each of the N*M bits, a value of 1 indicates the associated PO group is paged, and a value of 0 indicates the associated PO group is not paged (Babaei, par 190; the DCI may be a paging early indication DCI received in a timing before the PO/timing of the paging DCI. In an example, the DCI may be received via a common search space/CORESET. For example, the DCI may comprise a field comprising a plurality of bits. The plurality of bits may comprise one or more first bits that correspond to a first paging group. The one or more first bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more first bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more first bits may indicate that paging information associated with the first paging group is not present in the paging TB. In an example, the plurality of bits may further comprise one or more second bits that correspond to a second paging group. The one or more second bits may have one of a plurality of values comprising a first value and a second value. The first value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in a paging downlink transport block. The second value of the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in a paging downlink transport block. For example, the number of the one or more second bits may be one. A value of one for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is present in the paging TB. A value of zero for the one or more second bits may indicate that paging information associated with the second paging group is not present in the paging TB).
Regarding Claim 67, Lin further teaches the method of claim 65, wherein each of the Q bits indicates whether a corresponding CSI-RS resource set is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 68, Lin further teaches the apparatus of claim 67, wherein a bit of the Q bits having a value of 1 indicates that a CSI-RS resource set corresponding to the bit having the value of 1 is available (Lin par. 130; A UE can be provided with a bitmap to indicate the OFDM symbols for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception, wherein a bit with value 1 indicates the associated OFDM symbol is available for idle mode CSI-RS/TRS reception. The bitmap can be either provided to a UE in a configuration of idle mode CSI-RS/TRS for each idle mode CSI-RS/TRS resources set or for each CSI-RS/TRS resource or defined in the specification of the system operation).
Regarding Claim 69, Lin further teaches the apparatus of claim 65, wherein the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Lin, par. 6; The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive a first configuration for periodic CSI-RS/tracking reference signal (TRS) reception occasions for idle/inactive UEs).
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines or figures in the prior art
references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered limiting in any way. A
reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably
suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Islam et al. (US2021176762A1) DOWNLINK CONTROL CHANNEL SIGNALING FOR IMPROVED POWER CONSUMPTION AT A USER EQUIPMENT (UE), 2021-06-10
Hwang et al. (US12342320B2) Method and device for transmitting/receiving wireless signal in wireless communication system, 2025-06-24
M. Elsaadany, A. Ali and W. Hamouda, "Cellular LTE-A Technologies for the Future Internet-of-Things: Physical Layer Features and Challenges," in IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, vol. 19, no. 4, pp. 2544-2572, Fourthquarter 2017, doi: 10.1109/COMST.2017.2728013.
Goyal et al. “Reducing the Paging Overhead in Highly Directional Systems” (https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2101.01048), 2021-01-04
Y. -N. R. Li, M. Chen, J. Xu, L. Tian and K. Huang, "Power Saving Techniques for 5G and Beyond," in IEEE Access, vol. 8, pp. 108675-108690, 2020, doi: 10.1109/ACCESS.2020.3001180.
M. Lauridsen, L. L. Sanchez, D. Laselva and J. Kaikkonen, "Study of Paging Enhancements for UE Energy Saving in 5G New Radio," 2021 IEEE 93rd Vehicular Technology Conference (VTC2021-Spring), Helsinki, Finland, 2021, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/VTC2021-Spring51267.2021.9448765.
/MRCM/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649