DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending where claims 1-4, 6, 18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn from consideration and claims 1-8 and 11-20 remain for examination on the merits.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC § 112 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
The previous 35 USC § 102 rejections of the claims over “Isothermal sections of the Co-Nb-Ni phase diagram at 1200 and 1375 K” by Shaipov et al and “Experimental Investigation of Phase Equilibria in the Co-Cr-Nb System at 1000, 1100, and 1200 °C” by Zhang et al have been withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
The previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims over JP 2010090478 to Tokutomi, WO 2014027636 A1 to Hasegawa, and US 2015/0034483 A1 to Fukuoka et al have been withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
The previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims over JP 08176754 to Murakami et al and JP 2001152277 to Yamaguchi et al have been maintained.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Instant claims 2 and 3 repeat the limitation “a total of 5 to 30 wt% Cr, Fe, Ni and Si with up to 10 wt% Cr, up to 10 wt% Fe, up to 12 wt% Ni and 0.5 to 3 wt% Si,” from instant claim 1 and then recite “at least 5 wt% Cr, at least 0.1 wt% Fe and at least 0.01 wt% Ni.” The claims would be more clear and condense written as “wherein the alloy includes 5 to 10 wt% Cr, 0.1 to 10 wt% Fe, and 0.01 to 12 wt% Ni.”
Instant claims 6 and 20 recite the limitation “10 to 45 wt.%, Nb,” instead of “10 to 45 wt.% Nb.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claim 1 recites the limitation “0.01 to 0.25 wt% C and balance up to 1.5 wt% total other elements.” This limitation is inconsistent with the specification and claims as originally filed because in the claims as amended, C is not considered part of the total other elements, whereas in the specification and claims as originally filed, C is considered part of the total other elements.
Instant claims 2-5, 7-8 and 11-19 depend on instant claim 1 and contain new matter for at least the same reasons.
Likewise, instant claims 6 and 20 contain new matter in that they do not stipulate that the claimed C, Mn and Mo are part of the up to 1.5 wt% total other elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 6 and 20 recites the broad recitation “35 to 80 wt% Co, 10 to 45 wt%, Nb, a total of at least 70 wt% Co plus Nb, a total of 5 to 30 wt% Cr, Fe, Ni and Si with up to 10 wt% Cr, up to 10 wt% Fe, up to 12 wt% Ni and up to 3 wt% Si, balance up to 1.5 wt% total other elements,” and the claim also recites “1 to 3 wt% Si, 0.01 to 5 wt% Ni, 5 to 8.5 wt% Cr… 35 to 80 wt% Co, 0.01 to 6 wt% Fe and 10 to 45 wt% Nb,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 depends on instant claim 2 and recites the exact same limitations as instant claim 2.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 13, 14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 08176754 to Murakami et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Murakami discloses a cobalt-niobium intermetallic alloy comprising the following composition which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Murakami wt%
Overlaps?
Co
35-80
15-70
Yes
Nb
10-45
0-10
Yes
Co+Nb
≥70
15-80
Yes
Cr+Fe+Ni+Si
5-30
1-85
Yes
Cr
0-10
1-35
Yes
Fe
0-10
Balance
Yes
Ni
0-12
≤impurity
Yes
Si
0.5-3
0-10
Yes
C
0.01-0.25
0-1
Yes
Mn
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
Mo
0-0.2
0-10
Yes
P
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
S
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
N
0-0.15
≤impurity
Yes
V
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
Ti
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
Al
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
Hf
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
Zr
0-0.1
0-5
Yes
Ta
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
W
0-0.1
0-10
Yes
B
0-0.05
0-1
Yes
(Murakami, abstract, para [0015])
Regarding the limitation “comprising… balance up to 1.5 wt. % total other elements,” the additional elements recited in Murakami are optional and overlap the instantly claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Murakami including the instantly claimed because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case of overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 5, 13, 14, 17 the alloy of Murakami overlaps the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 18, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the recitation of “engine part” is an intended use that does not appear to imply any structural limitations that the alloy of Murakami does not possess.
Regarding claim 19, the alloy of Murakami has been melted and cast (Murakami, para [0018]).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2001152277 to Yamaguchi et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Yamaguchi discloses a cobalt-niobium intermetallic alloy comprising the following composition which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Yamaguchi wt%
Overlaps?
Co
35-80
Balance (0-90)
Yes
Nb
10-45
W+Mo+Nb+Ta: 0-30
Yes
Co+Nb
≥70
0-90
Yes
Cr+Fe+Ni+Si
5-30
10-71
Yes
Cr
0-10
10-30
Yes
Fe
0-10
≤impurity
Yes
Ni
0-12
0-40
Yes
Si
0.5-3
0-1.0
Yes
C
0.01-0.25
0-0.3
Yes
Mn
0-0.1
0-2.0
Yes
Mo
0-0.2
≤impurity
Yes
P
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
S
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
N
0-0.15
≤impurity
Yes
V
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
Ti
0-0.1
0-1
Yes
Al
0-0.1
0-1
Yes
Hf
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
Zr
0-0.1
0-0.5
Yes
Ta
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
W
0-0.1
≤impurity
Yes
B
0-0.05
0-0.05
Yes
(Yamaguchi, abstract, para [0018-0021])
Regarding the limitation “comprising… balance up to 1.5 wt. % total other elements,” the additional elements recited in Yamaguchi are optional and overlap the instantly claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Yamaguchi including the instantly claimed because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case of overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 5, 12, 14 and 16 the alloy of Yamaguchi overlaps the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the instant specification at instant para [0027] discloses that Nb6Co7 and NbCo2 are formed at Co to Nb ratios of 0.6 to 1.35. Yamaguchi allows for Co to Nb ratios overlapping the disclosed range of 0.6 to 1.35 and as such would be expected to possess Nb6Co7 and NbCo2 within the overlapping Co to Nb ratios.
Regarding claim 18, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the recitation of “engine part” is an intended use that does not appear to imply any structural limitations that the alloy of Yamaguchi does not possess.
Regarding claim 19, the alloy of Yamaguchi has been melted and cast (Yamaguchi, para [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Murakami does not disclose the instantly claimed lower limit of Si. This is not found persuasive because Murakami discloses a Si content of 0-10 wt% (Murakami, abstract, para [0015]), overlapping the instantly claimed range of 0.5 to 3.0 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Murakami including the instantly claimed because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case of overlapping ranges.
Applicant argues that Yamaguchi does not disclose the instantly claimed lower limit of Si. This is not found persuasive because Yamaguchi discloses a Si content of 0-1.0 wt% (Yamaguchi, abstract, para [0018-0021]), overlapping the instantly claimed range of 0.5 to 3.0 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Yamaguchi including the instantly claimed because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case of overlapping ranges.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 109402335 to Bao discloses an alloy composition relevant to the instantly claimed ranges.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738