DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements dated 02/01/2024 and 06/06/2025 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-16 recites “…at least one of”, “…at least one selected from the group consisting of” and “…includes one of” without being followed a delimiter such as “:”.
Claim 3 recites “and/or” which should read “and” or “or”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Liu, US 2024/0205729 hereafter Liu.
As for claim 1, Liu discloses:
A communication control method used in a mobile communication system comprising a user equipment and a network node (Liu, [0006], [0011]-[0016], The base station and terminal), and being capable of performing wireless communication between the user equipment and the network node, the communication control method comprising steps of:
notifying information relating to slice-specific cell reselection from a first layer of the user equipment to a second layer, of the user equipment (Liu, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0038]-[0041], [0078], [0081] [0155], Send/notify information of a slice supported by a reselected cell from the access stratum (first layer) to the non-access stratum (second layer) of the UE), higher than the first layer (Liu implicitly teaches the non-access stratum is at a layer higher than the access stratum since by definition in the art the non-access stratum operates at a layer of the access stratum in the network protocol stack).
As for claim 17, Liu discloses:
A mobile communication system comprising: a user equipment; and a network node performing wireless communication with the user equipment (Liu, [0006], [0011]-[0016], The base station and terminal); wherein the user equipment comprising transceiver circuitry and processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry (Liu, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0015], [0186]-[0188], The terminal/UE including a transceiver and processor) and configured to execute processes of:
notifying information relating to slice-specific cell reselection from a first layer of the user equipment to a second layer, of the user equipment (Liu, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0038]-[0041], [0078], [0081] [0155], Send/notify information of a slice supported by a reselected cell from the access stratum (first layer) to the non-access stratum (second layer) of the UE), higher than the first layer (Liu implicitly teaches the non-access stratum is at a layer higher than the access stratum since by definition in the art the non-access stratum operates at a layer of the access stratum in the network protocol stack).
As for claim 18, Liu discloses:
A user equipment (Liu, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0015], [0186]-[0188], The terminal/UE including a transceiver and processor) comprising: transceiver circuitry; and processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry and configured to execute processes of:
notifying information relating to slice-specific cell reselection from a first layer of the user equipment to a second layer, of the user equipment (Liu, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0038]-[0041], [0078], [0081] [0155], Send/notify information of a slice supported by a reselected cell from the access stratum (first layer) to the non-access stratum (second layer) of the UE), higher than the first layer (Liu implicitly teaches the non-access stratum is at a layer higher than the access stratum since by definition in the art the non-access stratum operates at a layer of the access stratum in the network protocol stack).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 2-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, US 2024/0205729 in view of Seidel et al, US 2023/0092324 hereafter Seidel.
As for claim 2, Liu does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the first layer of the user equipment in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, system information from the network node; wherein the notifying to the second layer includes notifying, by the first layer of the user equipment, a second layer higher than the first layer of at least one of first information indicating whether slice-specific cell reselection is available and second information indicating whether a slice-specific random access channel is available, based on the system information.
However, Seidel discloses receiving, by the first layer of the user equipment in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, system information from the network node (Seidel, [0223], ); wherein the notifying to the second layer includes notifying, by the first layer of the user equipment, a second layer higher than the first layer of at least one of first information indicating whether slice-specific cell reselection is available and second information indicating whether a slice-specific random access channel is available, based on the system information (Seidel, [0232], ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with receiving, by the first layer of the user equipment in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, system information from the network node; wherein the notifying to the second layer includes notifying, by the first layer of the user equipment, a second layer higher than the first layer of at least one of first information indicating whether slice-specific cell reselection is available and second information indicating whether a slice-specific random access channel is available, based on the system information as taught by Seidel to provide improved radio and power efficiency at the UE (Seidel [0070]).
As for claim 3, Liu does not explicitly disclose the slice-specific cell reselection uses a prioritized frequency mapped for per slice, and the slice-specific random access channel uses a random access channel opportunity separated per slice group and/or a preamble separated per slice group.
However, Seidel discloses the slice-specific cell reselection uses a prioritized frequency mapped for per slice (Seidel, [0215], The number of RACH resources may be adapted according to a RACH load and during random-access, the UE selects from the selected slice-specific RACH resource configuration a specific resource and a specific preamble for sending the RACH in the uplink), and the slice-specific random access channel uses a random access channel opportunity separated per slice group (Seidel, [0215], The UE to select a slice-specific RACH resource configuration in a system providing the UE with a possibility to be connected to a plurality of slices in parallel or simultaneously. The slices may use dedicated or isolated RACH resources as specified by the different slice-specific RACH resource configurations.) and/or a preamble separated per slice group (Seidel, [0215], The number of RACH resources may be adapted according to a RACH load and during random-access, the UE selects from the selected slice-specific RACH resource configuration a specific resource and a specific preamble for sending the RACH in the uplink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the slice-specific cell reselection uses a prioritized frequency mapped for per slice, and the slice-specific random access channel uses a random access channel opportunity separated per slice group and/or a preamble separated per slice group as taught by Seidel to provide improved radio and power efficiency at the UE (Seidel [0070]).
