DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 823930 to Coakley.
Re Claim 1, Coakley teaches:
An anti-slip pillowcase (at least [Col. 1 lines 10-15] “pillow-slip”) comprising: an outer case having a rectangular shape (at least Fig. 1); said outer case comprising an aperture disposed along an edge of said outer case and configured to permit insertion of a pillow into said outer case (at least Fig. 1 element b and [Col. 1 lines 5-15] “open at one side”); a closing mechanism being openable and closable to open and close said aperture (at least Figs. 1-5 elements C and C1 and [Col. 2 lines 55-65] “The arrangement is such that while the bands c c c' c' hold the pillow securely in place they also tend to close the opening b of the case a”); and at least one anti-slip structure being disposed on an interior surface of said outer case and configured to minimize or prevent relative movement between said outer case and a pillow disposed within said outer case (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 2, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 1, wherein: said outer case comprises a first rectangular portion and a second rectangular portion disposed opposite and facing said first rectangular portion and connected together at the edges thereof (at least Figs. 1-5, both sides of pillowcase element a);
said at least one anti-slip structure comprises at least two anti-slip structures; said at least two anti-slip structures comprise a first anti-slip structure and a second anti-slip structure; and said first anti-slip structure is disposed on an interior surface of said first rectangular portion and said second anti-slip structure is disposed on an interior surface of said second rectangular portion (at least Fig. 1 elements C and C1).
Re Claim 3, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 2, wherein each of said at least two anti-slip structures comprises an elongated strip (at least Fig. 1 elements C and C1).
Re Claim 4, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 3, wherein each of said elongated strips being oriented transverse or essentially perpendicular to said aperture to facilitate sliding insertion of a pillow (at least Fig. 1 elements C and C1).
Re Claim 5, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 4, wherein: said at least two anti-slip structures comprises a third anti-slip structure and a fourth anti-slip structure; and said third anti-slip structure is disposed on the interior surface of said first rectangular portion and said fourth anti-slip structure is disposed on the interior surface of said second rectangular portion (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 6, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 5, wherein: said first anti-slip structure is spaced apart from and essentially parallel to said third anti-slip structure; and said second anti-slip structure is spaced apart from and essentially parallel to said fourth anti-slip structure (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 7, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 6, wherein: said first anti-slip structure is disposed parallel and facing opposite said second anti-slip structure; and said third anti-slip structure is disposed parallel and facing opposite said fourth anti-slip structure (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 8, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 7, wherein: said aperture is disposed on a longer edge of said outer case (at least Figs. 1-5 opening b); and said at least two anti-slip structures are disposed essentially perpendicular to said aperture and essentially parallel to the shorter sides of said outer case (at least Fig. 1 elements C and C1).
Re Claim 9, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 8, wherein each of said anti- slip structures comprises an anti-slip material configured to provide sufficient friction to minimize or prevent relative movement between said outer case and a pillow disposed within said outer case (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 13, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 2, wherein: said at least two anti-slip structures comprises a third anti-slip structure and a fourth anti-slip structure; and said third anti-slip structure is disposed on the interior surface of said first rectangular portion and said fourth anti-slip structure is disposed on the interior surface of said second rectangular portion (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 14, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 13, wherein: said first anti-slip structure is spaced apart from said third anti-slip structure; and said second anti-slip structure is spaced apart from said fourth anti-slip structure (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 15, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 14, wherein: said first anti-slip structure is disposed facing opposite said second anti-slip structure; and said third anti-slip structure is disposed facing opposite said fourth anti-slip structure (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 16, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 3, wherein: said aperture is disposed on a longer edge of said outer case; and said at least two anti-slip structures are disposed essentially perpendicular to said aperture and essentially parallel to the shorter sides of said outer case (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Re Claim 17, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 2, wherein each of said at least two anti-slip structures comprises an anti-slip material configured to provide sufficient friction to minimize or prevent relative movement between said outer case and a pillow disposed within said outer case (at least Figs. 1-5 element c and c1 and [Col. 1 lines 10-26] “there are four bands, two of them would be attached to one side of the opening and two of them to the other side, and the bands are carried across to the opposite side of the slip or case and secured at the interior thereof. The bands being merely fastened at their ends can be made to pass over and under the pillow or bolster, when it is inserted in the opening of the case, so as to hold it firmly in position within the case”.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley in view of US 20210386222 A1 to O’Veal.
Re Claim 10, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 9 (detailed with respect to claim 9).
Coakley does not explicitly teach:
further wherein said closing mechanism comprises a zipper configured and disposed to open and close said aperture.
However, O’Veal teaches:
further wherein said closing mechanism comprises a zipper configured and disposed to open and close said aperture (at least Fig. 3 and [0030] “zipper”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pillowcase taught by Coakley with the zipper taught by O’Veal with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because “zippers are probably the most effective closure” (O’Veal [0030]), which also for fast opening and closing of the aperture.
Re Claim 11, the combination of Coakley and O’Veal teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 10 (detailed with respect to claim 10).
O’Veal further teaches:
further comprising two covering portions disposed along the edges of said aperture and configured to overlap and conceal said zipper upon said zipper being closed (at least Fig. 3 elements 16 and [0038] “interior sheath 16”.).
Re Claim 12, the combination of Coakley and O’Veal teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
O’Veal further teaches:
wherein said outer case comprises a breathable and anti-bacterial material (at least [0010] “made of any suitable material, such as, for example without limitation, woven fabrics, nonwoven fabrics, natural fabrics, polymeric materials, and combinations thereof”).
Re Claim 18, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Coakley does not explicitly teach:
further wherein said closing mechanism comprises a zipper configured and disposed to open and close said aperture.
However, O’Veal teaches:
further wherein said closing mechanism comprises a zipper configured and disposed to open and close said aperture (at least Fig. 3 and [0030] “zipper”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pillowcase taught by Coakley with the zipper taught by O’Veal with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because “zippers are probably the most effective closure” (O’Veal [0030]), which also for fast opening and closing of the aperture.
Re Claim 19, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Coakley does not explicitly teach:
further comprising two covering portions disposed along the edges of said aperture and configured to overlap and conceal said closing mechanism upon said closing mechanism being closed.
However, O’Veal teaches:
further comprising two covering portions disposed along the edges of said aperture and configured to overlap and conceal said closing mechanism upon said closing mechanism being closed (at least Fig. 3 elements 16 and [0038] “interior sheath 16”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pillowcase taught by Coakley with the sheath taught by O’Veal with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it “closes the interior sheath 16 over a pillow 18 enclosed therein” (O’Veal [0038]), thereby making the pillow more comfortable to lay on for a user.
Re Claim 20, Coakley teaches:
The anti-slip pillowcase according to Claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Coakley does not explicitly teach:
wherein said outer case comprises a breathable and anti-bacterial material.
However, O’Veal teaches:
wherein said outer case comprises a breathable and anti-bacterial material (at least [0010] “made of any suitable material, such as, for example without limitation, woven fabrics, nonwoven fabrics, natural fabrics, polymeric materials, and combinations thereof”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pillowcase taught by Coakley with the breathable material taught by O’Veal with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it “may be made of any suitable material fabricated by any suitable process” (O’Veal [0040]), thereby making the pillow more comfortable to lay on for a user.
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673