As for claim 4, Liu discloses:
the first layer is an Access Stratum (AS) layer and the second layer is a Non Access Stratum (NAS) layer (Liu, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0038]-[0041], [0078], [0081] [0155], Seidel, [0221], All protocols below the NAS layer are referred to as access stratum.).
As for claim 5, Liu discloses:
performing, by the second layer of the user equipment, a predetermined operation based on at least one of the first information and the second information (Liu, [0044], [0053]-[0062], [0064]-[0079], Performing, by the non-access stratum, slice selection based on information received from the access stratum).
As for claim 6, Liu discloses:
the first information includes a slice identifier having a slice-specific cell reselection parameter (Liu, [0043]-[0044], [0059], [0118], [0124], the related information of the slice supported by the cell, such as the identifier of the slice, an identifier of the cell supporting the slice).
As for claim 7, Liu discloses:
the second layer notifies information of an intended slice to the first layer (Liu, [0064]-[0079], The non-access stratum notifies the access stratum of the intended slice).
As for claim 8, Liu discloses:
wherein the information relating to slice-specific cell reselection includes one of information indicating that the cell in which the user equipment exists supports or does not support network slicing (Liu, [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0058], the related information includes at least one of: [0054] the identifier of the slice; [0055] the identifier of the cell supporting the slice; [0057] whether a network allows to access the slice (may be determined according to universal access control barring information, issued by the base station, used for indicating whether the network allows to access the slice; and [0058] a priority of the slice.), information indicating that the cell in which the user equipment exists supports or does not support a slice having a specific slice identifier (Liu, [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0058], the related information includes at least one of: [0054] the identifier of the slice; [0055] the identifier of the cell supporting the slice; [0057] whether a network allows to access the slice (may be determined according to universal access control barring information, issued by the base station, used for indicating whether the network allows to access the slice; and [0058] a priority of the slice.), and information indicating that the cell in which the user equipment exists supports or does not support priority access to a slice having a specific slice identifier (Liu, [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0058], the related information includes at least one of: [0054] the identifier of the slice; [0055] the identifier of the cell supporting the slice; [0057] whether a network allows to access the slice (may be determined according to universal access control barring information, issued by the base station, used for indicating whether the network allows to access the slice; and [0058] a priority of the slice.).
As for claim 11, Liu does not explicitly disclose the second layer notifies an indication of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search.
However, Seidel discloses the second layer notifies an indication of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search (Seidel, [0231]-[0232], The non-access stratum notifies the access category of the PLMN specific slice based on the slice identity, S-NSSAI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the second layer notifies an indication of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search as taught by Seidel to provide improved radio and power efficiency at the UE (Seidel [0070]).
8. Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, US 2024/0205729 in view of Seidel et al, US 2023/0092324 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jung et al, US 2023/0055788 hereafter Jung.
As for claim 9, Liu discloses the second layer notifies the first layer (Liu, [0064]-[0079], The non-access stratum notifies the access stratum of the intended slice).
The combination of Liu and Seidel does not explicitly disclose the second layer notifies a slice priority to the first layer.
However, Jung discloses the second layer notifies a slice priority (Jung, [0239], [0264], The NAS layer device sets the network slice group priority).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Liu and Seidel with the second layer notifies of priorities between slice groups when a plurality of slice groups exist as taught by Jung to provide more efficient cell selection or reselection of a user equipment (Jung, [0009]).
As for claim 12, Liu discloses the second layer notifies the first layer (Liu, [0064]-[0079], The non-access stratum notifies the access stratum of the intended slice).
The combination of Liu and Seidel does not explicitly disclose the second layer notifies of priorities between slice groups when a plurality of slice groups exist.
However, Jung discloses the second layer notifies of priorities between slice groups when a plurality of slice groups exist (Jung, [0239], [0264], The NAS layer device sets the network slice group priority)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Liu and Seidel with the second layer notifies of priorities between slice groups when a plurality of slice groups exist as taught by Jung to provide more efficient cell selection or reselection of a user equipment (Jung, [0009]).
9. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, US 2024/0205729 in view of Seidel et al, US 2023/0092324 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al, US 2019/0320485 hereafter Kim.
As for claim 10, the combination of Liu and Seidel does not explicitly disclose the second layer notifies a request for RRC connection establishment by priority access to the first layer.
However, Kim discloses the second layer notifies a request for RRC connection establishment by priority access to the first layer (Kim, Figures 14a. 14b, [0285], [0302]-[0303], The NAS layer forwards a NAS service request message including the user data, the RRC establishment cause field and the call type field to the AS layer. The RRC connection establishment request is processed as high priority).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Liu and Seidel with the second layer notifies a request for RRC connection establishment by priority access to the first layer as taught by Kim to provide NAS signaling optimization (Kim, [0305]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ishii, US 2023/0308363 [0186]…The network slice band association information may comprise a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s). Act 15-3 comprises transmitting the responsive non-access stratum message, e.g., the registration accept message, to wireless terminal 30. The network slice band association information included in the non-access stratum signaling of the registration accept message may be used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469